Book Reviews

The Turning Point

Gregg Braden

Empowerment

978-1-4019-2923-7

There's a time when every crisis can become transformation; when simply surviving can become joyous thriving. In our lives that time is The Turning Point. In our world that time is now!In this compell... More

Mar 25, 2014 BookLover
The Turning Point: Creating Resilience in a Time of Extremes by Gregg Braden is a book which shows us how we got to our current situation in the world (failing economies, energy crisis, and climate change) and how we can use certain turning points in our lives and in the world to shift these things into resilience and transformation.

We are shown how to initiate turning points so that we can get away from the unwanted outcome we currently seem to be heading towards. We are shown that turning points can happen spontaneously or we can create them. We are shown how nature lives in cooperation and not in "the survival of the fittest" mentality that we have been taught. We are given ideas to help us adapt to the changing world and to be resilient during this time of transformation where we can either lead ourselves toward destruction or use the turning points in our lives to create change.

I thought this book was a good look at how we have come to be in our current situation and how we can adapt to transform our world. Overall, this book brings a message of hope. I would recommend this book to everyone so that we can all come together and create turning points in all our lives.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 21, 2014 Jeff Dodson
Gregg Braden’s newest book is entitled, The Turning Point, by Hay house Publishing, 2014. His eight previous books include New York Times Best Selling titles, Deep Truth, The Divine Matrix, and Fractal Time.

In essence, it is about creating and instilling personal and societal resilience at a time when we are confronted with extremes in our world. World wide events show us that the new normal is change. The old world as we knew it has evaporated and will not be returning.

Resilience is defined as the ability to recover readily and quickly from an illness, depression or adversity.

The reason for all of this upheaval is that our planet and it’s population are currently experiencing:

Extreme and disruptive climate changes: the kind that only come in cycles every 5000 years or so.

Massive world economic debt load.

Exhaustion of the availability of cheap fossil fuel deposits.

A world population explosion that began around 1650 and that now teeters near 7 billion people as of 2012. Prior to 1650, and for nearly 11,000 years, the population of our planet remained stable at around 500 million.

All of these above events are happening at once. How has this all come about? Looking back at the geological history of our planet, we find that we are on track for a cyclical weather change that occurs once every 5000 to 5200 years. The weather challenge is being brought to us by Mother Nature. The debt load problem along with over population, feeding everyone and the depletion of cheap energy fuel is our own doing.

All of these challenges are pushing us to the brink or a tipping point of no return as Gregg writes. A tipping point has been described by Malcolm Gladwell, author of The Tipping Point, as the “moment of critical mass, the threshold, the boiling point.” A tipping point arises as a result of a pile up of extremes and leads to irrevocable change.

Before this tipping point happens, there is time to execute a turning point. A turning point can be thought of as an opportunity that arises to take advantage of. There is a time when every crisis can be turned into transformation: when simply surviving can become thriving. That time is the turning point, and, based upon Braden’s writing and research, that time is now.

Gregg argues that we are close to a tipping point now but that there is still time to pull away from such an event by means of executing a turning point.

Our outdated world view that we have embraced up to now has substantially lead us to where we are. It is a story of separation and competition amongst us all that had it’s origins along with the birth of modern science approximately 300 years ago. Charles Darwin’s 19th century theory of life being a struggle and a contest of survival of the fittest has also reinforced the mindset of competition among people and nations for mineral resources, currency and power.

The counter to the above is Nature’s world view model that has begun to gain traction:
Nature exemplifies cooperation. The natural world is widely recognized as a proving ground for experiments in unity, cooperation, and survival among insects and animals. From nature’s lessons we’re shown, without question, that unity and cooperation are advantageous to living beings.

Gregg writes, “The latest discoveries in the fields of biology, physics, archeology, and genetics are forcing scientists to rewrite the story of who we are and how we fit into the world. In biology, for example, the publication of more than 400 studies showing that nature is based upon a model of cooperation, rather than Darwin’s “survival of the fittest,” has turned the thinking of evolutionary science upside down.”

Becoming collectively resilient in order to adapt to the changes we must make, a study funded by the Rockefeller Foundation came up with the following elements:

Spare capacity
The notion of being supplied or stocked up with food and other basic household items to counter when the power is knocked out, a freak storm arises or fewer stocks of available goods arise causing shortages.

Flexibility
The ability to change, evolve, and adapt in the face of disaster

Limited or “safe” failure, which prevents failures from rippling across systems

Rapid rebound
The capacity to reestablish function and avoid long-term disruptions.

Constant learning, with robust feedback loops

What I liked about this book.
It appealed to my interest in science and history. Gregg’s disclosures and arguments are set forth in a logical order, and, backed with scientific research studies and citations, are very credible and compelling. It is not a gloom and doom prophecy offering. Neither is the book a contrived ‘survivalists’ manual.

This latest book of Gregg Braden offers a detailed in-depth look at the multiple global problems we are collectively facing all at once. He then sets forth a novel but achievable series of common sense steps we all need to embrace in order to execute a turning point away from where we have been headed.

If you are a citizen concerned about our planet including it’s global weather changes, the escallating cost of food and the energy required to grow it, and, how our countries have struggled with natural disasters in recent years, then you’ll want to grab a copy of this book.

Become informed about the kinds of choices we all need to be contemplating then acting on.

Jeffrey Dodson
March 20th 2014

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 13, 2014 BarbRidener

The Turning Point: Creating Resilience in a Time of Extremes is more than a doomsday look at the crises of our times, but a practical look at our changing realities with a happy ending twist. I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes, and the opinions are completely my own.

While, I found it a bit difficult to get past the charts, graphs, and scientific discussion at the beginning of the book, but was very happy that in the end, I stuck with it. Gregg Braden supports a logical argument that if we are waiting for times to change back to the good old days, we may well be waiting in vain. That instead of waiting, we need to open our eyes and adapt to our new realities, and it is only through this adaptation, that we will be able to move forward.

Rather than only analyzing events that are environmental or economical, Braden expertly weaves individuals’ personal responsibilities together as he explains that we are all in this together. That it is both our personal, and collective, obligations to address the issues that appear before us.

The strategy of resilience is thoroughly developed both as an aspect of personal resilience as well as the development of collective, community resilience. The development of resilience, through both habits of mind and action, create the hope and the foundation that turning points are events that we can move forward through, with the appropriate framework of thoughts and actions.

Gregg Braden provides an insightful look at our potential for developing awareness, accountability, and action that will can be applied to worldwide problems and individual dilemmas. He provides us the possibility of a happy ending.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. I was not financially compensated for this post. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 11, 2014 timlarison
“Never in the modern world have we attempted to meet the growing needs of so many people through shrinking supplies of so few resources, with climate change supercharging the demand,” Gregg Braden writes early in his new book The Turning Point: Creating Resilience in a Time of Extremes. At first I thought this was a book just about global problems – those biggies that affect the whole human race. “I’m glad we have people like Gregg Braden addressing this stuff,” I thought to myself. “I have enough on my plate in running the family business, getting our kids through college, and attempting to lose a few pounds. These bigger issues are too much for me to think about right now.”

But in Turning Point Gregg Braden does an excellent job in explaining these huge planetary problems in language an average person, like me, can understand. I liked how Braden put into perspective the turbulent times we are living in. “For 11,500 years or so,” he writes, “there had been fewer than 500 million people on the planet. To put this into perspective, it means that during this time the number of people being sustained by the resources of our planet was less than half the number now living in India today.” Wow.

Far from painting a doomsday picture, though, Turning Point is a book of hope. Braden contends that our ancestors have faced equally challenging problems, and through resilience and innovation came out better on the other side. We can do that too. “We humans have a history of embracing change and an amazing track record for successfully turning the extremes of crisis into transformation,” the author says. “Our willingness to think differently about ourselves and the world will be the key to the success of our journey.”

While I found Braden’s expose on global issues enlightening, I was surprised as I read further that he applies these same transformational principles to common problems we all face. Not sure when to leave a job? A relationship? The author gives questions to ask yourself when facing a big change. In a chapter on personal resilience he identifies unhealthy coping strategies and healthier alternatives when stress gets to be too much. In this way The Turning Point is a very practical book, applicable to every day life, in addition to addressing those larger global issues.

“There’s a time when every crisis can be turned into transformation; when simply surviving can become thriving. That time is the turning point,” Braden writes. Reading The Turning Point gave me a better awareness of the planetary challenges we are facing as a human race, but also gave me tools for transforming problems in my own little world. It’s a book worth reading.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 04, 2014 winmar
This review is from: The Turning Point: Creating Resilience in a Time of Extremes (Hardcover)
It’s timely that an author the caliber of Gregg Braden takes on the issues confronting the world in Turning Point. He does not mince words as he spells out the predicament we are in, covering all the issues from peak oil to the banking industry. His final chapters, suggesting that we need community, have long been touted from the Transition Town movement to the use of Permaculture. He ties it up under the title Resilience.

If you are a die-hard Gregg Braden fan and read everything he has ever written, by all means pick up Turning Point. Or, if you are one of those individuals who believe that we have problems, but technology will save us, this book is for you. But if you have kept up with “the long emergency,” and/or know that we are in a crisis with our depleting cheap fossil fuel, you probably won’t find anything new between the pages. In an attempt to give the information needed, it comes across much like a dry textbook.

Disclosure: I reviewed this book at the request of Hayhouse.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 01, 2014 Lu47
The Turning Point: Creating Resilience in a Time of Extremes, is Gregg Braden’s newest book. In this book, Gregg explains why he believes the world is in trouble. He defines and explains what a turning point is, and how it works. He alleges that resilience creates a turning point. The book also covers various turning point scenarios and their possible transformational results. This includes what personal transformations we can make to create a turning point.

I had a very hard time trying to get into this book. Despite the author’s inclusion of personal stories, I found this book to be flat like a textbook. It did not inspire me emotionally to want to create a so-called turning point in my own life. I found the content to be simplistic with no new fresh ideas.

On the other hand, fans of the author may well love this book for its attempt to evoke change in the world, and in our own personal lives. It is obvious that a great deal of research was done in the creating of this book. Perhaps, that’s where it lost me, with all the facts and charts. This just simply was not my cup of tea.

Note: This book was provided to me at no cost in exchange for my opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews