Book Reviews

The Numerology Guidebook

Michelle Buchanan

Inspirational, New Thought, Health & Healing, Alternative Health

978-1-4019-4359-2

Numerology is the ancient metaphysical science of numbers where your name and date of birth reveal the blueprint of your life. The Numerology Guidebook will uncover your destiny and life purpose, alon... More

Oct 04, 2014 arpuga

5.0 out of 5 stars ... Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life” is the best numerology book I have ever read, October 4, 2014
By
Annette Puga

This review is from: The Numerology Guidebook: Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life (Paperback)
Michelle Buchanan’s “The Numerology Guidebook Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life” is the best numerology book I have ever read. Her book was amazingly accurate and I tried it on family members as well as myself. I never really believed in numerology that much because it seems that the other stuff I read about numerology seemed too generalized and could be true for most people. Michelle Buchanan gives you formulas that give everybody a unique blueprint of their life. We all have core numbers that have the most significance to your personality and life journey are: Life Path Number, Destiny Number, Soul Number, Personality Number, Maturity Number, Birth Day Number, Current Name Number, and Karmic Lesson Numbers. She gives you the exact formula to determine what that number is and gives you a full explanation on what that number means. She explains each Numerology Profile and gives you an in depth understanding of what each profile means. She goes on to explain your cycle numbers and explains that your life journey is divided into seasons just as the world is. She explains that since we have free will, she can show us what we will be facing but she cannot tell us what choices that we will make as we face situations in our journey. She teaches you how to calculate these major life cycles so that we will be better prepared to face our life’s challenges therefore giving us preparation to make decisions that are best for us. The last part of the book Michelle explains that there are other numbers in our life that has some significance in our life journey. She gives advice choosing a pets name, when to change our name if we have a choice, how to choose a business name, if we should keep our maiden name along with taking on our husband’s last name when we get married. Of course a lot of these extra numbers are only suggestions but they can be very helpful. There is even a section of the book that gives advice on parenting by the numbers. This section is really neat because once you learn your children’s numbers and have an idea of their life journey, you can help nurture it and understand your children’s behaviors and personality better.
This is a handy manual and I like to carry it around with me and refer to it from time to time. It has taken me a few months to read this book, not because it is a difficult read or difficult to understand, it is really easy to understand and this is coming from somebody who really knew nothing about numerology. I keep reading this book because there is so much to learn and I seem to learn something new every time as I refer back to this book and as my life is unfolding it is nice to get a better understanding of what is going on in my life.
“The Numerology Guidebook” is an excellent book and very eye opening.

Disclaimer: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
-
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 22, 2014 ecardenas
The Numerology Guide Book by Michelle Buchanan Book Review

Before reading The Numerology Guide Book: Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life by Michelle Buchanan, I had only heard of numerology, and so I knew very little about it. Perhaps the only thing that I knew for sure on this subject was that there are phases in our lives which can be cyclical in nature.

What began as a curiosity quickly turned into a fascination.

It is amazing what your name can uncover about yourself and your life path. According to Michelle Buchanan, there are several numbers that are derived from your birth name including the Life Path Number, the Destiny Number, and the Soul Number, among others. The most significant number being the Life Path Number as it "indicates the kind of life experiences you'll encounter as you fulfill your destiny and life purpose." Uncovering the meaning of this number alone allows you to better understand your life and your soul's calling in this lifetime.

The book itself is divided into three parts.

The first part is called Your Core Numbers, which deals with key numbers like Life Path Number, the Destiny Number, and the Soul Number. In the second part, Forecasting and Timing, Buchanan discusses major life cycles, pinnacles, and challenges. Finally, the third part is titled Other Numbers in Your Life. This last section sparked interest in me in terms of choosing names for children and businesses and what you can expect from their names. Finally, there is also a part at the end of the book that explains recurring numbers such as 111, 222, 333, etc. I now have an understanding of what these numbers that I had seen for years mean.

After reading this book, I came to understand why certain events have happened in my life and what I could expect in years to come. This book is a guide where you work with numbers to figure out the blueprint of your life. I highly recommend this comprehensive numerology book to anyone that has an interest in knowing more about numerology or just knowing more about their life path.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

Reseña del libro The Numerology Guide Book por Michelle Buchanan

Antes de leer The Numerology Guide Book: Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life por Michelle Buchanan, solamente había oído de la numerología y sabía muy poco de ello. Quizás la única cosa que sabía acerca la numerología era que hay fases en nuestras vidas que son de la naturaleza cíclica.

Lo que comenzó como un interés y curiosidad rápidamente se convertió en una fascinación.

Es increíble lo que un nombre puede revelar de tí y tu camino en la vida. Michelle Buchanan escribe sobre varios números que son derivados de tu nombre de nacimiento como el Life Path Number (Número del Camino en la Vida), the Destiny Number (Número del Destino), y el Soul Number (Número del Alma), entre otros. El número más importante es el Life Path Number porque "indica que el tipo de experiencias que tendrás mientras realizas tu propio destino y tu propósito de vida." Descubriendo el significado de este número te permite comprender tu vida y el llamado de tu alma en esta vida.

El libro se divide en tres partes.

La primera parte se titula llama Your Core Numbers (Tus Números "Centrales") y habla de números claves como el Life Path Number (Número del Camino en la Vida), el Destiny Number (Número del Destino), y el Soul Number (Número del Alma). La segunda parte se llama Forecasting and Timing, o Pronóstico y Sincronización, y Buchanan habla sobre ciclos de la vida, pináculos y retos. La última parte se llama Other Numbers in Your Life, u Otros Número en tu Vida. Esta última parte me interesó mucho porque habla sobre lo que uno puede esperar de los nombres que se les da a los niños o de nombre de un negocio. Por último, también hay una parte al final del libro que explica los números recurrentes tales como 111, 222, 333, etc. Ahora entiendo de lo que estos números recurrentes que había visto durante años significan.

Después de haber leído este libro entiendo el por que ciertos eventos me han pasado en mi vida y lo que puedo suceder en el futuro. Este libro es un guía donde trabajas con números para descrifrar el propósito de tu vida. Les recomiendo este libro de numerología comprensivo a todos que quisieran saber más acerca la numerología o para conocer algo más sobre nosotros mismos.

Recibí este libro gratis de la casa editorial Hay House para esta reseña. La opinión en este reseña es imparcial y refleja mi opinión honesta del producto.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 21, 2014 BarbaraGraver
Encoded systems of metaphysical knowledge fascinate me and I've read more than a few books on numerology, astrology and symbolism. "The Numerology Guidebook" is the best book on numerology I have read to date. It is comprehensive, providing in depth interpretations of regular and master numbers and number combinations, clear explanation of core numbers, information on number cycles and more, and very readable.

The author includes the most popular system of calculating your own numerology chart (Pythagorean) plus alternate schools (Chaldean) as well as several different methods of calculation. Other topics of interest include numerological forecasting and timing, manifestation with numbers, event planning and name changes.

It is the number meaning sections however which most readers will visit the most. These sections are very well done. The author gives an insightful interpretation of each number (including strengths, weakness, life lesson, career and compatibility) and then explains the meaning of that particular number in terms of Life Path, Destiny, Soul, Personality, Maturity, Birthday, Current Name & Karmic Lesson. She also includes an astrological equivalent and example for every number.

It's a lot of information but Buchanan presents it in an engaging and highly understandable ways, making these simple calculations easy for even the most math phobic reader. On a personal level, I got a lot out of this book. I found the section on cycles, pinnacles and challenges especially helpful!

*Please note: This book was provided to me free from Hayhouse for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 19, 2014 KariF
I have never read a book on numerology until this book, and I thought that I was going to be really interested in it. Turns out I wasn’t. I’m not saying The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan is bad; in fact, it is very detailed when it comes to figuring out what your numbers are and what they mean. I’m just saying that I would rather have someone else tell me all this stuff than have to figure it out for myself.

The Numerology Guidebook will help you understand numerology better and figure out exactly what your numbers are and how understanding them can help you in life. You get a great insight into why you are here, what your destiny is, what your soul craves, and so much more. Everything from your name to your birthday adds up to a number that means something in your life.

But, it takes a little work to figure out all these numbers. Michelle makes it easy by taking you by the hand and giving step-by-step examples on how to figure out your numbers, but it still requires work on your part.

The thing is that you can’t just read this book once and understand what every number means and give readings to your friends and family. As she says somewhere in the book, it can take years to learn numerology, and I would have to say that you will spend a lot of time with your nose in this book trying to remember all of the meanings. But, if that is what you desire, then this is the perfect book for you to study from.

There is a section on recurring numbers that I liked. I often seen recurring numbers, and Michelle explains what the numbers mean and how to add more than one number together to come out with an explanation. I also like the fact that she states that sometimes you may manifest the numbers because what we concentrate on, we see more of.

In short, The Numerology Guidebook is a comprehensive book on numerology. If you want to learn what your numbers are and how they play a part in your life, this is the book for you. Michelle makes it easy to understand.

Note: I received this book from Hay House to review as a part of the Book Nook blogger program. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 13, 2014 BarbRidener

The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan is an easy-to-follow and comprehensive guide to numerology. From the introduction, Ms. Buchanan provides an overview of numerology before diving into an explanation of the core numbers, how to find them, and what they mean. The second section of the book, Forecasting and Timing goes in depth into how to calculate the cycles in one’s life. The final section is devoted to “Other Numbers” that might impact one’s life.

While I found the first section very straightforward and easy to follow, I also found myself writing down the information more than once, and in more than one format. As a result, I created an overview of my life that worked and made sense for me. This is the only recommendation that I would make for the author, is that a companion workbook or web-guide would be extremely helpful.

Not knowing much about numerology prior to reading the book, I found the resulting insights to be personally, very accurate. Once I noticed the parallels the numbers had throughout my life, I found myself more likely to have faith or understand other numerologic predictions.


This book was very interesting and very informative. An easy to read guidebook that I will use as a resource.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. I was not financially compensated for this post. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 11, 2014 Starseed28
I absolutely loved this book. I have always been interested in numerology and have been looking for a good book on the subject. After reading many reviews on many different books, I felt that this one would be the best choice. I was thrilled by my choice as I began to read it.

Michelle really did her homework for this book and her website reflects that as well. She gives you step-by-step instructions on how to calculate your core and minor numbers. Additionally, she gives you three different methods used to calculate your number so that you can use the way that makes you feel comfortable. She explains how each method works and that different numerologists use different methods.

After showing you how to calculate your numbers, she gives you an in-depth explanation of each number. I have looked at a few numerology books at my local bookstore and this one provides one of the highest levels of detail you can get. In addition, the descriptions are scary accurate. As I was reading myself, I kept thinking “wow I do that” or “That’s exactly how I am”. I even decided to do a reading for my boyfriend and child. It was surprisingly accurate for my boyfriend and I like to think that I mapped the future personality traits of my son.

This book is for anyone looking for that in-depth numerology reading. It’s fun for you and your whole family. I will be recommending this book to all my spiritual friends and maybe even a few who aren’t very spiritual

FTC Disclosure: I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 01, 2014 Ravenb28
Hey beautiful readers! I've recently had the pleasure of reading The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan. I've always been interested in Numerology but I've never really taken the time to read it over. Boy did I learn a thing or two. There are a lot of different types of numbers that can be attributed to one person. There are numbers for life path #, destiny #, soul #, personality #, maturity #, birth day #, current name #, pinnacle #, challenge #, personal year #, personal month #, personal day #, essence #, transit #'s along with others but this list is getting long. Basically any one individual has a plethora of different numbers that can aid in helping them know their life paths and how and when to follow them. There are a variety of different ways that you can add up your number as well. I still have no idea which number adding works best for me so I will continue to play around with what feels right. If you enjoy doing math and reading about a positive perspective on your life numbers this is the book for you. I would say this is a great guidebook my only con was that there were too many options for my Scorpio (indecisive) mind. I wish there was only one way to add up your correct numbers. On the flip side I do like that there are three ways to add up your numbers providing variety. "But how do you know what your real number is?" That was my only lingering question.

I would suggest if you are thinking about purchasing this book that you get the physical copy opposed to the digital copy. Only because I would assume it would be a lot easier to flip back and forth between pages when need be. You will be going back to previous pages to assist you in finding your numbers for a variety of them.

FTC Disclosure: I received this item for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 25, 2014 Angel
I am fascinated by numbers, especially my own ... (a smile), after all doesn't everyone want to know more about the most exciting topic of all, themselves. This book is for everyone because it makes learning about the self through numerology easy. I have come across so many different numerology books, and this one really makes the art of numbers simple enough for anyone to use.

The Numerology Guidebook
I cannot recommend it enough!

I have not been compensated for this review, the review is based on my opinion of the book and its content. This title has been provided free of charge from Hay House Publishing for the sole purpose of review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 26, 2014 nikimpeel

The Numerology Guidebook broke open the truth of who I really am. Michelle has taken thousand year old material and translated it into a complete guide to validate and inspire your life. After reading my life plan, destiny and soul’s desire, I became utterly fascinated. I couldn’t read my family’s numbers quick enough. Myself, my husband and daughter all have the same life path of 1. Life path 1 is of the independent individual; strong-minded, self-sufficient, and extremely capable. The message given outlining the 1 life path fully describes the path I have been walking. Each life path gives you numerous pages describing your strengths, weaknesses, challenges and callings to help you embrace the life your soul intended. “As an 11/2 Soul I long to be an inspirational teacher who raises spiritual awareness and understanding on planet Earth. Every time I seek to illuminate, improve, heal, or reform, I fulfill my heart’s desire.” These words couldn’t have depicted my core desire more precisely. Beyond my own personal numbers, I gained a tremendous amount of understanding for friends and family whose life path and destiny varied greatly from my own. To have gained a true sense of acceptance for others in my life is priceless. I have shared this work with many and have not come across one yet, that didn’t gain enormous insight. Even the skeptics, were blown away by it’s accuracy. The book even outlines time periods in your life that are meant for specific focus and what attributes you may possess to successfully make it through. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to gain more wisdom in numerology or simply learn more about you. Knowing your NUMBERS can be the gateway that opens you to run with your passion and live from a place of purpose.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 26, 2014 ginadrellack
Michelle Buchanan has shared an invaluable tool for anyone interested in learning more about themselves. The Numerology Guidebook: Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life is for beginners and regular practitioners alike. Whether your interest in Numerology is of mild interest or you are considering opening your own practice, this book will be a treasured resource.

The author's style is comfortably conversational, yet thankfully professional and not breezy and overly familiar. She has organized her book in the most incredibly reader-friendly and intuitive way. It is a natural flow to learn about a type of number (Soul Number, for example), calculate that number, and then discover the meaning. I appreciate that her descriptions of each number's meaning has depth and breadth: the descriptions provide such rich understanding as well as insight into how all relates.

Michelle Buchanan not only covers the basics of numerology, she also leads readers into more expansive aspects of this tool for insight. This is a complete resource. She also has created a guidance card deck, and I look forward to receiving the set I ordered out of sheer excitement after reading her book. I expect this deck will be as user-friendly and insightful as the book is, and they will be a great companion tool for me.

Having read other books about numerology, I recommend going straight to this one. I have had more compassion for, insight into, and understanding about myself than from any other numerology source. There is a beautiful, indefinable quality that this woman brings that sets it and her apart from others, and I'm so glad she has shared that.

I was gifted this book from Hay House in return for my honest opinion of it. No numbers were harmed in the figuring of my math, the author makes it goof-proof!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 23, 2014 cmwaugh
I really don’t like working with numbers unless it’s seeing my bank account grow. Now, I use numbers in a very different way.

Without getting all scientific with you, I’ll boil it down to something simple.

Numerology, as I learned from Michelle Buchanan’s recent book, The Numerology Guidebook – Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life, is the ancient science of numbers that contributes a unique vibration to the story of my life.

I’m so excited because in the past, all of my psychological testing, personality profiles and astrological results complement each other and allow me to make the most of my life’s journey.

Buchanan’s ability to give me visual clues to my life path, destiny, soul, personality, maturity, birth day, current name and karmic lesson numbers was nothing more than astounding!

The book goes even deeper in using numbers to name your business, what your house number means, choosing your wedding day and even determining what to name your pet or baby.

It fit; it was me and I could no longer deny the facts of this ancient science of numbers that gave me clues to where my journey was leading me.

I have Pythagoras, the Greek mystic and mathematician believed to have created this timeless soul system, to thank for pinpointing my destiny more clearly.

For those of you familiar with this blueprint of life, I’m considered a master number 11/2.

I can choose to raise the collective consciousness of planet Earth, or, stay as a two which a cooperative peacemaker. Yay! I like who I am and where I’m going.

To find out if this system resonates with you, get this book and see if you can seek clues to your destiny.

I send you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 23, 2014 artlovelight
Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NIV)11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Have you ever read the book, “The Bible Code” in which it turns out the Bible is filled with matching numbers that inexplicably appear in amazing patterns that not only spell out messages of love but also predict future (from the point of view of 0 AD) events? And that this proves the Bible is accurate (nevermind the huge chunks removed and other editing done by the patriarchal, medieval church).

This numerology book reminds me of that book; in that amazing patterns are coded in all of life and that some ancient people sat down with an abacus and figured it all out. And now Michelle Buchanan has created a handy book to explain it all. I only wish it came with a fill-in-the-blanks workbook!

As I worked through The Numerology Guidebook: Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life I was delighted to find that my husband and I had the same Life Path number, and that numerology said that our life path numbers are compatible.

When I announced this to Jeremy, he said, “Oh, that’s a relief! I don’t know what we would have done if the numbers said we weren’t!” Then we laughed because we find ourselves to be incredibly compatible; if the book had told us otherwise, I wouldn’t have been as interested in the results of the number readings. This book was quite affirming for information that we already knew about each other, so I feel more comfortable trusting the new information and suggestions provided.

I completed calculations for 80% of this numerology book, working out everything that pertained to us personally, except the Essence number, which Buchanan suggested was easier to calculate with software (I wish she’d mentioned if she offered some such software or vouched for one). Overall, calculating the numbers only required simple addition or subtraction, and a second grader would be able to follow the instructions easily. I feel happy that I have learned to calculate my own numerology numbers, instead of relying on someone else’s intuition. In fact, Buchanan also mentions that a good numerology reading is as much calculating the numbers as it is intuition and insight.

One of the things I like about Hay House books is the practical common sense approach to spiritual and not-(yet?)-scientifically-proven modalities. And don’t judge this book by its cover; while it is about numbers and calculations, it isn’t just about numbers. This is an excellent workbook, not only for calculating personality and life paths, but also to consult when making decisions and choices pertaining to homes, businesses, adventures, pets, and really, anything involving names and dates.

Of course, any time you are giving attention to your future, your plans, and listening to your inner guidance, you are guaranteed to improve your outlook and clarify your goals and plans. I believe this book provides an excellent framework for visualizing, gaining insight about yourself (and others) and getting some clarity about your own thoughts.

It took me about six hours to put together charts for Jeremy and I — and if you are doing yours, I would recommend first calculating your seven core numbers, than going in and copying and pasting the descriptions that apply to you under each number. Then, after you’ve calculated all your numbers and descriptions, you have one complete profile of yourself, instead of reading about yourself in short sections, than spending another five or six minutes adding numbers. I also found that while she gave different options for calculating each number, it usually resulted in the same answer, so just pick a method and stick with it. If you’re already on a spiritual journey, keep your 11’s 22’s and 33’s as whole numbers, and if you’re just beginning, then reduce it down to 2. When you get your answers, it’s easy enough to read for both.

This is the best introduction to numerology I have read, and it also provides enough in depth information to be useful ongoing. I would recommend getting the digital edition so that you can copy and paste and flip back and forth – I always prefer reading physical books, but since this required so much pen and paper work, it was handy to have up on my desktop while I added up my numbers. The interaction between calculating and consulting the book necessitated a more in depth interaction which I thought was neat.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 19, 2014 Lily Mae
A Blueprint For Conscious Living.

At last, a comprehensive guide for understanding and applying numerology. I was unsure if I wanted to ‘go there again’ with this ancient methodology. However, within no time at all I had my numerological forecast right in front of me! The guesswork had vanished and there I was, in the numeric sense, and so accurate. Staring up at me were tools with great insightful messages.

The Numerology Guidebook has been divided into three comprehensive parts.

Michelle Buchanan offers an easy formula to calculate our seven core numbers. In depth descriptions of the meanings for these numbers are embedded in part one. This serves as an invaluable reference tool.
Part two introduces additional calculations in devising cycle numbers for forecasting and timing. This second part really opened my eyes into how deep I may venture into numerology and how specific!
Part three offers how other numbers are incorporated in our lives. Here we are invited to consciously choose names from pets to business with a direct connection to the meaning behind the names through numerology.

I’m delighted with how precise the numbers continue to be in my life and how they compliment my study of archetypes and astrology.

FTC disclosure. I was gifted this book from Hay House publishing in exchange for my honest opinions.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 19, 2014 Purevisionary

It has been my experience in life at the point of many major crossroads that confirmation and valuable information always appears to me at the crucial times.  The only requirement for me is to pay attention.  So it was when I requested this book from Hayhouse Publications free for the purpose of review. I was not required by Hayhouse to give a positive review. I was ready to be objective and impartial.

I knew some but very little about numerology when I first turned the pages of this book.  Michelle Buchanan easily guided me step by step through my Life Path Number, my Destiny Number, my Soul Number and so much more.  The information I gained was incredibly right on.  Michelle Buchanan’s expertise and clear writing style makes this a book already becoming a worn favorite as I continually seek out new guidance for myself and now my friends and family.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 18, 2014 misslaconti

The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan is pretty accurate. I had a lot of fun adding up the numbers in my birthday and name. This ancient science of numbers can uncover your life purpose, life lessons or any valuable information so that you can make the most of your journey. This information seemed to compliment my astrology chart and revealed similar information.

This book is great even if you are a beginner since it gives step by step instructions on adding the numbers a couple different ways. She also explains that your numbers may be different depending on if you use the Western or Chaldean way of adding. You just have to go with your intuition and mine was spot on and most of the time the numbers added up to be the same either way.
This is a book I know I will revisit often.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 12, 2014 Mystic812

I cannot say enough about The Numerology Guidebook: Uncover Your Destiny and the Blueprint of Your Life by Michelle Buchanan! In the past I have read a number of books about numerology, but they were lacking in substance and very general at best. This book is very comprehensive and I can't think of anything that it does not cover. What is great about how this book is written, is that you can pretty much jump right in and begin calculating your Life Path, Destiny, Soul and Personality numbers. If you've never read anything about numerology, you will find that the directions on how to proceed in finding your numbers is very simple. After you have calculated your various numbers, there are further chapters on their meanings. There's also a chapter on forecasting and timing, as well as a great chapter which covers other numbers in your life, such as changing a name, wanting to find a name for a pet, interpreting house numbers, and wedding day numbers, it's all here. I was totally amazed at how accurate this book was as far as what your career paths are, and describing your personality traits, as well as information about karmic debt numbers. Some of these topics I had never seen in books of this type in the past. I had a lot of fun with the book and also doing the calculations for my family and friends. Make sure you have a large pad and pen ready when you start reading the book, because you'll need it! This is absolutely the best book on this subject I have read so far.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 10, 2014 mommyinpa
Have you ever wondered if your name or possibly birth of date had anything to do with who you are? Well I have and that's why I was so excited to receive a copy of "The Numerology Guidebook".

The book guides you through how to come up with all of your important numbers:

Your life path number (the most important number in numerology) sums up what you were born to do and what kind of life you will live.

Your destiny number reveals you mission in life.

Your soul number reveals what motivates you.

Your personality number reveals how you present yourself to others.

Your maturity number reveals your future potential.

Your birth day number reveals your talents and abilities.

Your current name number works along with your destiny number to add traits and experiences.

Your karmic lesson numbers helps point out specific areas in your life that may need some work.

The book gives you tons of information about each of the above numbers to give you a very detailed report of who you are and what you could become. Each section is broke down by number so it is very easy to navigate.

There are more numbers that the book shows you how to calculate too (Pinnacles, challenges, essence number, how to choose a baby name, pet name numbers, house/street numbers, wedding day numbers, etc.)

I will admit that when I first received this book I was a little overwhelmed looking at all those mathematical equations, I had actually set the book aside for awhile because I didn't think I had the time to do all that math : ) Well when I did finally pick it back up again it took me a total of about 2 hours to write up the seven basic numbers, life cycle, and pinnacles for all four of us. It was not nearly as difficult as it seemed.

I was surprised at how accurate our results were. Mine were almost totally correct (It said I was creative, artistic and gifted with words - I had a poem published in Cat Fancy magazine when I was a teenager and I used to love to paint), my son's was also almost dead on (especially for what he plans to be when he grows up), my husbands was about 75% accurate, but my daughter's seemed pretty far off. I plan to go back over hers using a different addition method.

There are a couple of things that are confusing like whether or not to reduce an 11, 22, or 33. We only got a few of the elevens so I just left them alone as 11/2 and it worked out fine. The book explains these in great detail.

This is a great reference book and I know I will keep it handy for years to come.

disclaimer: I received the book below for free from Hay House, Inc. in exchange for my honest opinions. All opinions remain my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 10, 2014 hhreviewer2

The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan is an incredibly informative and easy to use numerology book that walks its readers step-by-step through the process of not only discovering one's Life Path number, but Destiny, Soul, Personality, Maturity, Birth Day, Current Name, and Karmic Lesson numbers as well as forecasts for oneself. She presents both the Western and Chaldean system. At the end of each section, the author provides in-depth descriptions for what that particular number means for that number type.

While I have always been very interested in numerology, I do not consider myself an 'expert' or well-read in this area. I found Michelle Buchanan's guidebook, however, to be the most comprehensive book on numerology that I have ever read personally. It is laid out in a way that actually makes it fun to discover your numbers as well as how they work together for greater understanding of the self. It is truly incredible how accurate the descriptions are.

The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan is a book that I will probably come back to time and again.

This is my review of The Numerology Guidebook by Michelle Buchanan. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 21, 2014 Cheryl
This numerology guidebook provides the information to calculate your Life Path, Destiny, Soul, Personality, Maturity, Birth Day, Current Name, and Karmic numbers (core numbers). The core number meanings are well organized, the author's approach is easy to understand and, to be frank, the exercises are fun!

I hoped this book would satisfy my curiosity of numerology and it did. I found it interesting that, as someone who hasn't studied numerology or had any preconceived notions about it, it was easy to understand and many of the results were amazingly accurate.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 16, 2014 onherbookshelf

This book is what it promises to be -- a guidebook. When it comes to these self-study topics, a book is a better tool than the internet, as everything is laid out for you in a structured, non-scattered manner. Buchanan's guidebook was my introduction to numerology, and I enjoyed the way in which it was written, along with how well organized the core subjects were. The accuracy of the readings was...impressive. The correlation between my readings and horoscope sign actually gave me chills!

I greatly appreciated Buchanan's way of presenting the information and how easy it was to maneuver through the pages. You'll find that there is usually no single number that is of value to your character and life. I very much enjoy astrology so this reading was relatively straight up my alley.

Additionally, Buchanan gives a refreshing twist at the last chapter with Part III: Other Numbers in Your Life, which talks about changing and choosing a name (not just for a person, but for your pet and/or business!) as each letter has a numerical significance, and other topics such as "Parenting by the Numbers" which I found to be an entertaining read.

I also appreciated the fact that the book didn't focus on a single numerology system, as we all know that some charts work better for some people. Her incorporation of both the Western and Chaldean system of approaching numerology, as well as the different methods you can use to figure out your life numbers was something I found to be tactful on the author's part.

Wrap up: I'll be keeping this book! I'm certain this will be a numerology book I'll keep coming back to in the future. I can't really find anything negative to comment on, as it is a very well-rounded guidebook. Undoubtedly, additional and further readings should accompany this book but it's a lovely place to start your numerology studying. Very easy to read and the kind of book I'd offer to a friend who's just getting started.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews