Book Reviews

Angel Dreams

Doreen Virtue

Intuition, Spirituality, Angels, New Thought

978-1-4019-4365-3

Dreams are gateways to other worlds, times, and planes of existence. They are sacred portals through which we receive powerful messages from Source, often in the form of symbols brought to us by our d... More

Jul 23, 2014 Starseed28
The first part of this book is about angels in your dreams and your dream guide. This is great for anyone who wants to learn more about his or her dreams and the messages we can receive. I enjoyed all of the instructions on recalling dreams. Doreen and Melissa provide over ten different ways that can help you recall your dreams. They include a reference explaining which guide to call on for specific dreams that you might want to have. After describing a bit about different ways people can dream, they go into the second part of the book, which is how to interpret your dreams.

I was very fascinated by the different ways to interpret your dreams. Doreen explains that just as everyone is different, the same image can mean different things to different people. However, a few symbols have similar meanings such as blood, water, or chakra colors.

The final part of the book is all about the different types of dreams you may have. For example, if you feel stuck and don’t know where to go next, you may have a dream about your life path. They explain everything from reoccurring dreams to nightmares. Additionally, with each type of dream they include real dreams other people have had. I absolutely loved how people shared their stories with the rest of us. Doreen and Melissa even share a few of their own.

Overall, I absolutely loved this book. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to utilize dream time for his or her betterment.

FTC Disclosure: I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 21, 2014 LizKelso
Angel Dreams: Healing and Guidance From Your Dreams by Doreen Virtue & Melissa Virtue is a short book that is packed with tons of targeted information.

I have been interested in dream interpretation for over 20 years, and I've come across many books that delve into how to interpret them. This book gets right to the heart of the matter. Although our dreams are different, there are a lot of symbolism that is universal. This book gives the basic dream symbols as well as their interpretation.

As with all dreams, we must decipher them ourselves; however, this book leads in the right direction.

I was particularly interested in Angels appearing to us in dreams and I am glad that this book talks about this aspect of our dream life.

There are several dreams from others featured in this book. I found them interesting and enlightening. I have read several books by Doreen Virtue, this is one I will reference in the future.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 17, 2014 Angels Reviews
For as long as I can remember I have always been fascinated with dreams. My dreams, other people's dreams, what animals dream about. Dreaming is so sacred and powerful. I have utilized dream dictionaries throughout my life to assist me with dream interpretation. Although, over the years I have come to realize that in order to get a true interpretation of ones dreams you must go within. Meditation, Angel Dreams Oracle Cards, crystals, calling upon the angels and this book, Angel Dreams, have all been tools in which I've utilized to help me recall and interpret my dreams.

We can learn so much from our dreams. We can also heal ourselves and receive tons of information relating to our life purpose in our dreams as well. The most common thing I hear among people when discussing dreams is that they cannot remember their dreams. No worries, this is normal! With the help of this book and some practice I promise you that you, too, will be able to recall your dreams.

Did you know that we all have dozens of dreams each night? Interesting, right? That's why sometimes when you wake from your slumber and you start to recall bits and pieces of your dreams they may not make much sense. You are probably recalling parts of many dreams that you've had overnight.

After reading Angel Dreams I learned that there are many tools and techniques to assist in learning about the different types of dreams, dream interpretation, remembering dreams, and even creating your own dreams! That's right, you actually have control over what you dream! Fascinating!

Another tool that I use in recalling and directing my dreams is the Angel Dreams Oracle Cards by Doreen Virtue and Melissa Virtue. This 55 card deck provides insight, guidance and clarity through basic imagery and signs that often appear in dreams.

The messages in our dreams come directly from the Angels and are intended to be Divine guidance. Being able to tap into this sacred portal and utilize it in our everyday lives is such a gift and a very powerful tool. Once you put these techniques you will learn from this book into practice you will be well on your way to making some major life changes. Sweet dreams!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 27, 2014 BarbaraGraver
"Angel Dreams: Healing and Guidance from Your Dreams" by Doreen Virtue and her daughter-in-law Melissa Virtue is an enjoyable little book. It supplies some very helpful info on working with your dreams and addresses a range of dream experiences.

I found "Angel Dreams" readable and down to earth and quite comprehensive for its size (179 smaller sized pages).

Those who have been working with their dreams for some time (and / or read other books upon the subject) may find themselves already familiar with much of the material. For others, "Angel Dreams" will serve as a helpful introduction or basic reference on dream work.

"Angel Dreams" covers the history and basics of dreams, dream recall, symbolism, dream incubation, types of dreams (past-life, prophetic and visitations), nightmares, flying and falling in your dreams, and angel communication. Various types of dream experiences are illustrated using personal anecdotes from many different dreamers. I enjoyed these stories and thought they clearly illustrated the material presented.

"Angel Dreams" also includes some lovely pre-sleep rituals, one of which I plan to put into effect this weekend!

Please note that I received my copy of "Angel Dreams" from Hay House free for review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 12, 2014 solitaireangel
I have always had an interest in why we dream, what do those dream symbolize, what to they mean, should I actually pay any attention to them?? Having studied dream logic and the like years ago, I never really felt satisfied with the theories and answers to my questions and my own interoperations. In this little book I felt an exuberating amount of joy and peace while read these pages. Melissa and Doreen go over all the details of dreams, from why we dream, to the symbolism of every day objects, animals, flowers, colors etc. The also so add the angelic realm’s use of our dreams (which is wonderful comfort). In addition to those elements I have list above, they offer techniques as to how to dream…yes we can control what, who, and how we dream. Technique for dream recall, lucid dreaming, past life dreaming, prophetic dreams, nightmares, flying and falling dreams. I must say that Melissa and Doreen saved the best for last, Angel Messages! I so loved this last and final chapter, taking great comfort in the fact that if we ask the angels with enter our dreams and send us messages, healing and love all while we sleep. It is easier for the angels to help while or conscious mind sleeps, but the angel can only do so when we ask. So ask often!!!! I have been sleeping so much better, longer and with deeper more restful sleep sense reading, applying these concepts, techniques and teachings. So thank you Doreen and Melissa for helping me heal in so many ways, go get you copy and start DREAMING!!!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 05, 2014 LisaAlaiana
ANGEL DREAMS ~ Healing and Guidance from Your Dreams was co-written by Doreen and Melissa Virtue. In this book, Doreen Virtue and Melissa Virtue discuss where dreams come from, how to interpret them, what role angels play, and whom to call upon for guidance. You'll gain tools to enhance your dream time journeys, including techniques for creating your own dreams and improving your recall upon awakening. In addition, you'll learn to identify the different types of dreams by reading personal stories and interpretations that will help you decode your dream messages.

I personally found this book to very elementary, it seemed to me that Angel Dreams was put together in response to contractual agreements and deadlines. After having just read Letting Go The Pathway of Surrender I felt as if I was reading a book written for an adolescent. Angel Dreams may be a good choice for someone who has no knowledge of the subject and a good way to introduce them to the dream world. I was disappointed in the lack of subject matter.

Doreen and Melissa Virtue also collaborated on the ANGEL DREAMS ORACLE CARDS http://lisaleon.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/angel-dreams-oracle-cards/ . I highly recommend the Angel Dreams Oracle Cards for anyone who is looking to understand the meaning of their dreams.

Angel Dreams Oracle Cards

If you are a novice in dream intrepretation I would recommend this book as a starting point to understanding and interpreting. If you are a bit more advanced and would like to dig deeper I would recommend trying out the Angel Dreams Oracle Cards. The book and cards are available at your favorite bookstore or through any of the following on-line retailers.

I was not compensated for this review, I was given the book courtesy of Hay House for the sole purpose of review.



+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 04, 2014 ReikiGreen
Every night we spend about eight hours in unconscious rest. It is a process we have always known and accept unquestioningly. “Angel Dreams” by Doreen Virtue and Melissa Virtue provides practical guidance for using our dreams as intuitive tools. Through dreams we can receive healing and guidance from the angels.

This book is brief with good tips. I’ve read ideas before such as keeping a dream journal, dream pillow and how to enter a lucid dream state. Some ideas are new to me such as how to create a dream altar, and a technique I haven’t heard of before called “Water Magic.” This is a quick and easy read for those of us who are just learning about dreams as intuitive tools.

“Angel Dreams” gave me a new perspective on the significance of dreams to our psychic and spiritual development. Many spiritual seekers look for answers in our waking lives. I always thought dreams were encoded with indecipherable messages. So, I enjoy the message in this book that we can think of dream time as a sacred space.

Now I understand what that feeling is when you are just about to fall asleep but I wake up feeling like I was beginning to fall. It feels like a there’s a jolt of energy just like the authors describe. Look it up under Falling Dreams in Chapter 9. The jolt prevents us from dream portals we don’t want to enter.

FTC Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects honest judgment based on my own experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 25, 2014 Mystic812

Angel Dreams by Doreen Virtue and Melissa Virtue is not at all like any dream interpretation books I've read in the past. This book focuses on specific types of dreams, such as angel dreams, passed-over loved ones and animals. The first part of the book deals with how you can better remember dreams, how you can create them. The second part of the book has chapters on basic dream symbols, problem solving dreams, past life dreams, flying and falling dreams, angel messages, nightmares and dreams of deceased loved ones. The book shares stories on each topic from individuals and their experiences. I loved the techniques for creating your own dreams, which include lucid dreaming, the Tibetan Hand Technique, dream incubation and awake dreaming. There's also techniques for flying in dreams.

The book also includes interpretations for colors you dream of and the corresponding chakra, and a chapter on angel messages, something I had not seen before. The book is just 150 pages, but it does get right to the point on the various subjects, instead of being long winded and general. I enjoyed the book and would like to see another one like this that is larger and more detailed. I learned a lot from this book, and would highly recommend it. It's a great starting place for anyone interested in knowing more about this topic.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 25, 2014 BookLover
Angel Dreams: Healing and Guidance from Your Dreams by Doreen Virtue and Melissa Virtue is a wonderful little book on dreams and asking angels for guidance with our dreams.

This book is broken up into two parts. In the first section entitled, “Part I: About Angel Dreams”, we are taught how each Archangel can help us with our dreams, how to recall our dreams, and how to create our dreams. In section two, “Part II: Interpreting your Dreams”, we are given some basic symbols and their common meanings. We are also taught about problem-solving dreams, past-life dreams, and angel messages among other things. I enjoyed learning about some of the techniques to enhance dreaming and also how each Archangel can support us during dream time.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to anyone interested in dreams. I think some of the information would be known by those who have studied dreams for awhile. That being said, I think they may also find something new.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 06, 2014 thebalancediet
I’ve always been interested in dream interpretation, but have recently started studying angels. Obviously this book drew my attention by title alone.

Angel Dreams- written by clairvoyant and doctor, Doreen Virtue and her daughter-in-law Melissa Virtue a scholar of angels and dreams gives us an introduction to how to interpret our dreams and the roles that our angels play in using them to give us messages.

This book was a very quick read and overall entertaining and insightful. It has helped me glean deeper meaning from the dreams I’ve had since finishing it as well as given me tools to access if I need assistance from my angels during sleep or if I would like them to send me a message. The book is written in a positive and approachable style and features not only explanation, but actual accounts of people being contacted by angels in their dreams.

While I enjoyed this book, I felt like it barely grazed the surface of what it could be. I found myself unable to put it down and was disappointed when I reached the end. It left me wanting more, and I hope that these insightful women write either a follow-up or companion book so that I may further my research and practice in communicating with my angels.

I give this book four stars because I would have liked it to have been a little longer and more detailed because it was so interesting!

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 01, 2014 awatson
I recently received a copy of Angel Dreams: Healing and Guidance from Your Dreams from Hay House Publishing for review. This latest book from Doreen Virtue was co-written with Melissa Virtue, and explores the topic of dreams and the roles the angels play while we are in the dream state.

Nine of the archangels are featured, as well as their dream specialties. The reader is educated on various techniques, such as how to create or program dreams; and dream preparation and recall methods. Also covered are the meanings of a handful of the most common dream symbols including: animals, colors, nightmares, prophetic dreams, visits from deceased loved ones, falling or flying in a dream, and the messages brought by the angels.

Although the meanings of dreams are the focus of Angel Dreams: Healing and Guidance from Your Dreams, I appreciated the wisdom of the authors concerning the importance of becoming one’s own interpreter as opposed to relying too heavily on dream dictionaries, which tend to be rather subjective. For readers seeking a more expansive and balanced dream “dictionary,” I would recommend Denise Linn’s The Hidden Power of Dreams: The Mysterious World of Dreams Revealed.

Overall I enjoyed the simplicity of the messages presented in Angel Dreams: Healing and Guidance from Your Dreams, which made for a fun and inspiring read.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews