Book Reviews

One Mind

Larry Dossey, M.D.

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-4315-8

Imagine a united consciousness, an awareness of which all of our minds are a part . . . and a potential way out of the division, greed, and destruction that threaten to engulf our world.In the 20th ce... More

Feb 11, 2014 HappyKat
We are all linked, we are connected, there is more to life than just our material being. This is an important and popular subject. This is a must read for anyone who is interested in this subject.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 05, 2014 winmar
I just finished reviewing Larry Dossey’s, One Mind. I have always enjoyed reading books by Larry Dossey, and “One Mind” is no exception. Having followed the same theme in “A Hidden Order,” I felt that One Mind supported the idea that we are connected in ways we sense, but often cannot see. An additional bonus is that he backs up his theory with hundreds of references.

If you are new to exploring consciousness, this is a great place to start because it will make you question (perhaps) all of your old assumptions. If you have been on your spiritual journey for a while, One Mind will support your search.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 15, 2014 tinietao

“One Mind” by Larry Dossey, M.D. explores the subject of shared consciousness.

“One Mind” is thorough in its dissection of the topic, with chapters going into near-death experiences, savants, twins, premonitions/intuition, dreams and nonverbal communication/connection between animals and humans.

There’s something that connects us all, that we can tap into and use to gain insight, direction or knowledge – without using our normal senses.

Although it sounds super New Age-y and out there, the author cites a large breadth of scientific studies and support for this idea from researchers, scientists, doctors and professors. I was skeptical about some of the stories, but for the most part, the details of the cases shared were compelling.

Shared-death experiences were something new to me. They can happen to individuals who are near a dying loved one.

Dr. Jamieson, a female faculty member at the Medical College of Georgia, was visiting her mother in the hospital when she had a shared-death experience. When her mother went into cardiac arrest, she tried performing CPR – but it was too late and her mother passed away. All of a sudden, she was outside of her body looking down on the scene.

She saw light pouring in. When she looked to her side, her mother was there, and her mother’s friends who had already passed away were also in the light.

Each chapter is filled with numerous stories like this one. I thought this book was a pretty good eye-opener to what’s possible.

So many people around the world are having experiences like these and there are striking similarities between them. The idea of a shared consciousness that goes beyond physical limits helps to explain how it happens.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Hay House for review purposes. The following are my personal and honest opinions.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 15, 2014 somertonsmith
Thousands of starlings move as one in breathtaking murmurations. Individual termites work as one colony to construct elaborate nests with complex tunnels and chambers. Queen Elizabeth's dogs at Sandringham bark like crazy when they "know" she is coming, but while she is still half a mile away, out of sight. These enthralling, fantastic, eerie occurrences pique our curiosities and stretch our minds.

"It's also the sort of thing that makes skeptics scurry toward 'coincidence' with the desperation of drowning men clutching at straws." —Larry Dossey in One Mind

What's going on here? How do we live with these real events not yet explained by real science?

Larry Dossey would have us relax and enjoy them. He quotes Wes Nisker: "Just imagine how good it would feel if we all got together once in a while in large public gatherings and admitted that we don't know why we are alive, that nobody knows for sure if there's a higher being who created us, and that nobody really knows what the hell's going on here."

His book, One Mind, is written as a series of short vignettes about collective consciousness. The structure means readers can pick up the book, read a short piece, and then put it down to enjoy again later on the next coffee break. He writes about twins who share pain across time and space, near-death experiences, and the specialized, inexplicable skills of savants. He refers to Marc Barasch, founder and CEO of Green World Campaign, who coined the term collaboratory, for "a field of knowing that is greater than that of any group member and greater than the sum of a group's members." In a collaboratory: "Solutions to problems surface that we did not anticipate. We become more imaginative, inventive, inspired, productive, resourceful, and innovative"

In the past, scientists tended to shun experiments involving non-physical elements. These days, more and more scientists choose to explore One Mind topics. The entanglement and non-locality uncovered through the study of quantum mechanics pried open some doubtful scientific minds and loaned some legitimacy to One Mind study. When someone like Erwin Schrödinger said, "Mind is by its very nature a singulaire tantum. I should say: the overall number of minds is just one," other scientists paid attention.

Mounting evidence shows that something is going on, even though we can't explain it fully—yet. The events Dossey writes about might make us take the Golden Rule more seriously. We must do more than do unto others as you would have them do unto you. He says, "Be kind to others, because in some sense they are you."

"To become whole all parts must be left behind, for a whole is not the sum of its parts but a different state entirely." —Joseph Chilton Pearce, cited in One Mind

I don't know which audience for this book is more important: People who see themselves as part of One Mind, or those who dismiss it as hogwash. Those who see their individual mind is part of a greater consciousness can find reassurance in the many stories Dossey shares of One Mind events. Those who doubt it might learn to relax a little and settle into the wonder of it all.

________________________

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 08, 2014 alpha_andy_omega
This is a thought provoking book. Written by a medical doctor, it's a scientific look at spiritual subjects which are more and more crossing over into the world of physical proof via the experimentation of quantum physicists. You may not be completely convinced by all the anecdotes or evidence, but it will definitely make you think. Larry Dossey M.D. makes some brilliant points. He does a good job of providing several ways of looking at issues such as the Near Death Experience, our connections with animals, and Remote Viewing to name a few. The documented evidence regarding Remote Viewing is some of the must convincing in the entire book. Whether we are all connected to a universal mind or not, the human mind seems to be the final frontier, and it continues to get more interesting as time goes on. I'm grateful to the publisher for providing me with a review copy. I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 23, 2013 mindyperkins
I recently picked Larry Dossey's One Mind off the cyber-shelf. Amid many other self-help and spiritual choices, this one stood out in part due to the author and in part, the subject. In my world, the concept of the “One Mind”, or collective consciousness, is a really big “Duh.”(Of course there is a collective consciousness). But in the scientific world, I suppose the thought is pretty unacceptable. Dossey is a medical doctor who routinely stretches the solid boundaries of science, so I figured it would be a good mix of scientific proof and spiritual insight. And he didn't disappoint. He has set up the book to be read cover-to-cover or one chapter at a time. Because I am a very hap-hazard reader, this style greatly appeals to me. Each chapter is a subject covering everything from savants and twins to healing and love as proof of the One Mind. The chapters entwine with each other in spider-web fashion rather than build on each other in pyramid fashion. Therefore, this book is a good read as well as a good reference book.

I have to admit, that I had to “tune out” my spiritual mind for much of the time, as I don't feel that something like the One Mind needs any scientific proof. Thus, many of the studies conducted seem like juvenile play in a realm already proven for centuries. However, once you realize that it means that science is catching up with metaphysics, the studies take on a whole new life. In fact, as a teacher of energy healing, having scientific data to make the subject tangible is very exciting. Dossey sites a study done in Hawaii, reported in 2005 that tracks how distance healing lights up various parts of the recipient's brain. It is really handy that someone put years of work into explaining something that previously we just said “Well, it works.”

I guess my least favorite part of the book is the fact that it reads like an intense college text book. It has a tendency to dryly link even more dry quotes and facts together in a way that leaves you searching for a glass of water. However, he does quote people like Aldous Huxley who present the mundane human condition with wry humor.

Over all, I think this book is on par with Dossey's other works. And if the title interests you at all, dive in. You are bound to find one or two chapters that leave you pondering your existence or even lead to an AHA! Moment.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 06, 2013 sharmilapdc
An Inspiring, Timely Read!

One Mind by Larry Dossey, M.D. is a timely book that offers hope for humanity and illuminates a path for inspired living while attesting the gathering groundswell and paradigm shift toward the concept of a universal consciousness, or "One Mind" as Dossey phrases it.

Employing such controversial, and arguably fascinating, topics as Near-Death Experiences (NDEs), Extrasensory perception (ESP), Reincarnation, Telepathy, Twin Connections, Remote Viewing and Clairvoyance (to note just a few) to explain that we are all part of a greater consciousness that connects us across time and space, Dossey provides anecdotal and scientific evidence to buttress his stunning claims.

Dossey bravely purports to be presenting his ideas to "general readers", whilst attempting, or so it would seem, to supply sufficient scientific evidence to lay a foundation of truth and proof for the scientific community and convince those with even minor doubts of the veracity of his work. Indeed, Dossey spends a relatively significant portion of the book in a defensive stance, battling against a critical onslaught it appears he expects to come from fellow physicians, scientists, skeptics and naysayers alike. Dossey's protective instinct may not be unwarranted considering that the main thread of the book tests the status quo of modern science, however this proactive shield is an unfortunate distraction that runs counter to the central theme of the book and somehow dilutes the very essence of Dossey's message.

This attempt to cover all bases is also reflected in Dossey's writing style, which is at times fantastically fluid making for an easy read, but at others somewhat dense to accommodate his theoretic and philosophical explorations, rendering it an uphill march, even for a reader well-versed in the subject at hand. To be fair, however, Dossey does make a preparatory statement in his introductory chapter, advising readers that some sections they encounter will be more complex than others. His prescribed remedy: "if some sections are not your cup of tea, skip them." You would be wise to heed the author's advice in this regard.

The above criticisms notwithstanding, I found One Mind to be a thoroughly engaging and inspiring read. I found myself moved to tears (of joy) by some of the anecdotes, had several synchronous "Aha!" moments and experienced numerous serendipitous events while reading the book (e.g. intentionally thinking of my Dad who lives on another continent, in another hemisphere, and having him call me at that exact moment, when we usually communicate by email rather than by telephone). Although the general concepts in the book were not new to me, I still turned to Google with alarming regularity, and on one occasion to YouTube, to satiate my curiosity, which Dossey never failed to raise. I also found myself wondering about whom I could buy the book for, who could benefit from the message it contains and how it might be great material for a Book Club as most of the chapters can be read as standalone vignettes and could be chatted about accordingly.

There is one thing about this book of which I am certain and that is that it will have a profound effect on you and arouse a critical response from you, one way or another. As to whether you will wholeheartedly concur with the concepts presented in it and delight in the opportunity to learn from them; find validation and solace in the idea that we are all connected through time and space and you are not alone in your weird and wonderful, happy or sad experiences; vehemently oppose, reject or refute Dossey's notions; or arrive at a point somewhere else entirely along this spectrum - well that remains to be seen by you!

[FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.]
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 23, 2013 Jeff Dodson
The book, One Mind, is an amazing read. It successfully tackles a subject that, for some, is a formidable “out there” topic. For a substantial number of folks though, Dr. Dossey’s work and research will validate their experience and feelings that we are all connected to our Source, our Creator, but definitely something that could be looked upon as Divine.

The subject of this book is the existence of a timeless, ageless universal conscious intelligence source that we are all part of and have access to. It has been described as a WiFi system that we all are equipped with at birth. Further, a WiFi system that every living thing upon our planet comes with to not only connect with others of their own kind but across the range of other species of living things as well.

What I liked about the book.
The depth and breadth of research that went into it this book is evident as you dig into it. It is almost like an encyclopedic textbook. Dr. Dossey left no stone unturned in his gathering of stories, research and investigative material. One Mind is thorough in its composition and compelling in the premise that is showcased.

What I learned from this book.
1. A comprehensible explanation for what quantum mechanics physicists postulate as entanglement theory. Entanglement theory, a hard science definition meant to address specific observed actions of subatomic particles, as it turns out, may well be a fundamental description of a spiritual event that underscores a universal consciousness, a One Mind, accessible by all.

Chapter Four offers this:
“An object is said to be entangled if it cannot be fully described without considering one or more additional objects; it is as if the separate, distant entities comprise a single system. Entanglement has been experimentally verified many times over the past three decades and is accepted by the majority of physicists as a fundamental feature of nature”.

Nonlocality is considered to be the mechanism for the effects of entanglement. According to physicist Nick Herbert, “A non-local connection links up one location with another without crossing space, without decay, and without delay.” These connections have three identifying characteristics, says Herbert. They are unmediated (no connecting signal is involved), unmitigated (the strength of the correlation's does not fade with increasing distance), and immediate (they are instantaneous). The implications of entanglement and nonlocality are stunning.”

2. Near death experiences (NDE’s) and their related variants.
“ A Gallup Poll in the 1980s estimated that approximately 13 million Americans had experienced an NDE. One study found that, statistically, every day in the U.S. nearly 800 people have an NDE.”

Dr. Eben Alexanders bestseller, Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeons’s Journey into the Afterlife, is acknowledged in One Mind for how it describes Dr. Alexanders own extraordinary NDE.

Variations of the NDE include near-death-like events, the fear-death experience associated with the acute fear of imminent death such as falling during mountain climbing or being involved in a terrible auto accident. There is also the nearing-death experience that may arise during the gradual drawn-out process of dying from say a lingering, lethal illness. Finally, there is also the shared-death experience which can happen not to people that are dying but to people who are in the proximity of the loved one who is dying. They can happen to more than one person at the same time.

One element of a shared-death experience that the author writes about: “is the emission of an apparent mist from the dying person, often described by onlookers as steam, fog, or white smoke, which often assumes a human shape.”

This describes exactly what my wife and I both witnessed while present at the ICU bedside of my brother Tim when he passed away in 2005.


3. Telesomatic events and what they are about.
“In the 1960s, the American neuropsychiatrist Berthold E. Schwarz coined the term telesomatic from words meaning “distant body.” Schwarz documented events in which individuals experience similar sensations or actual physical changes, even though they may be separated by great distances. Hundreds of telesomatic events have been reported over the decades. They suggest that the persons involved are somehow linked through consciousness, as if two bodies were sharing a single mind.” Here, the definition of Dr. Schwarz sounds a lot like the essence of entanglement theory.

Who else would enjoy this particular book?
Anyone who has ever lived through a NDE or one of it’s variations that has been presented in this book will find Dr. Dossey’s work a fascinating one. It will also prove to be an interesting read for anyone else who is possesses a curiosity about how the human mind works and how it may operate outside of itself, connected with others and offering a link with those who have preceded us in death.

I loved the quote that preceded Chapter 10, Immortality and Near-Death Experiences by Emily Dickinson: “The only secret people keep is Immortality.”

One Mind is not a Cliff-Notes quick read nor was it meant to be.

The depth of material contained within it demands your focus. You should also bring along your curiosity and wonder besides your reading glasses. I spent a week getting through it and enjoyed the richness of documentation and the amazing number of heartwarming personal stories shared within about folks and their highly spiritual as well as sometimes paranormal encounters.

One Mind was an educational, thought-provoking and inspiring read.

Jeff Dodson
October 2013

FTC Disclosure
I received this book free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 12, 2013 BookLover
One Mind: How Our Individual Mind is Part of a Greater Consciousness and Why it Matters by Larry Dossey, M.D. explains that we are all part of one infinite consciousness referred to by the author as One Mind. This book is broken up into four sections which explain the concept of the One Mind. The four sections in this book are entitled: Glimpses of the One Mind, Working with The One Mind, Accessing the One Mind, and The Way Forward.

Throughout the four sections of this book we are given case studies and stories to show us how the One Mind works. We are also shown that we are all one. This book covers subjects on everything from twins to near death experiences and shows how these things relate to the One Mind.

Overall, I thought that One Mind by Larry Dossey was very informative and can show us that we are all part of a greater consciousness. I also think the four different sections are helpful in showing how One Mind works. My favorite part of this book showed how we access the One Mind through our dreams. The only criticism that I have for this book is that it reads like a textbook and can be hard to get through at times.

I acknowledge that I received this book from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 10, 2013 Eleven11
Larry Dossey's wonderful new work, "One Mind: How Our Individual Mind is Part of a Greater Consciousness and Why it Matters", is so much more than just a book - its an inspiring, thought provoking collection of stories, studies, and true accounts that offer convincing evidence of the reality of the One Mind and how we are all connected to this "infinite dimension of shared intelligence" - how we are all really One.

Through fascinating looks at subjects such as coincidence, telepathy, animals moving as one, the animal/human bond, near death expreiences, reincarnation, communication with the deceased, savants, twins, remote viewing, and so much more, Larry brings the reader time and time again to the only logical conclusion - that we are all connected and that we can all have access to all that is, has been, or ever will be.

I especially enjoyed the chapter on dreams, which Larry describes as a "universal doorway to the One Mind", and was delighted to find a chapter titled, "Love is the Last Word". Larry teaches that love is "a gateway to the One Mind because love tempers the forces of isolation, separateness, and individuality." Larry concludes with a comforting reminder of our eternal connection to the One Mind and all that is.

As I read this book, I couldn't help but think of one of my favorite scriptures:
"...You have an unction from the Holy One, and know all things..."(1 John 2:20)... "One Mind" is a record of that "Holy One".
Get Larry's book and acquaint yourself with the ancient and eternal One Mind that we are all a part of, where all really is already known.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 05, 2013 Lu47
One Mind, by Larry Dossey, M.D., is a well researched book containing vast amounts of evidence and case studies which explains that we are all droplets in a vast ocean of higher consciousness, in which we all have access. The stories contained in the book are interesting, touching on such subjects as entanglement, the twin connection and remote viewing.

On the downside, it reads very much like a textbook and, at least for me, was not an easy read. This is not a typical feel-good spiritual book. Nor is this a book on how to connect with universal consciousness. However, anyone serious about learning more about the subject of consciousness will find this book very worthwhile.

All of the case studies were very interesting and were similar to my own experience I had when I was nineteen. I was at work when all of a sudden I began to shake and cry uncontrollably. I knew something was wrong with my twin sister and was desperate to get a hold of her. Once I did, I found out that she had witnessed her boyfriend being attacked at the same time I was in distress. According to the author, this is an example of accessing the One Mind. Other such similar examples are found in this book and are truly fascinating.

This book demonstrates that we are all connected through a universal One Mind and that consciousness is real. And therefore, we all need to work together to solve the problems at this particular time. Hopefully, this book will aid in that noble goal.

Note: This book was provided to me at no cost by Hay House Publishing in exchange for my opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews