Book Reviews

Entangled in Darkness

Deborah King

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality, New Thought, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-3894-9

Come take an epic journey from darkness into the light with one of today’s foremost spiritual masters! Noted teacher, healer, and New York Times best-selling author Deborah King leads you on an excurs... More

Jan 13, 2014 Starseed28
This is the first Deborah King book that I've ever read and I was quite surprised. The title of the book suggests that she will be informing you about the darkness in your life. However, the book is more focused on how to begin and stay on the light path. Don't get me wrong; knowing how to be more in the light is a wonderful thing for all spiritual people to know. I felt that she gives only a glimpse of the darkness that can manifest, while explaining aspects of the light in detail.

She incorporates parts of her life story into the book that give you a better understanding of what she is trying to teach. For example, I found her experiences with people who were in the light and then fell into darkness very useful. It was a great reminder that no matter the blessings we receive, we are still instruments of the light. I also enjoyed the lists of things she gave to help keep you in the light.

Overall, it was a good read, but probably better suited to people just discovering the path. Most of the things she covered I already knew, so I felt there was little new information. I will defiantly recommend this book to people new to the spiritual path.

FTC Disclosure: I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 30, 2013 LucyLoong
This is the first book by Deborah King that I have read so I was really looking forward to receiving this title. There is a lot of hype around the author right now and it caught my interest. Deborah is former attorney that abandoned the corporate world to find her calling as a Spiritual Teacher and Master Healer. This book deals with the delicate balance between Light and Dark that we all face as we journey towards spiritual enlightenment. Deborah speaks from her personal experience as she has conquered alcohol and drug abuse and the fallout from an abusive childhood. I did find the book a bit repetitive and believe it could be edited to about half its pages. Some of the topics covered are The Forces of Darkness, Possession and Falling from Grace. The author gives tips on staying in Light thru nutrition, sleep, nature, meditation and consciousness practices, companionship, protecting your mind from darkness and laughter. To me this was the best part of the book. This book is a good read for beginners and novices in spiritual practice. Adepts may find it too repetitive. I do intend to read other titles by this author.

FTC disclosure: I received my copy from Hay House for review purposes and was not financially compensated for this review. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 28, 2013 MediaMs
When we find ourselves in the season of winter, there is often the feeling of something dogging us. I'm not sure it is supposed to feel this way. The other option is to hibernate -- but I know that is not supposed to be human nature. Having fewer hours of daylight, completing tasks can feel more difficult as the day becomes compressed, and the night hours seem to drag on endlessly. What if there was a way to feel at ease in the darkness?

Entangled in Darkness: Seeking the Light by Deborah King describes the work of energy healer Deborah King, and encourages others to bravely look at where the darkness in one's own path can be transformed by walking in the light. Besides the confidence with which the author relates to the reader about her own spiritual growth and experiences healing, the book has some valuable advice about avoiding those that would take our energy over, robbing us of our own power to heal.

I was hoping that Entangled in Darkness would deal in a straight forward manner about the darkness we bring onto ourselves through the choices we make. However, instead it offers some frightening descriptions about possession in the forefront. Having had no previous experience with the work of Deborah King, I was not sure what to make of her beliefs.

The part of this book I would most like to share with others, even one as young as my teenaged daughter is Mrs.King's strong recommendation to regularly meditate and pray. She is a good storyteller, and like some people you meet and just enjoy hearing about their opinions on life, she works this area admirably.

I struggled to read the first half of this book, but was able to read the final seventy pages quite readily. I believe that this book might have been helped if an important detail about the author's life was disclosed early on rather than within the final summary. She captures the reader with her first chapter describing in part her early career and battle with cancer. By the end, in which she gives an outline of how to manage the whole mind-body connection in seven steps, she then makes an admission about her bipolar diagnosis in college which first lead her onto a spiritual path. Although that admission, for me, made the presentation of the facts backward, I still do not doubt her ability to clear people of dark energies.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 17, 2013 timlarison
“Until we become aware of the lesser qualities within ourselves and make a conscious choice to change them, they will continue to run our behavior, causing us disease and distress,” Deborah King writes in the introduction of her new book Entangled in Darkness: Seeking the light. “Once we recognize that we have darkness, we can begin to bring it into our consciousness and transform it, which is the true meaning of healing.”

With the multitude of positive thinking books being published today, it is refreshing to read an author not afraid to look at the dark side of our personalities. In chapter after chapter the author reveals a number of dark forces that can trip us up, from excessive pride to evil spirits. Some I recognized in myself more than others, but no doubt King will touch on one of your weak areas. “Everyone is a work in progress,” she writes. “As long as you’re alive, there will be issues to work through and resolve.”

As in her other book I have read and reviewed (Be Your Own Shaman) I liked how King as a metaphysical type of author still sees value in traditional spiritual paths – even the practice of confessing sins. “We all need an avenue for expressing our wrong-doings and forgiveness,” she writes. “Every religious tradition knows the value of admitting our sins, and they all have some kind of practice for it. Catholics aren’t the only ones who have confession—other Christian churches have some form of it, too, as do other religions.” I think you will find value in King’s thoughts on the human condition, regardless of your spiritual orientation. Her conversational writing style will appeal to people of all faiths.

With this emphasis on darkness the book still has a hopeful message. “The basic energy of the universe is unconditional love, and it is the strongest force there is,” King writes. She emphasizes daily spiritual practice to stay connecting to the Light. I found Entangled in Darkness to be a very practical book, packed full of helpful insights sure to aid spiritual seekers everywhere.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 18, 2013 Dsydnor

This is the first book I have read by Deborah King and I will definitely be checking to see what else she has written. This is much different then most other self help books I have read, it is more about the authors life and what she has been through. She has had an incredibly interesting life journey so far and I can't wait to see what's next. In the book she talks a lot about dark energies and even demonic possessions and how to detect evil and protect yourself against it. Although a tough subject to write about, as I am sure there are a lot of non-believers that only want to see the goodness and light, I completely agree with her on this subject. In a nutshell this book is about the light and dark side of spirituality and we have a choice on what side to be on. Even great spiritual leaders can fall back into darkness, we all need to continue our journey with spiritual enlightenment. You should never stop learning and seeking higher consciousness no matter how far you think you have come, there is always more to learn. I look forward to Ms. Kings new adventures as she explores and expands her consciousness. I would recommend this book, it was a good read.

I acknowledge that I received this book for free from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of this book.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 22, 2013 connielivingston
This is a really fascinating book! It covers an array of topics with many relevant stories sprinkled throughout. Deborah King is a well-known master healer and she shares her history and path to becoming a professional healer in this book. It includes examples and solutions for successfully dealing with negative and "dark" energy. As the evolution of the planet moves toward more light, this dark energy has become threatened. In addition, many global activities that were once hidden are now being exposed.

King talks about her past addictions as the way that she once chose to face the more difficult periods of her life. Many people have addictions and these choices are actually decisions to embrace darkness. There are great ideas here about "untangling personal darkness." At the same time, an individual's level of consciousness raises, and, along with it, the consciousness of the planet. As we make healthy personal choices we positively impact those around us in unseen ways.

Following one's intuition creates a portal into the light. King talks about high-energy power places, visiting sacred sites, and pilgrimage. Anyone who listens to her weekly radio show on Hay House Radio knows how important King feels meditation is for everyone. She delves further into this topic in the book.

I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to bring more light into their own lives as well as use this process to positively impact the world. A fun read!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 01, 2013 hhreviewer2

Entangled In Darkness Seeking The Light by Deborah King is not the kind of book that will please everybody. It takes a certain set of beliefs in the existence of lightness and darkness, for instance, to get through it. While I myself believe in energies, I waffle on whether I believe that true evil exists in the world. Anybody who has read Deborah King's books before, however, as I have, will be familiar with the concepts presented here.

Even though I don't always agree with everything that Deborah King writes, nor do I have to, I still find her to be a refreshing author. It is clear that she comes from a place of truth and never shies away from admitting her own failings or those that she has seen in author well-known self-help authors and healers. We are all human after all. That quality is something that I greatly appreciate when reading one of her books.

Entangled In Darkness Seeking The Light in particular tackles the topic of the dark, how and where to find it, and how to combat it with behaviors that bring in the light. As stated above, it either takes a firm belief in these concepts as true, or a great deal of suspended belief on the part of the reader. Either way, there are a many lessons to be found here in how to be a good person and to live an authentic life that is true for you. They may not be new ideas to anybody who has read Deborah's or other self-help books, but I like how she approaches the subject.

If nothing else, Entangled In Darkness Seeking The Light is a strong contribution by Deborah King to readers of self-help books and to energy healers.

This is my review of Entangled In Darkness Seeking The Light by Deborah King. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 24, 2013 BookLover
Entangled in Darkness: Seeking the Light by Deborah King is a wonderful book on going from a vibration of darkness to one of light. This book shows us how we can go from a vibration of light to dark and back to light again.

Entangled in Darkness shows us that every choice we make can either bring us light or it can bring us darkness. This book also shows us the ways our energy can be taken by others. There is also a section in this book on death and how to not be afraid of it. In this book there is also a chapter on telling the difference between schizophrenia and possession.

My favorite part of this book is when Deborah King shows us which acts can lead towards darkness and what things can lead us towards a vibration of light. I thought it interesting that according to Deborah the two things that lead us to the light the most are prayer, although not necessarily the normal form of prayer, and meditation.

I believe that if everyone in the world read this book we would all overcome our own darkness and start to live more in the light.

I acknowledge that I received this book for Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of this book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews