Book Reviews

Percolate

Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Inspirational

978-1-4019-4298-4

Do you have a voice inside you saying that you want something different? Do you feel like you're searching for something better, even if you don't know exactly what it is? When you hear words like con... More

Sep 08, 2014 thebalancediet
There are few things greater than reading a book that leaves you feeling as emotionally fulfilled as a coffee date with a close friend. It did not shock me to discover that Percolate by Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino was one such book. As a coffee lover I was drawn to the overall theme of this book, but the rich messages inside left me feeling as satisfied as a warm cup of coffee.

The author encourages us to Percolate, rather than just work on ourselves.
I love this concept because it not only has a positive connotation, but that it’s a process in which our best version of ourselves comes forth. The book is broken down into overarching “Percolating Points,” that cover a general theme, I found this to be so helpful because it allowed me to read the book over the course of a few weeks without getting lost or having to back track to refresh my memory. In addition to sharing anecdotes about her personal journey, Hamilton-Guarino and Dr. Katie Eastman have included “coffee breaks” in which the reader can go through guided exercises to help discover what changes they want to make in their lives as well as how to go about setting appropriate goals for those changes.

I was given an opportunity to receive this book in exchange for a review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 02, 2014 cmwaugh
Who knew there was a brew for you – Percolate!

There are as many methods to brew a great cup of coffee as there are great ways to brew a new you.

Using the metaphor of one of America’s most popular drinks — coffee — author Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino serves up inspirational advice and reflection (as well as a lot of coffee breaks with Dr. Katie Eastman) to create a personal journal all about you.

Elizabeth’s new book, Percolate, Let Your Best Self Filter Through is one of those great brews to use!

As I sat and sipped my hazelnut brew, Elizabeth taught me to percolate my own sense of direction, guiding principles to produce inspirational results and many tips to discovering my authentic self.

One important thing she taught me was how to wake up to a good or bad brew by examining ways to make the world a better place for myself and others.

Elizabeth digs deep into your life’s footprints, lucky to be alive moments, teachings to embrace life now, staying true to you, embracing your space and bringing to the surface any unfinished business that allows your brew to spew.

Other bonuses you get from Elizabeth are writing prompts to reflect on your life, Best Ever You Resources and nine percolate principles to live by.

And now it’s time to percolate your own brew and let the new you come into view.

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 31, 2014 tatumrangel
I really enjoyed reading this book. I, especially, liked how the author used coffee as a metaphor in reference to making changes in our everyday lives. I also enjoyed the occasional humor that came along. The author discusses everyday issues that we all may face and how we can teach ourselves to deal with the situations. Do we take them in a positive manner? Or do we let negativity stand in the way? One of the things that I did like was the author's talking about how we all ought to learn how to laugh at ourselves, especially in a major or minor situation.
For all of the coffee-lovers, this may be the book for you.

FTC Disclosure: I received this free copy from Hay House in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 02, 2014 Jeff Dodson
It was the title that caught me at first. Percolate. Just like a coffee maker. Second, since I have been an avid coffee drinker for decades, another reason to give this book a read.

Percolate is the first book by author, Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino. She is the founder of her own business, The Best Ever You Network and the host of The Best Ever You Show.

Percolate is a book that offers a Nine Point Plan of self improvement. Each of the nine chapters headings of the book are entitled Percolate Points. Coffee and the love of it is the vehicle that this author employs to capture your attention and illustrate a step by step plan to make changes in your life for the better.

“Every day you wake up with the opportunity to think, behave, and relate differently; and that moment of choice is what Percolate is all about,” is a quote from Elizabeth that sets the tone of her book.

Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino shares three words that she lives by: motivation, consistency and discipline. These three words, really, are the building blocks, the ingredients necessary with any self-improvement program. Motivation is the reason or reasons that propel you towards making a change. Consistency is what you strive for in your efforts at making forward progress. Discipline is the stick to it no matter what final element.

The author sets forth what she call Percolate Principles. There are thirty five of them. Those that resonated for me were:

Be authentic (remaining true to heart, to what your purpose really is)
Be inspired (what or whom do you admire and desire to emulate?)
Be resilient (how tough are you in the face of setbacks?)
Be yourself (follow your own character script rather than that of someone else)

Take away quotes that I loved from this author:
“Everyone has challenging health problems, or other issues, but your potential has no limits.”

In terms of listening, “are you still enough to hear yourself and others?”

“You have an expiration date, and despite your wanting to claim control over life circumstances, you’re not entitled to know when your expiration date will be.”

Percolate is a down to earth, well crafted book that is both humorous and informative. The author shares many of her most inspiring lessons along with a few of her most comical and embarrassing ones. I loved her statements about the importance of Contributing amazingness to the world, and , learning to like your own blend.

Percolate is a book, in part, about making the transition from ego-based decisions centered from the mind into making decisions and exercising thoughtfulness from the heart towards yourself as well as others. “Think with your heart and uncover your authentic, best self,” is how this author put it.

I enjoyed Percolate along with my favorite cup of java!

Jeff Dodson
June 2nd 2014

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 15, 2014 ginadrellack

Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino has crafted a very creative and inspiring book. She explores the corollary of self-improvement strategies through the fresh analogy of coffee:

Allow for change to brew
Choose a bolder brew
Create your own best blend
Grow from bean to brew
Brew strength
Expresso yourself
Chillax and have an iced coffee
Buy the next round
Percolate peace

The author is the creator of The Best Ever You Network online community and radio show. She has used her experiences of "thrive and survive" to inspire and empower others.

"Percolate" is the author's metaphor for "how you can move forward with growing awareness, live in the present moment, and experience greater joy and peace." She encourages readers to "never give up on living your best life every day."

This book presents helpful, inspirational, supportive guidance in a brand-new way. New seekers will gain from this material; seasoned journey-makers will be tickled at the fresh approach. The author's voice is engaging, her style is welcoming, and her humor is infectious.

"Smiles are infectious; frowns are, too. Which infection do you want?" --Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino

I was not paid to endorse this book, whether monetarily or with coffee. Hay House gifted me the book in exchange for my honest opinion of it. Love of coffee not required for love of this book.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 20, 2014 BookLover
Fun, entertaining, and inspiring are just some of the words I can think of to describe Percolate: Let Your Best Self Filter Through by Elizabeth Hamilton-Guarino which also includes “Coffee Breaks” with Dr. Katie Eastman.

This new book takes us through nine steps to help us become our best self. The nine points have names such as, “Create Your Own Best Blend” and “Percolate Peace”. One of my favorite chapters is entitled, “What Would Betty White Do?”. Just like the author I too love Betty White and enjoyed that the author asked herself this question and found that the answer was laugh and not take life so seriously.

This book is filled with questions to ask ourselves in order to become our best self and in addition there are coffee breaks at the end of each section to help us integrate the ideas into our lives. Through the metaphor of a cup of coffee we are shown ways to create our best self and find peace. I also enjoyed the parte entitled, “Percolate Peace” to help us find inner peace.

This book will inspire you, make you laugh, and most important show you how to let your light shine through. I would recommend this book if you want an inspiring way to be the best you that you can be.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews