Book Reviews

Ignite the Light

Vicki Savini

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Family & Parenting

978-1-4019-4326-4

In today's society kids hardly get to enjoy their childhood, as they are faced with mounting pressures at school, within their family, and among their peers. Children are overexposed to violence and d... More

Feb 02, 2015 ArtisticallyShauna
Ignite the Light - Empowering Children and Adults to be Their Absolute Best is a book written by Vicki Savini. Savini has been motivating both children and adults to be their absolute best for the past 20 years. Savini is a public school teacher, a parent, and a speaker who empowers individuals to believe in themselves and live their truth. On the back cover of Ignite the Light, it says that "this book will give you the tools to educate, enlighten, and empower our children to see that they are perfect just as they are."

My Review:
I tend to read non-fiction books at a slower pace than I read fiction books. It is not that I enjoy fiction books more than I enjoy non-fiction books. I just find while reading non-fiction books I really internalize and think about each part of the book. This was exactly the case while reading Ignite the Light, by Vicki Savini. I read Ignite the Light over a period of time because I really wanted to grasp the message that the author was wanting to share in her book.

I am both a parent as well as an educator, and I have worked with children in many different settings. I felt like Ignite the Light would be something that I would be able to relate to as well as be able to use as a tool when working with children. Upon finishing Ignite the Light I had a little bit of a mixed review. A part of me absolutely loved some of the beautiful passages in the book as well as Savini's life experiences she shares. Another part of me felt like there was a lot of repetition in the book amongst the different sections. I also felt the book didn't flow in a way that made the author's thoughts feel organized. Now, with that being said, I do feel like Vicki Savini offers a lot of valuable wisdom throughout her book.

Ignite the Light is broken into three parts:

Part 1:See the Light
Part 2: Ignite the Light - The 7 essentials
Part 3: Be the Light

I am fortunate to be a part of the most marvelous book club! One of my favorite parts of our book club is that throughout the discussion of our book each month, a lot of our book club members share their favorite quotes from the book. So, I thought that for this book review I would do the same thing. Believe me, I have many more parts of the book underlined that I enjoyed, and it was hard for me to choose just a few quotes to share with you today.

Without further ado, here are a few thoughts that really spoke to me while reading Ignite the Light:

On the very first page, the "Author's Note", Savini states, "I am on a journey of life just like you, and I feel truly honored that our paths have crossed." I absolutely love that statement and I can't tell you how many times I have told someone that I am so glad that our "paths have crossed" in this lifetime. I always learn something from everyone I meet, and there are so many people that I have met that have been absolute blessing in my life.
On page xvii of the introduction it says, "I love getting notes from high school seniors who remember my classroom not necessarily because of something academic that I taught, but because of how they felt there." I love, love, love this! This is absolutely how I have felt in my 9 years of teaching. I still keep in touch with some of my first 4th grade students I taught. Some are married, some have had their first child, some are finishing up college, etc. Just the fact that some of my students keep in touch with me and share their special life moments with me, it makes me feel like they truly felt important and loved while gracing me with their presence in my classroom. Honestly, as a teacher, we are the ones who are blessed on a daily basis from the sweet students that we teach.
Page 9 says, "If we truly want to teach our children effectively, we need to begin by touching their hearts before we even attempt to teach their minds." Isn't that such a powerful statement?
On page 45 Savini explains that, "Helping our children to see the light within means holding a mirror up to them and asking them to see, feel, and believe that they're important, whether the world acknowledges that or not." One of my daughters has had a difficult time with her self esteem this year. It has broken my heart to know that she doesn't see the kind, talented, and beautiful person that she is. As a mother, I want nothing more than for her to see the "bright light that shines within herself". I truly love my daughters with all of my heart.
One last paragraph that I wanted to share with you is on pg. 58 where Savini explains, "As a child, I learned that my self-esteem, self-image, and self-identity were all based on the thoughts and opinions of others." Savini then goes on to say that she "finally understood that what really mattered was how I felt about myself. To be able to look in the mirror and love the person staring back at you is so very important." She then talks about how once we are able to love ourselves, that it will be much easier to show our children how to love themselves. So very true and enlightening. How often have I tried to build my daughter's self esteem up, while at the same time I have had negative thoughts enter my mind that say I am not good enough for this, or I should be better at that? Too many times to be honest. I hope to take Savini's quote more to heart.


My Final Thoughts:
I too believe that we are all born with a brilliant light inside us. Hopefully within our lifetime we will discover what special individuals we all are. I know at times our children may feel like their light is dim and fading, while other times they may feel their light shining so brightly they could burst with joy. Ultimately, I hope that we will all see ourselves as our Lord and Savior sees us, the glorious individuals that we are.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment and opinion of the book.
This "Ignite the Light Book Review" first appeared on my blog, Artistically Shauna, on February 2, 2015.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 18, 2014 Starseed28
I absolutely loved this book. It touched on so many things that I have wondered about while raising my child. I highly recommend this book to any person who has contact with children and wants to help their inner light glow.

The beginning of the book explains how to look through the eyes of children and realize your own limiting beliefs. Vicki talks about our foundation and that as children we didn’t come with blueprints, so our parents built our foundation with the best of their abilities. She explains that we can mend the cracks in our foundations by using her seven principles. Additionally, we can make sure our children foundations are built strong with those same principles.

The second part of the book is all about the seven principles and real life people who needed to use the principles. The seven principles are: love yourself, feel your feelings, quiet the mind, tune in, remove toxic thoughts, speak your truth and plug in. Although they seem like common sense practices, she explains that we aren’t using them as much as we should be. Every chapter includes stories about people who weren’t using them and how she helped them overcome struggles with that specific principle
.
The final part of the book is all about you and your children. She takes you through multiple ways (her toolbox) to incorporate these principles in your children and your lives. She challenges you to take a look at how you are behaving and change yourself for the better.

Overall, this book is a must read for anyone having, raising and/or working with children. Additionally, I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to rebuild their foundations and connect with to their inner child.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 27, 2014 Angel
Ignite the Light - Empowering Children and Adults to Be Their Absolute Best is a must-have book for every parent, therapist, spiritual counselor, child-care worker, teacher and anyone else who is looking to ignite the potential within themselves and others. The book contains several lessons on self-love and inner peace and methods of bringing out the highest and best within.

I Love This Book ...

For more information, please visit Hayhouse!!!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 23, 2014 misslaconti
Being an elementary school teacher I was able to connect to what Vicki was talking about. I do understand that our students model us like she spoke about, but when the teachers are stressed about all of the unnecessary testing, I know the kids pick up on that. After reading her perspective and description of what we are doing to these children, I have been inspired to change my classroom setting. I really like letting the kids express what they are good at and what makes them special.

I like how she tells us that our kids can practice yoga and meditation.

These tests they take are forming their beliefs about themselves when life isn’t even about a paper and pencil test. What really stuck with me about testing is that we have a “leave no child left behind” and “race to the top” mentality but in this “race” called our education system, kids are left behind.

This is a wonderful book to help inspire all of us, parents and teachers, to connect with ourselves and our children. Now to open the eyes of those in charge of our education system.

The FTC Guidelines state that any blogger who receives compensation for a review, in this case a product from Hay House, must disclose in their review that they received a product for free for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 19, 2014 stephaniesherie
Around the same time I received this book, I took my son out of Kindergarten. It was a difficult decision until we made it. It was around this time the book Ignite the Light arrived in the mailbox. The book Ignite the Light, written by a public school teacher, is a voice of support for any parent. We form core beliefs about ourselves as children. What beliefs are being instilled in children today? The moment we made the shift, my body calmed, and that includes my blood pressure to a beautiful pace.

I was paddled every year up to fifth grade. My mother never knew because the school was not required to notify her. Although this practice was discarded in my state, the beliefs that supported it are alive and well. I was educated in college as a teacher. Although it was never stated out loud that I recall, the prevailing attitude was that we the teachers were the authority. Our opinion of what a child needed was correct and the parent and child were not. We determined what was fair and not fair. I found myself remembering things and in doing so; I had the wisdom and strength of an adult to realize all that happened to me and allowed myself space to heal all that came up. As I process my grief, I looked at my son and was compelled to become more, a different kind of parent and woman that could step out and do something different that was a match for my son.

“Giving our children a strong foundation begins with teaching them to love themselves unconditionally. Children cannot believe in themselves if they are not able to love themselves.”

The author Vicki Savini, gives seven essentials to release, heal, and make new path for our children to keep their light shining brightly. Loving ourselves includes not overgiving to the point where we are drained. This is reacting to life, driven by fear, and not an example of loving ourselves.

I love the essential of feeling my feelings. As someone who helps others with emotional eating, I am learning about this all the time, and it is something I want to model and allow my son to do. Feel those feelings!

“We’re often so focused on wanting peace and happiness that we try to get rid of that painful feelings as quickly as possible. We have been trained to believe that pain, sadness, or discontentment of any kind is bad…Emotions are a natural indicator of what’s safe or right for us and what isn’t safe or is veering from our truth. ”

So much stuff comes up when we see children with lots of feelings. The first instinct we have is to shut it down, make it stop, and file it under inappropriate behavior. We tell them to get over it or stop being dramatic. Oh, what I call for the way I treat myself!! How often do we say these thing to ourselves? We blow ourselves off! Shutting off our feeling dims our light and brings us farther away from shining our light brightly. This book shares eloquently about the ways we cut off our children’s feelings and thoughts. Even better there are exercises we can do with children that are very fun and engaging. I love that they have been time tested in her classroom.

“It is critically important that we teach our children that it’s not only acceptable to feel their feelings, but necessary– because this is how we learn to trust ourselves and listen to our inner voice. You cannot truly love yourself if you don’t trust yourself.”

Vicki Savini is a public school teacher and one whose book I am glad to add to my personal library.

This book was sent to me by Hay House for my honest review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 20, 2014 dmunies
Ignite The Light, by Vicki Savini (a public school teacher and life coach), is a must-have resource for all parents, teachers and those who work with children. It is a “how to” book like no other - how to help our children be mindful, thoughtful, positive, self-loving, and self-knowing individuals. It is stepping stone toward a society that educates our youth in a new and valuable way.

The book is for adults to learn the content first for themselves so they can then integrate it into their interactions with their children; therein teaching their children and giving them life skills. Savini reminds us “our children are mirrors for whatever we’re experiencing in life” and they learn from us through not only words and actions, but our energy — we model behavior and they pick up on that. This sets the stage for Savini educating us about how we can overcome our own limiting beliefs, become mindful of our thoughts and actions, and how, through our daily interactions, we can simply and effectively give children these and other essential-self skills; skills the average school education unfortunately does not provide.

She provides clear and concise ways we can cut through and address the negative influences that stayed with us from our upbringing so we can come to our children, clearly and mindfully. She outlines 7 essential tools toward loving yourself, feeling your feelings, quieting the mind, tuning in, removing toxic thoughts, speaking your truth and plugging in. Points I found particularly important were responding vs reacting to situations, acting out of love not fear, and finding the answers within ourselves and not looking outside ourselves.

As a mom and a life coach myself I have been waiting for a book like this! I am always amazed how our public school systems (and most private) do not teach these cognitive practices. While the tools she touches on include mindfulness, yoga and meditation, she addresses how these can be incorporated into the classroom and daily living in a way that is more conventional and appealing to conservative classrooms and families. As a public grade school teacher, Savini has applied these approaches in her own classroom and talks about how they can be integrated naturally.

Savini offers the essentials for taking parenting and teaching to the next level. Ignite the Light is a catalyst to help our youth to shine brighter than ever. — not for scholastic or material achievement, but for themselves.

FTC Disclosure - I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 18, 2014 taslimjaffer
How can we help our kids who are growing up in a time of constant pressures – to do this, to be like that, to study this, to excel at that – and whose childhoods are slipping through their hands without the ‘luxury’ of just being kids? I find the overscheduling and the demands to be social, happy, smart, polite-to-the-point-of-robotic to be really quite sad. It’s something I am conscious of, yet every once in awhile something will slip out of my mouth that totally contradicts this. Sometimes when I listen to the words I throw at my kids in moments of panic (Will my kids be liked?) or times of fear (Will they ever learn to….?), I am amazed that my words and my values are not aligned. How does that happen?

Ignite the Light: Empowering Children and Adults to be Their Absolute Best begins by taking you on a journey to your childhood. Vicki Savini expertly examines how our core beliefs become engrained in the cells of our consciousness as children and how these beliefs play out as we grow into adulthood. I loved her phrase, ‘What happens in childhood doesn’t stay in childhood.” The first half of the book is truly eye-opening and gives the reader an understanding of why he/she turns reacts to situations or turns to particular vices. I can see how this part of the book can help break an adult free from the binds of their childhood. And, the best part is, with this knowledge, an adult can arm the children in their lives with a healthier toolkit.

Naming ’7 essentials’ for being emotionally and spiritually healthy adults, Savini places a great emphasis on our responsibility to teach these essentials to the young in our lives by modelling not simply by telling. Which means we have to do the work, too! With carefully selected personal stories interwoven with her anecdotal research as a life-long learner and teacher, Savini opens the reader’s mind to the possibilities that lie within our reach. And she always brings it back to our children and students who are the real beneficiaries of a healthier planet.

Though not a parenting books by conventional means, I highly recommend this book as a MUST-READ for those of you navigating the sometimes tricky terrain of parenthood; it’s an engaging read that prods at important issues we may be accustomed to sweeping under the rug. The second half of the book, focusing on the 7 essentials, offers quick and practical exercises that will add to your experiences with these pages.

Grab this book for yourself, your siblings, new and seasoned parents and of course, your favourite school teachers. They will all benefit personally, and so will the children they influence, consciously or unconsciously.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 12, 2014 Loveandtreasure
If you’re like most people, you probably have self-help books on your shelf that you will read “some day” or that you started reading but didn’t read all the way through. If you’re one of the lucky few who finished these books, you probably can’t remember the top 3 tips from each book (or from your top 3 books) even if your life depended on it.

Why the Book Ignite the Light is Special

Let me tell you that when you read Vicki Savini’s book Ignite the Light: Empowering Children and Adults to Be Their Absolute Best, you will be able to name at least 3 tips for years to come. Why? Because you’ll probably will be doing them in your daily life. She has that type of effect. Perhaps you have heard some of the advice that she offers from someone else but never applied it. Hearing it from her, though, and reading about how self-nurturing, soothing, loving and beneficial it is to apply her tools, will make you want to jump on this Ignite the Light bandwagon. The subtitle clearly explains why. Many of us say that we want to be our absolute best, but it takes internal work and internal love to prove that you really are your absolute best. Why? Because you are the one that needs the most convincing. You are the one who needs to hear my favorite message from the book: that you are important. It doesn’t give a hoot what a great person other people think you are. You are important WITHOUT their validation of your importance and without their validation period. You see, that’s something that Vicki does exceptionally well. She makes it clear that the reason most of us were “messed up” and sometimes continue to be messed up is because we continue to look OUTSIDE ourselves for validation.

For how much longer do we have to keep on looking outside ourselves to notice that that nobody “out there” is going to light our path permanently?

They will help, sure. But they won’t be infallible forever. Heck, they won’t be around forever. How much longer will this ineffective, painful, and vicious cycle go on? This is an extremely important question to ask ourselves because we almost inevitably get hurt every time we expect someone to give us the love, worth and importance that we need to be giving ourselves. We become codependent. We become skeptical of ourselves to the point that it paralyzes us. It hurts so much that we try to numb it– but never actually do. We become physically unhealthy because of this. And this shuts us down emotionally. It dims our light to live like this. It really, truly, sadly, does.

My Favorite Technique In the Book Ignite the Light

My favorite technique that Vicki teaches children from a very young age, is to verbally state what they’re good at/what makes them special and give them random and frequent opportunities for them to be able to do so. Imagine what this type of self-appreciation and confidence can do for the world? If a lot of children do this, there won’t be many adults in the future wondering what to do with their life. This is HUGE! Believe it or not, that continues to be the monster inside many successful people’s heads… they often wonder “who am I to be doing this and getting paid for this?” because they don’t think that they’re enough or that their self-worth is up to par with the contributions that life has lovingly allowed them to make.

As Parents and Caregivers You Are the Best Person to Ignite the Light After You Do Some Work On Your Present and Past

Do you know of someone who thinks that teachers should educate a student completely… manners and all? Or are you one of those people? I don’t recommend that you defer parenting to anyone else. But if you were to make that “mistake” I would highly hope that Vicki Savini is your child’s teacher (but then again, Vicki would only be able to “educate” your child for one year). What I love about Vicki the most is that she teaches what matters. When was such and such a war in history? Who cares!!?? Really! Why the heck does it matter now? But learning the answer to: how can we manage our own internal war, or internal struggle? NOW we’re talking. Thankfully, this book can help you feel emotionally prepared to take on the huge responsibility of parenthood into your own, capable and loving hands.

Why I Recommend This Book

Vicki, given her extended empathy in working on herself, including her imperfect childhood, and her wounded inner child (something that most of us can relate to)… has been able to work with children extensively, effectively, efficiently and in life-altering ways. I could write much more about why I recommend Ignite the Light: Empowering Children and Adults to Be Their Absolute Best but I’ll try to synthesize in the following points as to why you should read the book and try to convince parents and child caregivers (beg if you need to ;) ) to read this book.

She is one of the few people I know who absolutely loves who she is at the core and can therefore give back in life-changing ways to students in her classroom and camp, parents, caregivers and her readers
She is an elementary teacher, so how she finds the time and energy to do her regular job, fight for the injustices in the educational system currently (which are a lot), go against the flow of traditional public education and teach empowerment the way she does, and be emotionally and professionally available for the parents and children she comes to contact with is something that I truly bow down to. WOW! Truly inspirational. I hope she has been Teacher of the Year at some point because there are former HS students that continue to remember her with immense appreciation. But then again, external validation doesn’t matter. ;)

Despite her greatness she is very human and very relatable, which makes the book an easy and enjoyable read
She knows how to forgive in a way that makes you reconsider your own capability to forgive
She is thankful for the past that she had despite the downsides
She is thankful for the current life that she has despite the downsides
She is generous in the tools that she shares even though I KNOW that she must know a whole lot more. I especially like how the back of the book is a good reference section of tools that you can easily access.
She encourages children to be empathic— imagine what a difference that can make
She encourages children to make choices– to empower their sense of self and strengthen their gift of choice. Even if a child makes “the wrong” choice, she teaches us how we can approach this situation in a non-judgmental way that encourages learning from the experience instead of perpetual condemnation.
She encourages children to collaborate and problem-solve as a community
She encourages children to express how they feel effectively with “I am statements”
She respects children to either talk or not talk about their issues, and honors their choice to live through their issues in a way that works for them.
One of the greatest signs to me of how wonderful a person is, is by how wonderful their children are. And Vicki’s son, Nico, is so emotionally intelligent and aware that it speaks very highly of Vicki. In fact, his light and Vicki’s light are part of a beautiful, connected, luminous chandelier…. or better yet, a candelabra… since they fit perfectly together.
I found many Tweetables (phrases that I’d like to Tweet ) since many of Vicki’s messages were poignant and beautifully stated.
I love the fact that she uses her intuition… since this is an extremely important natural-born asset that we all have and should apply more often in a world that encourages us through all the media and technology to look outside of ourselves for answers and fulfillment instead of inside.

One downside of the book is that there was a bit of repetition with some of the tools. They were mentioned in narration and then in the back of the book to a substantial degree. It would be better for the flow of the book, if the tips were more streamlined. But even the repetition helps internalize the concepts. This is a wonderful book to read if you believe in the potential of a better world, and a better future.

I received this book from Hay House for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 11, 2014 EmilyCarpenter
Ignite the Light is a book written by Vicki Savini, an elementary school teacher disheartened with the state of the educational system in the United States, that wants to make a difference.

We expect so much from our kids academically, that emotional intelligence is often overlooked. Savini points out that we are constantly teaching our children through our actions. In order to teach our kids how to thrive, we first have to demonstrate these things in our own lives.

I was personally taught as a kid that any feeling but happy was not desired. If I was sad or angry, frustrated or upset in any way, my mom tried to “fix” it so that I would be happy again. She still tells me to put on my best face and to show off my smile. I did learn how to do just that. It’s one of the reasons that I’m great at speaking in front of a crowd. I’ve been sick as a dog and gotten up in front of a group of people to give a talk and when I’m finished people tell me that they never would have known. I can put on a happy face and fake it until I make it.

That works if you’re an actor or a speaker, at least some of the time, but what about those other feelings? What happens to that anger and frustration and sadness when it’s covered with a smile? I don’t think that those feelings ever go away, they just build up until they are too big to handle, or transmute into sickness of the body, mind, and spirit.

One of the most important lessons we can teach our kids is that ALL feelings are okay. Savini points out that feelings are signals, or flags to what choices we should be making. If something doesn’t feel right, we should listen to that feeling rather than stuffing it down and hoping it goes away. The more we are true to our feelings, the more happy we can feel overall.

Of course, as parents, we want our kids to be happy. But sometimes, they also need to be sad or angry or frustrated, or lonely, or tired, or feel left out, or overwhelmed or anxious, or whatever. Our job is not to make them feel happy all the time, it’s to help them to understand their feelings and discover what it means about what the next right action is to take based on those feelings to bring them back to a state of contentment. Savini talks about the importance of responding to life rather than reacting to it, and of coming from a place of love rather than a place of fear. If we are coming from a place of love when trying to understand our child’s feelings, then there is no feeling to be afraid of. Love will enhance good feelings and disperse the bad. Fear will do the opposite. We can choose love over fear.

So, the question is, how do we do that? Savini outlines seven “Essentials” that we can practice ourselves in order to teach our children. Parents can teach these essentials to their kids and teachers can teach them to their students. And anyone can teach them to the child within each of us. The seven essentials are:

1. Love Yourself
2. Feel Your Feelings
3. Quiet the Mind
4. Tune In
5. Remove Toxic Thoughts
6. Speak Your Truth
7 .Plug In

Many of these essentials are things that I’ve been working on already, and so they really resonated with me. After describing each of the essentials, Savini devotes the entire last section of the book to suggesting practical exercises to make them a part of everyday life. As with anything, they will only work if you take time to do the work rather than just reading about it.

I encourage every parent or teacher to read Ignite the Light by Vicki Savini and watch the world change, one child at a time, beginning with yourself.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest, personal, opinions about the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 18, 2014 BookLover
Ignite the Light: Empowering Children and Adults to be their Absolute Best by Vicki Savini is a wonderful book on letting the light within us, both children and adults, shine.

This book is broken up into three parts. In part one, “See the Light” we are shown how to see the child within and what beliefs are holding us back. In part two, “Ignite the Light: The Seven Essentials” we are shown how to respond to life instead of react to it and thus teach our children to do the same. Some of the essentials we are taught are “loving Yourself” and to speak our truth. In part three, “Be the Light” we are taught how to put the seven essentials from part two into practice in our lives right away.

My favorite chapter is entitled, “Healing the Child Within” where we learn to heal our negative beliefs from childhood and be our absolute best. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to everyone, even those who don’t work with children as this book helps ignite the light in adults as well.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 18, 2014 thebalancediet
Ever since my daughter was born I have voraciously read parenting book after parenting book in order to work on myself, and arm myself an arsenal of tools to help us raise a happy, confident, and kind daughter. When Hay House gave me the opportunity to receive a copy of Ignite the Light by Vicki Savini, in exchange for a review, I jumped at the chance as this book was right up my alley.

In this book, Savini, a teacher and mother helps us give children the tools to feel empowered and to be their absolute best. What I liked about this book was that it didn’t just focus on what children needed to have in order to be great, but the work that parents needed to do as well. Savini points out that we pass a lot of our “stuff,” onto our children and a lot of the time we don’t realize it. She points out the importance of clearing our own blocks in life, and learning to empower and love ourselves so that we can pass these tools on authentically to our children.

This book was an easy read, but I often found myself taking days between chapters so that I could reflect on its teachings. One thing that I absolutely loved about this book was that Savini frequently gave web addresses and book titles for tools that parents and teachers can find useful in helping their child acknowledge their feelings and ignite their light.

I don’t frequently give five star reviews, but this book really knocked it out of the park. I loved Savini’s approachable and non-preachy style, and appreciate her being so forthcoming with tools that I can use. I know that this book will always be on my shelf and that I will reference it often for both myself and for my daughter.
+
Read on Blog
2 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews