Book Reviews

Chris P. Bacon

Kristina Tracy, Len Lucero

Family & Parenting, Spirituality, Children's Books

978-1-4019-4439-1

Welcome to the life of Chris P. Bacon!This adorable baby pig, who was born without the use of this back legs, became a YouTube and talk-show sensation when his adopted dad, veterinarian Len Lucero, po... More

Mar 24, 2014 ArtisticallyShauna

Chris P. Bacon is a story about an inspiring little pig called, Chris P. Bacon, and his caring adopted father, a veterinarian named Len Lucero. Chris P. Bacon was born without the use of his back legs. This adorable pig became a You Tube and Talk Show sensation when his dad, Len Lucero, posted a video on You Tube of Chris using a handmade cart made out of toys to help him get around.

My family was absolutely thrilled to receive a copy of Chris P. Bacon - My Life So Far..., written by Len Lucero and Kristina Tracy, in the mail from Hay House Publishing to review. We had already watched several videos of Chris on You Tube here and we couldn't wait to read the story behind this cute little pig. All of the opinions expressed in this review are my own thoughts.

Chris P. Bacon - My Life So Far... is a wonderful book that should be added to your home or school library. At the beginning of the book you find out that when Chris was just a little piglet he was taken into a veterinarian office. Dr. Len, the veterinarian at the clinic, decided to take Chris home to be a part of his forever family. Immediately we loved this part of the story. From our experience with adopting rescue pets and making the commitment to have them a part of our forever family, we have so much respect for Dr. Len who made Chris a permanent part of his family.

In Chris P. Bacon - My Life So Far..., the book shares Chris's first experience with using a cart, made from toy parts, to help him get around.  It talks about how Chris became a huge inspiration with children and adults and how he traveled all over the United States doing interviews and sharing his story.

The illustrations in the book by Penny Weber are so adorable and colorful. The back of the book also contains real photographs of Chris P. Bacon which were so much fun to look at.

I highly recommend this book for parents, children, librarians, school teachers, etc. Chris P. Bacon is such an inspiring story that both children and adults can relate to. It teaches you that no matter what obstacles in life come your direction, you can achieve anything, sometimes on your own, and sometimes with the help of others.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 10, 2014 Angel
Chris P. Bacon is an adorable baby pig, who was born without the use of this back legs. His adopted dad, veterinarian Len Lucero, posted a video online of tiny Chris learning how to use a cart made out of toys and Chris went viral.

My Life So Far is an inspiring story, told by Chris P. about his life. The story is filled with positive and uplifting messages, especially for those who are considered "different". Chris is showing the world how great being unique and different really is.

The children really love this book and enjoyed finding Chris getting around on the videos that are posted on youtube.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 05, 2014 Loveandtreasure
Chris P. Bacon Book Overview

One of the prevalent themes in literature involves the protagonist overcoming obstacles. Chris P. Bacon is a light and hopeful story based on a real-life pig that has hind legs that don’t work. Chris P. is adopted by his vetenarian, Len Lucero (one of the two authors of this story) who designs a contraption, with wheels, a base and straps so that Chris P. has an easier time moving around. As a result of Len setting up a Facebook page that chronicles Chris P.’s life, many people, including people who have unique physical abilities/challenges have been charmed or inspired by the pig.

What Is the Book Chris P. Bacon Like?

This book is really short and is able to maintain the attention of little toddlers, in part because the story is told from Chris P.’s point of view. For older kids, this book might leave them wanting to read and know more. This can be a good thing, especially since there will be a sequel to this book relating Chris P.’s adventures. This book provides what the full title of the book states as “my life so far” and that is, a brief overview of what Chris P.’s life has been since Dr. Len took him in. It’s a cute book.

My Recommended Areas for Improvement for Chris P. Bacon

Personally, I wish there was more depth to this book or perhaps more literary elements that would make it memorable through the use of repetition, alliteration or assonance such as in the case of other books like Brown Bear, Brown Bear,  What Do You See? Additionally, this book could be enhanced by giving Chris P. even more emotional depth so that we get a glimpse not only on his great life, but also his daily challenges. Since there is no conflict, drama, resolution or life-changing lessons to the story, this book can be compared to seeing a snapshot, instead of enjoying a video. Both can be good, but one is definitely more dynamic than the other, and as we all know, children like to engage with dynamic literature, events and people. My favorite Hay House childrens book that is savvy and purposeful enough for adults is Incredible You! 10 Ways to Let Your Greatness Shine Through by Dr. Wayne Dyer. I recommend that you take a look at Dr. Dyer’s book since the prose is great, the illustrations are lovely and the legacy/impact that the book can leave is profound. It’ll be interesting to see what the 2nd Chris P. Bacon book is like.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 27, 2014 misslaconti
I just finished reading Chris P. Bacon: My Life So Far and I thought it was a charming story. It’s a great book to show children how we are all different but if you set your mind to something, you can achieve anything. The piglet in the story was born without the use of his hind legs. He had a wheelchair built for him and with effort and perseverance he was able to get himself around to explore. The story is told from the piglet’s perspective and has great illustrations along with actual pictures of his life. This book also shows how kind people can be and that animals have the will to live and have feelings just like we do, no matter how they look.

I always enjoy an inspirational story, whether it’s for kids or adults. I think people can learn a little bit about showing love to all creatures on this planet. What a kind soul to care for this small helpless piglet that needed someone to love him for who he is. It shows wonderful character!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 05, 2014 lavishlynatural
Chris P. Bacon is a pig on a mission.

He has many powerful messages in this book, including – celebrate your uniqueness, it makes you feel good!

I ordered this book for my kids, Asia (8), Laila (6), and Damon (4) who like me, had never heard of such an adventurous pig. From the moment we took the book out of it’s box, we were taken in by the beautiful drawings and colorful pictures, that give life to this inspirational story. The book is sprinkled with real life photos of Chris, from cute little baby pics (which my kids loved) to his most current selfies (which they loved even more!).

Chris P. was born without the use of his back legs and brought to Veterinarian Len Lucero. Len decided to adopt him, and made “legs” out of his son’s old toys so that Chris could move around on his own. It wasn’t always easy, but they’re doing it…and this is what the story is about.

It is this passion from Len (Chris P.’s Dad) that brought me to tears. My son was diagnosed with a developmental delay when he was 2. There were many things we were told he would not do. The past few years have been filled with school IEP meetings, speech and occupational therapies, early intervention, biomedical supplements, treatments, and more. All for his continued growth and development, much like Chris P. and his new wheels. On some days, it’s easy to get caught up in the dis-ability and treatments, losing sight of my son, who is way more than a diagnosis. Damon brings me this book to read often (I think he’s telling me something:), following words with his fingers, looking at the photos, and repeating Chris’s Oinkety-Oink Oinks!

As my children read and re-read this book, we are all moved by this precious pig’s outlook on life. Their take away message (in their own words) – “I’m Yooooo-neek Mommy – I can do anything!”

Music to my ears!

I recommend this book for children of all ages, and anyone you know facing their own need to see their unique abilities, in the face of life’s challenges.

*I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 04, 2014 aimeeroo
Chris P. Bacon: My Life So Far... is one of the cutest children's books you will ever see. Chris, an adorable pig, shares what his life has been like so far. For such a young little piglet he has already had quiet the life!

Simply adorable, Chris, who was born without the use of this back legs, was taken to the veterinarians office to be euthanized. Instead, the vet took one look at this adorable pig who was healthy and happy, and decided to take him home to be part of his family!

You may even recognize Chris because this little pig quickly became a YouTube and talk-show sensation. Chris's adopted dad, veterinarian Len Lucero, posted videos of Chris learning how to use a cart made out of toys. It wasn't always easy, but soon the adorable piglet got the hang of it and was rolling like a pro! Not only is he famous now, but he has a message to share in this book.

The message of the book is that it's OK to be different. That it's great to be UNIQUE! Everyone has something that is unique about them, even little piglets who use carts to get around.

With great illustrations and real photos of Chris P. Bacon, it's a book that would fast become any child's favorite (or adult for the matter).

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 16, 2013 alpha_andy_omega

I just finished reading Chris P. Bacon My Life So Far... to my five year old son. At first he wasn't too sure about it. He's into Ninjago and other action heroes these days. So I brought up the youtube video that shows the little piglet learning to walk using the wheels his veterinarian caretaker fashioned for him. (Chris was born without the use of his hind legs.) Halfway through the video, my son was ready, and wanted me to read him the book. The story held his attention. He was fascinated by the colorful artwork, and is sleeping with the book now. Older children will probably enjoy this book as well. It's a cute, fun story with bright, beautifully illustrated pictures. It also has a nice message, in that it shows young kids how a disability doesn't have to stop you from moving forward in life, you just adjust your approach and think positive.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 16, 2013 Bergit.Sigstvilling
I just finished reading this lovely book to my kids, and they loved it. The story is about a piglet that was born without the use of his hind legs and has a little wheelchair that helps him get around. Based on true events, we had watched a youtube video of this little guy and were charmed instantly. What I really liked best about this book, is that it lets children know that even if you are a little different from others, you can still accomplish big things and be an inspiration to others!

FTC Disclosure: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 09, 2013 ecardenas
Chris P. Bacon: My Life So Far is an adorable story of an extremely unique pig who was born without his hind legs. In the beginning, Dr. Lucero, a veterinarian, takes him in, gives him his cute moniker (Chris P. Bacon), and quickly becomes part of his family.

In the middle of the story, a cart was built for him by Dr. Lucero. Like a child riding a bicycle for this first time, Chris P. found himself unable to "get going." A video on YouTube was posted and this started a media frenzy on him. He traveled and went onTV shows. He was even called "inspiring."

In the end, Chris P. shares that determination and help from others can lead to doing many great things. He thinks that it's "cool to be yooooo-neek!" The last pages of the book also have pictures of Chris P. in his baby days, with friends, and during some of his happy times.

This book is a treasure of a story for all children. The message being that we are unique, and a little determination and help goes a long way.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

Reseña del libro Chris P. Bacon: My Life So Far

Chris P. Bacon: My Life So Far (en español sería Chris P. Bacon: Mi vida hasta ahora) es una historia adorable de un puerquito único que nació sin patas traseras. En el principio del libro, el Dr. Lucero, un veterinario, lo hace parte de su familia y le da su lindo apodo (Chris P. Bacon). (En inglés, el nombre Chris P. significa la palabra crispy. Crispy quiere decir crujiente y el apellido, Bacon, significa tocino.)

En la parte del medio del libro, el Dr. Lucero le construyó un carro. Como un niño aprendiendo a usar una bicicleta por primera vez, Chris P. no pudo avanzar con su carrito. Un video en YouTube fue subido y esto ocasionó una frenesí de los medios. Viajó y fue a varios shows de televisión. Hasta lo llamaron "inspiring" o inspirante.

Al final del libro, Chris P. comparte que la determinación y ayuda de otros puede llevar a uno a hacer grandes cosas . Incluso piensa que es "cool to be yooooo-neek" o ¡es padre ser único! Las últimas páginas tienen fotos de Chris P. un sus días de infancia, con amigos y durante algunos momentos félices.

Este libro es un tesoro de cuento para todos los niños. El mensaje es que somos únicos y un poco de determinación y ayuda es significativamente valioso.

Recibí este libro gratis de la casa editorial Hay House para esta reseña. La opinión en este reseña es imparcial y refleja mi opinión honesta del producto.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews