Book Reviews

The Top Ten Things Dead People Want to Tell YOU

Mike Dooley

Self Improvement

978-1-4019-4556-5

"I know this may come as a shock, and you know I'm not fond of using stale one-liners, but-'reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated.' I'm as alive now as I was on the day we met, except, may... More

Mar 12, 2015 HappyMediumTN
I have read some other reviews of this book, most of which seem to start with, “I didn’t know what to expect from he title…”. Me? As a medium, I was thinking it would be a channeled work or maybe all about transitioning. It wasn’t and after reading the book, I guess I could’ve approached it without expectation. It was about life experience and how those (I hate using the words “the dead” sounds so Monday Night Zombie movie) who have have transitioned see us experiencing life.

There was a lot of ideas wrapped up in this book. I thought at first it may be a channelled work, by the title, but it wasn’t. I believe it was more of a culmination of a lifetime of study and discussion. There was the ideas that the deceased are not dead, there is no such thing as heaven or hell, in the fire and brimstone sense, that when people crossed over, it was their time to do so - regardless of how they did it - and that they are apologetic for any pain caused by them upon others here in the Earthly plain.

From there, the book delves more into the concepts of law of attraction, which I feel could’ve been illustrated in a separate book altogether because it is such a deep and intricate course of study. However, Dooley does spend a few chapters on it in the context of the transitioned sharing this information with you.

The parts of the book I truly enjoyed were the “letters from the dearly departed”. In all honesty, I thought, and was looking forward to, that sort of text. I guess more of a story with a message rather than a text book. I loved the letters because although at times the author could be very wordy with an explanation, the letters illustrated the concepts beautifully. I also truly enjoyed the chapter on animals in regards to our pets and how their spirits, both in Earthly form and in spirit are different from us and that they have so very much to teach us about being present and law of attraction.

All in all, I feel that if one wants an overview of life experience from a spiritual perspective this book can give that to you. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 21, 2015 ginadrellack
The Top 10 Things Dead People Want to Tell You is Mike Dooley’s guide to living an intended life.

Each chapter is an expansion on different nuggets of wisdom as seen from a perspective of objective and loving understanding. They are to be directly applied to our existence, now. In doing so, we will experience the love, the connection, and the Divine. There’s no need to wait to begin tapping into this, and there’s no need to die in order to do so, either!!

There is unending encouragement, hope, support, success, love, creation, happiness for each of us–right where we are. This book helps readers tap into that source.

After enjoying Conversations With History by Susan Lander, I searched both in the book and online for Mike Dooley’s mediumship credentials. Or at least a reference to communicating with dead people, as the title suggests. There’s no such reference of any kind, anywhere.

Ya know what? It matters not! This book’s message is so transcendent that external authentication is not important. Think about it–even if the author completely dreamed this stuff up, it still is life-changing and life-celebrating. So there. :) Enjoy fully.

Readers who are drawn to the Law of Attraction will appreciate the similarities here. Anyone who enjoys reading encouraging and empowering subjects needs a copy of this in their hands. Anyone wondering about loved ones who have passed on will be reassured when reading this book.

I was not financially compensated for this review, I received the book from Hay House in exchange for my thoughts about it. A fine deal, if you ask me
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 12, 2015 Jeff Dodson
This book is my first exposure to the work of author, Mike Dooley. He is also the author of the New York Times bestseller, Infinite Possibilities: The Art Of Living Your Dreams.

The title of this book was the hook for me. Just what are those ten things that the departed want to tell us? What might I learn that I did not already know or sense? What might I learn that will validate or reinforce what I already believe?

So, according to Mike Dooley, what are those ten things the dead are most eager to communicate to us? They are presented in the following chapter order.

Were not dead
We chose to be here in the first place. Love and happiness are why we are here. Thought connects everything and all of us. We began from a place in eternity and will return to it.

There’s no such thing as a devil or hell
Wow! Really. This will come as a relief for many and create uneasiness for some whose beliefs expect fire, brimstone and punishment for sinners.

Mike Dooley contends that the only real hell each of us will suffer through is when we sit down and execute a review of our own life just lived through. All of the good and the negative that we lived thorough we will feel and experience through the emotions of those that we interacted with. We act as our own post-game locker room coach with lots of game film footage. That plus we get to experience first-hand every emotion of all of the folks that we ever interacted with, for better or for worse.

We were ready
A time to die is out there for each of us. “A life ends naturally when the adventurer either achieves what he originally came for or when he can no longer achieve it and there are no other alternative, achievable goals, “ according to the author.

Dooley’s position is that, “You are not alive to be tested, judged, and sentenced. You’re alive to live and learn, in unending spirals of love. Everything plays to these greater goals, and every decision you make while living becomes the core study material for your fabulous growth and glory — right down to the time and method of your passing.”

You’re not ready
“Life’s adventures are only possible because of life’s challenges,” writes Dooley.

We are embarked upon a journey of our own creation (one that we mapped out before we came here). We came here to ‘blaze a new trail,’ and learn and discover all that we possibly can before our game clock buzzer rings signaling the end of our game.

Were sorry for any pain we caused
Dooley writes that the dead want all of us living to know that they are all sorry for any of the pain that they caused each of us. These were mistakes they made on their well intentioned path towards positive growth.

Your dreams really can come true
“Your challenges are temporary, while their lessons are eternal.” Live your life to the
absolute fullest. You were born to soar, to achieve, and to grow. Go ahead and want it all. That’s what it’s there for!

Heaven is going to blow your mind
You are one of a kind. Irreplaceable. Kind of like the lyrics in that Katie Perry song,
“Firework.” Spiritual awareness occurs.

You finally comprehend that eternity precedes and then follows every lifetime upon this earth for each of us. We were all part of it before we came here, and it is that realm to which we return after our time on earth.

In heaven you learn a. how important you were, b. how powerful you were, and,
c. there are no mistakes. Whoa! Three great reasons to feel empowered and good about yourself here.

Life is more than fair
In this chapter, Dooley makes three interesting points.

First, It doesn’t matter where you’ve been — it will serve you (whether traumatic or joyous).

Second, It doesn’t matter where you now are, because where you are is never who you are.

Third, You can, starting today, with new thoughts, words and actions, create a new vibe that will begin orchestrating your own “luck, accidents and serendipities,” to blast forward, higher, richer, and happier — yee ha!

Your ‘old pets’ are as crazy as ever
I’m personally not an animal owner although many of my family members are or were. Good news for all animal lovers and pet owners: no animals are left behind. There are no bad dogs. Every cat gets more lives. And they’ll be joining us in eternity.

Love is the way; truth is the path
“The dead with their advantage of perspective, see love everywhere,” writes Dooley.

Dooley states that, “You spiritually feel love in an entirely new way, not as a choice but as a channel for something far greater. You judge nothing because you see yourself in everything. You blame no one because blame is the evasion of responsibility.”

“Eternity promises too much to spend one more moment looking back with regret than is necessary,” is another quote from Dooley that I like.

My final thoughts on this book:
If you currently are a caregiver, have just lost a loved one, or maybe just someone who is at a point in life struggling to make sense of their own spirituality and primary purpose, then, The Ten Things Dead People Want To Tell You, is a book you want to read. And for everyone else, it is damn well entertaining and thought provoking. So everyone else needs to read it too.


Jeff Dodson
January 12th 2015


FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.



+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 29, 2014 MaryMikawoz
I start off this review by mentioning what Mike Dooley signficantly writes in the Epilogue: “Some of what I shared might be extremely offensive to those who are not ready (or don't want) to hear it.” Mike indicates that what he has written about may be hard for some people to see, hear and acknowledge.

Mike normally writes about the Law of Attraction where “Thoughts become Things” or TBT. He was a teacher on “The Secret” produced by Rhonda Byrnes. He is able to present how our thoughts plus actions in a positive direction will help manifest our desires. Our vibe is very important in how we end up getting what we want in life.

Mike covers ten things that dead people would want you to know. They are:

1. We're not dead
2. There's not such thing as a devil or hell
3. We were ready
4. You're not ready
5. We're sorry for any pain we caused
6. Your dreams really can come true
7. “Heaven” is really going to blow your mind!
8. Life is more than fair
9. Your “old” pets are crazy as ever
10. Love is the way; truth is the path

Life is a school and we are here to learn. Mike Dooley speaks of reincarnation and the fact that most of have lived many times. He explains some of the victimization problems as to very young souls who have most likely not lived many lifetimes and so are scared and deal with anger and other hostile emotions. He indicates that life is fair because we do attract absolutely every experience to us although he does try to deal with the “unfairness” of being a victim. However, he says that love is the ultimate goal and that love is in everybody and everything. He believes that initially people have the right intention of being good but that some people get lost or misdirected.

Mike supports his beliefs based on a number of books that he has read which he included in a recommended reading list at the back of the book. I would recommend the books of Dr. Michael Newton who is a hypnotherapist and has regressed people to in between lives. His website is here: http://newtoninstitute.org/ The interesting point is that despite different people's religious and cultural references, their view of “heaven” is very close to one another. Mike seems to discuss some of the points that Dr. Michael Newton also speaks of.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

Tags: Dead, people, pets, devil, hell, ready to die, pain, heaven, reincarnation, Mike, Dooley, Dr. Michael Newton
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 21, 2014 KariF
I am very interested in the paranormal, so that is what led me to read this book. After all, it does say 'Things dead people want to tell you' in the title. But, I found myself a little disappointed at the beginning, middle, and end. It's not the worst book in the world, and some people may find comfort from it, but I had some mixed feelings about it.

Who Is Mike Dooley?

I had not really heard of this guy before I started reading the book, and I didn't read his bio until the end of the book. I assumed he was a medium, because the book was supposed to be about talking to the dead and explaining about what they want us to know - or so I thought.

Mike Dooley is a writer, speaker, and entrepreneur, and is a major voice in the new thought movement. He was in The Secret. If you watched it, you will remember the following clip of him.

I like the guy. He seems to understand manifestation and the law of attraction, but I don't see how it talks to the dead. I haven't seen anywhere that he is a medium, so I don't know where he got the information for this book, especially the letters from the dead as there is no explanation. I assume from learning from or talking to mediums, but there is no explanation that I could see.

What The Top Ten Things Dead People Want to Tell YOU Is About

It is a book that contains ten things that dead people would likely say to you if they could. Things like - we are sorry for any pain we caused, heaven is going to blow your mind, and life is more than fair. There is not an explanation as to how this is known, but there is a lot of explanation that it 'just is this way'.

In the beginning of the book, Mike talks about how the truth is often the simplest answer - which makes sense, so I guess that is where he is stemming from with his knowledge of what the dead want you to know?

Each chapter ends with a note from someone who has departed. I have no idea where he got these notes. There is no explanation that I found.

It's funny though because he talks about the dead as if he has insight knowledge. For instance, the first words in the introduction are, "No one knows how it all began, not even the dead..."

There was a point in the book that I really like, "Losses are only devastating when you think they're permanent." I think that can be applied to everyday life as well as lost loved ones and pets.

What I Liked About About The Book

I read this as an eBook, and I had made some notes along the way. Unfortunately, my eBook got erased off my Kobo and my notes did too, so I don't remember what they were. It took me a long time to read this book, so I can't remember specific things I liked in the book.

But I do remember that there were some great points for manifesting, the law of attraction, experiencing happiness, and enjoying and appreciating this life. That is kind of the theme of the book.

Life is great.
The afterlife is great.
Enjoy the ride.
What I Disliked About The Book

I just didn't understand where Mike Dooley got this information. I didn't know where the letters from the deceased came from. Were they made up? Were they real? Were they dictated by a medium or are they just thoughts put into a letter that Mike wants you to know. I don't know because it was never stated in the book. It wasn't until I finished reading the book that I looked around to find out.

First, here is a clip that can help a little. I wish I would have found this BEFORE reading the book.

I still don't know where the information or the letters from the dead came from. If it was stated, and I missed it - or if you know something about Mike Dooley that I am missing here, please let me know in the comments below.

As far as I know, this information came from his head - from his experience and intuition. In fact, on this page he says that you will not find literal voices from dead people but rather information that is he is 'quite sure' dead people would want you to know. Therefore, it is not a book from the dead - it is a book from what Mike Dooley thinks the dead would want to tell you.

So, did the letters from the deceased come from there as well? Then, why call it "The Top Ten Things Dead People Want to Tell YOU"? Why not call it something like, "What I know for sure about the dead"?

The Bottom Line

There were some parts, tips, and insights that I liked in the book. But for the most part I just kept wondering where this information directly from the dead came from. I thought that was the purpose of the book, but I was left wondering where Mike got his information from and that kind of distracted me from the points in the book.

I think if you go into the book knowing that is from Mike Dooley, not the dead as the title implies, you may have an easier time reading it.

Read more reviews on Amazon here: The Top Ten Things Dead People Want to Tell YOU

Note: I Received this book from Hay House to review as a part of the Book Nook blogger program. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 02, 2014 summerlovinlisa
I am an avid reader and The Top Ten things Dead People want to tell you by Mike Dooley is honestly one of the BEST books I have read in a long time! It was so good infact that once I started reading it; I did not put it down until it was finished. The way in which this book is written it is as if the Author is speaking directly to you and wrote the book specifically for you. In it Mike not only reassures you that your loved ones are indeed happy and still very much alive; he takes it a step further and gives insight into not only death but life and why we are here and steps we can take to start manifesting and living the lives we dream of. It even delves into the age old question why bad things happen to good people. It touches on so many aspects of Life and Death that when I was reading it I could not help but think that this book was like a manual that everyone should be given upon entering this world. I had a lot of A-ha moments when reading it and many times it was like a lightbulb lit up in my soul. I knew this stuff..how could I have forgotten? Mike of course explains in the book forgetting is par for the course. This book helped me to remember. One of my favorite parts (they were many) of the book were the letters written from departed Loved ones to people still on Earth. In the letters they spoke about what it is like where they are, what they have learned and how to make the most out of the lives we are living. When reading the letters I literally got chills..they were so beautiful and uplifting. One letter was even from a dearly departed pet. If you’re looking for a book that will truly change your life..and your perspective on life this book is it! It will leave you smiling, feeling invigorated and ready to take on the world. If you’ve lost someone dear to you and are having trouble dealing with the loss this book is a must have. I lost my Dad to Cancer when he was only 54 and a dear family friend to suicide at the age of 23 and this book helped me immensely. After reading it I smiled knowing that they are indeed at peace and Happy and that we will all meet again and until then that they would want me to make all of my dreams come true and that they are there rooting for me. This is Definitely a 5 Star book..Engaging, insightful, eye-opening and truly inspirational!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 26, 2014 Fairemagic
Mike Dooley tells you what your loved ones want you know know in his awesome book The Top Ten Things Dead People Want To Tell You. Are you ready to know?? Then this book is for you.

Mike explains that those who have left us are not dead. They are living…..and happy. Their life had begun. Where your beloved loved ones are there is no fear, pain or any other negative emotion just pure bliss and joy. They are fully taken care of with love. He tells us that it was their time to go. They are sorry sorry that they had to leave us. But for us, those living, we must go on cause it is not our time.

I loved the letters from Our Dearly Departed. Each letter brought a tear to my eye and touched my heart. Grab your tissues! Our departed ones are sorry for hurting us. They don’t want us to suffer. Most importantly they want us to be happy. There are with us.

Mike Dooley tells us that we must live and find happiness. He shows us ways to live and change our beliefs so we can have happiness while here in this life.I f your searching for answers to life after death then The Top Ten Things Dead People Want To Tell You is the perfect read.

Mike teaches us that “Life is not 10% what you make it and 90% how you take it. It is 100% what you make it.” He explains why things happen and how to create the life you want.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews