Book Reviews

Power Words

Sharon Anne Klingler

Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-4179-6

Words carry powerful energy and have an astonishing impact on your life. With Power Words, you can generate new actions and lightning-fast results!Use them to sharpen your focus, start new projects, b... More

May 01, 2014 Katherine's Daughter
POWER WORDS is by Sharon Anne Klingler, an inspiring international speaker and author. This is an interesting book, filled with meaningful ideas about words I have honestly never even considered.

Point in case, my absolute favorite chapter is entitled "Expletives Deleted- Moving from Swearing to Blessings." Ms. Klingler states "For most people the act of swearing is a simple and innocuous opportunity to vent their anger and frustrations. But it may not be as harmless as they think. Every word that is voiced has power to it, and negative words can carry a negative force that may surprise you."

She proposes taking a favorite strong swear word such as the four letter word beginning with f (now bear with me here!) and changing it to flip whenever you feel the urge to say it. Citing the story of a friend she worked with (who overused this very word) she details how the simple act of changing a constant negative word in our lives to a more positive one can change our whole outlook. She helped this friend go from a life of feeling constantly drained to a more positive energetic one, simply by changing her words.

Ms. Klingler suggests also to bless difficult times (I know, so hard!) Here she states "Wishing blessings upon those who may have judged you or hurt you can be as big a blessing to you as to them. It not only helps you to break your train of negative thought, but it also helps you invoke a higher experience of peace to all involved, giving you a new perspective and a greater ease in letting go."

She states that some people use the word God during times of surprise: Good God or Good Lord (my favorite!). Some also say good gracious or my heavens. She feels those may be good choices at times because of their affirmation of goodness.

If you work or play in stressful situations, this book could be a life changer. By flipping our choice of words, Ms. Klingler suggests we can affect our whole life. Change the negative words to positive and change your life. I think she is right.

And of course, here is my disclosure per Hay House: I get to choose the book I wish to review, it is given to me free of charge, and I am not compensated for my endorsement of this book. This review is my personal opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 20, 2014 PattiFoy
I really liked this book. It’s made me so much more aware of my language, not only of the words I speak but also the words that appear in my self-talk (i.e. thoughts).

“Any word you use invokes the exact energy of that word from a very responsive world around you.”
~ Sharon Anne Klingler, Power Words

I’d have never imagined someone could write such a long book about simple words. But here you have it. At 236 pages (plus word lists) it’s not long because it’s full of fluff, it’s because there are so many ways to categorize and use words to take full advantage of their inherent power.

There are lots of exercises included. They provide you with experiential proof that each word has an actual, physical energy. Some words are negative and some are positive, and they carry their own, unique energy whether you’re using them consciously or not.

This book helps you make much more conscious decisions about your thoughts and words and since we use words almost constantly, can have a huge impact on your life and how you perceive it.

"Everyday words create your daily reality—both for good and bad. In this sense, every word you use is a power word because each carries its own creative power."
~ Sharon Anne Klingler, Power Words

>>> Word or Use Categories

A few of the categories I’m now much more aware of since reading this book are:

- Words that trigger action, including commands, declarations, and proclamations
These are extremely useful, and she gives you great ideas for using them for many different purposes — more than you would ever think of on your own, I guarantee it.

- Words that uplift

>>> Topics

Some of what she covers includes:

- Breaking habits of negative thinking/speaking

- Substitutes for swearing that turn your words into blessings which can effectively turn the blasted … er, blessed … situation around. (See how different those two words feel?)

- Prayers and invocations, including healing prayers
I don’t think this exactly fit the topic of this book — it could be it’s own useful little book — but it’s done well.

- A few words to watch out for that most of us say all the time; yikes!

- Lots of foreign words and phrases that pack a punch

>>> A Bonus for Intuitives

A rather amazing section is where she shows you how to make decisions using word energy. It reminded me of techniques I learned when I studied with an amazing and well-known psychic (even deputized for her valuable work with a large city police force) to tap deeply and effectively into our intuition.

Within just this one section is almost a book in itself, so if you’re interested in tapping into your subconscious wisdom, this very thorough and detailed chapter alone is worth your time and money. (It wasn’t until after I finished reading and read “About the Author” at the end, that I saw she is one of the world’s leading intuitives. So you’re getting this from an expert.)

>>> Highly Recommended!

In conclusion, this book raised my awareness of my habitual thinking/speaking and gave me excellent ideas for making improvements. With the many exercises and great real-life examples, it was engaging and fun to read. I’m also sure I’ll refer to it in the future for various purposes.

Note: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes and this review reflects my honest evaluation.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 17, 2014 Cheryl
I love the concept of this book—using words to empower us. Words can cut down or build up. If you doubt the power of words, tell a child they are stupid, ugly, or fat.

The information is separated into 5 sections, with 4-5 chapters in each one.

Part 1: The energy of Words
Part 2: Trigger Words for Every Purpose
Part 3: Power Words from Other Places and Other Times
Part 4: Lifting Words for Elevated Life
Part 5: Words to the Wise

This book is stimulating and contains a wealth of information, but I found it too overwhelming to read in one or two sittings. If I had taken a more leisurely pace, I may have absorbed more. That’s not to say I didn’t learn a lot. It made an impact on the words I will use (and not use.) Three of my favorite aspects of this book are learning what my desired trigger words are, the inspirational quotes scattered throughout, and The Energy of Colors in the Appendix 2.

Power Words isn’t the usual affirmation type of books I’ve read in the past – and that’s okay. I like the unique twist. I’ve no doubt I’ll revisit this book from time to time.

Cover: ok?
Title: ok?
Publisher: Hay House, Inc.?
Pages: 266
First Lines: Words create undeniable power in the world. You’ve seen for yourself how words can inflate, crush, encourage, disappoint, and excite through your own life and across the world stage.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received a review copy from Hay House. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 08, 2014 KariF
I’ve been ‘all about’ positive affirmations lately, and I figured that Power Words was put into my life for a reason, which is why I chose to read it with such urgency.

I love the idea behind the book – words have power. As a writer, I love that words have energy and can easily shift your mood from something negative to something more positive. One word can completely change the way you feel (or how other people feel), which is part of what Sharon Anne Klingler talks about in Power Words.

In the preface, she talks about how the book is about ‘using the energy of precise words to lift your own energy and to stimulate immediate mental, emotional, and physical responses’, which instantly had me excited.

I have always been careful with the words I choose to use with others; however, I’ve only been starting to understand that the words I use with myself are very important as well. If I wasn’t aware of it before this book, I definitely would be now!

In Power Words, I discovered that certain words can actually replace positive affirmations. And it can’t be a coincidence that since I read this book, and replaced the positive affirmation, “I make healthy choices when it comes to eating,” with the power word ‘Healthy!” I have been eating a much better diet with less stress (feeling hungry or deprived). I find that I feel healthy when I say and soak in my power word, whereas I feel like I am trying to convince myself when I say my affirmation. The difference between those feelings make a huge difference in what choices I make.

The book is full of power words that can help you look at life and yourself differently. You will also look at words completely differently as you follow along with the book and gain some new insight into words and what they really invoke in you when you hear them, say them, or think them.

The bad part is that this book is hard to read. At least it was for me. There were some words I had never heard before (which I had to go look up), and it really broke up my reading flow and was a little frustrating. Also, the stories were a little dry, and at times I had to force myself to keep reading.

However, after reading the book, I do look at words differently. I recognize the power behind them and how I can use them to change my mood and the mood of people around me. For example, I have used some of the power words to help me alter the way I respond to a wide variety of situations, and I’ve found that it can help a potentially ugly situation go better.

In the end, after you read Power Words, you will be much more aware of your words, how you use them, how they affect you, how they affect others, and the power they have to change your life and this world.

Read more reviews for Power Words on Amazon or buy the book.

Note: I Received this book from Hay House to review as a part of the Book Nook blogger program. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 01, 2014 mindyperkins
Seems odd, compiling words for a review of a book about words, but that's exactly what this is. I've just completed Power Words by Sharon Anne Klingler.

To be perfectly honest, I wasn't sure if this book would have anything new to offer. Words have vibration-feeling as well as multiple meanings-logic. Be aware of which ones you use. End of story, right?

Well, it only took til page 7 to wipe that simple view away and ignite my curiosity “Your language is the electrical current that moves through your life,” she states. If this collection of words sparks your interest as it did mine, then this book could be the next step along your journey. The paragraphs that followed were a concise answer to a question I had been pondering. I'm always looking to take my vibration to the next level. I meditate, I read, I listen, I write, I commune with spiritual beings from all realms. And Klingler's answer to the 'next step' for me? “For those who seek change, their everyday language must resonate with a new purpose – not just at special times of affirmations, but all the time.”

Oh.

So, once you are meditating regularly, appreciating everything in sight, affirming for your future and learning from where you've been, the next step is to let the super-high vibration you achieve in “spiritual times” permeate every crevasse of your life. Klingler's way to do this? Study every word that pops into your head...and especially the ones that fly out of your mouth. Then deliberately choose only the ones that match this new vibration...or take it higher.

And that's what this book is about. Taking stock of the words you use, even the ones you'd never let your mom hear you say, and deciding which describe the future you want to create.

And, luckily, this isn't a dry, tedious read. Whether you're very familiar with the vibration words hold or never thought about how words feel, Klingler offers simple exercises, inspirational quotes and easy steps to follow along your way.

So, the best word I learned?

Promnesia.

And she clarifies that it's NOT 'amnesia of your senior prom', but it's a Greek word meaning 'memory of the future'

And that heads my favorite chapter in the book, Chapter 20 Planning for Success? - Make Your Life A Verb.

It's great for those of us who think about what we 'want' to do, but don't appreciate that each step along the way IS doing it! The 10 step process she lets unfold in this chapter teaches how words can guide you along your path, not just describe where you want to end up. It's a subtle, but powerful difference.

Truthfully, I skimmed through many pages of this book, but the parts that I caught my attention, I read so many times it counterbalanced it. And a note about the exercises: many of them invite you to feel the opposite of a word before choosing the positive counterpart. Because I don't consciously invite negativity into my life, (it comes in on it's own accord!), I skipped to the positive part of the process. I understand that contrast helps us define, but for me, the contrast wasn't necessary to grasp the ideas presented.

Undeniably, the most exciting part of this book was watching my mother devour it. My mother is undergoing the treacherous process of cancer treatment, which flips you inside out, turns you upside down and shakes all the loose bits out into a blender, then hands them back to you. My mother taught me everything I know about the vibrational effect of words and the necessity of choosing them carefully to create your reality. Yet, during this transformational time in her life, this book jumped out of the shipping envelope and into her hands and didn't leave them for weeks. Whether it was the reaffirmation of life-long philosophies or polishing a new facet on an old gem, Word Power inspired changes in her words, which changed her vibration, which helped direct her onto a new path. And that was amazing to witness.

Perhaps it will do the same for you.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 24, 2014 paulonea
More Power to You: A Book Review

Power Words: Igniting Your Life with Lighting Force, by Sharon Anne Klingler, is an amazingly upbeat book that highlights certain words to empower your everyday actions. These are more than affirmations or positive mottos and even more enhancing than mantras. Whether one word or two words, the concept is to habituate them into your daily language, commanding your vocabulary.

The idea behind using just one or two words is to create quick memory and to see strong, immediate results. You can craft more confidence for yourself by repeating the word mile, or state to yourself tall to feel more grounded while making decisions.

Klingler makes this a quick yet chuck-full read of thought-provoking concepts, easily relatable anecdotes, and practical activities to generate whatever goals you dream of accomplishing. Need to shovel but don’t want to hurt your back? Just recite, “abdominal” and watch your focus go to your abs to better your posture and take unnecessary strain away.

The reader will come across this and much more to enrich all aspects of life and to heighten not only choice of words but also choice of thoughts. Klingler directs that one has to feel the word and breathe it in. Beyond that, you must create a positive thought pattern in order attract the positive and stimulate results.

In examining the nature of words, the energy of words and using this knowledge to trigger the action with words, your life will undoubtedly uplift at work, home, and play. Do you want success in every facet of your life? Read Power Words and there will sure to be remarkable results.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 24, 2014 tinietao

“Power Words” by Sharon Anne Klingler talks about how the way we talk to ourselves and other people shapes our lives. Day in and day out, we usually don’t even think about or realize just the amount of power our words hold – but their influence on our overall well-being is huge. We take actions based on the beliefs we have, and the beliefs we have are molded and reinforced by what we say.

I actually found using power words to be helpful! When I’m powering through a tough part of a workout, I might think, “Peace, peace, peace”. Just repeating it to myself and really imagining that feeling of peace completely through my whole body and the situation. And it helps me stay with the workout rather than give up. I helped my body and mind to relax.

Klingler encourages the use of power words for all kinds of situations. Whatever we need in a particular moment, we can help ourselves by using a word or phrase that fits the situation. Everyone will respond and connect to different words in their own way, so it’s all about finding what works for you.

I liked this book because I found it to be really helpful in my real life – and it’s so easy to use. I can use what I learned at any time and the results have been immediate and pretty powerful for me.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Hay House for review purposes. The following are my personal and honest opinions.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 19, 2014 rschechter
The idea of reading about words may sound unappealing, but Power Words: Igniting Your Life with Lightening Force by Sharon Anne Klingler was a pleasant surprise for me. Any Hay House follower knows that life and death are in the tongue; that words matter, is a basic principle taught by almost all Hay House authors and speakers, although how this principle is taught differs.

Power Words takes this rule a step further by not just explaining that all words have energy associated with them, but inviting readers to experiment with the feelings that different words produce. After completing a few of these exercises, you will walk away from this book ever more dedicated to consciously choosing empowering and positive words because you will have a thorough understanding that the words you use, will produce certain outcomes. To get the most out of this book, you will need to take the time to complete the recommended activities; but the small time investment is worth it.

Sharon Anne Klinger also identifies two types of words that should be used: trigger words (words that spark us into focused action) and lifting words (words of encouragement, support and affirmation).

Words are the genesis for what we create. This book will reassure you that you have the power to create what you want in your life and show you how.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

About The Author:

Sharon Anne Klingler was originally inspired to investigate greater consciousness as a result of her extraordinary experiences as an identical twin. She lectures all over the world on such subjects as reincarnation, spiritual mastery, intuitive development, spirit communication, and public mediumship for professionals. A member of the International Mediums League and Lily Dale Mediums League, Sharon has demonstrated her skill in spirit communication on three continents, from Europe to countries in the South Pacific.

Her first book was Intuition & Beyond, published by Random House in London. Her other titles include Travel into Your Past Lives, Drawing on Your Intuition, Life with Spirit, Divine Connections. Her acclaimed program Speaking to Spirit is a complete home-study seminar for intuitive and mediumship development.

Her articles and reviews have been featured in publications around the world including Daily Express (London), Now magazine (Sydney), Eve magazine (London), and Creations magazine (New York). Sharon’s appearances include ITV England, Vision TV Canada, NBC, ABC, CBS, and the BBC.

Sharon is a leading international intuitive who has run a successful private practice for more than 25 years with high-profile clients around the world. It’s her desire that all people know the great presence of spirit—both the spirit within them and the guides beyond the veil who seek to share their knowledge and assistance.

Links:

http://www.sharonklingler.com/

https://www.facebook.com/SharonAnneKlingler

https://twitter.com/SharonKlingler
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 13, 2014 Jeanieber

Ohh The power of words. We have all experienced how words can hurt, or soothe, or inspire, or sway, are minced and twisted and create an multitude of other feelings. Most words on their own have power to evoke reaction and emotion, and many times the response or emotion is individual, coming from deep inside us through our own experiences. Words, though mainly accepted to mean one thing actually have degrees of meanings to each individual person. For instance, the word Love is expanding and enlightening to one who has had one experience and perhaps something less emotional to one who had has had a not so positive experience and may be in the middle of a divorce. It is true with every word really.
We have the power , once we become aware, to use words to create feelings, to motivate and to inspire. Sit quietly for a minute and concentrate on the word ‘light’ for example. Do you feel the light? Do you feel an expansion? Do you feel more positive? Shake it off and then concentrate on the word ‘heavy’. Do you feel yourself contracting and sinking? The book is abundantly laden with exercises and I suggest you take the time to do them and experience what the author is sharing. You will get it much better than simply reading through.
This is not even the tip of the iceberg for this book. Sharon has brought a new awareness to my life that is so simple, you so powerful. I give this book thumbs ‘up’, and I would suggest you add this to your reading list.

I received this book free from Hay House to review and my opinions are my own.

Jeanie Beresford NTP

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 11, 2014 BookLover
Power Words: Igniting Your Life with Lightning Force by Sharon Anne Klinger is a book that examines the energy behind words and the impact they have to lift us up and help us succeed in our goals. These words are not affirmations, they can be as simple as using the word believe or a short phrase such as, ‘persevere to joy’. We are shown how these short words or phrases can change our current perception of reality and help us take action.

This book is broken up into five parts. In part one we are shown how words have energy behind them and the different aspects that help us to create a trigger word. In part two, “Trigger words for every purpose” we are shown how a single word can help us in any situation. In part three we are shown different power words from around the world and also different times that we can use in our life and the energy behind them. Part four looks at limiting language and how to go from limiting words to lifting words. Part five shows us how to use power words to look for love and find success.

I enjoyed this book immensely and will refer to it often. I would recommend this book for those who want to try a new way of using words to live a more empowered life.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of this book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 11, 2014 timlarison
Have you ever considered the power your everyday word choices have on your emotions? I hadn’t until I read Sharon Anne Klingler’s Power Words. “Throughout this book,” she writes in the introduction, “we’ll be working with words that you can use for a multitude of reasons … you’ll be able to apply the energy of specific words for each task.”

I’m a big proponent of affirmations, and in Power Words Klingler gave me a different way to use this technique. Instead of lengthy affirmations, Klingler recommends shortening these powerful thoughts to one or two words. The affirmation “I live in a state of love and joy”, for example, turns into “Joy now!” with Klingler’s power word treatment. “Notice how (power words) call you to action the very moment you use them,” the author says. I tried shortening a couple of my favorite affirmations to one or two words and I felt the difference – the brief, to the point, power words really did work in my case.

What about those naughty words you may say under your breath, or more loudly when frustrated in traffic? Klingler has an answer for that, too. For example, she recommends uttering “darn” instead of “damn”. A simple softening of that expletive? No, it’s more than that, Klingler writes. “Darn means to mend or repair. By making the change from damn to darn, you’re actually voicing the intention to repair the frustrating element rather than condemn it,” she advises. If you are one to let loose an f-bomb, Klingler has a substitute for that big nasty, also. Read the book to find out what it is, and the reason behind using it.

While emphasizing the power of words, I liked how Klingler put the use of words in perspective. Yes it is a good idea to use more life enhancing words, she says, but at the same time “you can’t live your life as a word-Nazi, fearing or condemning yourself for voicing every negative word. Give yourself permission for your own self-expression,” she writes. There’s a gentle, caring energy behind the book. It will likely take some time to notice and transform the words you use. Don’t be too hard on yourself if you let loose an expletive now and then. By following Klingler’s advice, those occurrences should be less frequent.

I also liked a number of inspiring quotes Klingler includes in her book – like this one from Ludwig Wittgenstein: “Uttering a word is like striking a note on the keyboard of the imagination.” If you are like me, reading power words will cause you to consider “what words am I most often playing on my keyboard?”
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 03, 2014 MaryMikawoz
I just finished reading this book, “Power Words, Igniting your Life with Lightning Force” by Sharon Anne Klingler. Overall, it is very well written and an easy read.

I found that this is a basic book regarding the power of words whether they are affirmations, prayers or trigger words. If you have ever read any material by Shakti Gawain or Louise Hay, then you are knowledgeable about affirmations. Sharon Anne Klingler shows how words and even thoughts are important in that they carry either positive or negative energies. Sharon discusses a number of studies to show how positive prayer affected some patients as compared to the control group.

She compares a number of words by asking you to go into yourself with eyes closed to feel the energy of the word. For example, if you close your eyes and think of a word such as “hate,” you may feel a heaviness in your body, perhaps in your heart area. Then, you are to blow out that feeling and replace it with the word “love.” Again, you may feel something in your heart area but this time it is lighter and not as negative as the “hate” word.

I found that doing these exercises reinforced how negative words ended up showing up in my lower chakras and sometimes in my heart chakra. I found that positive words ended up showing up in my heart chakra and above. There is a direct relationship of feeling between the two energies of the two words.

Doing this feeling work of energetic words in my body was a visceral experience for me. I really felt it in my core.

I have not read any other material or books by Sharon Anne Klingler so I was pleased to see that this book was well-written based on what she said and how she did give case examples of people who have changed their lives while focussing on power words. I found some of the material reminiscent of what Rhonda Byrne talked about in “The Secret.” The difference is that it is not only the word that is followed but also the need to make some action towards the goal or objective. You can not idly stand by and hope your situation will change on its own without some work on your part.

I particularly liked the reference to Dr. Masaru Emoto who photographed water crystals and how they were affected respectively by words. If the words were negative, the water crystals were not clear and in most cases deformed or malformed. However, if the words were positive, the water crystals were beautiful and symmetrical.

I also appreciated knowing which areas the Archangels are responsible for when invoking higher beings to help with your problems.

All in all, after having read and reflected upon this book, I would recommend this book for people who are interested in learning about energies and are new to the New Age philosophies or if you would like a recap or reminder of how important your words are to manifesting your desires.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 29, 2014 ginadrellack
This is an incredibly interesting book about identifying and harnessing the energy and power of the words you use. In Power Words: Igniting Your Life with Lightning Force, Sharon Anne Klingler shows how to use words consciously for a specific energetic purpose, a more complex use beyond mere definition.

The words themselves are individual and you are going to discover your own. What the author shows you is how to discover the words that will uplift and/or ignite you, and she gives examples of her own. Sharing the how and the why, she opens the door for your own further exploration.

All words have energy, and this energy can be harnessed for your deeper use and greater creation. Trigger words, power words, and lifting words all have their applicable nuances, and although I really resonate with "uplifting," you may prefer another. The point is to choose, and use, your words with intent. This practice can shape and change your life--consciously.

If you are a word lover, you already desire this book. If you are not, you will still love this book's approach.

A word to the wise? Embrace this book!

This book was given to me by Hay House in exchange for my honest opinion of it, as part of their volunteer Book Nook Blogger Program.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 23, 2014 cmwaugh
Watch what you say, words have energy too!

"But if thought corrupts language, language can also corrupt thought."
George Orwell, 1984

How do you increase your energy, excitement and vitality?

Do you constantly say, "I'm sick and tired of this happening," and you actually experience being sick and tired?

Or, are you someone who gushes with positive words and say things like, "I'm so grateful for ....," and blessings abound in your life?

Sharon Anne Klingler, an international speaker and author of Power Words, Igniting Your Life with Lightning Force, has just released a great book on how to improve your language to improve your life.

The use of Klingler's transforming trigger words was a pure gift.

The book contains tons of exercises that empowered me to avoid using negative words. The exercises made me concentrate more on hearing what words I was using consistently.

I could identify with her compelling stories of clients who changed their lives by using her communication recommendations.

I couldn't sit down and read through this book from start to finish. I found it helpful to keep by my bedside and read it in chunks, over and over again.

Klingler provides a list of lifting, blessing and energy words you can use in many challenging situations.

Try focusing on the words you use everyday. I bet you too will want to change the way you choose the words you use.

I send you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life - now those are some positively empowering words!

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. I am also an affiliate for Amazon.)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 22, 2014 blackbirdktleigh
I’ve never been great at affirmations- I don’t remember them, don’t always believe them; and therefore they don’t work. Words are different, and I’ve never realized just how powerful they are. Sure, negative words hurt, but rarely (not enough!) have I witnessed the power of positive words! They are so easy to use and remember! For me, the power of an entire phrase is diluted because I feel like I am just parroting another or too busy trying to remember how the phrase was worded. A single word or two is very focused and direct, plus there is nothing to reject since you aren’t claiming anything. The word “tall” has been a big influence- as a massage therapist, I tend to forget to use proper body mechanics and end up with neck and back pain at days end. Using the word “tall” has helped tremendously to remind me to straighten up, much more so than the boring phrase “Use proper body mechanics”. It seems there is more creativity and less chastising in “tall”, and I certainly remember and use it more. I also love the section on expletives and changing those words, as the negative words we say or think indeed do contribute to the negativity of the situation. The change to positive words is easier than it would seem, as they start with the same letter, yet the intention and energy difference is a stark contrast!
FTC disclosure: I received this book for free in exchange for an objective opinion through Hay House Publishing.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 14, 2014 Jeff Dodson
Sharon Anne Klingler is the author of this book and it is my first exposure to her writing. Sharon is also the author of Intuition & Beyond, and, co-author of Secrets of Success with Sandra Anne Taylor.

Sharon introduces us to the power and force within our words and language. In her own words: “this book is about using the energy of precise words to lift your own energy and to stimulate immediate mental, emotional, and physical responses.”

I enjoyed reading this book and found that the premise of power and energy behind the words of our language tracks right along with the principles Dr. Wayne Dyer set forth in his book, The Power of Intention, by Hay House Publishing, 2004. As a blogger/writer I also found an attraction to Sharon’s book for how I might improve my word craft in what I present and write about.

Words carry the power to positively elevate, expand, empower and energize either individuals or an audience. On the dark side, they also have the power to disenfranchise, spread fear and hate or marginalize individuals or groups of people.

Happily, Sharon's book is about finding the appropriate positive words and phrases that we can use on a daily basis to improve our behaviors, divest ourselves of limiting beliefs and habits and inspire us to take action towards goals and achievements that will bring out the best in us.

Sharon writes, “for those who seek change, their everyday language must resonate with a new purpose --not just at special times of affirmations, but all the time.” I interpreted this to mean that our everyday language must come into alignment and mirror what we wish to evolve into for the better.

I loved her statement, “Your language is the electrical current that moves through your life.”
Thus it would follow, in my opinion, that one should endeavor to choose positive,high voltage words to identify ourselves and our everyday actions with. Words that reinforce “walking our talk.”

The author writes about two kinds of words, They are Trigger Words and Lifting Words.

Trigger Words are those that compel or ignite and action. Lifting Words are those that elevate one’s energy and creativity.

There are six elements of word energy. They are meaning, imaging, emotion, vibration, color and shape.

Sharon also writes about Power Words, Prayers and Invocations.

Invocations are words or phrases that mean to call or call upon.
Prayers are meant to capture the attention of our God, a saint or spiritual force, often in time of great need or urgency.

Turning words into a power tool involve six components. They are belief, emotional engagement, novelty and interest, focus and meaning, frequency and repetition, and, a call to action -- possessing the will and the intention.

In the process of changing your circumstance by improving your vocabulary with empowering, meaningful language, phrases and new words, Sharon offers these tips:

Make your first word your best word: the first word in a sentence can act like the locomotive at the start of a train. The right word offers pulling power.

Write a new language with words of power. Stop employing the dull edged knife of everyday meaningless, overused words. Such words weaken you and lessen the energy around them.

Become a word warrior. Look for the deeper meaning of each word along with a positive emotional punch behind each.

Test your words and their energy.

Take action with the words that you have chosen that lift.

A quote from Sharon Klingler at the end of chapter eighteen distills down what her Power Words book is about: “Live your life like you mean it. Your destiny is in your hands --- and in your words.”

I loved reading this book because I possess a fascination for language and how I might use it to elevate my own word usage and to better communicate and inspire my own readers. If you are the person who is looking for that transformational edge in how you negotiate your personal life safari, grab a copy of Power Words and get busy.


Jeff Dodson
January 14th 2014

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 13, 2014 maryannb
Words carry powerful energy and have an astonishing impact on your life. With Power Words, you can generate new actions and lightning-fast results!

Use them to sharpen your focus, start new projects, break old addictions, attract relationships, and succeed in any number of goals-from weight loss to finding a job. Each word triggers its own specific purpose and activity. Certain words elevate; others ignite action. And in just moments, they can be yours to direct.

If we read the book of James, it tells us that our words to matter, and that we must control our tongues. In this book the author tells us the nature of words, their meanings, and how we can take action with words.
We can learn to be positive with our words, or learn how to be negative. She also shows us how to take positive words to turn around negative actions.

A very good book.

I received this book free from the publisher . I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Jan 13, 2014 ddawley
I loved this book. I've long known and understood that there was energy and power behind certain words, but this book expanded on the idea into areas I have never thought of. It never occurred to me that a word can help me lift an object or remember someone's name. And another great thing I learned from this book is that a single word can be a powerful affirmation. Just saying the word "fearless", for example, is so powerful, it immediately changed the way I felt about what I wanted to do. And I loved saying "I rest in the hand of God" last night when I couldn't sleep.

There are so many great examples of trigger words and different ways to use them. I highly recommend this book. One word can change so much, as long as it's the right word. I love the way "tall" makes me feel. When I'm fearless and tall, I am powerful. Wonderful feelings!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 10, 2014 bellasoul
Amen! That is the first power word that comes to mind for this book review (after realizing that it means, "this is so"). I have loved words deeply for quite some time, but this book has opened my eyes to so much more detail regarding the words we choose and the energy that results. The simple exercises the author uses to let the reader actually experience the energy of various words are great and enlightening! We should ... wait, erase that.. poor choice of word energy. May we all choose our words carefully and enable ourselves to live out our best intentions.

My copy of the book now has a rainbow of notes, highlighting, and doodles for easy future reference to the areas that encouraged me the most, along with several dog-eared pages. As Klingler states, "seeking new words doesn't only change your vocabulary, but it also changes how you see and define yourself and your world." I thought I had been pretty cognizant with my word choices prior to reading this book (based on affirmation practices, focus on intentions, etc), but this book has broadened my awareness regarding how words impact us and how some words that are often considered to be positive in nature may not always be what they appear.

The author's in-depth descriptions, exercises, and insights are well worth the time invested with this book. I have also noticed a difference in my interactions with my children based on the words I choose when speaking with them. Klingler gives a welcome new perspective to the power of words. I have already recommended this book to friends and family!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. This review is unbiased and reflects my honest opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 29, 2013 connielivingston
This is the most comprehensive book I have ever read about how the power of the words affect what we think and say. Klinger talks about the nature of words, deeper meanings and deeper powers, discovering the energy of words, taking action with words, and the recipe to trigger power in the first section. She goes on to include tips for using powerful words at work, home, and play; commands and declarations; making decisions; and words and actions. She also includes information about the power of prayer, limiting language, and lifting words for a life of bliss.

I liked the techniques she recommended for statements and affirmations to make upon awakening to create a powerful, positive day. Klinger lists words that have the potential to empower which she calls "lifting words." She also connects the world of power words to taste and color for those who experience the world from a different sensory perspective.

I have used affirmations for many years and so I feel I am well-versed in the importance of the words that I think and say. Still, I significantly expanded my knowledge of language and its' importance in creating the future.

I recommend this book to anyone who is new to understanding the power of the words they use as well as those who have been using affirmations and words to change the direction of their lives.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.?
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews