Book Reviews

Quantum Creativity

Amit Goswami

Psychology, General

978-1-4019-4075-1

In this mind-expanding work, physicist Amit Goswami, Ph.D., explores the world of human creativity—the ultimate source of joy and fulfillment—through the lens of quantum physics, and offers up a uniqu... More

Oct 08, 2014 readerlaura
I recently completed reading Quantum Creativity by Amit Goswami, who has studied, taught, and written extensively in the field of physics.

I’ve heard a lot of people talking about quantum stuff, and it’s usually ambiguous and sounds like they’re misusing the words, so this book was my first endeavor to understand the mysteries of quantum physics and it’s relation to life. This book was satisfactory in that way. Goswami uses his extensive knowledge of quantum physics to explain how to choose and determine one’s future… essentially creating your own.

Goswami gives a brief overview of quantum phsyics and writes about how quantum thinking can be used to re-think any field of study or activity to bring about good changes and progress. It’s an optimistic and inspiring work in that way.

He examines the sources of creativity and provides some great practical instructions for cultivating creativity in one’s own life, for becoming a creator. His book did help me develop my own life philosophy.

The only problem I had with the book was stylistic. Ironically, for a book about creativity, it seems like a lot of his examples were anecdotes that I’ve heard before. While it may make his ideas more accessible, it was disappointing that he used so much old material to support them. Also, he started the book with an imaginary conversation between a philosopher and a deep-thinking person to introduce his ideas, which is a literary tool that has always seemed like a weak writing tool to me.

Overall I enjoyed the book and appreciated the chance to expand my knowledge of both science and self-expression. I would recommend it to anyone. I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing in order to review it, but all the opinions above are indeed my own! The book is available from Hay House http://www.hayhouse.com/quantum-creativity and most other book stores.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 06, 2014 ginadrellack
Quantum Creativity is a wonderful balance of science and philosophy by Amit Goswami, Ph.D. Dr. Goswami is a theoretical quantum physicist, so this book has a scientific background and explanation for the concept that we create our own reality. Yet at the same time the author's voice is quite human and easy to relate to.

I especially appreciated the author's focus on creativity, and its energetic interrelationship. This is a fresh, new exploration within quantum physics for me, and I am simultaneously condensed and expanded. (A downward causation concurrently showcasing the field of potentiality?? Ha ha)

In reading this book, I finally discovered my concise response to use when asked in physics conversations. (Yes, I actually have these.) When replying to Newtonian counterparts with the comment of, "I'm actually more of a quantum physics gal," I would invariably be asked to explain. I would attempt to share the idea of creating reality, the Law of Attraction, and the universal field, only to watch scientific minds find my explanation to be amusing and then dismissed.
However, after reading this book I now have a simplified, common-language response to use that will enable minds to remain open to further conversation:

Newtonian physics = everything is made of matter.

Quantum physics = everything is made of energy.

Anyone who is interested in the language of energy will appreciate this book, whether you are science-minded or not. If you are drawn in any way, no matter how remotely, to a scientific aspect as well, you will be particularly glad you picked this one up.

Hay House gifted me my choice of this book through their Book Nook blogger program, in exchange only for my honest opinion of it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 21, 2014 BookLover
Quantum Creativity: Think Quantum, Be Creative by Amit Goswami, Ph.D., is a wonderful new look at using the principles of quantum physics to be creative. At first I wasn't sure if I would like this book or if it would be too technical but once I started to read it I couldn't put it down.

This book is broken up into six parts. Each of the six parts expands upon what we have learned to be more creative. The six parts are entitled: 'Part I: Steps to Understanding Human Creativity', 'Part II: The Creative Process', Part III: Can Anyone Be Creative?', 'Part IV: New Paradigms in Old Creative Arenas', Part V: Spiritual Creativity', and 'Part VI: Bringing Creativity to the Center of Your Life'. I enjoyed every single 'part' of this book. I believe some of my favorite parts were on the creative process and spiritual creativity.

Overall, this book was an enjoyable read and I think the author explained things in a way that anyone can understand. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to bring more creativity into their life or just wants to learn something new. This book is highly recommended.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House and that this is my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 06, 2014 leepathome

When I read a book, I am always looking for a new idea – something I can latch onto and carry into my life. At first, this book seemed like a hard read – trying to grasp concepts while (it seemed to me) the author jumped around all over the place. There didn’t seem to be much continuity in it. And then, it hit me at about chapter 6 – is the author deliberately trying to create for me, the reader, a quantum leap in discontinuity to produce a quantum leap in creativity? Could the author be that ingenious, or did it just happen that way, and does it happen that way for everybody who reads it, or just for me?

This book is about how everyday people like you and I can have on a fairly consistent basis, the experience of quantum leaps in creativity. Yes, he speaks about archetypes and universal mind and esoteric things like that, but he also gives a blueprint to have insights similar to those great minds of history like Einstein and Tesla and Picasso.

This is not a book you can read in one sitting, this book needs to be percolated. With the Book Nook at Hay House, part of the agreement is to post a book review within a month of receiving the free book. I can normally read a book in a day, and with this book, I knew I was in big trouble. And truthfully, I thought I was doomed to never post a review – I thought this book was the end of my career in book reviewing! I didn’t even want to read it.....until I got to my a-ha moment. Then I couldn’t stop thinking about it. And low and behold, life got in the way and some obligations I committed myself to snuck up on me in Chapter 7 - just when I was about to learn The Technique! And I had to put the book down and attend to life. And then a strange thing happened. I was living my ordinary everyday life looking for discontinuity and expecting another quantum leap in creativity, another a-ha moment. Goswami says an a-ha moment is defined by “ecstasy and surprise, the discontinuity of creativity comes with another telling characteristic: certainty. Do you remember an occasion when a sudden insight revealed the solution to a problem? Now compare the quality of your certainty on that occasion with a time when you relied on only reason, and you will see what I mean.” Wouldn’t it be nice if all solutions came that easy?

Don’t let the size of this little gem fool you. At 220 pages of solid reading material, it packs tons of information into it. One of the main concepts to creative quantum thinking is what Goswami calls do-be-do-be. This is the act of doing and then just being, allowing the information discovered in the “do” stage to be digested by our subconscious in the “be” stage. In our day and age of multi tasking and trying to get everything done at once, this concept goes directly against what we have been conditioned to strive for. Perhaps that’s why we find it difficult to access our higher intelligence when we need it – it can’t be heard over the activity! While reading this book, I definitely found the best way to digest all the information was to read and then let it sit, read and let it sit, exactly how Goswami suggests we let creativity have a voice in our lives. Profound concepts are discussed in detail with scientific evidence and many anecdotes to support them, giving us, the readers, a blueprint on how to cultivate creativity in our own lives. And probably the most important concept is – why do we want to cultivate creativity in our lives? Goswami explains that to truly be happy, we must surrender to the quantum universe and let it manifest in our everyday lives, not just “peak performances” , as has been suggested by other authors. By getting into the “flow” of the quantum universe, we fulfill our true calling to this lifetime and experience “heaven on earth”.

Not only does Goswami leave us with a burning desire to experience this flow, he actually lays out a plan of how to do that. The Seven Practises, page 200, are not so daunting that you’ll never start. What’s so hard about day dreaming?! Interesting enough, I immediately thought about children and how we have them busy “doing”. Soccer, dance, gymnastics, band practise, school, chores.....when do they get the chance to “be”? And I’m not talking about letting them watch TV or play on their electronic devices, but just let them be with themselves. We are really doing our children a disservice by not teaching them the value of their own quiet company and the power of day dreaming.

There are so many thought provoking themes running through this work that it’s impossible to give you a good taste in a book review. This needs to be savored over and enjoyed like a good meal with great friends. No matter where you’re at, there is something in here that applies. Amit Goswami’s Quantum Creativity spoke to me on a deep level and I know it will speak to you.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 24, 2014 PattiFoy
First, I’ll start off by saying that I’ve read several of Amit Goswami’s books, and would be happy to read all of them! Although he’s an accomplished physicist, consciousness is of primary interest to him, especially its interplay with what he knows of quantum physics.

His books are a perfect combination of both of those topics, and he’s very good at explaining just enough quantum physics and just enough about consciousness to explain how and why they are dependent upon each other.

He’s very good at putting all of this in lay terms and writing in an engaging way that not only keeps you interested, but fascinated.

>> Think Quantum, Be Creative!

This particular book, Quantum Creativity, includes the fundamentals of those two topics, and then builds upon them to address our creativity specifically.

Much of creativity itself requires paradigm shifts, and — as you might expect if you’re familiar with this author — this book itself offers one!

Goswami begins by explaining the creative process along with how it actually works. Much of this is unique to how he understands it, and during the time period I read the book, I often found myself reflecting on how it applies as I went about my daily life.

I read this book specifically to see if he would address the unique manifestation process I’ve observed in the various forms of Quantum Consciousness (QC) Technology. Although he didn’t touch on that type of creativity/manifestation specifically, much of what he did discuss has enabled me to extrapolate for some additional ways of playing with the process in my own QC practice (Holographic Emergence™).

My favorite section was that on spiritual creativity where he discusses inner and outer creativity, self-realization, and enlightenment. It was wonderful hearing from an expert how all of these connect with each other.

>> Practical Application

Besides giving you a good understanding of the process (from which you can invent and explore — i.e. create! — your own ways to use it), he goes several steps further by showing you how to make use of it.

First, he gives examples of its application in several life area, for example, in the arts, in business, and in society. You’ll get a good idea of how expansive this process can be.

Then he ends with another of my favorite sections “Bringing Creativity to the Center of Your Life”, where he gives you very specific ways in which to apply the ideas in your own life. He writes about each of 7 suggested practices with a perfect amount of detail so you can begin to practice immediately. Several of these help put you into the “Open State” of which I write and which I consider an integral element of creativity, intuition, and of course, Quantum Consciousness itself.

Although I didn’t think I needed to read “yet another” book about creativity, I’m glad I read this one and that I have it to refer to. I’m sure I’ll refer especially to the steps he so thoughtfully included near the end as I practice what he suggests to enhance my own access to what he calls my “quantum self”.

Highly recommended!

Note: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes and this review reflects my honest evaluation.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 21, 2014 MaryMikawoz
First of all, I would recommend that you read this book over a period of time. It is the type of book where reading one or two chapters at once is enough. I read through the chapters fairly quickly and I believe I would have gotten more out of it if I had taken due time and consideration.

This book does cover many of the quantum theories with some drawings, explanations and examples.

I found that as I continued to read, the understanding on my part improved. I found the first chapter hard to get into but then found the second chapter more easily. The sections of the book include: Steps to Understanding Human Creativity, the Creative Process, Can Anyone be Creative?, New Paradigms in Old Creative Arenas, Spiritual Creativity, Bringing Creativity to the Center of Your Life.

One of the most ways to get more creativity is “Do, be, do, be, do” which means doing something and then just being. The author gives examples as to how this works with your creative part of your brain. You can work on writing a book which is a creative part of the brain but then you need to do something else that is not related like doing the dishes or cleaning up the house. You need to change up what you are doing so that your creative mind can continue to work on your problem, issue or creative pursuits while it is not directly focussed all the time on the same issue.

The author brings through many Hindu and Buddhist analogies or story lines to understand and relate to the creative brain and how it operates.

Overall, I found the book good but with some reservations. The author assumes you know and understand “Archetypes” as defined by Carl Jung. He does not give examples of Archetypes until page 132. For this reason, I recommend having a dictionary handy for difficult terminologies. As well, you can have the internet close at hand to get further explanations if you wish. When I read the book, I was not near a connected computer so all my references had to be taken from the text itself.

This book is good for people who are willing to think about things. The book, as I have said, is complicated in places but it manages to offer another view of physics by talking about consciousness.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 14, 2014 timlarison
Do you wish to live from your creativity, rather than from the survival instincts of your ego? Ph.D. physicist Amit Goswami gives suggestions on how to do that in his new book Quantum Creativity: Think Quantum Be Creative.

Goswami writes in the introduction that Quantum Creativity is based on an earlier book by the same title he wrote for a scholarly audience over a decade ago. Goswami says “this time I’ve written for the layperson interested in seeing creativity, which includes the way we shape our life experience, in an entirely new way.” I felt the author has mixed results in achieving this goal. I found the book difficult to understand in parts due to its academic language. Previous books I have read and reviewed on Quantum Theory for the every day person, such as Joe Dispenza’s Breaking The Habit of Being Yourself and Greg Kuhn’s “Why Quantum Physicists Do Not Fail” were easier for me to understand.

Nevertheless, Quantum Creativity did give me some new insights into how Quantum theory can enhance my creativity. “The quantum self is the experiencer of our intuitive insights into new meanings and new contexts, of the flashes of imagination that cannot be directly derived from prior learning,” writes Goswami. I have found this true in my life, where major shifts in my world view came seemingly out of nowhere, as a result of a series of synchronistic events, and not from anything I learned in school. And in those times I am trying too hard on a project, not making much progress, I can take solace in what Goswami relates about Albert Einstein. He writes, “Einstein once asked a psychologist at Princeton, ‘Why is it I get my best ideas in the morning while I’m shaving?’ The psychologist answered that consciousness needs to let go of its inner controls in order for new ideas to emerge.”

While the movie The Secret was an introduction to quantum principles for many, its lessons were not always applied in the best way, according to Goswami. “One obstacle is that we try to do it all at the ego level of the mind, and for personal advantage,” he writes. “According to a growing school of thought, your intention has a much better chance of being supported by nonlocal quantum consciousness if it serves the greater good.” When I have a creative project a good question to ask myself is “will this be of service to others, or is my motivation the accolades I’ll receive from it?”

“As physicist Niels Bohr once said, if you’re not puzzled by quantum physics, you couldn’t possibly have understood it,” Goswami says. Good. Parts of Quantum Creativity did have me confused. Perhaps when I reread it at a later date the book will have a bigger impact on me. Yet I do think Quantum Creativity has value, especially for those already familiar with quantum theory and looking for deeper insights into expanding their own creative natures.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 11, 2014 KDKHadacek
How are you creative? Some people apply known principles in new ways to create a new result. Other people generate original ideas that revolutionize our thinking in a specific area; they aren’t merely creative, they’re innovative visionaries. We know who they are – the Albert Einsteins, Niels Bohrs, NikolaTeslas, and Steve Jobs of the world. How do we move from ordinary creative types to an absolutely extraordinary creative type? Amit Goswami addresses this process in Quantum Creativity: Think Quantum, Be Creative.

Goswami attributes brilliant creativity to aligning with your soul and bringing in a higher order of inspiration and knowledge from it. I’ve studied a lot of metaphysics, have meditated away a fair part of the past ten years, and what he says makes sense to me. He’s a nuclear physicist, and to bring forward this belief, even with anecdotal and scientific evidence to support it, is professionally risky. I admire his desire to publicly stand with his beliefs.

He incorporated points of view from several religious doctrines, with some emphasis on Hindu beliefs. That’s not uncommon in this type of text, because the Hindus have been prolific writers on the art of getting outside our ego-minds and joining with the higher, non-local parts of our minds. In my own spiritual practice, I am acquainted with that place where I am bathed in the light and communing with my soul. There is no real thinking there, but when I leave, I am inspired, refreshed, and reinvigorated. I often return with solutions to problems or information I need to handle a situation better. I think Goswami is on to something.

If you wanted a step-by-step handbook to become more creative, this isn’t the right book for you. If you’re into metaphysics, you may enjoy Goswami’s treatment of something that you intuitively know but may not have thought about. If you are interested in creativity in the context of spirituality, your outlook may change completely.

As a member of Hay House Publishing’s blogging community, I requested a free copy of this book, because it interested me. In return, I agreed to provide my candid opinion in a review on my blog. I was not paid for the review, and it reflects my personal opinion only.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 10, 2014 LizKelso
When I came across this title, I was interested, because not only am I creative, I am also a fan of quantum physics and consciousness. The first half of this book attempts to explain quantum thinking in a way that the masses can understand; however, I think anyone who reads this book needs a very basic knowledge of the workings of quantum physics. It is not as basic as Dr. Goswami perceives it to be. I was able to follow most of the first half of the book because I have an interest in the topic and have read about it previously. I enjoyed the 2nd half of the book as it was less technical and spoke of creativity. I appreciated the parables Dr. Goswamishared to make the points he was making come alive. This is where the ‘lay person’ aspect of this book comes in. Once you get through all the technical stuff, this is where the book shines.

Not only does Dr. Goswami go into how quantum creativity works, he talks about how our creativity suffers. It is helpful to see what we are doing to block the flow. It is easier to know where to go when we know where we have been.

This is a three star read for me. The book was informative although it is not knew information for me. It is well written and good for those who want to learn more about this topic. Dr. Goswami is knowledgeable in this field and his work is important for our time.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 31, 2014 cmwaugh
Quantum Creativity – Expect the unexpected

In order to arrive at what you do not know you must go by a way which is the way of ignorance.
T.S. Eliot

What if I told you that bringing creativity to the center of your life would increase your ability to manifest anything you want?

It’s true, you can manifest anything you want.

Don’t poo, poo this. Think about it for a minute and let me explain.

Some of my family and friends would say, “Yeah, right, are you dreaming again!”

I wish I was and I intend to do more of it in the future to gain an edge on my inner creativity manifesting what I desire.

Don’t take my word for it. Here’s what writer, author, teacher, Amit Goswami says in his new book, Quantum Creativity – Think Quantum. Be Creative.:

“If you learn to access this causal power and learn to manifest its message, you can create any and every aspect of the life experience you desire.”

I didn’t start out loving this book, but by the time I got to Part II, I was hooked!

Goswami shares real stories, facts and a ton of famous people who experienced great success in what looks like Goswami’s claim of a quantum moment of creativity. You might say they were encountering the “grace of God.”

Here are just a few famous people Goswami shares in the book to help us understand the importance of quantum creativity and the role these quantum moments play in our everyday lives:

Poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge and his poem Kubla Khan
Composers Richard Wagner, Brahms and Tchaikovsky
Mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss
Romance poet P.B. Shelly
Chemist Dmitri Mendeleev’s and his discovery of the periodic table
Artists Picasso and Michelangelo
Sewing machine inventor Elias Howe’s hole in a needle

A better example of the important message Goswami is sharing with the general public is for you to envision losing yourself in a book, writing, dancing, swimming, painting, working on a car or whatever piques your interest and takes you into what you would refer to as nirvana.

Then, suddenly, the answer to a problem you are having will hit you like a ton of bricks. Get what I’m saying here?

Goswami may be steeped in scientific jargon, but the majority of this book is an exciting read. He takes you through deconstructing your Amit Goswamit Gestalt Pictureconditioned responses to problems in order to look at them another way.

Check out the picture to the right. What do you see – the mother, mother-in-law, or both?

Gotcha!

You, too, could work through Goswami’s four stages of quantum creativity to rip apart conditioned programming that there’s more than one way to “skin a cat.”

Expect the unexpected when you use Goswami’s method to solve any problem in your own life – even problems in love. Yeah, that’s right, even romance.

I send you all love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 31, 2014 artlovelight
When I conceive of an artwork or drawing or painting in my head, it’s shimmery and beautiful. The likeness of a face is always exact, the corners of the mouth forming an expression that practically moves on the page. The light is perfect, every highlight making the illustration sparkle.

And with each line and mark on the page, those possibilities collapse and vanish. The actuality of an illustration does not always achieve the heights I imagined in possibility.

Sometimes, after taking the idea onto the page, the magic is lost. And other times, all the possibilities unite in that magical AHA moment where I know I have created the best possible drawing or illustration I possibly could have, where everything I have ever learned comes together at one inexplicable moment that absolutely exceeds the possibilities I knew about before. That is where the creativity arrives- that inexplicable moment.

Inexplicable – unless you’ve read this book. It’s not a dry science book, it’s lush and readable and fascinating, which makes me reread the complex explanations, which are broken down to be completely understandable. It explains creativity with reality, the way that Jonah Lehrer wished he could (I’m referencing that recalled book of his).

I have to say all the superlatives to say about this book. The best book about creativity I’ve ever read; if you have ever felt like you weren’t creative, you have to read this book; if you are creative and want to understand what makes you so, you have to read this book. If you want to really understand the difference between avant-garde and a remix, you have to read this book.

You know what, you have to read this book. It’s brilliant.

The stories and anecdotes are enlightening, the musing is poetic, the science is solid, and it’s written for humans with creativity, whether they believe it to be blocked or they have the muses on speed dial.

I absolutely recommend this book. It made me smile, it made my tear up, and it definitely made me go ‘AHA’ – I read it all in one day and then started again.

It is my dream to create illustrations that visualize the invisible, to combine what I have seen with what I feel and experience and know and imagine, to make someone who sees it, go, “Ah, yes, that is that feeling, or that is what that mystery looks like!” At my art show on Friday, I achieved that – looking at a painting of a dream, someone said, “Yes, that is like my dreams, too.”

I can’t say anymore about this book! Spoilers might collapse the possibilities of your experience with this book. I’m definitely going to be rereading it to get a better understanding of the concepts. I hope you’ll read it to, and tell me about it.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
3 people found this review helpful.
Mar 24, 2014 Eleven11
I am an artist and a writer, a very creative person. And I am fascinated with quantum physics. So the title of this book caught my eye right away.

The author says that he wrote this one for the layperson. However, I feel that he still did not bring it down enough to where someone on my level could really dive in. The first part of the book was not easy to get into. The second part did get more into the creative side and was more pleasing to read.

I am giving this book four stars for the author's obvious and extensive knowledge of and passion for the subject and his time in putting it all together in this book. And if you are already well educated in Quantum Physics and know all the technical terms and what they mean, you will no doubt enjoy this book and I encourage you to get it. But if you are like me, not really up on all the scientific jargon, but totally in love with the idea of quantum physics, just be prepared to have to dig a little more to really get what the author offers here.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews