Book Reviews

The Remembering Process

Daniel Barrett, Joe Vitale

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-4159-8

Personal problems? World problems? Healing issues? Creativity challenges? They can all be resolved with a fun new method called "remembering." The Remembering Process reveals a breakthrough creativity... More

Dec 02, 2014 Starry4ever
The Remembering Process is a process of attracting things to you by "remembering" the details of how you achieved your future goal. You remember the past in detail about how you achieved it. One way you can use this process is you can create remembering letters about the day you reached your goal,etc. You could write the details on a piece of paper or record your voice on a voice recorder.

By using the remembering process you can also pull things toward you. The feeling it gives you helps fuel your desires so that they are attracted to you at a higher speed. The process is a way of tapping into these vibrations. Gratitude also speeds up the manifestation.

I have used the process for my social anxiety. I have visualized in detail how I wanted my experience to be and how I felt doing it afterwards. it helped me tremendously with my anxiety.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I love reading books by Joe Vitale and was excited to read this book. I was not disappointed at all. I plan on using this process to write my first book. I know there are other things I could use this process, but writing my book would be the main thing.

The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there could have been more examples on what to use the remembering process for. Other that that,it is still a good book.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 27, 2014 julieinmichigan
This fascinating book deserves all the accolades it will receive. This is an amazing book that takes the power of positive thinking and affirmations to a new level. Beyond believing that you have already received your good, this book asks you to remember how you felt when you received it.

I thought at first it might be too simple of a concept, just reaffirming that affirmations work, but it isn’t. Thankfully this book helps us to look at the total package of the affirmation we are making – the feelings, step by step and the reasons why it might or might not work. Important information for those of us who know that there is a ‘right’ way and a ‘wrong’ way of phrasing affirmations so as to not limit us and to clarify exactly what it is that we want to bring into our lives.

The authors, Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale, detail how they have used the Remembering Process to create the future they desired. It was very interesting and very exciting. After reading half-way through the book I began to revision my future and take myself one step further to remember how I achieved it.

However, what I liked most about the book was the well rounded perspective they provide, if you read the book all the way to the end. The chapter “Striking the Right Balance” speaks with us about being human and living in the reality of our physical world. They warn us to not attempt to take a spiritual bypass. What might that be?

The authors tell us that spiritual bypassing is when people try to live in the spiritual world all the time, relying on just thinking or praying or ‘remembering’ to solve all of their problems for them effortlessly. In other words, the words they use are these, “it’s like a person who goes to church and prays to God to find a job, and then just sits and home and waits for God to answer the prayer. It doesn’t work that way”. We have to do the footwork, take the action, don’t just remember success but work for success and remember being successful.

Additionally the authors touched on the concept and related questions regarding attempts to control the Universe, forcing our own way, vs allowing the Universe to decide what is best for us and staying open to receive. The answer they propose is that our earthly desires are in alignment with our higher selves wishes for the best for us. Are they? I personally do not know. I know for me it is important to tag onto my affirmations my commitment to ‘this or something better is now manifesting for the highest good of all concerned’. While I think this is the intention of this section, they focus more on the concept that ‘if you want this, here’s what you’ll go through to get there’. If you follow their guidance to remember your success, hang on to your hat because the Universe will bring you all the lessons you need to learn in order to get there. You might want to say, wait a minute, I’m not ready for all that.

But you will need to be ready. I believe we do have the power to manifest creative positive changes in our future by the power of the affirmation process, which I think this is another facet of. When we do this, we must be prepared for the changes, some pleasant, some not so much, that will be brought into our consciousness in order to bring us to the point of receiving our desired outcome… which might not make us as happy as we thought it would.

Bottom line, this is an excellent book and provides the insights and considerations that must be part of the process. Once again, I believe this is a well-rounded directive on the power of our mind and I thoroughly enjoyed the discussion on the ethics and wisdom of writing our future as if we were already past.

I did receive a free copy of this book from Hay House Publishing in order to write this review. I received no monetary compensation and was not obligated to make it a positive review. I was simply asked to give my honest opinion and this is it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 16, 2014 KDKHadacek
I have a curious relationship with time. As a past life regressionist, I know that it is easy to tap into the past and sometimes my clients visit the future as well. Knowing that time is like a stream flowing past, with the molecules of every moment flowing and accessible with just the dip of our net, I was drawn to The Remembering Process by Daniel Barrett. The book lays out a process to remember the future whenever we want our creative process to springboard past now to a place where it has already been completed.
Mr. Barrett is appears to be a driven creative. He has excelled as a musician, a music producer, and a software technical writer. He has collaborated with singer-songwriter Joe Vitale in The Remembering Process to illustrate a way to remember things that have not yet occurred in linear time. Impossible? Maybe. Useful technique? Perhaps so. To use this process, you have to be willing to be playful with your imagination. You must be willing to set aside your attachment to what you KNOW and consider what could be.
Mr. Barrett provides loose directions for two levels of ability. For the novice, he provides the remembering process as a useful way to employ your imagination to conceive of different possibilities. For experienced metaphysicist or one who can connect with his quantum self, he proposes a way to pull information from the future to the now to infuse the creative process with possibilities. Mr. Vitale has used this process to write several musical albums and swears by its effectiveness.
I admit that I haven’t knowingly tried this process, so I can’t report its effectiveness at either level. But I am thinking about it, and wondering when and how to give it a try. I’m a risk taker and don’t see a downside here. Whether I’m drawing from the future, my imagination, or something else, if it leads me to new and novel ideas that help me in my creative endeavors, then who cares where it came from?
This was an interesting read, and it dovetailed nicely with Quantum Creativity. (http://peacewithmylife.com/2014/04/11/quantum-creativity/)
FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 27, 2014 connielivingston
So this really is a fun book to read! You may remember Joe Vitale from the movie and book The Secret that took the world by storm several years ago. Vitale and his friend Daniel Barrett have discovered a way, through their own personal experiments, to accelerate the manifestation process that The Secret introduced to the masses several years ago.

The remembering process is very simple but powerful. And, quick and fun! Each chapter in the book is sprinkled with stories of how the remembering process has been used with great success in the authors' lives. Many books have arrived on the scene since The Secret was released with different takes on how to use the Law of Attraction to improve our lives. Many of them take the same principles from The Secret (based on age-old methods) and recapitulate them. This book is different. It builds on the Law of Attraction and adds a new twist.

I personally look forward to trying this new method! Vitale and Barrett also go into the believability of the method and provide ideas about how to get out of the ego's way so you can move forward more easily. And, there are great examples of how others, including Olympic athletes have used the process to improve their performance.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 22, 2014 alpha_andy_omega
The Remembering Process by Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale is a cool and interesting book. The authors take turns sharing and teaching, so you get to benefit from learning the Remembering Process from two unique personalities and perspectives. There is a lot of great stuff here, but the process itself is what's most memorable. It's an active meditation and if you have a good imagination you can use this technique to create some pretty amazing stuff. I've been experimenting with it, and love it. There is a question and answer section, as well as many testimonials in the back of the book that are very helpful. One thing I particularly like about The Remembering Process is how the authors speak on the value of letting it flow rather than forcing. Trying to do this when you're not in the mood could leave you frustrated. You're going to get the most out of it when you're in the right mindset. This book illustrates, very well, that meditative techniques aren't a chore belonging only to the self-disciplined, they can be fun, powerful, and productive. And they should be. I recommend this book to anyone who is ready to set some big goals, and make some serious change while having some good fun. I was given a free copy of this book, by the good folks at Hay House Publishing. I wasn't financially compensated for this review, and the opinion expressed is soley mine based on my personal view of the material.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 09, 2014 monikaznextlevel
I can safely say that I have never been exposed to a concept like this in all my reading. The Remembering Process, by Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale is such an interesting concept, and yet its such a simple twist on an already brilliant idea. They speak about the ‘Law of Allowing,‘ and how it is should be a flow of energy and not a tense held energy of want and need. Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale’s way of explaining and introducing the concept is fun and innovative. This book teaches how to surpass the subconscious mind and act as if it has already happened.

I found myself having a lot of “Aha,” moments while reading this book. It makes the connection between wanting something so badly, to trying to put a thread through a needle. the harder you try the more “unnatural” energy you are using and the harder it is to achieve. There was an ease to this book, a letting go and relaxing, the allowing of dreams to manifest and to come into the present time.

The Remembering Process discussed largely Einstein's theory of relativity. The theory that there is no real time and that everything is happening at one time. There is no such thing as past or future. If you believe this concept or not, The Remembering Process will still work!

Throughout the book they give many examples of how you can incorporate this practice into your everyday life. Whether you want to write about it, talk about it, or simply meditate on it there is something for everyone. They also give websites where you can get more information on topics they were discussing. Its an exciting new energetic way of thinking.

Towards the end of the book, The Remembering Process, they go over when NOT to use it. It discusses the importance of the balance of physical and metaphysical. The remembering process will work on writing a book, but you cannot use it to surpass washing the dishes. It is a funny way of saying, be reasonable when you use it. It is good for some things, not for all things. They close the book with examples from other people and readers that have used this technique so the reader can apply anyway they like.

I would recommend this book for anyone on there path to enlightenment and alignment. It is sister to the law of attraction and goes one step further into allowing things to come into fruition. It was a fun and inspiring read that is suitable for all.


I acknowledge that I received this book from Hay House free of charge in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 21, 2014 jessicacontreras
I was very impressed by The Remembering Process, it peaked my interest at first because one night in my sleep I thought of a theory that didn't make sense to some, but in my head I knew that I was right somehow. The theory was based on time, our present time is our past and our future. All our goals have been accomplished already in which is why we desire them, or perhaps Deja Vú.

However, Barret and Vitale write a similar theorythe remembering process book review based upon time. They go into small details explaining Einsteins and Newton's time relativity theories, which I would suggest learning more about it. This book is based upon helping you work with the law of attraction. The Remembering Process is about "remembering your future" in other words picturing yourself accomplishing your dreams, goals, attaining the items/objects you need and desire.

There are many amazing examples throughout the book to help you build that "muscle" and helping you raise your vibrations which is a very important part of the law of attraction. I found myself re-reading A LOT, I don't know if it was in the way it was written or if there were some things that didn't exactly clicked. There were certain things that didn't resonate with me, until later on that I would go back and I would instantly understand it.

Overall, I love the book, it has become a holy grail in my book collection. I urge anybody who is enjoys this subject, I apply it to my daily meditation practices.

Disclaimer: I received this book by Hay House Publishing for review. I have stated my honest opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 18, 2014 artlovelight
I am excellent at envisioning what I want to create in my artwork before I get started. I never sit down at a blank page and think, “What Should I Draw?” Instead, I think, what pictures do I need next? And then I remember a picture I created in my mind already, and set about drawing it.

Visualizing what I am about to draw can be as complex as creating many small studies prior to creating a larger masterpiece, or it can be as simple as imagining the curve of the line I am about to draw so that it most accurately captures the gesture I see in my mind.

So when I read the description of The Remembering Process, I immediately saw how effective such a technique could be for use in everyday life- and how it could create extraordinary results.

I noticed that when my good friend gave me some dresses, one of them seemed perfect to wear to an art show opening. I imagined myself wearing it to my own art show, and how wonderful it would be. I put it out of my mind, until I was getting dressed for my recent art show at Serenity Day Salon and Spa in Grover Beach- I put the dress on, and wearing it to the art show was just like I imagined.

The Remembering Process is just like that- only, instead of imagining future hopes, you imagine yourself as though you have already experienced it! It makes it much easier to get into the visualization zone, and it is extremely fun and effective. Even if you have had trouble getting onboard with visualization (it is such an oft-recommended technique for business people and athletes and artists alike, though it requires great concentration) then the Remembering Process is for you!

After all, isn’t it easier to remember something that has already happened then start from scratch? Picasso says, great artists steal- and as a creator of your life, why not ‘steal’ ideas from the future to create an even more amazing life?

The Remembering Process is absolutely an effective way to get your creative juices flowing, no matter what kind of creative you are (artist, writer, architect, engineer) and even if – especially if – you are one of those people who claims not to be creative at all!

The Remembering Process is a brilliant book, and I think it is especially effective when read in conjunction with Quantum Creativity! Remember when you read it and your creative process started flowing so much faster? I do! I am so pleased to add this book to my library.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 15, 2014 BarbRidener

I remember reading The Remembering Process by Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale and I remembered that it made so much sense and that I really enjoyed it. I remember that it was the key that unlocked the blinds that were keeping me from seeing my future.

The Remembering Process is an easy to read, crafty and creative guide to envisioning the future. Instead of wishing for the things that you want and instead of setting deadlines and goals, the remembering process is a playful look at remembering your way to the life you love and want to create. The steps take a fun twist on The Secret and other programs for envisioning the future. The road map is allowed to be fuzzy and it is developed by being creative. The process takes place in the future, where you imagine that the thing that you want has occurred and then you work backwards to remember how you arrived at that desired outcome. An ingenious play on time, recognizing that the past, present and future all happen simultaneously and that if we can remember it in the present, then the series of events that lead to the outcome happened in some future past. And we can remember how we got there.

The Remembering Process also holds true to the idea that if we desire that we will accomplish something, then we are also acknowledging that the thing we desire does not exist. This creates a disconnect that is often difficult to overcome. Far easier to remember how we got there.

While the book followed a nice back and forth between the two authors, most of the examples centered on the process as applied to the writing of the book or the writing and recording of music. I would have enjoyed a broader range of examples. With that minor point in mind, I definitely recommend this book. It is well worth the enjoyable read!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. I was not financially compensated for this post. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 14, 2014 ddawley
This book contains one of the best techniques I have ever heard for making the law of attraction easy. By remembering what you have done, and the steps (however fuzzy) you took to get there, you remove the resistance that you normally feel when you are trying to achieve a big goal. It is a mind game technique you play with yourself to stop (as Abraham would say) beating the drum of what is. Daniel Barrett has successfully used this technique, and he has his clients use it through writing letters to themselves or someone else, with a "remember when" story. He taught this technique to Joe Vitale and Joe has been sharing it as well as annotating his own story in the book.

I first heard Joe Vitale talk about this technique at an I Can Do It! event in Austin. Joe talked about another planet, identical to Earth, in which everything was just exactly the same only this planet was slightly ahead in time, so everything that was going to happen on Earth had already happened there. And imagine you lived on this planet. Well, for some reason, that didn't connect with me at the time - I didn't see the point of all of it. However, Joe explains that in this book in some detail and now I get it. It's another way of imagineering yourself into what you want. I don't need to imagine another planet though, to imagine the future, but that idea helped Joe and if it helps you go for it. The book has lots of stories about people who have used this technique and how they applied it. I think it's one of the most helpful books I have ever read on how to activate the Law of Attraction. Give it a shot!

FTC Disclosure: This book was given to me by Hay House Publishing for review purposes. However, the opinions stated here are my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 08, 2014 Eleven11
This book is a breakthrough in creativity and has implications for quantum realities.

If you've read the book, you'll know that I'm quoting Dr. Joe Vitale, but you'll also know that he was quoting me! Awesome, huh? Dr. Joe remembered me saying this in my review! And that is an example of the power of this Remembering Process!

Need I say more? Get yourself a copy of this book. I am a huge Neville Goddard fan, and this Remembering Process is the closest thing I've seen to what he taught, because it puts you on the other side of your desire, it puts you in the place of having, and not wanting. As Neville said, "The end of yearning, is to be."

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book free from HayHouse in exchange for my review. The opinions in this review are my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 25, 2014 thebalancediet

The universe was sending me messages that I needed to study, learn and grow spiritually in order to achieve success and share my wisdom with others. In the same breath I was also being told that I needn’t worry about money. It seemed like a contradiction, but I trust the messages being sent to me so I continued to pray about it with an open heart and mind.
Imagine my surprise and delight when I was given an opportunity to receive this book for free from Hay House Publishing in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

I love reading books about creating your best version of yourself, and this book was no exception. The Remembering Process By Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale guides readers through easy steps to manifest your desires into reality by looking back and “remembering” them as if they have already occurred.

This concept blew my mind. I’m pretty good at manifesting my desires into reality, but do often have a difficult time asking the universe for assistance. I don’t know if it’s the “supermom” mentality that makes it hard for me to get out of my own way or even sometimes doubt over whether or not I deserve what I desire (I do. We all do. We all deserve to achieve the best life possible), but this practice of remembering my success is a lot more organic and gentle for me and honestly, it’s a lot of fun.

This book was an entertaining and quick read with lots of anecdotal notes from the authors recalling their experiences and successes with The Remembering Process as well as those from people with whom they have shared their method.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants or needs assistance in gaining success but needs further tools for achieving it. It won’t give you all of the answers to life’s questions, but it will help guide you so that you can guide yourself to your truth and dreams.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 14, 2014 cmwaugh
The sun is shining, birds singing and windows flung open to sniff the flowery scent drifting into the room. You’re filled with joy.

You’re a young child home from school for the summer. You find all your friends and begin to move into imaginary play–your favorite thing to do.

You get to pick the characters, what will happen to them, and how things will evolve.

You get into this imaginary play–really get into it–until your parents call you back into their reality.

Do you remember this happening to you?

The Remembering Process, A Surprising (and Fun) Breakthrough New Way to Amazing Creativity by Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale, say you don’t have to stop playing those awesome imaginary games. In fact, they are a must!

This advanced technique is where you go into the future–a lot like “Back to the Future”–to reenact the awesome details of achieving a goal as it actually plays out the way you want to remember it.

The Remembering Process is more like a creativity and inspiration process, unlike the Law of Attraction (LOA) where you ask, believe and receive.

The Remembering technique is a jumping off point and vibration game that speeds past the ask and believe part of LOA to break through imaginary barriers to success.

The technique moves you into a childlike scenario, as I explained above, through a step-by-step process with lots of fun exercises and unique ways to practice remembering.

All I can say to Barrett and Vitale is:

“On that beautiful sunny beach where waves are crashing against the rocks, I see dolphins popping in and out of the water as I remember when my story on The Remembering Process went viral. I was able to keep up with all the interest generated from my ability to teach others this wonderful technique. I’m so busy right now presenting this process to the general public and I remember …”

As the authors say, “Trust the process and watch it unfold.”

I remember always sending you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life.

I get so excited seeing you all thriving from the tips I share for your highest and best.

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 13, 2014 BookLover
The Remembering Process: A Surprising (and Fun) Breakthrough New Way to Amazing Creativity by Daniel Barrett and Joe Vitale is an absolutely mind-blowing book. I enjoyed this book so much that I read it in one sitting. I could not put this book down.

This book introduces us to a process in which we remember what has happened to us in the future. By using this process we can become more confident, find healthy relationships, and attract wealth. According to the authors instead of the ‘Law of Attraction’ we are using the ‘Law of allowing’. We are allowing ourselves to remember what happened in the future thus bypassing our ego trying to tell us we can’t do something because we are telling our ego that it already happened. I really enjoyed learning this very simple process and am excited to start using it in my life. The entire process is composed of six components that are easy and fun to use.

I enjoyed this book immensely and like how the authors showed examples of how they used it to write this book. Overall this book is mind-bending and will expand our view of time and space. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun way to get success in any area of their lives.

I acknowledge that I received this book from Hay House free of charge in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews