Book Reviews

Angel Astrology 101

Doreen Virtue, Yasmin Boland

Angels, Astrology

978-1-4019-4305-9

Learn about the archangels who work with your birth chart in Doreen Virtue's Angel Astrology 101. Co-authored by the widely published astrologist and Angel Therapist Yasmin Boland, this is the first b... More

Jul 17, 2014 Angels Reviews
Astrology is such a vast and interesting topic. Through astrology we can learn so much about ourselves and others.

Throughout the years I have always enjoyed flipping through the latest newspaper or magazine to take a peek at what my sign was saying that day. Being the Virgo I am, I have read up on and researched a lot about my sign and astrology in general. So I have to admit, prior to reading Angel Astrology 101 I did question whether I would learn something new from this book. As it turns out I took away quite a bit of knowledge. I especially loved learning about all of the different Archangels, the signs in which they represent, and the different areas of life in which they guide us.

Once you read the introduction of this book you will then want to go to the website, angelastrology101.com, and you fill out all of your information such as name, gender, date of birth, etc. This information is then used to inform you of where your planets are and, ultimately, assists you in discovering the angels that are connected to your birth chart.

After filling out all of the information you will click send and the website will produce a personal list of all of your planets. For instance, my sun is in Virgo and my moon is in Aquarius. Once you have this list then you simply flip through the book and read the corresponding chapters. Through the compiling of this information you will learn all about the details of your astrological birth chart and which angels guide which parts of your life.

Angel Astrology 101 is a very interesting read and a reference book that will live on my book shelf for many years. Being able to have this information for myself and my loved one at my finger tips is awesome. I also love the amazing artwork in this book. Every page is glossy and colorful! If you are interested in learning more about your birth chart and the angels connected to it then I highly recommend this book to you. It also makes an excellent gift!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 21, 2014 connielivingston
This is a really fun book no matter what the reader's previous knowledge is of astrology or angels. It's also a very fast read and a resource to go back to again and again. The purpose of the book is to provide additional tools by connecting the archangels with the six different aspects of one's astrological chart.

Each chapter offers an overview of the general personality traits of each astrological sign, the strengths and weaknesses of that sign, as well as ideas about how to connect with the archangel that is associated with that particular sign. Many recommendations are made about how to ask for help from each archangel in many different aspects of life. In addition, each chapter outlines the various ways to connect with each archangel for the practical aspects of both every day life as well as the major changes that all humans experience.

The book is very practical and easy to read and has much to offer regardless of how much the reader may know about astrology or angels. Beautiful artwork is part of this wonderful book and adds much to its meaning and guidance. I recommend this book to anyone who feels that they would like to know more about astrology and how to harness the power of the angels to enhance their understanding.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 12, 2014 BethanyG
Now, most Christians don’t believe in astrology and I don’t really believe in the newspaper version that most people think of when they hear the word astrology.  But, astrology fascinates me so I chose to read Angel Astrology 101 by Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland . This book isn’t about foreseeing your future. This book is about finding out who you are because of the day,time, and place you were born and how to work with the angels that are partnered with your sign. Plus, they address the issue of God and astrology before you even read about any signs.

The books chapters are divided into the astrological signs. Starting with Aries and ending with Pisces, it follows the normal wheel of signs. Throughout the chapters you will find out which angel works best with your sign and some of the characteristics that you might have when it comes to your personality.

I have to say that, if read right and if you know your birth chart, the descriptions are very accurate…well, the ones for the people I know were. The signs in this book are not meant to be read straight through since there are more than one sign that describes you, some of the sections might not apply to you, depending on when and where you were born.

This is a great book for beginners, but if you are more experienced with astrology and angels you might find this book a little boring and elementary. It’s definitely a great book for anyone that is just interested in finding out some things about their sign, or themselves, and what angel they might need to call upon for help in a time of need.

{Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Hay House Book Nook for the purpose of this review.}
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 23, 2014 Starseed28
Overall, I was very happy with this book. The descriptions where right on and in perfect for someone who knew very little about astrology. I felt that everything I was reading about my sign was so close to how I am.

Not only does Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland give you descriptions of the twelve signs of the zodiac, they give you information about each angel associated with the signs. I found the idea that there were angels for each zodiac sign intriguing and enjoyed the associations.

They give you great details about each angel, so even if they are not associated with your sign you still learn a lot about each angel’s ability to help your situations. There is a list at the beginning of each sign/angel description about what specific situations they can help with, which I found particularly helpful. Additionally, the pictures throughout the book were breathe taking and beautiful. I loved that they included so many, since many books skimp on the pictures.

At the beginning of the book, Yasmin gives you information about her moonology website. She offers free astrological readings to help you determine what planets sit in which houses. I found this particularly helpful while reading the book, because I was able to reference it throughout reading the book. I think that if you are serious about understanding what traits you have from each planet/house, this is a must.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 18, 2014 goddessmama

The book Angel Astrology 101 by Angelologist Doreen Virtue and Astrologer and Angel Therapist Yasmin Boland was given to me by the Hay House Book Nook Blogger Program in exchange for my review.

As a CACR (Certified Advanced Angel Card Reader) trained by Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine, and a student of spirit, I've found myself called to learn more and more about the Angels and Archangels over the past few years. I've long had an interest in astrology but was too intimidated by it to delve much beyond the daily horoscope. I found it intriguing, yet tremendously overwhelming, quickly giving up on any book I've attempted to read previously on the subject.

Angel Astrology 101 inspired me to take the leap and it was a wonderful initiation into astrology and the energy of the Archangels. At first glance, the cover art is beautiful! The brief introduction and history of Astrology was easy to digest. The definition of terms, importance of the details of your date and time of birth, and what the meaning of the planets are further increased my confidence that this was astrology I could understand!

To make my learning more personal, I took the advice of the authors and printed out my natal chart. You can find a simplistic copy of yours here http://www.angelastrology101.com/, or more detailed versions elsewhere.

Using my natal chart as a guide, I began to navigate the book according to my birth chart, looking up my sun, moon, planetary signs and so on. This provided an introduction to Angel astrology in a meaningful way and helped me better understand both the meaning of the signs and how to work with the Archangels associated with each sign. It eliminated the intimidation factor and made it a fun and educational journey of self-discovery. It also provided some 'ah-ha' moments of insight! This made it much easier to digest than just reading from the beginning with no frame of reference. Then, I went back and read about each sign and the Archangel associated with each sign for a more generalized education and greater depth of understanding.

I found the book well-organized by astrological/sun sign. Each chapter is broken down by the 12 astrological signs and their associated Archangel. Then by easy to follow sections devoted to the sun, moon and planets as they relate to that sign. I found the list of questions one could ask each archangel for help with in a generalized sense useful for everyone in everyday life. There are also many beautiful illustrations throughout the book.

Angel Astrology 101 is a gentle way to get to know the Archangels and their specialties as they relate to the astrological signs and the planetary influences. I liked that this book allowed the reader to access the wisdom of astrology through the energy of the Archangels in a simple, organized, yet informative way.

Overall, I found Angel Astrology 101 a great introduction to both astrology and working with the angels. One does not need any prior knowledge of either subject to benefit greatly from this book. For those who have prior experience with astrology or working with the Archangels, you will find it informative and thought-provoking. You will surely learn something about yourself and those around you.

Anyone who is interested in astrology, angels, or the journey to better knowing and understanding your inner self will enjoy this book. It is a valuable tool for raising self-awareness and connection to the Angelic realm. If you are well-versed in astrology, it may be too simplistic for you, although if you are new to working with the Archangels in combination with astrology, you will find it insightful. If you are new to astrology or have an interest in working with the Archangels, astrology, or tools to improve your own self-awareness and connection to spirit, you will find this book a great tool for your journey. It's about so much more than knowing your 'sign'. It's about understanding who you are and why.

FTC Disclosure: The opinions in this review are my honest and unbiased opinion of the book. I received no financial compensation for this post.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 16, 2014 Angel
Angel expert Doreen Virtue and astrologer Yasmin Boland have teamed up and created a lovely colorful and informative book titled Angel Astrology 101. I love Yasmin Boland, reading her horoscopes daily. Doreen Virtue has changed the way the world relates to the angels.

This book is very unique, perfect for the newbie and seasoned alike. It fits nicely into my purse and the diaper bag, so I can pull it out when I have a few minutes and get a nice healthy dose of angelic, astrological inspiration.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my exp
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 08, 2014 AprilAngel73
I was very excited to have the opportunity to read Angel Astrology 101 by Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland. Astrology has always been an interest of mine, so of course when I saw that this book contained information on the angels connected with birth charts, I was interesting in finding out more.

The book itself is beautiful with high quality pages that will not rip easily, an important consideration when there are young children in the house. The artwork is stunning. The book begins with the history of astrology and the false beliefs held by some religions. There is also an explanation of what modern day astrology covers as well as the spiritual side of astrology. Then an explanation of the connection with astrology and angels is given, which was quite informative.

In order to use this book to find which angels are connected to your birth chart, you need certain information from your astrological natal chart (sun sign, moon sign, Mercury, Venus, Mars, and ascendant or rising sign). There is information on free resources to access this information, which is really a nice touch and adds value to this book.

Overall, I enjoyed locating the angels associated with the aspects of my chart, as well as those for my loved ones and friends. Keep in mind that this is a 101 (introductory) book, so for someone with more knowledge in astrology it is very basic. For those who are new to astrology or think they know about astrology but may hold false beliefs, this is a great book to help one understand how the sun, moon, and stars affect every aspect of our lives and how to work with the angels to enhance our experience here on Earth.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 01, 2014 LeChat808
I always thought I was being cute or clever when I'd tell people that I'm a Leo with Virgo tendencies; this being because my birthday, August 21st is so very close to the cusp, which sometimes ranges from the 21st thru the 24th depending on what resource you're using. But now not only reading, but INGESTING my next Doreen Virtue title from Hay House, “Angel Astrology 101, Discover the Angels Connected with your Birth Chart” co-authored with Yasmin Boland, a writer who has dedicated her professional life to astrology, I have become enlightened to the fact, that I truly am a Leo with Virgo tendencies, that has nothing to do with the cusp. These ladies also break it down in detail about our Archangels, large protective angels that have specific traits, in accordance with not only our popular Sun sign, but also with other planets that have everything to do with the way we problem solve, stay calm, express our emotions, and have healthy relationships amongst other life experiences and personal feelings. (Hence my Leo with Virgo tendencies...). The authors explain that basically the way the planets were aligned during our miraculous entry from the cosmos to earth, is pretty much aligned with who we are today, right now.

I found out my natal chart, (a birth chart from an astrologer that includes your name, location and time of birth along with exact planet placement) a few years back when I was curious to learn more about my astrological compatibility with my boyfriend (I don't know any girl that hasn't done this, lol). Of course I was thrilled when the stars had us as aligned as our hearts (the cosmos synchronized with feelings = a good thing). I ended up keeping my chart accessible on my desktop though, as I wanted to learn more about ME. Well, some of it resonated at the moment, and after reading this book, I can honestly say ALL OF IT DOES.

***For reference sake, these gals are my original go-to for my weekly horoscope along with tons of information across the astrological board, first and foremost- the AstroTwins at astrostyle.com where I also got my first natal chart for free. While reviewing the book I also visited Yasmin's site yasminboland.com and also received my free chart with more juicy info. It was super interesting confirming everything from another astrologer. The authors also together created an official AngelAstrology101 site where you can get your chart and read more on the book. I also am in love with the astral insights of mysticmamma.com. The stars don't lie.

As my friend Erica reminds me, our Sun sign, also referenced to as our Star sign, is our personality. But if we look at the details of our personality, the nooks and crannies, that's where this book steps in and the authors show us what's up. The book begins with a brief history on astrology and angels and also includes gorgeous and whimsical artwork with a nice spot to take notes in the back if needed. The size of the book too is perfect- compact enough to throw in your purse or backpack and use as a convenient reference. Obviously I found the chapter on Leo with Archangel Raziel immediately upon receiving, read it first and of course nodded my head to it all. I am such a Leo, I got that. But what was even cooler for me was learning more about Archangel Raziel, and his penchant for healing karmic relationships, letting go of negative patterns, and his ability to help manifest your dream career, among a wealth of other specialties. This goes for 12 different Archangels, depending on your sign and they are detailed in a way that you easily relate to your personal life. Now, after you find out your chart is when you can start looking at and learning more about THE OTHER SIGNS you actually are! Seriously, finding out my Mercury (planet related to all forms of communication: writing, speaking , even thinking) AND Venus (planet determining how you love) were BOTH in Virgo when I was born is a trip. Doreen says, “...no matter what your actual Star sign is, if you have Mercury in Virgo, you basically think like a Virgo.” And yes of course there are a list of positives that correlate nicely with this discovery, but what I love about these ladies too is their gentle reminder when pointing out any negatives that relate to us as well:

“...each sign has its strengths and its shadow side. Your strengths are to be used to help others, and your shadow side is something for you to work on healing.” We are all flawed, yet strong and unique, together.

I've learned that Virgo's Archangel is Metatron and that when I'm feeling emotionally challenged, perhaps via a miscommunication with a loved one, I can call upon Metatron for support. It obviously helps to already believe in your angels, all of them. The authors also provide the detailed info as well for your Moon; planet representing emotions (Aquarius), Mars; planet determining feelings based on anger & intimacy (Gemini) and Rising or Ascendant sign; our true nature (Sagittarius, makes sense). I honestly can't get enough of this book. So, after completely ingesting everything I could about myself, “Leo is also the sign that doesn't ever dwell upon the past. The Sun never goes retrograde...” (awesome) I can honestly say I am thoroughly interested in understanding as much as possible about my chart and of course my boyfriend's. I want to learn more, it's all fascinating and humbling at the same time. Essentially, Angel Astrology 101 has been created to open your eyes to why you do the things you do and feel the way you feel. Get your natal chart, make some tea and ingest it all. Because as the authors state, "the more you understand your chart, the more you understand yourself."

...a special thank you to Metatron for his assistance... xx


(~I was not financially compensated for this post and received this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 28, 2014 Cheryl
The introduction is very helpful, containing brief descriptions of ancient, modern, and spiritual astrology.

Then you get into the individual chapters—the meat of this book—detailing who your archangel is, how he/she is paired with your particular astrological sign, and how he/she guides and protect you.

You’ll also discover the significance of the planets, and how they specifically relate to your chart:
Sun (will, power, and desire)
Moon (needs and emotions)
Mercury (communication)
Venus (loves and values)
Mars (handling conflict)
Rising (time, date, and place of birth.)

I’d never really thought about the 12 zodiac signs being coupled with the 12 archangels, so I found this pretty fascinating. I like the easy to understand descriptive of each archangel and zodiac sign, and especially the associated planets.

This book explains how our archangel can assist us with our natal chart gifts. It’s easy to understand and the lovely illustrations are a nice addition.

Cover: Like it
Title: Like it
Publisher: Hay House, Inc.
Pages: 242

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 18, 2014 WellB
I have a guilty pleasure... you want to know what it is? Astrology. I've loved it for years! In fact, I love trying to guess people's birth months before they tell me, just by going off of certain personality traits and what I know about each zodiac sign... Hey I never mentioned I was cool. Due to this fun fact, you can only imagine my excitement when I was given the opportunity from Hay House Publishing to review Angel Astrology 101 by Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland.

In the last six months or so, I have made my way through quite a few of Doreen's books, but I think this might top the chart for me! I found it to be relatable and educational, even for someone who is somewhat familiar with astrology. Even better, I feel like I can finally remember some of the archangels and what they can help me with! Do you know how many times I have to pull out her books for reference? Just by knowing some of the common traits of the zodiac signs, I can remember what archangel I need to give a shout out to!

One thing I found that really enhanced this book was that it touched upon much more than just your typical star sign, which goes strictly off of when you were born. (Shout out to all of my scorpios out there!) This also allows you to take a stroll down the rest of your natal chart which includes your moon, mercury, venus, mars and rising signs! Don't know how to figure all of those things out? That's okay, they give you a website in the book that will figure it all out for you.. and for free!

Overall however, I think my favorite thing about this book was the introduction, how it makes the reader feel okay to be gathering information about astrology. I feel like there are so many negative stigmas that come with following it and they immediately put those to rest. I also loved the fact that they pointed out the connectedness of everything. If you believe in a universal oneness, why wouldn't the sun, moon and stars play a role in your life?

I really enjoyed this book and even more, I really loved learning more about myself and my other half! P.S it was really enjoyable for me to be able to read aloud what some of his chart said about him and have them be totally right. Now he can no longer deny some of the things I call him out on ;)

If you are looking to learn more about astrology and the archangels, I definitely recommend this book!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 12, 2014 jessicacontreras

I was excited to receive Angel Astrology 101 by Doreen Virtue. I follow her YouTube channel and her angel readings, I think they are very insightful. I was very impressed with the book visuals and the quality of the book, almost a collector’s item quality. The graphics were very strong and beautiful, it helped emphasized some of the written material. The book starts off with a good set amount of pages for the intro, describing the meaning of some of the stuff she mentions.

I soon went to my sign, which is Aquarius, I read all of the descriptions and there was a little bit of everything that described me. However, I wish I knew more on what to do with the information. I wouldn’t necessarily call it a “guiding book” but rather a BASIC understanding of how the planets affect our signs. At the beginning of each chapter, there is a brief description on how to ask your angel or other angels for guidance. For instance, I’m trying to overcome fears, therefore I would turn to Archangel Ariel for guidance, which according to Doreen, Archangel Ariel is a good match for Aries.The Angels mentioned for each sign, does not mean that they are your actual angels, they are more like a suitable match for your sign.

The book was not as insightful as I had wished for, it had some basic knowledge that’s good if you’re barely getting the hang of it, however, you can find majority of this information on the internet if not more. Overall, I would not recommend this book for someone who is hungry to know more, but it does give you an understanding on your personality traits.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 07, 2014 Mystic812

As an avid reader of Doreen Virtue's books, I was interested in reading about the subjects of angels and astrology combined.  I have always enjoyed Doreen's angel books and oracle cards, and Angel Astrology 101 did not disappoint.  The introduction does give some history of astrology and how to use the book.  It is best to know your time of birth, but if you don't, the book addresses that, as well as giving suggestions on where to get a free birth chart done to find your sun, moon and rising signs, if you do not already know them.

There are twelve chapters in all, each pertaining to a different zodiac sign and the archangel that is connected with that sign. The planets of Mars, Mercury, Venus, the Moon, Sun and the ascending (rising) sign are listed in each chapter for each zodiac sign, so you can easily reference this information once you have your natal chart. The book did not list all of the planets that come up in your natal chart, but the information that I received was extremely accurate and detailed.  There is also a list of twenty topics relating to each archangel, letting you call upon them for help, regardless of your zodiac sign.  One thing that was puzzling is that in reading a prior review of this book, it gave a web link to a website of Doreen Virtue's where you can get your free natal chart at no cost. I did not see this website listed in the book anywhere. The url is http://www.angelastrology101.com, and I would recommend it if you are seeking your chart. I would highly recommend this book and it was a fun and interesting read.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 05, 2014 Eleven11
In this exciting new book from Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland, astrology and the angels come together to bring a new dimension to your birth chart.

The book is divided into twelve chapters, each with a zodiac sign and the angel that corresponds to that sign. Not only does Doreen teach you which angel is connected to your sign, she also tells you a lot about you and the sign you were born under. I found the information to be extremely accurate and right on with my personality.

This was a very enlightening and inspiring read, highly recommended for anyone who enjoys astrology, or the subject of angels.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book free from HayHouse in exchange for my review. The opinions are my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 04, 2014 BookLover
If you are interested in Angel's, Astrology, or both then the Book Angel Astrology 101: Discover the Angels Connected with Your Birth Chart by Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland is a great brook for you to read. This book gives a brief introduction to the history of astrology and shows us how to find our natal or birth chart by typing in "free Natal Chart" on any major search engine.

We are also shown what the meaning of the signs we are given is. Our sun sign being our core self, moon being what we need and feel, Mercury is about how we express ourselves, Venus is how we love, Mars determines our conflict-resolution style, and our Ascendant or Rising sign is how we present ourselves to the world. We are then taken through each of the twelve zodiac signs and shown which angel goes with each sign and where it falls in our chart and its' meaning to that specific placement.

I absolutely loved this book. The only thing I wish is that it had all the planets in the book so we could learn how the angels and signs effect those planets too. Overall, I thought this book was well written and informative. I would recommend it to those interested in astrology and angels. I love looking up information for myself and saying, "yeah, that makes sense" or "that's true". This book is one I will continue to go back to.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 31, 2014 ginadrellack

This is a wonderful introduction to connecting astrological signs with Archangels. Each are insightful self-awareness tools; combined they are an entirely new supportive way to learn about and accept oneself.

I especially like the fact that each Archangel is not exclusive to a particular astrological sign–they are there for anyone to call upon, regardless of similar traits to a given sign. I also appreciated that the astrological aspect goes beyond simply the sun sign–the moon, rising, Mercury, Venus, and Mars aspects are also explored. This book goes beyond a simple pairing of an astrological sign and an Archangel.

First off, go to the website given to cast your birth chart: http://www.angelastrology101.com/.

This will give you all of the above astrological aspects needed to help you discover your angel-astrological connections throughout the book. In fact, this natal chart gives even more astrological information than what is covered in the book! I’m hoping there will be another release that explains and connects the given charted information about Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto as well. I found this new idea of Archangels combined with astrology to be so interesting that I wanted to know more!

Anyone interested in self-discovery will appreciate this book. Those who are intrigued by a new way of looking at previous ideas will also enjoy the combination of these two concepts. Beautiful, gorgeous artwork abounds–it is also worth taking a look at for the images alone. No matter how approached, this book is full of new ideas, helpful self-awareness, and exploratory learning.

Angel Astrology 101 by Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland was given to me by Hay House in exchange for my review of it, as part of their Book Nook blogger program.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 26, 2014 LisaAlaiana

I am very familiar with astrology but this the first time I became aware of Angel Astrology better known as angelogy. Doreen Virtue has teamed up and co-authored with astrologist and Angel Therapist Yasmin Boland to combine both astrology and angelogy. I found this book very easy to understand, very informative and the illustrations are beautiful.

When reading about the archangels that are associated with us and our natal birth signs validated many experiences that I have had in the past. Each astrological sign has a guardian archangel to help us along the path of life. My guardian is Sandalphon, who is often called the “Angel of Music.” In fact, Archangel Sandalphon often delivers messages through songs heard in the mind or on the radio. He’s around at those times when you hear just the song you need to. I have had personal experiences in the past while visiting Sedona where music has mysteriously began to play on my iPod when it had been tucked away in my pocket and turned off. Here is one example of the songs that began to play while I was sitting in a quiet state on the top of a very beautiful mountain and vortex.

The presumed Father of Astrology was a man named Hermes Trismegistus, whom Doreen wrote about in her book Angel Medicine. Doreen’s research showed that Hermes was a great teacher and leader in Atlantis, and then in Egypt, following the great Flood. He is said to be the grandson of the first man, Adam, and is also credited with the expression “As above, so below,” which he inscribed on the famous Emerald Tablet as part of his Hermetic teachings. The phrase means: What happens up in the Heavens is reflected down here on Earth. If you bear in mind Trismegistus’s assertion that “we are all connected to all life everywhere,” it’s not such a big leap to think that we’re also connected to the planets. * Ancient Babylonians, Egyptians, Indians, Arabians, and Greeks, as well as Kabbalists in the Judaic tradition, all had input into the development of astrology as we know it now. Along the way, our ancestors noticed patterns among the dispositions of people according to their time, date, and place of birth. These observations also became the basis for modern natal astrology.

Just as everyone has an astrological birth chart, so do we all have assigned guardian angels. These are personal angels who are with you prior to birth, all throughout your life, and in Heaven after your physical passing. Guardian angels aren’t departed relatives; they are egoless celestial beings who are enacting God’s will of peace through everyone. Your guardian angels provide you with continuous love, support, and guidance. They also do their best to protect you, provided that you notice and follow their guidance in the form of warning thoughts, gut feelings, and signs. In addition to personal guardian angels, the archangels also provide guidance and protection. Archangels are large, powerful angels who oversee guardian angels. Each archangel has a specialty. For example, Archangel Michael offers protection and courage, Raphael administers healing, Gabriel provides nurturing and messages, Uriel shines light, and so forth. All of Heaven respects the free will of humans, so angels and archangels will never push their guidance upon you. Rather, they will wait until you pray to God for help, or ask for assistance. Only then are angels and archangels allowed to intervene. Fortunately, it doesn’t matter how you ask for Heavenly help—whether through formal prayer, affirmations, a fervent plea, a letter, or visualization.
astrologyphoto2

All of the astrological signs have issues to deal with. We incarnate as a particular sign so we can face them. Here is a quick overview (you will have to purchase the book to get the full details!)of the Archangels associated with the astrological signs.

ARIES AND ARCHANGEL ARIEL
Archangel Ariel is also known as the “Angelic Ambassador of Divine Magic and Miraculous Manifestation.” She reminds you that anything is possible if you approach life with the innocence of a child.
TAURUS AND ARCHANGEL CHAMUEL
Archangel Chamuel reminds us that everything we seek is already inside us. No matter what your sign, if you’re having trouble in a relationship or a friendship, Chamuel is a great archangel to turn to for help.
GEMINI AND ARCHANGEL ZADKIEL
Zadkiel is about forgiveness that comes from the heart; while Gemini is associated with the intellect, the mind, and a talkative conversation style. Archangel Zadkiel can help you shift your focus from the negative to the positive.
CANCER AND ARCHANGEL GABRIEL
The Archangel Gabriel/Cancer pairing is a very warm and comforting combination. If you have any Cancerian friends, you’ll recognize how nurturing they are. Archangel Gabriel will help you find the answers to all your questions about how to best look out for others.
LEO AND ARCHANGEL RAZIEL
Archangel Raziel has a rainbow-colored aura that beautifully complements the sign of Leo, guided by the Sun. As the wizard and metaphysician of the archangels, Raziel has the power to heal.
VIRGO AND ARCHANGEL METATRON
Archangel Metatron uses an energy tool that is shaped from all the Platonic solids, called a Merkabah (or “Metatron’s Cube”), for healing and clearing away lower energies. For this reason, he works perfectly in tandem with Virgo—the sign associated so strongly with healing (conventional or alternative) and service to others.
LIBRA AND ARCHANGEL JOPHIEL
Archangel Jophiel is the “Angel of Beauty,” so she’s the perfect match for Libra—the sign guided by Venus, the planet of love and beauty. Wherever you have Libra in your chart is where you can appreciate beauty, where you can hold beautiful thoughts, and where you can beautify your life. Jophiel helps us restore balance in our thoughts and in our living and working environments.
SCORPIO AND ARCHANGEL JEREMIEL
Archangel Jeremiel, whose specialties complement those on the Scorpio path. Jeremiel is one of the seven core archangels. His main role is to help newly crossed-over souls review their lives. Scorpios and Jeremiel plunge fearlessly into areas that the average person doesn’t want to acknowledge. They are truly fearless!
SAGITTARIUS AND ARCHANGEL RAGUEL
For Sagittarius, life is a game. And for Archangel Raguel, life is a party, because he’s the most sociable of all the archangels. His name means “Friend of God,” and his focus is on peace and harmony with everyone in the world.
CAPRICORN AND ARCHANGEL AZRAEL
Archangel Azrael gently heals grief-stricken hearts. Capricorns tend to have lives where a lot of karma is being balanced. So they may find interactions with others tough because they’re dealing with people who hurt them or whom they hurt in previous lives. The karmic test is whether Capricorns can forgive and release old pain and anguish. Archangel Azrael is very adept at healing the heart in those who have lost someone or something.
AQUARIUS AND ARCHANGEL URIEL
Aquarians are famous for being brilliant thinkers and the inventors of astrology. All that time they spend in their heads often leads to inspired ideas and inventions. That’s why the two energies of Uriel and Aquarius go so well together.
PISCES AND ARCHANGEL SANDALPHON
Pisces is the sign of the spiritual seeker, and Sandalphon is a master at helping people find inner peace. The two go hand in hand.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 25, 2014 awatson
I started reading Angel Astrology 101: Discover the Angels Connected with Your Birth Chart by co-authors, Doreen Virtue and Yasmin Boland the moment I received it from Hay House Publishing for review. As a fan of astrology, I was curious to see how the authors connected the angels with each of the signs in the zodiac.

The "101" in the title suggests that the book is giving readers a light introduction into the background of astrology and the angelic realm. I would have to agree. A small amount of information is provided about our ancestors and their discovery and tracking of the planets. A quick mention of the Christian church and its ties to astrology is included, along with a few biblical references.

Each of the 12 chapters in the book is devoted to a particular astrological sign and includes: the corresponding archangel (based on the traits of a particular sign), and the meanings of the Sun, the Ascendant (rising) sign, the Moon, Mars, Venus and Mercury in that sign.

Some of the angel/astrological match-ups were pretty close, while others seemed to be a catchall for every symptom or issue one could think of...never mind a person's planetary makeup.

Overall the book was positive and fairly entertaining. I would recommend it to those who are somewhat new to astrology and/or angels. For the ones well-versed in the study of both subjects, there probably won't be anything new or remarkable to be had within the pages of Angel Astrology 101: Discover the Angels Connected with Your Birth Chart; but it's still a fun read.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews