Book Reviews

Adventures of the Soul

James Van Praagh

Intuition, Spirituality, New Thought

978-1-4019-4470-4

Adventures of the Soul is a manual for anyone who has ever questioned where they come from, why they are here, and where they go after they die. Sharing his intuitive experiences of communicating with... More

Feb 04, 2015 Starseed28
Overall, I was very pleased with this book. I have never read any of James’s books before and after this one, I will probably read many more.

I was surprised by how much of the book carried beliefs that I already held as true. This book made me feel as though I’m a sane person. Not that I feel that as though I’m insane all the time, but occasionally I wonder if I really am crazy for the things I believe. However, this book was a breath of fresh air that has allowed me to continue with my beliefs and feel content.

The book goes into details about the soul contracts and lessons that you need to learn in this life. Everyone has different lessons they need to learn and they get help from different souls, alive and dead, to fulfill their purpose. My interpretation is, soul contracts give you some guidelines to follow while on the earthly plane.

James shares valuable information that I believe everyone should hear. For example, the fact that your soul lives on after your body dies. Your body is just the manifestation of this world to allow your soul to evolve (learn lessons). When you die your soul leaves the body and goes to a better, more joy filled place. When you die there is nothing to fear because death is not painful. Also, when you die there will be other souls waiting to help you make the transition.

I feel this is a must read for everyone and I wish that people where more open to the lessons contained within these wonderful pages.

Thank you James for the enlightenment!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 25, 2015 kerrimulhern
I have been an admirer of James Van Praagh's work since his 1992 television show Beyond with James Van Praagh. It was my first introduction to the possibility of communicating with those who are in the spirit realm. I was thrilled when he recently joined Hayhouseradio.com for his own weekly radio show (Tuesdays at 2PM ET) and could not wait to get his latest book in my hands!

Adventures of the Soul: Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions is packed with information about the soul, spirit world, near-death experiences, soul lessons and more. James leads us on a soul journey through his perspective, but encourages the reader to use what resonates with him/her. I love this, because he isn't telling the reader to believe everything he says, it is up to the individual to incorporate into their lives what rings true.

There were revelations in this book, including his own out-of-body experience. This was an amazing journey to read about. I am very grateful that he is still with us to share his story! I also was unaware of his relationship with the amazing Debbie Ford. Their relationship was, and is very beautiful. Learning more about his husband was wonderful too.

More than anything for me, the message I received from Adventures of the Soul, was to understand that we are here to learn how to love and to leave this world a better place. It doesn't have to be in grand terms, but in the kindness of our daily actions and interactions. His chapter entitled Living a Soul Filled Life is fantastic to guide us on the path. He also includes beautiful meditations at the end of the book.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about the soul's journey in the present and spirit realm, or wants more information on living a soul-centered life. I also recommend the companion card deck: The Soul's Journey Lesson Cards. It includes 44 cards and a guidebook. The cards are beautiful and a positive way to start the day. Draw a card for clarity, and listen to your intuition; your soul knows the way!

In Gratitude
Kerri
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 26, 2014 summerlovinlisa
Adventures of The Soul by James Van Praagh is an uplifting and good read. James does a very good job of relaying to the reader the importance of Love and that it is indeed the most powerful force there is. In this book he touches on a lot of subjects. He of course touched on the afterlife which I expected but he also touches on many other subjects including NDE’s, Astral Projection, Remote Viewing and Out Of Body Experiences to name a few. He even instructs readers on how to Astral Project, Remote view and have an Out Of Body Experience. I found that very interesting and his instructions easy to follow. Throughout the book James shares his own experiences on different things and I must say they were very interesting stories. James also helps you to identify your Souls reason for being here. He gives different areas in which you may find are challenging in your life and from that it helps you to see the reason you chose the life you did. My favorite part of the book though is the very end where James gives guided Meditations. The Meditations are beautiful and very insightful leading you to gain much insight into your own soul. I highly recommend taping yourself reading the meditations and then playing them back so you can totally engross yourself in the meditation. I really enjoyed this book. This is the first book by James Van Praagh that I have ever read and I really enjoyed it. James did a great job of pulling you right into the book and I found I found myself laughing and smiling many times while reading it. I give this book four stars.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 23, 2014 Mystic812
Adventures of the Soul, Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimension by James Van Praagh is indeed a journey for the soul. The book packs a tremendous amount of information in only 159 pages. It is an easy read and the author talks to you as if you were having a conversation with a good friend. There are some touching personal stories James Van Praagh shares with the reader as well, and are given as examples for particular subjects. The book is divided into three parts, the first is titled "What is the Soul?", which has chapters on the body, soul and spirit, near death experiences, astral projection, and the power of thought. The second part is titled "The Soul's Home", which talks about death, the spirit world and reincarnation. The third part is titled "How the Soul Lives in the Physical", with chapters on soul's lessons, soul choices and how to live a soul filled life. At the end of the book there is a section called "Soul Journeys: Guided Meditations", which I really enjoyed. They are actual self guided meditations you can do, such as "healing your soul self", that are quite effective. I learned quite a bit from this book. James Van Praagh tackled a wide variety of tough subjects and explained them well, and communicated them in a positive and inspiring manner. It's a great starting place if you are interested in the afterlife or the spirit world.
FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Oct 27, 2014 thebalancediet
As anyone who knew me in my early twenties can attest...death was not something I feared. I brazenly went forth in life and threw caution to the wind, trusting that a higher power was watching over me. The wisdom I’ve gleaned since has affirmed that guardian angels definitely do exist because I was downright stupid.

But that’s how it is; you don’t fear death or question your own mortality until you have something to live for. It wasn’t until I grew up, got married, and started a family that I began to fear death. My ego became obsessed and fearful of what would happen when my soul left my body. I didn’t want to not wake up next to my husband every day. I was afraid of what would happen when I abandoned my daughter. I was by no means consumed with these thoughts, but they’d randomly pop up in my periphery and leave a pit in my stomach.

I believe that God and my angels put messages and lessons in front of me every day, so when James Van Praagh’s latest book, Adventures of the Soul, kept popping up in my web surfing and when I’d be out shopping, I knew it was for a reason. When Hay House offered me a free copy in exchange for a review I knew it was fate. I’m so glad I followed my higher power’s messages and suggestion because this book has brought so much insight and peace to me about what happens to the soul, and why there’s no need to fear death. VanPraagh believes that the main reason we fear death is because we don’t understand the infinity of our souls, and this book is full of stories about souls passing on, and as Van Praagh said it is, “a manual for anyone who has ever questioned where they come from, why they are here, and where they go after they die.”

Van Praagh’s gifts are truly present in this book, and he’s broached a fearful subject with a gentle grace that has not only brought me a great amount of peace, but dare I say...excitement, for what lies ahead for my soul.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 11, 2014 BookLover
Adventures of The Soul: Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions by James Van Praagh is a book that opens your mind and feeds your soul. We are shown what happens to our souls between worlds as well as why our souls are here and what lessons we are here to learn in this physical dimension. We are also shown the different levels in the spiritual realm and how they are really one at the same time.

This book is broken up into three sections. Section one, “Part I: What is the Soul?” teaches us about the soul and spirit. Part one also teaches us about energy and the power of thought. “Part II: The Soul’s Home”, teaches us about the spirit world and reincarnation. My favorite part of the book was ” Part III: How the Soul Lives in the Physical” where we are taught about our soul’s lessons and how to live a soul-filled life.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to everyone who wants to know what happens to their soul and also how to live life according to their soul and learn their own personal lessons.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 02, 2014 blessedelements
I recently received Adventures Of The Soul Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions by James Van Praagh in exchange for my honest opinion about the book. It was one of those gentle books yet powerful in knowledge and insight that one, at times, can reap from reading a good book. I classify this book as gentle not because it was a simple read but because of the peace of mind it delivered as it was so well crafted in love and clearly explained to the reader. I found this book to be a little different from the other James Van Praagh books I’ve read in the past. I’ve loved all the books I’ve read from this author however this one offered different insight on what made us tick and life after death.

So often I think as souls in a human bodies we get caught up on our roles here on Earth. Fretting about our purpose and wondering if we have we achieved it often blinds us to our true experience of this journey which is simply to love. Each day is a new experience and opportunity for learning and reaching our goals.
This book is divided into three parts covering:
I. What Is The Soul
II. The Souls Home
III. How The Soul Lives In The Physical

In this life we are souls learning lessons to become more God-like. Death is not a punishment but the portal to back home where we continue to learn lessons for better understanding. I can not imagine anyone having a fear of death after reading this book.

One of my favorite things about this book was the ability to continue to learn and appreciated the guided meditations given by the author in the final pages of the book. Meditation is explained for those new to meditating in a clear manner and steps to practice it.

I think we all have questioned our origins and why we are here. Death is a scary door we all must pass through but this book lights the way to ease those fears helping us realize that it is our home from where we came to learn lessons on Earth. I appreciated the description of the celestial realms we go to after our time here on Earth.

James Van Praagh has been a medium for the past 30 years and has proved himself to be authentic. This book is a spiritual discovery to the uniqueness of our soul. The reader is able to gain a better perspective of life here on earth and recognize the importance of it. As a gentle guide, this book, assists to help us recognize soul lessons and explains the principals of sorrow, forgiveness, love, joy and even grief. The end result from reading this book will be a new journey of confidence in satisfying your own souls purpose while following paths of love to get there. It is definitely a new kinder and gentler perspective on life and death by the peace it places in your being while reading it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 21, 2014 awatson
James Van Praagh’s latest book, Adventures of the Soul is described as “a manual for anyone who has ever questioned where they come from, why they are here, and where they go after they die.” By incorporating his thirty-plus years of experience interacting with souls on the other side, he expertly succeeds in answering quite a few of those questions.

When I received Adventures of the Soul from Hay House Publishing for review, I needed several days to read and also contemplate the teachings of this amazing book. One of my favorite parts was chapter four—“Death: The Doorway Home.” The section in the chapter where the author discusses the death and afterlife messages from self-help author and coach, Debbie Ford nearly took the wind out of me.

The entire book is filled with a palpable energy—the kind that reverberates deep within the souls of those who consider themselves seekers. I completely resonated with the truth of the teachings in Adventures of the Soul, which the author delivered with refreshing honesty and heartfelt compassion. Plus, he has a delightful sense of humor that makes the reader feel safe and at ease, considering the “seriousness” of the content he’s presenting.

So if you’re looking for a book that discusses the topics of life-after-death, the soul, consciousness, reincarnation and the like, without all the dogma or fear-inducing drama attached, then this is the book to read.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 20, 2014 Fairemagic
Do you sit and wonder why your here? All the questions you always had about your soul, it’s journey, and reincarnation. All your deepest questions you were afraid to ask are finally answered in Adventures Of The Soul by James Van Praagh. Adventures Of The Soul is a how to and a true manual. James puts his 30 years of medium experience to answer your question regarding your souls journey.

James explains why you need to raise your consciousness and energy. He also tell you why you need to watch your thoughts. That Laws of Attractions are always in motion. James Van Praagh takes you through near death experience, out-of body experiences, astral projections and remote viewings and explains them. There is so many documentation on these subjects. He does a great job explaining the spirit realms. Our souls are full of joy at home.

Adventures Of The Soul gives you everything you need to live in the here and now. Learn how relationships are part of your soul groups plan. It is an easy book to read that will bring you knowledge to assist your souls journey while answering those deep burning questions of why you are here.

I hope you enjoy this book brings you as many answers as it did for me.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 09, 2014 LisaAlaiana
Adventures of the Soul is a manual for anyone who has ever questioned where they come from, why they are here, and where they go after they die. Sharing his intuitive experiences of communicating with the Spirit World for the past 30 years, internationally renowned medium James Van Praagh takes you on a spiritual sojourn to discover the unique design of your very own soul and explore its various adventures as it travels between worlds.
You’ll learn to open up your mind to your soul’s unbounded wisdom and gain a bigger perspective of life and a better grasp of your significant part in it.
This book will further assist you in understanding and recognizing various soul lessons you came back to Earth to learn, such as sorrow, forgiveness, grief, love, and joy. By utilizing this knowledge, you will come to identify your soul’s intricacies and start to live a life that truly fulfills your soul’s destiny: following the path to love. This is one journey that will force you to look at life and death in a completely different light!


I was at a place in my life where I felt like I couldn’t read another book. I have always been drawn to the books written by James Van Praagh and Adventures of the Soul was no different. I could not put this book down until it was completely finished.
Adventures of the Soul is not only spiritually educating but very inspirational. If you have ever wondered about the after life and what happens to the souls when they depart this earth then you will love this book as James goes into great detail on the many dimensions after departing from earth and the multitude of spiritual realms that go beyond. Adventures of the Soul will touch the heart and soul of those who read it while enabling one to discover their soul’s lessons that are to be learned, help with discovery of why we make the choices we do and will automatically impact your daily life.

I have not been compensated for this review, this title has been given to me by Hay House publishers for the sole purpose of review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 08, 2014 cmwaugh
Journey to the center of the soul – Find your spirit within

“You don’t have a soul. You are a soul. You have a body.” ~ C.S. Lewis

It’s no secret that James Van Praagh is a maverick in the field of mediumship — connecting us with loved ones who’ve crossed over.

Van Praagh has written a seriously contemplative book called, Adventures of the Soul: Journeys Through the Physical and Spiritual Dimensions.

He doesn’t make this stuff up; it was a gift he was given.

His life’s work is to help others seek spiritual knowledge within themselves, and by doing so, he makes our physical lives more meaningful.

Van Praagh says that if we understand more about transitioning out of this life into the next, it all becomes easier to accept death.

A lot of what Van Praagh shares in this latest book is validated by tons of research done on near death experiences, deathbed visions, after death communication and all things of spirit.

The book, Adventures of the Soul, gets to the nitty-gritty of how we need to journey to the center of our soul to find our true soul purpose in this lifetime.

This spirit filled book invites us to reflect on our current soul’s path. Van Praagh shares that if we are closed-minded, intolerant of others, unloving, hateful or judgmental, that’s probably what we’ll face about ourselves when we pass into the world of spirit.

An eye-opener I had never given much thought to was when Van Praagh speaks about the spirit side of life. He says there is a telepathic “knowing” of our upcoming return.

This book is full of great end of life stories and the experiences Van Praagh continues to have today sharing spirit messages with those long gone.

When I face those pearly gates and reach out to those who’ve gone before me, I’ll have Van Praagh to thank for nudging me a little bit closer to finding my own spirit within.

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. I am a Linkshare affiliate.)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews