Book Reviews

Loving Yourself to Great Health

Louise L. Hay, Ahlea Khadro, Heather Dane

Affirmations, Self Improvement, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-4284-7

For decades, best-selling author Louise Hay has transformed people's lives and health by teaching them to let go of limiting beliefs and create the life of their dreams. Now in this tour de force, Lou... More

Mar 30, 2015 awakenandbegin
"Everything is thoughts and food."

Paleo, vegan, vegetarian, raw vegan, low carb, gluten free...which diet is THE ONE?

Did you ever consider your thoughts to be equally as important as diet and exercise in the equation of your optimal health? Loving Yourself to Great Health: Thoughts & Food--The Ultimate Diet by Louise Hay, Ahlea Khadro, & Heather Dane teaches that our health hinges on our thoughts. I couldn't agree more.

If this is all too metaphysical for you, no one can deny that before doing anything we almost always think a thought (or a string of thoughts) first. Before going for a walk, eating a piece of pizza, making a green smoothie, drinking a coffee...there is a thought that precedes the action. From a very practical standpoint, it makes perfect sense that our thoughts influence how we look and feel.

The first part of the book spends a lot of time on the subject of loving ourselves, something that isn't exactly emphasized in our culture as the most important, most basic component of our human power. Although it certainly is!

"Most of us have not been taught to listen to our bodies and inner wisdom, so we don’t trust it."

I never really understood what intuition was, not believing that I could have some supernatural power to predict the future or know if the decision I made was right or wrong. I have a feeling that taking the time to develop a strong sense of personal intuition at a young age would spare a lot of people a lot of pain and heartache. Not to mention save a lot of time spent doing things that don't feel right.

Listening to our bodies, asking our bodies what they need and then really listening, is a foreign concept for most. Some might say it is downright kooky. But that is exactly what this book calls us to do.

Isn't it crazy to think that we are going around not really knowing ourselves? When we are younger, in high school, there is a lot of emphasis on "finding ourselves." This simple process of really knowing ourselves is not something I was ever taught. I have to ask - how can we find ourselves when we don't even really know ourselves? No wonder so many people get so caught up and lost in the expectations of others, myself included.

"Most people have no idea how much food is contributing to their well-being or lack thereof."

Loving Yourself to Great Health does not tell us that we should all be raw vegans or even vegetarians. This actually surprised me, because I have been under the assumption that Louise Hay is a vegan ever since I heard her mantra "if it doesn't grow, I don't eat it" in her book You Can Heal Your Life.

This book is packed to the brim with great health information, from the standpoint that not everyone will respond to the same foods and remedies in the same way. The authors are not preachy by any means. They don't say everyone must drink Louise Hay's asparagus puree or bone broth.

Rather, the authors urge us to carve our own paths, sticking closely to nature along the way. They encourage us to be selective when choosing our doctors and practitioners, to choose to be guided by individuals who honor, respect, and understand nature rather than dismiss the amazing power we are offered by nature everyday.

"If you follow other people’s rules without listening to your body, you’re telling yourself that you don’t matter."

If you are familiar with Louise Hay, you know that you aren't going to read one of her books without being inundated with affirmations, and probably a guided meditation or two. This book would be great to listen to on audio to get the full effect of the affirmations and meditations. It is also an excellent resource to have in print or e copy to look up remedies and foods to focus on and foods to avoid.

This book is quite a lengthy read, and could be thought of as part narrative about thoughts and loving yourself, part reference on foods and home remedies, and part cookbook, as it contains plenty of healthy recipes and guidance on kitchen equipment staples.

I often feel overwhelmed when reading this type of book, especially when it comes time to purge all the unhealthy stuff I have in the kitchen and hit the grocery store armed with the list of approved foods by the author. I appreciate that these authors encourage the reader to develop their own health plan from the basic standpoint of focusing on incorporating more and more whole foods.

The more I read and learn about health, the more fascinated I become with this crazy idea that we are actually designed to feel good - all the time! To feel good about ourselves, in our bodies and in our minds. Choose thoughts and foods that truly feel good, and watch the magic happen!

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 16, 2015 connielivingston
This was a very quick and fun read! Everything you need to know, from what thoughts to think to bring more health into your life to how to stock your kitchen to create healthy meals is covered in this book. There are long lists of foods to avoid when shopping, what natural foods to use for healing and good nutrition, and yummy recipes for those who want to eat more healthfully and who have special diets. For instance, the recipes at the end of the book contain easy-to-make meals, snacks, and desserts made with the foods suggested earlier in the book. Most recipes are simple and uncomplicated, perfect for those of us who have busy schedules with many balls up in the air.

Other topics included in the book: loving yourself and your body, understanding how your body works, listening to your body, home remedies, an action plan for implementing new health habits into your life, sample menus, and the recipes I mentioned earlier. I really enjoyed browsing through the recipes, and although I haven't yet tried them, I've already added the simple ingredients for several of them to my grocery list for this week! The recipe section includes recipes for vegetables, smoothies, soups, meat/poultry/fish, gluten free cereals/pilafs/breads/waffles/pancakes, snacks, and desserts. Yum!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 27, 2015 essvagon

Louise Hay has teamed up with her nutrition and natural health advisors to give the world this complete guide to attain great health.  This book is more than just a diet book and more than just a recipe book.  This isn’tthe latest fad diet to earn the authors millions of dollars on a scam that only works for a few people. This is a way of life that could change the American obesity epidemic and diseases of ill health.

Loving yourself is not a platitude; it is the basis of all great health. By combining the essentials of the mind, the body and the spirit along with healthy foods, meditations and exercise a person can attain great health that seems elusive in our society. 

The book is divided into two parts. The first part comprises seven steps; Step 1: Create a New Perspective on Health. The authors detail why and how the body had disease, illness and symptoms that are crying for your attention. They offer a new perspective to allow the body to heal itself.

Step 2: Love Yourself and Your Body- Food, Weight Loss, Disease and More.

They offer suggestions and a program of healing your body as they discuss ways to achieve the health you want. They include affirmations which Louise Hay is famously, and right so, known for.

Step 3: Know How Your Body Really Works- the Foundation for Health. This chapter discusses how the body works, how it processes food and how thoughts affect the body just as much as food does. It discusses how the body was designed to perform perfectly and to heal itself if given the proper foods and rest.

Step 4: Listen to Your Body-A Powerful, Yet Little-Known Secret. The authors detail how people are not taught to listen to their bodies, either through recurring patterns, dreams, intuition etc. However, the body is screaming at us to pay attention. The body knows how to heal itself if listened to and given the proper nutrients and positivity to do so.  

Step 5: Emphasize Food and Thoughts That Heal Your Body and Mind. This chapter discusses which foods to eat and which to avoid for the best health. It details which foods could cause sensitivities or allergies, which are downright unhealthy and even caustic. It also details which foods will heal and nourish the body for the best results.

Step 6: Empower Your Health-Home Remedies for What Ails You. By looking in your garden and kitchen cupboard you can find many remedies that support health and healing. This chapter marries holistic health remedies with an open dialogue with your doctor for your health needs.

Step 7: The Road Map for Your Best Health. This chapter sets out a plan of action for you to start at your own pace.

Part 2: I Love My Kitchen-How to Create Delicious, Healthy Meals.

The authors break down kitchen basics so even the most daunted can feel comfortable in the kitchen. They explain what tools to use, food storage and ease of making meals on the go.

In chapter 9, they list sample menus and meal options including shopping lists to find everything at hand.

Chapter 10 is the recipe section, complete with vegetables dishes, smoothies, soups, meats, cereals, pilafs, breads, snack and desserts.

This book includes so much information to get you started toward a healthier life. It brings the best of Louise Hay with her teachings of affirmations and positive thoughts to heal your body and life and adds in holistic nutrition, digestive health, meditation and so much more to comprise this whole health system.  They include meditations in the book that you can record yourself and listen to, or buy the accompanying CD.  You will find in the chapters in the first half of the book affirmations, meditations and exercise examples to change not only the way you think, but how to distress and how to envision the health you want. The authors state that they are passionate about health and they all know as Louise says, “Thoughts and food-if you get both right, good health follows.” Their passion comes through the words on the pages as they genuinely want to help you achieve great health. If I could personally thank the authors for giving this gift to not only our country but to the world, it will make a difference in the lives of so many people.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 16, 2014 cmwaugh
All I want for Christmas is to Heal-thyself!

Let food be thy medicine, and medicine be thy food. ~ Hippocrates

I just finished a great healing book from Hay House and my heart went ahhhh!

Loving Yourself to Great Health: Thoughts & Food — the Ultimate Diet is a great book by Louise Hay, Ahlea Khadro and Heather Dane. Hint, hint … it’s a book I’d like under my Christmas tree.

The book is a colossal food and thought testament to healing thyself to create a new healthy life. It’s a book about crafting a new life of loving yourself — the most important relationship you will ever have!

Loving Yourself to Great Health is chock-full of ancient healing wisdom, a history of food knowledge and how advertiser manipulation has evolved. It also provides tons of tips, menus, recipes, affirmations and exercises.

The roadmap the authors provide educate about extitotoxins, glutamate, aspartate, cysteine, monosodium glutamate, high fructose, sucrose, and many other disguising words used in the labeling of our food that affect our well-being and behavior.

There is history they share about dyes in food that created hyperactivity in children, why we should be concerned about potassium bromate in our bread, and food used in China that combats obesity.

The authors have done a lot of research and provide great knowledge about 50 healing spices to boost health when creating our healing diets.

All I want for Christmas is Loving Yourself to Great Health in hardcover. The e-book is great, but this is one book I need to keep, not only in my library, but in my kitchen too.

I send you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life.

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 02, 2014 blessedelements

Loving Yourself to Great Health Thoughts & Food —the Ultimate Diet helps create a perspective on health with our thoughts and food. As I read this book, that I received for review in exchange for my honest opinion, I was reminded of the truth of an age old thought I had once heard, ‘You Are What You Eat.’ What a perfect book for Louise Hay to co-author with Ahlea Khadro and Heather Dane. All three women have been in service of helping people finding happiness and harmony through their thoughts and healthy lifestyles.

Ahlea Khadro has been running her business, Soulstice, for over 15 years. Her center focuses on living and rehabilitation as she guides her clients in yoga, meditation, holistic and nutrition. Heather Dane’s career specializes in identifying and resolving patterns that prevent people working at their best. Louise Hay has been guiding fans with her tried and true positive path of belief of changing one’s life through their thoughts and substituting positive thoughts with negative ones. Louise Hay has teamed up with the other two women to co-author an empowering book.

Reading about the experiences of the authors in helping clients become healed through food and thought to over come ailments of Lyme disease, depression, alcoholism and auto immune diseases (which are thought to be incurable in the medical field) left me feeling inspired and empowered to face any challenges I have in my life. Affirmations by Louise Hay are sprinkled through out the book to add additional help and inspiration for the reader.

Part I of the book discusses steps to eat, think and try techniques to use for gaining more self love and respect for your self which will affect your health as well as self image. Each step gives important information on listening to your body to determine why health issues are occurring and suggested foods to eat or eliminate from your diet to correct problems. This book and affirmations from Louis Hay are given to help change fear based thoughts of our bodies working against us when health issues arise to recognize problems and changing our thoughts to working with our bodies’ cry for help and giving it the rest, nutrition and exercise needed to overcome the illness in a positive approach to reduce stress and fear from our lives.

Part II of the book gets the reader in their kitchen with instructions, tools, equipment and tips for food storage for meals. It gives control of our health by putting it in our own hands.

Chapter 9 gives sample menus and meal options to help establish and maintain the new positive healthy lifestyle that will keep our thoughts and bodies harmoniously working to gather for a productive life. This book empowers those seeking answers with ways to identify health issues, wrong patterns and negative thinking with the sage advice from the experience of Ahlea Khadro, Heather Dane and Louise Hay.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 24, 2014 spirit2go
What a beautiful book! And that’s just the outside! I immediately felt the high vibration of it when I picked it up..

We are introduced to Louise Hay, Heather Dane, and Ahlea Khadro – as in a ‘health team’ that pools resources initially to keep Louise at the top of her game, but this book soon became reality in order to help folks at large with a fuller understanding of what it takes to keep body, mind, and spirit in good health.

I was struck by the thinking behind how every thought affects the body – whether that thought is positive or negative. Thoughts affect the immune system and every organ in the body. The book includes many client stories showing the results of positive, loving affirmations. We walk through the body taking a look at where it all begins – in the mouth and touching every system and organ on its way finally ending up in the large intestine and eliminated as poop. Yes, we get a pretty comprehensive understanding of poop as well! You don’t see that often. I understood how my digestive system responds to loving food, loving thoughts, and positive lifestyle changes.

The examples of client stories all through the book provided me with people and situations I could relate to. I found the entire experience to be very spiritual, with Chapter 7 being my favorite.

I learned some new things, but much was already known to me as in the workings of a kitchen, cooking, nutrition, and healthy alternatives. I have always been at home in the kitchen. I did, however, choose about 28 of the recipes to try in the future.

I have no doubt that this in-depth look at the body, nutrition, thoughts, love and how they all work together will be priceless to many seekers, so I can absolutely recommend the read.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.









Posted in just thinking bout stuff | Leave a Comment »
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Nov 20, 2014 alpha_andy_omega
For decades, Louise Hay has been walking her talk, and empowering others to find their way to healthier, stronger bodies, minds, and lives. In her latest book Loving Yourself to Great Health, she brings the ideas and experiences of two more incredibly inspiring ladies. Ahlea Khadro and Heather Dane are a wealth of information and practical knowledge that can help you in ways you may not have ever considered. This is an important book. As a fitness professional I usually burn through diet books in two or three sittings. This book is so much more than a diet book though. This is nutrition taken to the next level. I found myself having to sit with some of the concepts for a few days, not that I was having trouble understanding them, but rather I was blown away by their powerful simplicity and effectiveness. This book could change everything for you. Another thing I was happy to see, is that there are no hidden agendas or skewing of data to promote one way of eating over another (i.e. 'you must eat vegan because...' or 'paleo is the only way because...'). Taking responsibility for your health is a big step, and the approach in this book is to make gradual improvements rather than drastic, difficult to follow sudden changes. I honestly can't say enough good things about Loving Yourself to Great Health. I was given a free copy of this book, by the publisher, Hay House Inc. I wasn't paid or compensated in any way for my review or opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 31, 2014 KariF
Loving Yourself to Great Health called out to me at the beginning of the month. I didn’t know why I was drawn to reading this book, until my husband got sick.

After a few weeks of doctors, seeing my husband through a very bad spell of sickness, and finally getting a tentative diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis, Loving Yourself to Great Health was a great read for me as I tried to sort through my feelings and figure out what I wanted to implement in the future in the way of a healthy lifestyle.

The book is written by Louise L. Hay, Ahlea Khadro, Heather Dane. Of course, anything by Louise Hay is usually something I try to read, but the other two women are a big part of her life, so this was an interesting look into how Louise sees health and takes care of herself. (She is 88 in case you were not aware of that fact!)

Ahlea has worked with Louise for over 11 years and Heather for over 8 years. There is a good bio about both of them in the book.

Several Powerful Insights In The Beginning of Loving Yourself to Great Health

In the first part of Loving Yourself to Great Health, I was constantly highlighting insights that I wanted my husband to hear about after we learned about his MRI and the MS.

For instance, stress is what brought on my husband’s episode, and we both know that stress is unhealthy for an average person, but one of my highlights around chronic stress included this – “…your body cannot digest properly, your immune system cannot protect you, and your brain cannot think straight. Studies show that brains can even shrink under prolonged stress.” Of course, my husband’s brain health is on my mind, so this was something that we took very seriously, and he has decided to quit that job that causes him chronic stress and take some time to regain his health and look for something better.

One of the biggest highlights I made was – “Your body responds to changes you make with love, no matter how small.” That bit of insight reduced the pressure I was feeling to change everything right now because of my fear. Instead, I realized that I could learn from this book and incorporate small changes into our lives for better health.

In short, the first part of the book is a guide to better health. It gives you insight into loving yourself, how your body works, why you should listen to your body (and how), what kinds of foods are really healthy and supportive of good health (and which are not), and some natural home remedies to help you with various ailments.

It’s interesting because I found myself trying to recall the list of foods that were healthy the last time I went to the grocery, and I walked out of that store with a healthier haul then I’ve had for years!

The Second Part Of Loving Yourself to Great Health

The second part of the book begins with Chapter 8. This chapter is about getting started in the kitchen. I didn’t really find this chapter useful, but my husband and I cook at home often, so I guess I just already knew all of this information and have all of the recommended basics that a healthy kitchen needs. Food was my problem, not cookware.

Chapter 9 contains sample menus and meal options for breakfast, lunch, supper, snacks, and desserts. There is a five day menu suggestion if you are someone who likes to follow a menu plan instead of creating your own menu plan. There is a shopping list that includes everything you will ever want for every food and supplement you can think of, including healthy sweeteners.

Chapter 10 contains the recipes as well as some information on how to prepare ingredients such as grains, nuts, and seeds. One of the recipes, includes a recipe that Louise used as part of her healing process when she had cancer. It is essential asparagus puree.

I Recommend This Book

More and more people are suffering from diseases that have no explanation. To me, this just means that we need to pay attention to our lifestyle, including nutrition, thoughts, and exercise. Loving Yourself to Great Health gives great insight into our thoughts and nutrition, and I feel that is super important for everyone to read on their journey to better health.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews