Book Reviews

The Motivation Manifesto

Brendon Burchard

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Psychology, Inspirational

978-1-4019-4807-8

The Motivation Manifesto is a pulsing, articulate, ferocious call to claim our personal power. World-renowned high performance trainer Brendon Burchard reveals that the main motive of humankind is the... More

Mar 16, 2015 Angel
Brendon Burchard's new book, released by Hay House, The Motivational Manifesto is a breath of fresh air.
I love the writer's style as well as the actual style the book has, which is hard bound, with gold lettering.
If you need motivation, or just a fresh perspective on life, this book is for you.
For more information, please visit Hay House.
I was not financially compensated for this review–I received a copy in exchange for my opinion of it, in accordance with Hay House’s Book Nook blogger program. The author himself is giving away free copies on his website, take a look.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 01, 2015 BookLover
The Motivation Manifesto: 9 Declarations to Reclaim Your Personal Power by Brendon Burchard is written in a poetic style that is reminiscent of the writings of the founding fathers of America. I was very excited to get this book in the mail and couldn't wait to read it. This book is a dark brown hard cover with rounded edges and gold writing on the cover, it also comes with a red ribbon as a bookmark, and looks almost like a bible.

I liked how the book was laid out and found the nine declarations to be motivational. I guess in that sense the title do what it said it would, it provided motivation. However, I felt that there could have been some exercises in the book to help the reader integrate the declarations into their lives a little more. My favorite chapter was the last one where we are encouraged to take an extra breath or two before we begin something and perhaps in doing so we will see certain things in a different light.

Overall, I liked this book and would recommend it to those seeking motivation.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 28, 2015 alpha_andy_omega
Personal power and self mastery are terms that have been bandied about in self-help books for decades, but author Brendon Burchard does a great job of putting a face on those concepts, and making them accessible to everyone. As a person who is already driven and motivated to some extent, I was going to skip this book, but I'm glad I didn't. Mr. Burchard has a poetic, stylish voice, but he also goes for the jugular. He doesn't waste time or pull punches. He asks the tough questions, and reminds the reader often that we are personally responsible for our success or failure. The 9 Declarations are inspiring and fascinating. Each is given a thorough study with practical examples included. The journaling suggestions in this book can bring clarity and a sense of possibility to many different kinds of challenges. If true freedom and personal development appeal to you, then you'll get a lot out of The Motivation Manifesto. I was given a review copy of this book by the publisher, Hay House Inc., I was not financially compensated in any way and the opinion expressed is my honest assessment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 19, 2015 Jocelin
So, What Exactly is a Motivation Manifesto?

Good question! I will answer this question for you in this blog post and explain why it’s important to have one especially if you want to be more motivated for success in all areas of your life–whether it be professionally, emotionally, physically or spiritually. I will explain where I learned of this idea for action by reviewing the book, The Motivation Manifesto by Brendon Burchard and how it can encourage you to feel better about your life. I write this on Martin Luther King, Jr. day and dedicate it in his memory and to all the wonderful freedom fighters out there! BE FREE.

“We do not need more time; we need a stronger reason to act so that we use time more effectively. We do not need to await more resources; we need to act and we will find abundance comes to us. We do not need to wait for perfect conditions; we will find perfection in progress. We do not need to ask in order to receive; we need to give in order to receive, for in giving we are given to.” -The Motivation Manifesto

How I Discovered the Author:

I’ve been reading inspiring books by Brendon Burchard for a couple of years now after learning about him while scrolling through my Facebook feed. I teach reading classes to college students and so I chose to have them read and respond to the book, The Charge: Activating The Ten Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive, which he wrote in 2012. This book helps people live a more fully engaged life by activating ten vital human drives. I find it very reflective because he asks pertinent questions throughout called, Charge Points. My students love it and really experience growth in the process of reading and discussing the points addressed in this book.

So, of course I was excited to read and write a Motivation Manifesto review. This book goes another step forward to teach readers about personal power and how to effectively claim that power to live our best lives. It’s written as a treatise in two sections by first opening up with a thoughtful understanding of our human nature: what is freedom? what is fear? what is motivation? These set the stage to describe why our fears and lack of motivation prevent us from finding our freedom in life. In the second section, he lists nine important self declarations.

What I Learned from This Book:

As I was reading, I found myself saying, “Oh, yes I can relate” quite a lot in agreement with what he was bringing forth. However, not everything applied to me in this book, as I found myself thinking, “This isn’t me” but I definitely found many areas in my life that I need to take more personal responsibility for and have better clarity in.

This book had an incredible launch and included a free online course as well as an invitation to write your own manifesto. I thought this was great and propelled me to understand myself better. Here are the three questions he gave us to do so:

Motivating Questions:

1) What will I no longer accept in my life?

2) What should life really be like for me?

3) What am I committed to making happen in order to create my ideal life?

The point of this exercise is to take a hard look at these and truly answer them honestly. We have so much more control over our lives than we think or have been programmed to believe. Self oppression from self-doubt or low self-esteem or internalizing what others have told us we cannot do should not force us to compromise on our happiness and contentment. Nor should it prevent us from dreaming and striving to meet them.

Why Have a Personal Manifesto?

Therefore, a personal manifesto can really allow you to create a life in which to be proud of and one where you can reach your full potential. Don’t we all want to reach our potential? I do. This book doesn’t sugar coat this journey though. Striving to better ourselves isn’t necessarily easy, he says. It requires us to face our demons and push through to the other side even if it takes much effort and persistence.

His Nine Declarations for Your Life:

These nine declarations sure are a great start to a life filled with meaning and vitality. There is a chapter dedicated to explaining each one in more depth:

1) Meet Life with Full Presence and Power

2) Reclaim Your Agenda

3) Defeat Your Demons

4) Advance with Abandon

5) Practice Joy and Gratitude

6) Do Not Break Integrity

7) Amplify Love

8) Inspire Greatness

9) Slow Time

My Greatest Lesson from This Book:

Books have the capacity to really change our lives if we let them. I choose to read ones that inspire me and encourage me to grow. This is such an integral guidebook for doing so. It will make you analyze what you are doing or not doing in your life that is enacting a wall between you and your goals or dreams. It will teach you to challenge your previous beliefs and develop a new and improved mindset for accomplishment. It surely did this for me! I learned that I can have an expectation of success and continue moving toward being an accomplished writer, teacher and authentic and loving person.

“All motivation begins with ambition. Higher levels of clarity bring more ambition.” -Brendon Burchard

I’d be interested in hearing how you are motivated in life toward success in any area of your life. How did you answer the above questions? Please leave a comment below and I promise to reply. Thank you for reading my Motivation Manifesto review! Namaste.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 29, 2014 awakenandbegin
Ever feel like you need someone to sit you down and give you a pep talk to supercharge your life into action? Reading The Motivation Manifesto by Brendon Burchard is kind of like that. Squared. Cubed, even.

"We must ask if our desires to feel safe and accepted are in fact enslaving us to popular opinion—and to boredom."

If you ever felt like you were destined for a greater existence but felt conflicted or overwhelmed about taking the necessary actions, this book is so for you. You might want to stop reading here and go get a copy to see for yourself. It is that good.

The Motivation Manifesto is written in the kind of language you might find in The Declaration of Independence. That's because the author studied these types of early documents as research for writing this book. He wanted this book to be a true manifesto, written in the language that was used by our great predecessors to move people into action.

This book is a call to a life of disciplined pursuit of self-mastery; a call to immediate action to prepare to pursue our dreams.

Personal Freedom

"It is the main motivation of humankind to be free, to express our true selves and pursue our dreams without restriction—to experience what may be called Personal Freedom."

The first section of the book discusses freedom, fear, and motivation.

Personal freedom does not come without responsibility. Having the privilege to do what we want, when we want, and how we want comes with diligence and sacrifice. Burchard calls us to take the initiative in our lives to pursue our dreams, not to merely wait for something to happen to us and leave our future to chance. We must hold our vision ahead of our immediate impulses.

Conformity is the antithesis of personal freedom. Burchard reassures us that following our dreams does not alienate us from those we once aimed to please through conformity; it enhances our abilities to connect and positions us as needed leaders to others who would like to do the same.

If we aren't living in personal freedom, it is because we are acting out of fear.

Motivation

"We have patiently suffered long enough, hoping that someone or some kind of luck would one day grant us more opportunity and happiness."

Motivation is the name of the book, and it truly lives up to its name. If you ever had an idea in mind of what a manifesto on motivation would read like, this is it. Motivation Manifesto addresses every thought I have ever had on motivation and what it takes to truly motivate oneself into action, and goes way beyond.

This book provides an answer to dealing with every imaginable stumbling block put up by others and ourselves on the path to our dreams. No excuse stands a chance in the face of this declaration of what it takes to truly live on purpose.

The Nine Declarations

The second section of the book calls us to action further with nine declarations of personal power. One of my favorites is Reclaim Your Agenda.

"The white space of a free day seems unfathomable because we have become hypnotized by a false but compelling need to respond to all the needs of others."

If you ever had difficulty saying no to a task that was not meaningful to your soul, or struggled with sacrificing your own desires and dreams in the name of catering to the expectations of others, this section is for you. It is time to turn our daily activities into those that send us directly towards our own dreams, rather than living unexamined lives of conformity.

Burchard provides us with more than enough ammunition to say no, unapologetically. Saying no allows us room to expand our passions and dreams in the spaces that were once filled with meaningless tasks.

We are called to Defeat Our Demons, notably the demons named Doubt and Delay. These are the demons that infiltrate our daily experience and bring death to our ideas and dreams that could not only set us personally free, but also help others on their journeys.

We are called to Advance with Abandon; to go beyond our comfort zones that keep us stationed in dis-ease, and to be willing to exchange our immediate desires for those of a future filled with great personal freedom.

Joy, gratitude, integrity, love, and time shall be harnessed as our allies, banishing our demons and fears from their current perches in our daily lives.

Kickoff a New Year with Motivation Manifesto

At times the language may seem harsh to some, but I found it necessary and true in its harshness. Inherent in change is the acceptance that things aren't working as they are, and that's okay.

Packed with aha moments and written in stunning prose, The Motivation Manifesto is an excellent handbook on motivation - the best one I have ever seen in all the self-help reading I have done over the years.

This book is an absolute must read, particularly for those who have dreams and aspire to something greater than their current situation. If you have already read The Motivation Manifesto or plan to read this book, please share your thoughts below!

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 28, 2014 ginadrellack
This book by Brendon Burchard is a handbook for achieving personal power. Powerfully inspiring, it is written in a Revolutionary and declarative style. It’s empowering, supportive, and encouraging–as if you’re remembering all over again who you really are, yet you know you’ve never left yourself.

The book opens with a declaration of personal power, providing clarity to desired outcomes. Next are explorations of the human natures of freedom, fear, and motivation. Finally, 9 Declarations are experienced–some examples of which are meeting life with full presence and power, advancing with abandon, amplifying love, inspiring greatness, and others.

This book is unapologetic in its descriptions and concepts, courageous in its conviction. It is also inspirational in its grace toward people and attitudes who would oppose our direction, reminding me of a description my Mom taught me: “Go in peace, but go.” It is all about individual freedom to choose–and this book is a guide to choosing higher, if a reader is interested. Without allowing oneself to be swayed by the naysayers, the fearful, and the threatened.

Anyone who could use a shot of inspiration will benefit from reading this book. Anyone who feels pretty on top of things in their life will gain a surprising second wind, a bouying seventh wave. You have every reason to read this book, and no reason not to.

I was not financially compensated for this review–I received a copy in exchange for my opinion of it, in accordance with Hay House’s Book Nook blogger program. The author himself is giving away free copies on his website, take a look.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 23, 2014 KariF
There are a lot of great books out there. Brian Johnson created Philosopher's Notes (summaries of some of the greatest books in history), in part, because there are so many books out there and not enough time to read them. But, after reading The Motivation Manifesto, I realized that this was one book I would recommend reading in full.

Why Did I Like The Motivation Manifesto?

First, I like the way Brendon Burchard stood his ground and created a book that he wanted to create. You can read about that on Forbes here.

But, why would I recommend this book? Because I personally believe it has the power to change lives and even - possibly - the world.

It is a book of fact.

It is a book that contains information that we probably all know on some level.

But, it serves as a reminder that we are great, have great potential, and should spend the time we have here living up to that potential.

At the end of the book, I wanted to live up to my potential and make the world a better place. There were other things I wanted to do too.

I wanted to be nicer to people
I wanted to live in the moment more
I wanted to get busy taking action on the things I want
I wanted to turn off my TV and stop wasting my time watching shows like the Kardashians
I wanted to live my life and stop watching other people live theirs
I wanted to break through my fears and start GOING FOR IT!
That's a short list, but as you can tell, I felt motivated!

Basically this book made me want to be a better person and help create a better world, and that is why I recommend The Motivation Manifesto to YOU.

If everyone can feel that empowered, that motivated, and that excited after reading this book, then this world could be in for a few POSITIVE changes!

What Is The Motivation Manifesto?

It is a book that talks about how we are meant to be free and how our fears hold us back from our freedom. And, it shows us how to get motivated.

"The sustaining choices of motivation are thus attention and effort." - Motivation Manifesto

It goes through 9 declarations that are more than just declarations. It's like you have your own personal coach talking to you and hyping you up to live your best life.

The declarations remind you of what is important in life and why they are important.

When I was almost done the book, I knew that I was going to put these 9 declarations somewhere near my work space to remind me of who I am and who I want to be.

The book reminds you of what this world is lacking and what it needs to become great.

On a personal level, my husband was having a hard time letting go of a negative job as I was reading this, and I was able to give him a lot of insightful tips (thanks Brendon!) that motivated him to once and for all get out of a job that was causing him stress and pain and ill-health, and get onto doing what he really wants to do in his life.

"We mustn't live in the darkness of our doubts, the shadows of the joyless, or the clutches of the energy vampires." - Motivation Manifesto

Not Many People Have Regreted Reading It

Worried that it may be a waste of your time to read the book? I have not seen too many negative reviews about The Motivation Manifesto.

I did see some reviews on Amazon that made me wonder what the motivation was behind them. For instance, one of the reviewers who gave it 1 star said, "I tried the 9 steps to claim my personal power and it just didn't take." She wondered why the steps couldn't be reduced, maybe to 5 steps, and she also stated that when she discussed it with her Sex Addicts Anonymous group they helped her understand it more. It sounds like a fake review, right? It has to be. But why on this book? Why waste your time writing such a nonsense review on a book that has the power to do good in the world. If this person actually took the time to read the book and implement it, maybe they could take their talent for writing nonsense and actually help or inspire other people.

The other 1-star review said to sum up the book, you should face your fears and live life they way you want it. I can tell you that the book is not summed up by that sentence. Not even close.

In the end, I believe it is a book that will benefit your life in a positive way. It may even change the direction of it altogether, and in turn affect the world in a very positive way. So, yes, I think this book has the power to change the world.
+
Read on Blog
2 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews