Book Reviews

Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence

Jessica Ortner

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Women's Issues, Health & Healing, Alternative Health, Diet/Fitness, Women's Health

978-1-4019-4511-4

Many women live their lives believing that they can't ask for what they want until they change something they're unhappy with. No promotion until they get new skills. No relationship until they establ... More

Mar 22, 2015 AprilAngel73
When I first began listening to Hay House Radio, I was introduced to EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) or tapping by listening to Nick Ortner’s radio show. Immediately, I was interested in this this method to break some negative thought cycles occurring in my daily experience. When I saw that Nick’s sister, Jessica, had written a book dealing with EFT for weight loss and body confidence, I felt that it would be a “must read” as I have wondered how tapping for weight loss would work.

Jessica has had an experience with weight gain/loss and lack of body confidence that many of us have gone through or are currently going through. She offers extremely clear, easy to follow, step-by-step instructions on how to use tapping effectively for weight loss. Along with these instructions, she explains the panic behind dealing with feelings. Jessica drills down the “why’s” behind emotional eating and how to change our thoughts and beliefs in order to break the cycle of emotional eating. She offers stories about her own experience and the experiences of others who have used tapping to help with weight loss and body confidence.

I found The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence to be extremely helpful. Jessica Ortner covers an unbelievable amount of information in a candid and succinct way. Almost any question you might have on this subject and how to overcome related challenges. This book is a “must have” for every woman as a large number of us forget that self-care is not selfish and we almost all have experience or are experiencing at least one of the challenges mentioned in this book.

http://www.hayhouse.com/tapping-solution-for-weight-loss-body-confidence-1

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 02, 2015 Loveandtreasure
Have you struggled with weight at some point in your life?

If you're like most of us, you have either struggled physically, emotionally or both because of how much food you had or wanted to have.

For most people, food is an issue regardless of their shape.

Think about it.
Food is fuel.
But so is gasoline.
But do we ever finish putting gas in our car and immediately start planning when we are going to pump gas in our car again?

No.
At least most people don't.

But when it comes to food, even if we don't start thinking about lunch, right after breakfast consciously, some part of us knows that we have to "last" until lunch time.

And even before lunch officially arrives, you anticipate it, or if you're home, you plan for it by preparing the meal.

Food Is Magnetic

Food is woven beautifully in our culture, traditions, celebrations and every day living. So instinctively, we're drawn to it because it is one of the most popular social practices we have.

Furthermore, another reason why food has the "pull" that it does, is because of the emotions we attach to food (sometimes enjoyment, sometimes guilt). So we enjoy eating socially. We are by nature, social eaters.

One of the most common eating patterns that brings women a lot of shame is that we sometimes opt to enjoy food in public and sometimes we enjoy food even more in private.

Perhaps our greatest shame comes when we realize that what we eat in private we wear in public.

And more important than that, is that the shame that we feel for how our body looks is evident in our interactions with others. They often take the form of insecurities.

No dress, no suit, no shoes, no makeup and no recent hair make-over can prevent us feeling insecure about our shape.

And what I've mentioned primarily focuses on how we look externally.

The saddest thing if if we shine the light internally, when we are having so many issues with our external appearance, it's almost too scary to go in alone.

But you don't have to face the reasons you overeat alone, you are not alone in your shame, you are not alone in your dilemma that has been with you ever since someone taught you what "skinny" means and what "fat" means (a word, which by the way, I personally hardly ever use).

In essence, your inside affects your outside and your outside affects your inside. And it's loving what is when it's hard to love what is that makes the cycle of weight-loss a challenging one for many people.

There Is Someone Who REALLY Understands What You've Gone Through All These Years (Or Decades, Should I Say?)

Jessica Ortner is the most compassionate person I have heard when it comes to talking candidly
about general weight struggles. This automatically makes her an author that you can relate to.

Her book, which I received free for review purposes from Hay House is called, The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence: A Woman's Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More .

In it, she shares her own personal struggle with weight in a way that makes you feel less ashamed, more proactive and more likely to do something about your weight.

She offers you the tools, primarily tapping, also known as EFT, to explore your weight loss issues with lots of consciousness an self awareness which means, with a need to find the truth.

What Is EFT?

If you've become more aware of tapping the meridian points in recent years, it is very likely that it is because of the work that she and her brother Nick Ortner have done to spread the benefits of tapping.

EFT, or tapping, may sound weird, look weird and feel weird, but it is based on sound premises: ancient Chinese acupuncture and modern psychology.

So, before dismissing it as something that is "too-different" for it to work for you, try it, let Jessica guide you with her book. This review of The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence: A Woman's Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More will give you the information that you need to gauge if this book is right for you.

What Does The Book Come Down To?

In a nutshell, you have to make 3 relationship changes to see your body transform:

Your relationship to food--- Food is not the enemy. Your greatest tools are love and the choices that you make with love (not-self defeat. After all, who would want to improve something that one absolutely hates). Your past struggles with food are not written in stone and you can have a different body.
Your relationship with your body-- Yes genes matter, but if you've heard of the term, epigenetics you know that in the popular battle between nature (the genes you were "dealt") and nurture (your lifestyle). Your lifestyle, wins.
The relationship with yourself.
Anybody can recommend a diet...but that's just a bandage that isn't addressing the root cause of your perpetual cycle.

There is no perfect diet, after all.

In The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence: A Woman's Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More, Jessica relates stories about her patients in a way that honors them as individuals... and that honors you as you see yourself and your loved ones who've struggled with weight reflected through them.

What Is The "Magic" Weight Loss Solution?

Jessica invites you to be your own tapping patient and to approach this weight loss journey, which can be your last, with deep compassion, curiosity, respect, honor, acceptance and my favorite, LOVE.

As I've said before on my blog www.loveandtreasure.com, whatever the question, love is the answer.

Love will help you make any change that is worthwhile and lasting.

Does it require effort?

Of course.

Treating, feeding, exercising, learning about nutrition and setting time aside for introspection and tapping with love will be the closest thing that you can do to being at your goal weight.

What I Liked Best About The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence:

Jessica's story and how real and relatable it was
The fact that Jessica wrote the book, not only because Jessica is so knowledgeable about the subject, but because she had that guts to write it. Weight loss is such a difficult, touchy, exhaustive and almost exhausting subject, that her determination to write about that topic is something that I'm proud of.
I applaud Jessica for her vulnerability in sharing her story, which was not easy for her... but which in my mind, is the most valuable thing in the book. Why? Because unless we get real with ourselves and our own self and body issues, we won't be able to make any progress... in weight loss, or in anything.
I like that it's geared toward women, but that it also helps men. As ladies, we know that our issues around body/self image and food are quite different than those of men. Most importantly, it comes down to how we approach this touchy subject, and Jessica approaches it in the best way. There is no author that can talk about EFT and the mainstream women's weight anywhere near as perfectly as the way that she does.
The quotations and opinions in the beginning of the book are from some of the most respectable and admirable women of our time. What they say about this book is highly positive.
Having an excerpt by Christiane Northrup is very convincing validation for how great the book is and how important the topic is, for every woman.
What I Liked The Least About The Book

It's not a bad thing, actually. Jessica is so relatable, that I almost wanted the whole book to just be about her journey to self-loving and weight-maintenance.
The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence: A Woman's Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More is a great book.

Prove it for yourself buy getting your own copy.

Now It's Your Turn

Have you read this book? If so, what do you think of it?
Do you know any other awesome books on the subject?
Please leave your comments below. Most importantly, share this article with someone whom you think could greatly benefit from this book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 19, 2014 thebalancediet
Have you ever noticed that sometimes the things you actively try to avoid end up being the things you really need in life? Usually these things stir up a lot of unsavory emotions…. they make you judgmental, but most importantly...they make you uncomfortable.

That’s how it was for me when I first heard about Jessica Ortner’s book, Tapping Solution for Weight Loss and Body Confidence. I first heard about this book through Gabrielle Bernstein’s newsletter, and to be honest, I thought it was a crock. I watched the video and the whole tapping process just seemed absolutely ridiculous to me. How could tapping help anyone with anything??….I felt like a catcher at the baseball mound randomly signaling a pitcher. I didn’t complete the video in the newsletter and immediately deleted it, it just didn’t resonate with me.

The universe, however, kept putting this book in my path. It was at Barnes and Nobel when I randomly turned a corner, it was in my Facebook feed, and when Hay House gave me an opportunity to read it in exchange for an interview, I listened to the universe’s prompting and went for it.

While tapping still makes me feel silly, I’m definitely seeing a benefit to it. I’m a healthy weight, but like many people, I do deal with some unhealthy habits. At the end of the day, when my husband puts our daughter to bed, I more often than not find myself in the pantry looking for snacks…I’m emotionally eating to relieve the stress of the day. IT’s not something I’m proud of or even something that I even initially realized was emotional eating. This book has helped me tackle that and I’m continuing work through it.

This book is geared towards women, but I have mentioned the methods to my husband to look into to help with stress relief from his job. I’m not a tapping master, but I’m grateful for this book for giving me some pointers to help me deal with some very unhealthy habits. I definitely recommend it for anyone who battles with emotional eating issues….which is just about everyone!

Would you ever try an alternative therapy such as tapping?

All my love,
Jaclyn
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 11, 2014 paulonea
Tap into Positive Self-Healing

With an endorsing foreword from Christiane Northrup, The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss and Body Confidence by Jessica Ortner is must read to help discover the answers every woman looks for in body care. Whether you need an alternative to weight loss or just a different way of self-talk, this book is for you. Jessica offers beautiful scripts to follow while tapping through stress, doubt, impatience and more.

Each exercise takes the reader one step closer to peeling away the layers of emotional blockages, to relieving stress, and to free the mind of pressures for losing weight. In dealing with these three aspects, Ortner states that tapping “quickly allow[s] your body to return to a more relaxed state in which it can digest food properly and support healthier digestion and faster metabolism.” With Ortner’s vernacular, and easy to relate to stories, the reader gets a positive, helpful, and practical way of dealing with weight loss struggle.

It seems like every woman struggles with body confidence, or lack thereof, which goes hand-in-hand with the weight loss journey. Again, Jessica offers some easy to understand tools for dealing with emotional eating, approaching exercise, and the overall care of our femininity. With such an upbeat person on women’s sides to understand the struggle and offer some answers, The Tapping Solution is worth the read.

My favorite exercise is the “Power of Patience” tapping sequence that works through the impatience one feels while beginning the weight loss agenda. This one especially emphasizes that one doesn’t need to check in with the mirror or the scale to see a change, one just needs to check in with herself and trust what her body is telling her.
Whether it’s this sequence or another, each tapping exercise focuses on working through the negative feelings first and replacing them with positive statements. One’s body needs time to release the old ways of thinking and once that void is left, it needs to be filled with the positive in order to trigger the confidence to work through the healing and eventual weight loss.

For anyone who is tired of roller-coaster diets, little results, and feeling disgusted at their body image, this book is for you. Ladies, it’s time we take back our self-worth and this book is a solid tool for being kinder to ourselves, patient, and most of all, loving without using artificial or harmful methods. Along with the tapping sequences, Jessica offers stories, encouraging statements, and thought provoking reflective questions to aid in our self-healing. I’d say you’re worth it, so give The Tapping Solution a try!



FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.






+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 27, 2014 BethanyG
Working toward a healthier life has lead me to looking into holistic approaches to weight loss, health, and matters of the mind. I have heard about tapping, but never quit knew what it was. This was all explained to me in The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence by Jessica Ortner.

There are three sections of this book where Jessica explains the science & method of tapping, helps us to overcome emotional eating, and how to use tapping to increase our self-care which helps to increase our self confidence.

I am usually one to jump on the bandwagon when there is a holistic way of doing things, but I am not sure about the method of tapping. I understand that it uses acupressure and psychology to obtain the same outcome as diet and exercise (weight loss) by reducing stress and giving us more self worth, without dieting and exercise. But— the best and healthy way of losing weight is diet and exercise so eliminating those two things might not be the best for everyone.

I do believe that the method of tapping would work for some. However, I know that for myself, I will stick to a basic healthy diet and working out (I LOVE weight training), but I wouldn’t rule out using some tapping here and there. I think that it would be a great addition to my healthy lifestyle, but I don’t think this would take the place of everything else. Psychological health is important, but it’s not the only thing.

{Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Hay House for the purpose of this review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.}
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 01, 2014 ohsarahjoy
The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss and Body Confidence by Jessica Ortner is a body confidence book disguised as a weight loss book. It focuses on using EFT, emotional freedom technique, to help you identify and heal your weight loss issues. EFT utilizes tapping along meridian points while consciously focusing on limiting or hurtful thoughts, emotions, or beliefs to help you heal from those thoughts or beliefs.

I say that this is a body confidence book disguised as a weight loss book for a few reasons. Ortner does a great job at highlighting that for most people (aside from a medical condition or some other condition) weight loss is a symptom of something else in your life. She mentions many factors that could cause you to gain the weight and/or keep from losing it; anything from using it as a shield to go unnoticed by others in a desirable way, a way to deal with childhood trauma, or even as a way to keep you from focusing on really painful issues. It’s easy to focus on your weight and ignore something else that may be going on in your life.

The tapping sessions that Ortner walks you through really help you get at the heart of your weight issues. She starts with a basic tapping technique and works through more and more specific exercises. She teaches you how to do tapping on your own personal issues and help you heal.

Ortner mentions time and time again that the only way to truly lose excess weight and keep it off and stop yo-yoing once and for all is to love yourself and then you will naturally start making better choices for yourself. Once you learn to make decisions for your body from a place of love rather than a place of fear or disgust you will naturally lose weight and keep it off.

I’m still making my way through the tapping exercises and I am not focusing on losing weight. I am working through some body image issues and I can definitely feel a difference after I have completed the exercises. After working through the exercises I feel less stressed and like a weight has been lifted. Those negative thoughts and feelings regarding my weight or the way I look seem far away and instead I am left physically feel lighter and happier about myself.

Even if you aren’t looking to actively lose weight but still have some negative issues regarding your body I highly recommend this book. Some parts of the book might be uncomfortable as you work through some issues but using EFT really helps you find out what is at the root of whatever issue you working on, whether it’s weight issues or stress headaches.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 17, 2014 ginadrellack
This book by Jessica Ortner is a further exploration of EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique), as also described in her brother Nick Ortner's book. It is written specifically for women who wish to use tapping to lose weight. And it sneaks in how to lower your stress and appreciate yourself more!

The concept behind EFT is to tap on specific body energy meridians while consciously identifying current emotions and feelings about a particular issue (such as weight loss). Doing so through the steps taught in this book calms the body and rewires the brain--which results in restoring energy and balancing health.

I have to admit, I'm not a regular tapper. But honestly, I experience results when I do tap! Because of that, I am expanding my use from headache relief and stress detox to now also include weight management topics. This book is very helpful with that expansion.

If you've never tried tapping, now is the time. If you've experienced tapping, this will be a supportive read. This book is for anyone who is interested in including the emotional aspect of their physical health--regardless of weight!

I received this book from Hay House in exchange for my honest opinion of it, as part of their Book Nook blogger program.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 03, 2014 suziconfesses
I first heard of Jessica Ortner early this year when Bex interviewed her on BexLife about tapping. Prior to that I’d never even heard of EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) and since then have watched a few more interviews Jessica has done with Bex (I’ve linked to one later in this post) and became interested to learn more about it. As I mentioned earlier this summer I’m studying to get my Nutrition and Weight Loss Specialist certification and have been soaking up anything and everything I think might help me help others find their way to a healthier life. So a few weeks ago when I checked out the available books on Hay House for review and saw this one I decided it was time to learn a bit more!
From Hay House:
Many women live their lives believing that they can’t ask for what they want until they change something they’re unhappy with. No promotion until they get new skills. No relationship until they establish their career. No fulfillment until they find love. One of the most common conditions women place on themselves is weight loss—no love until they lose weight, no sex until they lose weight, no happiness until they lose weight. But Jessica Ortner, co-producer of the highly successful documentary on meridian tapping, TheTapping Solution, offers women a better choice. Why not lose the weight and create the life you’ve always dreamt of?
As a culture obsessed with weight loss, we all know the latest fads that claim to help us drop pounds instantly. What often isn’t discussed is the science behind the issue and how learning to deal with stress can promote and accelerate weight loss. Not only does stress create an overabundance of cortisol that is directly related to abdominal obesity, it also impacts behavior, supporting bad habits, including using food to deal with difficult emotions and painful situations.
In this groundbreaking book, Jessica uses tapping to help tackle the stress that leads to weight gain-including the personal stresses of low self-esteem and a lack of confidence. Using her own struggles with weight loss, along with success stories of some of the thousands of women she’s worked with, Jessica walks readers through the process of discovering their personal power and self-worth. Her program is based on extensive research into the benefits and success of tapping and the hormones involved in stress and weight gain.
In this book she guides readers through a proven process of overcoming their dependency on food. She covers everything from the emotional aspects of overeating and cravings, to how to find joy in exercise, the power of pleasure, and how our families and friends may inadvertently add to the problem. With hope, heart, humor, and science, Jessica weaves a path to a happy, healthy life full of confidence and joy.
I loved this book so much more than I thought I would. I figured it was going to be a book all about tapping (which it is) and learning how to use it for weight loss and body confidence (and it is that as well), but it is just soooo much more than just those things. If you are someone who isn’t the least bit interested in tapping or losing weight I still think this is an amazing and empowering read. I got so much more out of the book besides learning about tapping.
IMG_8054

There was one story that really stuck with me, and I know I’m going to get the details wrong but the general idea is still there. Jessica spoke about how a friend of hers kept talking about an ice cream or frozen yogurt shop in NYC and one day the two of them made a date and went to check it out. At the time Jessica herself was struggling with her weight and while she and her friend were eating their treats her friend said something like, “You realize we are eating two different things right now don’t you?” and Jessica asked her what she meant because they were in face eating the same thing. Her friend went on to say something like, “I’m having a treat and because I’m completely enjoying it, it will pass right through my body while you are having ice ream with a side of guilt and yours is going to stay in your body.” Jessica talked about how once her friend said that, really felt like it rang true it felt to her. It might seem counterintuitive to say that how you feel about what you eat makes such a difference in how it affects you and your weight, the more I’ve learned about hormones and how your thoughts play such a big part in keeping your hormone levels in check (or out of check) and as a result in your weight (and whether you gain or lose or maintain) I know it is certainly not counterintuitive.
If you have found yourself struggling to lose weight, or lack body confidence I would really urge you to pick up this book. Even if you are happy with your weight and happy with your body but are feeling stressed or have anxiety pick up this book! Like I mentioned above, even if you aren’t sure about tapping give it a go – it’s easy, simple and best of all free! And it may just make all the difference in the world. You can pick up a copy of Jessica’s book on Amazonfollow (<– affiliate link) in both hardcopy or kindle versions, and if you’d like to learn a little bit more before taking the $10-15 plunge here is one of the interviews I mentioned earlier between Bex and Jessica:

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 15, 2014 monikaznextlevel

Weight loss, the billion-dollar topic that will always be a in style. I was skeptical before reading this book, but interested in how Jessica would combine weight loss and the tapping technique together. Jessica Ortner’s, The Tapping Solution was a pleasant surprise. In my experience a lot of weight loss books deal with the science of losing weight, yet never focus on how to build confidence and deal with your “inner critics.” This book gets to the core of the issues and why it is so important to work from the inside out. I believe you will see results by implementing these techniques and values.

I was very interested with Jessica’s connection between stress and weight gain. I had never put these two ideas together and it makes a lot of sense. If you can control your stress and confidence level, you will be able to control your weight. Using tapping you can cut your stress off at the beginning, supporting a calm, relaxed you that can make better decisions at the refrigerator.

Based on her own success story, and stories of others, you can see how to implement this style and create results that you want. The emotion behind eating is a problem that the majority of weight loss books do not address. This book does just that. It allows you to be aware of where the issue really lies and start to live your life now.

I recommend this book to anyone that is interested in learning more about weight loss for clients, or for personal use. Jessica’s intelligent, entertaining style of writing allows the book to be both educational and entertaining.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 09, 2014 BarbRidener

The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss and Body Confidence by Jessica Ortner is so much more than the simple weight loss book I first thought it would be. In her open and relatable way, Jessica walks the reader to the door of your fears and helps you open it and face the barriers that are getting in the way of being at the perfect weight.

Of course, the basis of the book is in teaching the reader to use EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) or Tapping. I was not unfamiliar with Tapping but just like Jessica explains when she tells her story, I had never thought of it as a solution for my struggles with weight. Jessica provides the perfect prompts and scripts to lead the reader through the EFT process. She is thorough and explains the reason the process starts with our negative feelings. Jessica then moves the reader forward to understanding that once the barriers are released, there is nothing that stands in the way of taking the next steps towards losing the weight.

Jessica is an expert at connecting extra weight with the hidden problems that our weight might be protecting us from. She asks the “right questions”. And in the answers that are revealed, our fears are also unearthed and eventually released. The more I read, the more I would think, “Wow! I never thought of that.” But the more I read, it was the big “A-ha”, the pieces that I had been missing. It couldn't have made more sense.

The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss and Body Confidence leads the reader from a place of frustration to a place of understanding and empowerment. It provides tools and promise. It is masterfully written and gives hope to those who are willing to put in the effort to work the steps. This book is a must read for those who can’t figure out why they have been struggling with weight loss.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. I was not financially compensated for this post. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 21, 2014 LeChat808
When I was deciding what book to pick for my next Hay House review, I felt intrigued to check out Jessica Ortner's, “The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence” based on the subtitle, “A Women's Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More.” I have been blessed to not have personal issues with weight but, oh yes, I've definitely had major issues with how I deal with stress, self-love and body confidence overall- I don't know any female that hasn't! I also believe that we can weigh more metaphorically too: personal choices based on circumstances out of our hands can make us feel heavy with anxiety or depression. Plus I've also really been wanting to learn more about the EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) method anyway, tapping on acupressure points to allay stress. Natural and free, feeling as if you're experiencing a “mini-miracle”, sounds good to me.

“What tapping does is bridge that gap between your body and your mind.” Jessica starts off with her own personal journey of what led her to tapping and what tapping actually is. I was surprised to learn how very simple it is. The most challenging part for me is just pin-pointing in exact words of what is bothering me, not over-generalizing.

With a lovely diagram and concise descriptions on how to begin, including how to figure out exactly what is hurting you that allows you to keep making unhealthy personal choices, it was easy to start right away. Most times for me, my negative choices are all about false conceptions I have about myself and allowing self-sabotage to seep in to my dreams. The continued focus is on loving and accepting yourself. Beginning with the “karate-chop” point on either hand and an exact “set-up” statement that involves saying that you love and accept yourself out loud, the almost immediate results are fascinating and indeed shift your energy. This is continued through different acupressure points while stating truths and positive affirmations that pertain to your life experience.

Tapping is all about specifics. “Emotions such as anger, fear, resentment, and guilt that are hijacking your best intentions are also impacting you on a deep biological level.” Tapping literally retrains your brain to respond in a healthy way as opposed to react at a stressful level. Stress induces wackiness. Feeling wacky or out of control does not serve us- there is no clarity when we cannot breathe properly, see straight or think rationally. We react by gorging out on fast food and reality TV, judging ourselves and others, abusing alcohol, and we don't pursue our dreams because we don't see or believe in our light. Jessica guides us effectively in not only believing in ourselves, she sets your dreams in motion by showing quite simply how EFT serves your spirit. “With tapping, you can change your beliefs by targeting the emotions and the stress response your beliefs create by focusing on the belief itself”

I treasure this book, as Jessica is the first one to say it's not all about the weight loss, it's about loving yourself and believing in your fullest potential. Filled with tapping meditations, real-life stories about friends and clients and an awesome chapter devoted to self-care and pleasure (including a potent reminder that surfing the net is an unhealthy distraction! Comparing ourselves to anybody ever, especially on social media is so detrimental to our evolvement and true self-acceptance. Choosing to “numb out” with the net is yucky. Guilty as charged. Self-forgiveness tho' pronto people- tap on it!) Tapping teaches me to acknowledge the fear, say it out loud, align my truth with my body, mind, and spirit, and literally within moments, I truly feel free. Jessica is a true pioneer for sharing her truth and becoming a teacher and guide of the EFT method. She gets what personal freedom feels like from the inside out- and I appreciate and respect her immensely for sharing this with us.

I like this holistic approach to finding solutions with ease! Having healthy heart beats that are in rhythm with the earth and your own breath is a gift. I would recommend this book to all females, Tapping is a wonderful healer. And the actual act of tapping really feels good. Life gets funky and it feels calming to know that if we can't make it to that yoga class today, had a bad day at work, or need to approach a challenge with a self-confidence reminder, that we don't just have to reach out for the bottle of vino or start feeding into the negativity and fear with frustrated, self-deprecating emotions. “The Tapping Solution....for Body Confidence” truly allows you to TAP in, even tune in, to what is truly at your core, to heal- “tapping through the layers”, heal even more, and lead your goddess spirit to soar...

{{I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes}}
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Jul 15, 2014 KariF
I just finished The Tapping Solution For Weight Loss & Body Confidence by Jessica Ortner, and I gotta say that it is one of the most unique books (that include ‘weight loss’ in the title) that I’ve ever seen. I’m not a stranger to tapping, and if you are – I highly recommend that you don’t run away from the idea. I’m seen the value that tapping has, and if you are a woman struggling with your body image, then tapping may be the answer you have been looking for.

What Is The Tapping Solution For Weight Loss All About?

To me, the book is a wake up call for all women who can’t stop dieting. It is not another diet. Far from it. It is a way to grasp what we all want: make healthy living a lifestyle, not a punishment or temporary thing. It is designed to help reader’s lose weight, but it is also designed to help readers let go of the blocks that are holding them back from losing weight.

Throughout the whole book, there are stories that you will relate to, no matter where you are in your weight loss journey or how you feel about your body. Jessica does a good job of going through these stories and helping readers see why they are just stories, and how they are holding us back from experience true health and weight loss.

If you are not familiar with tapping, here is my explanation of it: It is simply tapping with your fingers on certain points of your body to relieve stuck energy, get it flowing, and bring your body back in to balance. I don’t know how else to describe it. You tap on various energy points and you feel better. It may sound silly, but if you want to lose weight (or reduce stress, feel better about yourself and others) then it is worth a try, right?

Here’s the thing I took most from the book - If you have a stuck emotion or thought pattern (or limiting belief) about your body, then that can sabotage your weight loss efforts. For instance, if you think, “I never lose weight easily,” then that can cause you to go on a strict diet, feel too much pain, quit the diet, and fail at weight loss. Clearing out that negative belief about yourself, and the thoughts and emotions that come with it, will help you to stop punishing yourself and start paying attention to what your body really needs – not what your punishing thoughts tell you that you need.

If that doesn’t make sense, Jessica does a good job of making it make sense in the book and helping you tap through the issues that you may be having.

Tapping Is Not Just For Women! (But This Book Probably Is)

I know this book is directed towards women (it even says on the cover – a woman’s guide to stressing less, weighing less, and loving more), but it can really be used for women or men, young or old. Why? Because it is about gaining a healthier body image as well as losing weight. There is nothing that separates a woman from a man when it comes to eating better, exercising more, and reducing the stress around weight gain, weight loss, and body confidence.

However, the last chapters do tend to focus on women and their issues around eating and self-care, so it may not be totally relevant to a man or worth the money. A man may just want to learn about tapping for weight loss and use that information instead.

Mystery Around Food And Why We Eat It

I particularly liked the section on ‘Untangling the Myths, Facts, and Feelings around Food’. I actually turned to my husband and asked him if he knew some of the stuff that Jessica was talking about and he seemed to on some level. (I don’t want to reveal what it is, because that’s not my place to expose her whole book’s information) but let’s just say that it made sense, and now I know why some of the things I make at home just don’t taste the same as things I buy (and why they never could!)

It also removes some of the temptation I’ve had for those foods and replaces it with a YUCK feeling and even a pissed off feeling that some companies are so money-hungry they are willing to get scientists to make our food suck us in and play havoc on our taste-buds.

Should You Read The Tapping Solution For Weight Loss?

There were some parts in the book that discussed struggles that all women (and men) have with body image, eating issues, and exercising issues. Therefore, I think this book is good for anyone struggling with their body, regardless of whether or not they have weight to lose.

If you are someone who naturally chooses good things for yourself and doesn’t stress when you choose a bad thing here and there, and who can look in the mirror and say DAMN, then you will probably not gain much from this book. You probably have a great mindset and don’t have too many stuck issues or limiting beliefs holding you back from being happy in your body and living a healthy life.

For everyone else struggling with body image, this is a book that could change the way you approach weight loss and body confidence.

Note: I Received this book from Hay House to review as a part of the Book Nook blogger program. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 06, 2014 awatson
The title of Jessica Ortner’s The Tapping Solution for Weight Loss & Body Confidence: A Woman's Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More led me to believe that this was just another weight loss book full of admonitions, “shoulds,” and pie-in-the-sky promises that guarantees results as long as the reader followed complicated exercise routines along with equally complicated meal plans, plus tapping. But this book—which I received from Hay House Publishing for review—is not that book.

Jessica Ortner masterfully peels back the layers of emotions and masks that many women hide behind, and unearths some powerful truths. There were so many a-ha moments and recognizable behaviors, that I found myself highlighting practically every other page. However what resonated with me the most was what the author calls, “The Rebellion Response.” This unconscious behavior is manifested in the gaining or maintaining of excess weight as a way of “giving the finger” to that parent or whomever else a woman felt didn’t accept her for who she was. In other words, we are more inclined to rebel against the pressure—spoken or implied—to lose weight by doing the opposite.

I’ve read many books about tapping, as well as countless others regarding weight loss and weight management, but I’ve never seen the two disciplines combined in a way that is both non-threatening and compassionate. Kudos to Jessica Ortner for pushing beyond the been-there-done-that of women’s weight issues, and getting to the heart of what really keeps women from owning their power.

I highly recommend this book to every woman, no matter her size, for as the author wisely observes: “So many women…are so afraid to shine that they become desperate to deny their own potential and downplay their accomplishments. They’re trying to play so small that they almost force themselves to use their weight to hide.” Well said.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 02, 2014 Eleven11

The book was good. Jessica's passion for the subject of tapping and also for the subject of a healthy, fit body really came shining through. The book covers the same techniques that are in the Original Tapping solution by her brother Nick Ortner, but Jessica has taken those methods and fine tuned them specifically for weight loss. This book is very easily understood, so even if you've never done tapping, you can get started right away.

I didn't have any weight that I needed to lose, but I did have some dietary changes I wanted to make, and using the tapping exercises in this book helped me to make them effortlessly.
Time richly spent in this book.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book free from HayHouse in exchange for my honest review.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 28, 2014 Starseed28
Overall, I was very pleased with this book. When I first read the title I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I loved this book. Jessica is a genius and it shows throughout the entire book. She starts with the idea that you need to love yourself as you are before you can make the necessary changes in your life. She says that if you don’t love yourself why would you want to take care of yourself. She also talks about the fact that you can’t keep putting off your life just because you think everything will be better when you lose all the weight, when you’re skinnier.

I was surprised by how close to the truth she came with how I feel about my future and myself. Although I haven’t been one to think that EVERYTHING will be better when I lost the weight, I did buy into the idea that many things would be so much better. While reading the book I felt like someone was peeling back the years of self resentment and making me face the fact that I hated what I seen every time I looked in the mirror. Which you will find out is one of the main problems many women face.

As for the tapping, I haven’t been completely on track, but I will say that it has worked. I was a little skeptical at first, but as I used it more I was able to fight my overwhelming sugar cravings. I do believe that if I did more tapping, I would be able to lose the weight that has plagued me much of my adult life. Honestly, what little tapping I did do helped me feel better about myself. She has a few tappings that you do throughout the book that help you release some of the negativity that you hold against yourself.

As I said at the beginning, I am happy with this book and highly recommend it to everyone who has low self-esteem.

FTC Disclosure: I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 21, 2014 melissadanielle
Despite all the marketing messages we receive about weight loss - what to eat, what to avoid, the right kind of exercise and all kinds of programs, supplements, detoxes, and fasts - there’s still no one-size-fits-all approach to losing weight and keeping it off for the long-term.

If you want to lose weight and none of what you’ve tried before has worked, what’s left?

For Jessica Ortner, author of The Tapping Solution to Weight Loss and Body Confidence, the answer is to stop focusing on the food.

Producer of the documentary film The Tapping Solution and host of The Tapping World Summit, Jessica has shared her Weight Loss and Body Confidence online program with more than 3,000 women. In her book, she invites you to consider the underlying factors that motivate your food choices, such as self-care, how you handle stress, emotional eating, stories about food from your childhood, and your beliefs about your self-worth. Jessica presents a self-guided method to address these concerns first before depriving yourself of food.

While some may consider her methodology, EFT, also known as tapping, as new agey or downright ridiculous, it is no less absurd than what people have already put themselves through to lose weight - diet pills, shakes, lemonade laced with cayenne pepper, extreme calorie restriction, hypnosis, and surgery.

The Tapping Solution to Weight Loss and Body Confidence, aimed primarily at women, is not a quick-fix solution for weight loss and doesn’t make any promises about results, something health coaches like myself appreciate. Readers are encouraged to look at how their lifestyle and old stories about their self-worth supports their food choices, rather than blaming food for their weight troubles.

If you want something bigger for your life than weight loss, something that invites you to consider that you are more than your dress size, that food and your weight are not the problem, then you’ll want to read this book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 03, 2014 BookLover
The Tapping Solution For Weight Loss and Body Confidence: A Woman’s Guide to Stressing Less, Weighing Less, and Loving More by Jessica Ortner is a book that shows us how to use EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) also known as ‘Tapping’ to have less stress in our lives.

This book is broken up into three parts. Part one, “Preparing for the Journey” gives us an introduction to tapping, how to do it, and some of the science behind it. Part two, “Looking Within” shows us how to overcome emotional eating and how to feel content in our bodies. My favorite part was in part three, “Moving Forward” in which  we are shown how to use tapping to increase our own self-care and also to use it to help us say no when we need a break.

I liked that this book was directed towards women, although either gender can use it. However, it dealt with many issues that women have. Overall, this book was an enjoyable read and is not just for those who want to lose weight but also for people who want to be more loving towards both themselves and others.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge in exchange for my honest and unbiased review of it.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews