Book Reviews

Holy Shift!

Robert Holden Ph.D.

Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality, General, New Thought

978-1-4019-4510-7

Holy Shift ! : 365 Daily Meditations from A Course in Miraclesis a modern psycho-spiritual text that has inspired teachers like Marianne Williamson, Louise Hay, Wayne Dyer, Jerry Jampolsky, Sondra Ray... More

Jul 22, 2014 thebalancediet
Not too long ago, A Course In Miracles crossed my path and I dove right in.

Unfortunately, as a mom to a busy toddler I didn’t have the time to devote to it that I would have liked. That’s where Holy Shift! comes in. Holy Shift! is a daily devotional by Robert Holden that is comprised of 365 meditations based on A Course In Miracles. I feel like I’ve found the Holy Grail! Regardless of how busy my day is, I always have time to read one or two lines from this book and take a few moments to quiet my mind and think about what they say.

The book itself is gorgeous, and looks great on my coffee table. Countless guests pick it up and peruse it only to find little nuggets of wisdom within its bindings. I feel that Holy Shift! is a great way to get in touch with your spiritual side without pressure or devoting a ton of time. Its statements are innocuous, but also reference to where they are found in the A Course In Miracles text in case you find yourself wanting to delve deeper into that day’s lesson.

I recommend this book to anyone who’s been curious about studying A Course In Miracles, and wants an introduction to it.

I was provided a fee copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 11, 2014 ginadrellack
Holy Shift! by Robert Holden is a daily meditation guide from A Course In Miracles. By nature, this is meant to be a supportive supplement that enhances a person's spiritual process. And it does.

The introduction is well worth reading, as it gives a quick background of ACIM as well as an overview of its guiding principles. And then it jumps right into the meat of the matter with daily guides for the calendar year.

Each day's guide is a beautiful, poetic rendition of a particular line or lines from ACIM. They are short & sweet, easily digestible. The reference is also given per meditation, for ease of looking up the original words. (Don't let what might be a new format become a roadblock; how to use the reference is user-friendly and explained in the introduction.)

The language of each meditation makes it understandable and personal.

You do not have to have read A Course In Miracles to get the most out of this book. If you have read it, you will still find this companion book to be inspirational.

Anyone who likes daily guides needs to have this book for their use.

Hay House has gifted me with this book in exchange for my honest opinion of it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 05, 2014 skiwee47
This meditation book is based on an original book, A Course in Miracles written in old Christian English by two psychology professors at Columbia University whom neither were spiritual but offers spiritual philosophy which is conveyed in their book. All meditation verses notate the entry utilized by Holden from the Course textbook, Workbook, the Manual for Teachers, Psychotherapy, or Song of Prayer supplement. A Course in Miracles goal is to teach people to make an “exchange of separation for salvation” maintaining the exchange is an inner gift. One of the psychologist authors stated she began to have dreams of a spiritual nature and decided to share her spiritual experiences and their meanings with the world.

The Acknowledgment section is where Holden states, “A Course in Miracles has blessed my life and work.” Holden is also a student of the course program and uses its philosophy and information in his speaking engagements and workshops he organizes around the world.

Holy Shift! representing A Course in Miracles is similar to the Book of Proverbs in the Bible and reads like a sage of the ancient world sharing their perception and wisdom with those who listen. Holden warns not to replace this course with the Bible but rather use it as an accompaniment with other Bible study supplements. The book has an uplifting appeal for people needing further encouragement outside of their regular Biblical daily reading. I recommend to those who are curious regarding A Course in Miracles and want more understanding of its philosophy and teachings.

I received this book from Hay House Book Nook in exchange for an unbiased opinion in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission guidelines.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 03, 2014 stefaniekamerman
Having not read A Course in Miracles before reading Holy Shift! 365 Mediations From a Course in Miracles, I was a bit confused and wondered if reading A Course in Miracles before reviewing would have been a better option. However, once I started going through Holy Shift!, I began to enjoy the nuggets of philosophy that came from A Course in Miracles, chosen by Dr. Robert Holden to be in Holy Shift!.

This small, beautiful book of mediations for each day of the year will help keep your mind renewed. I would say some Christians would enjoy these mediations, however this book is more about spirituality than the gospel. I am a Christian blogger, and fell I need to state that in this review. Being a philosophy lover, I loved Holy Shift! and found the meditations delightful and thought provoking.

Before picking up Holy Shift! to read, I would recommend first reading A Course in Miracles to better grasp the daily mediations.

Thank you Hay House and Hay House Book Nook for the opportunity for review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 03, 2014 serenityreviews
Holy Shift! is an excellent resource for readers looking to quickly access some of the principles and underlying themes of A Course in Miracles. A Course in Miracles is a self led study guide that combines psychology and theology and appeals to readers to create a universal spirituality of love and unity versus appealing to a particular religion. First published in 1975 and authored by Dr. Schucman, A Course in Miracles is now offered through the Foundation for Inner Peace (FIP). A detailed description of the book and course is available at their website.

The primary criticism for this book is that there isn't any new or original material from the author. All of the material and quotes seems to be derived directly from A Course in Miracles. If you are new to A Course in Miracles and are looking for a brief, time efficient introduction this book is an excellent tool; however, it would be more cost effective and complete to just buy A Course in Miracles. If you have completed A Course in Miracles and would like a small portable daily reminder, this book may serve you well.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 25, 2014 kerrimulhern
On October 21, 1965 Jesus spoke to Helen Schucman, Ph.D.: "This is a course in miracles, please take notes." I don't know about you, but if Jesus spoke to me, I'd be writing it down, recording it, and tattooing it on my entire body. Helen, being of a more rational mind than myself, opted to write it down with the help of her friend and colleague William Thetford, Ph.D. Thus A Course In Miracles was born.

Whether it is a lecture, a book reference, or a familiar quote, A Course In Miracles (ACIM) has been brought more and more into my awareness as I continue on my spiritual quest. This course offers spiritual transformation! However, the thought of reading a 1,200 page book seemed daunting at best, so I kept on listening to the lectures, the references, and the quotes (I'm not lazy mind you, I just thought my brain might explode).

What a glorious day it was when I found out Dr. Robert Holden, Ph.D. was putting together a book of daily meditations called Holy Shift!, based on A Course In Miracles! Now I could learn from the brilliant author of Happiness NOW!, Shift Happens!, Authentic Success, Be Happy, and Loveability. I had the pleasure of listening to one of his lectures at an I Can Do It! event last year, and am an avid listener to his weekly show on Hay House Radio. His messages are so on point, insightful, relevant, and transforming. He has studied ACIM for over 20 years, and his poignant and inspirational messages make him the perfect source to learn about the Course.

Dr. Holden has put together 365 of the most beautiful selections from ACIM to meditate on daily. In Holy Shift! you will be transformed through poetry, prayer, and meditation. This is a beautiful daily meditation guide. For the purpose of this review, I read the entire book. So many times I would be reading a page and 'Wow!' 'Brilliant!' 'Amazing!' would just fly out of my mouth. I couldn't help myself. There was such beauty, joy, and release in this book. It reminds us that we are truly love, we are never alone, we are as pure as we were created- we just need to remember. It also is a reminder that we are all one, we are free when we forgive, and what we see in the other is just a reflection of ourselves. It is illusion shattering, ego releasing, uplifting, and miracle producing.

While I read the book in its entirety, I also took the day's message and sat there with it. I wanted to experience the daily meditation as well. I read it several times, mostly aloud as a prayer. I asked God to help me absorb and fully understand the message that He wanted me to know from this meditation. I set my iPhone alarm to twenty minutes, closed my eyes, and meditated. This was the first time I was able to meditate without music, a mantra, or a meditation CD. I focused on my breathing, relished in the day's message, and was silent.

Do miracles occur from reading Holy Shift!? They sure do! As I continue with the daily meditations, I can feel the shift. I don't need a bucket of money to fall out of the sky for me to witness a miracle (although I would not turn from it, should it decide to!). There are miracles in every moment, and this book allows you to notice them. Isn't it a miracle to feel peace, love for yourself and others, a gentle letting go of past and future towards living just in the present moment? There is a calm and joy that comes from learning that God loves us just as we are, that we are a part of Him, and we are never alone.

For me, I feel less fear and I dwell less. I also feel an ease in taking care of the house that holds my soul, which I have not felt before. This translates to a gentle desire to walk. Since starting the book, I have walked 3 miles a day. Exercise was a chore in the past, along with a scolding for not taking better care of myself. Now it feels like second nature, as if I'm not trying at all. I'm really not trying, it's just happening. No more scolding, I accept and love myself as I am right now. My appetite has changed, again, very naturally. I had a nudging to finally start my gratitude journal, and I have added synchronities and miracle observations that are now part of my awareness. It is all so easy, no pressure, just flowing. I also feel calmer and more loving towards others and myself. What I love about this book, is I have a daily reminder and lesson to keep me on this path. It will always be with me.

I highly recommend Holy Shift!, whether you are new to ACIM or continuing on your journey. There are some books that exude power and this is one of them. You can feel it just by holding it in your hands. Every day you will learn more about yourself, the world that you have created, and the power of God within you. The biggest miracle is you will get to really know you- and you will be amazed at how beautiful you really are. Bless you Dr. Robert Holden, Ph.D. for this exquisite book.

With Gratitude,

Kerri
www.suitablegifts.com

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 19, 2014 jessicacontreras
I personally love daily affirmations, I enjoy meditating each morning with a daily affirmation and carry that throughout the day. Therefore when I received this book by HayHouse I was very excited to start doing the daily meditations. The book offers daily “meditations” similar to affirmations but they’re a little longer than affirmations. Each page is labeled with a date, for example (June 19) you don’t have to do it on a certain date, like I was. I would focus on a question such was “what is the message that I need to receive?” and then I would randomly open up a page and it every time it landed on something I needed to “suckle” on.

Bottom line: I recommend this, however if you don’t want to spend a buck you can always look up affirmations online that you feel a connection with and make up your own meditation prayers.

Here is a quick sample of what it looks like, I think this is good to have on hand whenever you feel a little pick me up.

Disclaimer: I received this book by Hay House Publishing for review. I have stated my honest opinion.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 17, 2014 mommyinpa

"Holy Shift" is actually a broken down version of a book titled "A Course in Miracles". The original book is very big and full of so much information that Robert Holden decided that it would be a great idea to make a condensed version. "Holy Shift" takes information from "A Course in Miracles", the workbooks that accompany it, the teacher's manuals, and the two supplemental works (yes that is a lot of book...LOL). Each daily passage also has where it can be found in the original text for reference.

I guess to understand what this book is about you have to have basic knowledge of "A Course in Miracles". Basically it is information taken from Helen Schucman's dreams and interpreted into a 1,200 page book written in old-style Christian English and full of iambic pentameter.

Helen is known actually as the scribe of "A Course in Miracles" because she said that the voice was not actually hers but Jesus.

"A Course in Miracles" is broken down into a 669 page text (the philosophy of miracles), a 488 page workbook for students (how to live the philosophy), a 92 page manual for teachers (for clarification), and two supplements (Psychotherapy and The Song of Prayer).

The book encourages you to look at things in a more simple way. It basically teaches us that we are how we were meant to be and that if we feel we failed it is only because we are conditioned to believe we are to be or act a certain way. It also helps us realize that we need to start focusing on how to let our soul guide us instead of our ego.

Mommy in PA: This book is meant to be read on a daily basis and is broken down one day at a time. I recommend that you read it the way it is meant to be read to get a full understanding of what it has to offer. Seeing as how I was doing a review on this book I didn't have the time to read it that way and thus didn't get a chance to use the book to its full potential.

I did find some very encouraging words. One of my favorites is "Perception is a mirror, not a fact. And what I look on is my state of mind, reflected outward. I would bless the world by looking on it through the eyes of Christ."

Some of the book seemed like it was saying the same things over and over (not word for word but the same ideas). I guess that it is just reinforcing the fact that we need to love one another and realize that the world is how we envision it and if we love others as we do ourselves that things would be much better and we would see that we are all as God created us.

I personally would rather have had this book in a spiral bound format so that I could just turn the page each day. When I have to remember to open the book each day I tend to forget which meant many times playing catch up and having to read a few pages at a time which just made the text harder to comprehend. I believe that each page really does need to be given a whole day's thought because some of them are harder to get the meaning of than others.

All in all I believe that it would be a great companion to the original text but I feel that without having the original I am missing something.

disclaimer: I received this book for free from Hay House, Inc. in exchange for my honest opinions. All opinions remain my own.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 05, 2014 BookLover
Holy Shift!: 365 Daily Meditations from A Course in Miracles edited by Robert Holden, Ph.D. is a collection of deeply inspiring, thought provoking, and moving quotes from A Course in Miracles, one for each day of the year. The quotes are taken from the text itself, the workbook, the manual for teachers, and the supplements to A Course in Miracles.

We are encouraged to mediate upon the quote throughout the day to find a new awareness or have a holy shift to a new perception. I think this book is a good companion to the Course and an exquisite introduction for those new to A Course in Miracles. Each day brings a new light to our current perception and how we can have a holy shift.

I found this book to be a great addition to my library and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to be inspired, is new to the Course, has studied the Course, or who just wants a great spiritual book. This book is simply beautiful.

For the purpose of this review I read it through once and am now going to go and take it day by day. I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 27, 2014 timlarison
I’ve come across many authors, teachers, and acquaintances in the past year who have had a positive experience studying A Course In Miracles (ACIM). “It’s my primary spiritual path,” said one. When I’ve tried to read ACIM myself, however, I found it hard to comprehend. Yet because it has had such a favorable impact on peoples’ lives I wanted to learn more about it. That’s why I welcomed the chance to read Robert Holden’s new book: Holy Shift: 365 Daily Meditations From A Course In Miracles.

In the 10 page introduction Holden gives the best overview of “The Course” that I have read. “A Course in Miracles is a big book. It’s more than 1,200 pages and 500,000 words long, and its size alone is too imposing for many,” Holden writes. It was a relief to know I was not the only one who was baffled by ACIM at first glance. Holden himself writes about The Course, “Initially, I found it difficult to understand.” Yet Holden says “The Course describes a miracle as something you experience when you are willing to shift your perception from a psychology of fear to a psychology of love.” Now that’s something I can relate to! My spirituality is based in the unconditional love of God, and not in the fear based messages taught in many churches. I wanted to read more.

Once I was past this excellent introduction, I discovered Holy Shift was not an original work. Rather Holden gives the reader 365 passages from The Course to read and meditate on – one for each day of the year. For someone intimidated by the size and language of the original Course, Holden’s work is much easier to digest. I found myself underlying key passages, such as:

“As a man thinketh, so does he perceive. Therefore, seek not to change the world, but choose to change your mind about the world.” (February 1st).

“Only the Love of God will protect you in all circumstances.” (March 1st)

“You who want peace can find it only by complete forgiveness.” (May 2nd)

“God is our goal; forgiveness is the means by which our minds return to Him at last.” (Sept 13th)

“The Holy Spirit’s Voice is as loud as your willingness to listen.” (November 5th)

With ACIM’s primary message of love and forgiveness, emphasized throughout Holy Shift in these and other passages, I found the book uplifting. Holden has produced an abbreviated version of A Course In Miracles – good for people like me who find the original Course a bit overwhelming. Ardent students of ACIM will find Holy Shift a valuable refresher of The Course’s key concepts. For the purposes of this review I quickly read through the 365 daily lessons. I’m going to take a second look, this time reading the book as it was intended, with one passage to focus on each day.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 23, 2014 PattiFoy
I love this book. I’m pretty stingy with stars but this one gets all 5, meaning it’s a book I expect to treasure and use always, and which I highly recommend.

This isn’t a book you read; it’s a book you use. I’ve had it for a few weeks now and here are my impressions.

First, the basis of this book is the radical and profound "A Course in Miracles". Although it could be used independently, like the author I recommend you study the Course as well. However, if you’ve ever approached the Course itself, you know it can be daunting to say the least, and I wouldn’t rule out this book even if you’ve ruled out the Course.

" 'There is no world! This is the central thought the course attempts to teach.' That’s quite a statement." ~ Robert Holden, Holy Shift! (quoting the Course in the Introduction)

[Personally, I want to add a note that although I’d studied the Course on and off for decades, it never made any sense to me until I read Gary Renard’s "The Disappearance of the Universe", at which point I finally “got it”. Where reading the Course used to be a strain, I now eagerly devour every word. So it goes without saying that I strongly recommend Gary’s book as well.]

This book consists of 365 daily meditations from the Course. Each one is titled with a month and day so you can easily access a new idea daily with no need to keep track. The Course itself is way too comprehensive to keep in your head at any given time, so it’s really nice to have some of the more outstanding passages to touch in with each day.

The quotes Robert’s chosen are excellent. They’re fairly short and very profound. (He has studied the Course for over 20 years and was obviously very thoughtful about his selections.)

He also lays them out nicely. Rather than in chunky paragraphs, they are printed more as a poem which works beautifully and lends itself to reading them more slowly and meditatively like, well, a poem!

Each one credits its exact location in the Course in case you want to see its context, although he’s chosen passages that stand on their own very well. I really like that Robert didn’t add his own commentary. The Course is so powerful and profound that there’s no need, and I appreciate his allowing it to remain pure.

I didn’t even read the introduction until today but that is impressive as well. He describes the Course exceptionally well, and includes some of its more pertinent points. I expect I will reread that from time to time.

"The Course is a love letter written from your soul to your ego. In this love letter you are asked to let go of your separate self-image, made of pain and fear, in order to experience your wholeness again." ~ Robert Holden, Holy Shift! (from the Introduction)

I also appreciate the actual, physical book itself. I’m lucky to have the hardcopy which measures about 5 1/4? x 7 1/4? x 1 1/2?), which is a really nice size for daily use, and it just feels really good! It’s beautiful, too — pure white under the dust cover (except for text on the spine, of course). I think it deserves an attached ribbon to mark the current day, but I’ll be okay using a bookmark. ;-)

I think I could go on about how much I love and value this book but the real point to make is that it speaks for itself … wonderfully!

"The Course describes a miracle as something you experience when you are willing to shift your perception from a psychology of fear to a psychology of love." ~ Robert Holden, Holy Shift! (from the Introduction)

The message this book contains truly is holy, and if you give it chance, and enjoy the process, I have no doubt it can also deliver its shift.

Very highly recommended.

Note: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes and this review reflects my honest evaluation.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 22, 2014 WellB
I have a vision of this book, years from now. The bind is no longer attached and the pages are grasping for any last ledge they may be able to catch on to, just to keep the book in tact. The words are all highlighted with notes encompassing the pages, each year a new meaning to the daily verse.

As a newer student to A Course in Miracles, I found Holy Shift! by Robert Holden to be an excellent resource for tackling the complex work. Holy Shift! is broken up into 12 chapters, one for each month, and offers a daily meditation from the course.

I have heard on multiple occasions that the course finds you when you are meant to venture down its path, and if you are anything like me, you will open it up and be a little overwhelmed. I have also heard that once you start down its path, you are guided to different resources that will help you comprehend the messages and vastness of the work. For me, this book was just that.

As I flipped through each page, the messages spoke straight to my soul. I was able to wrap my head around the text that I was reading since each meditation is only a small portion of the course, but don't be fooled, each passage comes with great power. In fact, I think most of them ended up becoming a picture on my iphone. Evidently, I needed access to each meditation for more than just the moment I was reading them.

While I don't think this book could be a replacement for the actual course, as a true appreciation for the excerpts in this book can only come from familiarity with the text, it is a great stepping stone to those who are beginning their path or those who are looking to stay in touch with some of it's most meaningful messages.

If you have not already done so, I highly suggest exploring A Course in Miracles, and of course, recommend this book as your guide!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 13, 2014 blessedelements

Books come in to our awareness and after reading them we may label them as a ‘good book’. It is common to think of a good book as literature you read and fall in love with the characters and anxiously await a sequel. Once in awhile we stumble upon a book that causes us to fall in love with ourselves and is not only a ‘good book’ but a great one as well.

These great books cause an effect with in us and brings a feeling of peace to the soul and opens the eyes to the beauty surrounding us. It awakens a part of the spirit that slumbered and acts as a guide to a place we belong and rekindles a long ago forgotten quest of divine love.

Holy Shift is a ‘good book’, a ‘great book and a guide that will either ignite, reignite or continue to lead to the right state of mind and being.

Opening the page to the designated date for the corresponding devotion reveals a gem of truth and great wisdom to appreciate and ponder upon the thoughts it provokes.

Holy Shift by Robert Holden is a 365 day devotional and meditations from Course In Miracles and beautifully compiled from the leading of the Holy Spirit to give the reader the right message needed for that day to grow in love and to overcome the fear that this world produces.

Opening the book to the designated page brings me instant peace within and as I ponder the words and meditate on the thoughts it provokes I focus on the beauty of the feeling of that peace and the beauty of the vision of nature that surrounds me. All concerns of life evaporates with the confirmation that every thing will turn out right because there is a stronger force within me that will guide me to the right decisions and paths as I let go of ego and embrace the Holy Spirit that is my true guide.

Holy Shift is the perfect book to own for anyone seeking their higher self, anyone who has forgotten their higher self or anyone that wants to increase the strength of their higher self. If you are a student of the Course In Miracles or are interested in this book then this is a great companion guide as well.

The title of the book suggests the outcome for those that read it. A shift from a mind set on this world to a holy place we all belong.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews