Book Reviews

Money, A Love Story

Kate Northrup

Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-4176-5

Having a good relationship with money is tough—whether you have millions in the bank or just a few bucks to your name. Why? Because just like any other relationship, your life with money has its ups a... More

May 25, 2014 angelinnewyork
Summer is here and it is a wonderful time to take the opportunity to get some tanning done and whilst soaking up the rays,indulge in some meaningful and insightful books. My latest read is Kate Northrup’s ” Money, A Love Story”.

I chose this book, as I personally love the self help genre. I love reading and educating myself on the fascinating books that always have an underlining psychological component. Our connection with money is a highly important one, because fortunately or unfortunately, as it stands in this day and age money most certainly rules the world.

In ” Money A Love Story”, the reader gets to delve into our subconscious and really establish just what kind of connection we do have with money. We get to untangle the myths and or unhealthy associations we have had with having money, wanting money or feeling like it would change us and make us an evil person. This book allows you to recreate your connection and to actually allow yourself to fall in love with money!

Once you establish a healthy drive to earn money and believe that money is indeed a good thing and can be used as a catalyst to create wonderful things in your life, the book then shows us how we can create ” financial freedom” for ourselves. The author shares her personal stories , woven into each chapter and this allows for a real connection and belief , that we too can create such freedom and success with money in our own lives.

Overall, I give this book 3 stars ( out of a possible 5). Like most books, the actionable items are great advice, however every single person on the planet is coming from a different place. Some have more capital than others, some have a far greater amount of debt. The author is also perhaps not necessarily an everyday identifiable character , as she came from money and had the luxury of having her family support her, whilst on the road to obtaining her financial freedom. Nonetheless, an interesting read, that challenges us all to look at our connection to money and to recreate our beliefs and connections to it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 10, 2014 margauxjoy

This book has shifted how I feel about money, how I think about money, what I believe about money, how I pay attention to our money, and I am glad.

I have now joined Kate's online community and am getting emails from her. I want to keep shifting my beliefs and develop great habits with how I pay attention to my money – our money – and how we increase our money.

Reading Kate's book slowly was important for me because I had developed limiting beliefs that I needed to shift into beliefs that empower me.

I love the way Kate uses humor and how she tells stories about how she go in – and then out of – credit card debt. Kate helps her readers learn from a combination of her own life lessons about money and the new ways she has of thinking about money now – after she began to change how she felt about money and creating new ways to think about it.

A love story with money – is it possible? In this book Kate Northrup takes us on a journey from where we are, when we start reading.

(There is a money quiz in the first part of the book that helps you know where to start and what will help you change how you feel about money – by seeing your answers to the questions in the quiz.)

I love the titles of the chapters:

1. What's Love Got to Do with It?
2. It's Not About The Money
3. Woo-Woo Meets Cha-Ching
4. You've Got You Babe
5. What Can You Do to Pay Attention?
6. You Owe You?
7. Feel-Good Financial Planning?
8. True Financial Freedom

I love what Kate's mom, Dr. Christiane Northrup, says in the foreword to the book. I've included three quotes from her foreword to the book below:

"We all have a unique money legacy, of course. And talking openly and freely about money in families is not common. so it takes courage – and the willingness to look at, and change, your own consciousness about this subject."

"Here's the whole truth. Our relationship with money profoundly affects our health, particularly the health of the second chakra… For years and years as an ob/gyn physician I have seen up close and personal how a woman's health is affected by issues of money, sex, and power – second chakra energies."

"I love that my own daughter, was brought up knowing the link between beliefs and health, has looked her own money legacy straight in the eye – and then, with love and tenderness, changed the barren parts into an oasis of consciousness and practical wisdom. Through the eyes of my own child, I can see how very far I've come from financial terror to financial freedom."

The book is about our relationship with money – and the emotions that go with it and that is why Kate titled her book, "Money – A Love Story."

Kate says, "I'm sure some reading the title will be appalled that I had the nerve to use money and love in the same sentence. To even suggest that money is related to love has the power to offend. Yet I'm so sure that unraveling our money woes has everything to do with love (and very little to do with anything else) that I was willing to put it on the cover of this book."

"To wake up every morning and do whatever calls to you, whatever the heck you feel like doing, is connected to your ability to feel free from financial strain and be open to what your heart is telling you."

Doesn't that sound wonderful to you? It does to me!

Read this book with an open mind and heart. The way Kate talks about money combines the spiritual with the financial. I love that about her book.

Changing your reality with money requires listening to what Kate calls "the voices in your head." Why? Because as Kate says, "Our thoughts create our beliefs, which create our actions, which in turn create our reality." And as Kate says, those beliefs can, and do, come from anywhere.

"If we don't pay attention to the thoughts that are creating our beliefs, our actions, and ultimately our realities, we're not actually in charge of our lives. Instead we're letting some random reporter from the eleven o'clock news, or possibly even worse, our mothers or fathers run our lives."

In my work as a coach, I work with people on their beliefs. We all have beliefs we've picked up that help us and beliefs that hold us back or create problems we then must fix.

What do you believe about money? Do you believe it can be a love story for you?

Kate's mentor, Barbara Stanney, author of the book and course Overcoming Under Earning, says that our degree of resistance around money is proportional to the degree of power available to us on the other side of that resistance.

Kate's realizations on an airplane (in her journal) about self-love…"I've told so many people that the root of all problems is a lack of self-love, but it never occurred to me that my money challenges had anything to do with that and that taking care of myself in this way has nothing to do with deprivation or limitation but everything to do with self-love!"

Kate makes a great case for taking great care of your money as being a way of taking great care of yourself.

Valuing yourself is important and Kate suggests, in the book, to write three things you value about yourself each morning in your journal. I've been doing this since I read that part of Kate's book and I look forward to it each day. It feels good to look back through and read what I've written on previous day.

Each day I start with the words: "I have…" and then just write what I feel inspired to write that day. Kate says not to repeat yourself and I am surprised by how different the value lists are from day to day.

The thing they have in common is they help me feel good and remind me of things I have to value about myself.

Self-value + paying attention to your money + giving more value = receiving more value.

Paying Attention is something Kate insists we do. She's gotten me to set a reminder on my iPhone to so that at 11 AM daily I check all of our online bank accounts. Doing this every day keeps me aware of what we have, what we spend, what's come in, what we owe, and what's in our retirement accounts.

I am feeling more thankful than ever for the money we have and I feel great about paying more attention to the money we have and how we are choosing to use it.

Reading Kate's book has changed forever how I think about money in some powerful and empowering ways. I feel more love for the money we have, more thankful for what we have, and more appreciative of what are are able to do with our money.

I've created a green file folder, as per Kate's suggestion in her book, that says: "Invoices for Blessings Received"

I like this shift in thinking of the "bills" as invoices for blessings we receive.

Each time I put a "bill" in the green "Invoices for Blessings Received" folder it reminds me that it's for a blessing we've received or will during the next month for example our cell phones and the ability to make calls and send text messages; the lights, TV, heat, washer and dryer, stove, microwave we can enjoy using because PG&E provides electricity and gas for us to use each month.

Money – A Love Story. I love the idea of money being a love story. Learning from stories Kate tells about her own life, her mom's, and stories of other people she knows made it easy to remember the lessons.

I love to learn from OPE – Other People's Experiences. Money – A Love Story is just that – a way to learn from the experiences of other people.

Reading this book – cover to cover – took me a long time. But by reading it slowly I was able to gradually begin to shift my beliefs about money in some empowering ways.

Is money a love story for me now? I feel like it's starting to be.

I feel inspired to keep paying attention, make choices I feel proud of, and to keep becoming a better role model in regard to money for our son, my husband, and for all who are in my Circle of Influence as a life coach, author, speaker, and radio show host.

I am glad I chose to review this book and that I read all of it. I plan to read it again – slowly – and move closer to creating a love story with our money.

I would have like the cover to be more colorful or to look more like money – perhaps using gold for the word MONEY and the piggy bank and forest green for the subtitle text. Maybe the second printing could have a more attractive cover but what's in the book is what is most important.

I highly recommend this book!

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions in this review reflect my honest opinions of the book.?

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 07, 2013 bellasoul
Initially, I reacted to the author with cynicism and doubt because she was pretty, young, had no kids, and her mother's name. I was also skeptical of the author's method of financial freedom (network marketing) due to my own experience with a different network marketing company. I was also uncomfortable with the book title, which I realized while reading the book was due to my own limiting beliefs about money. In spite of my resistance (I passed on the book at least once), I found myself drawn to the book intuitively. I was quite surprised to actually find much of value in the book (and ashamed of my prior criticism and judgment).

The book definitely contains quite a bit of valuable content and wisdom. I started marking many pages and actually doing the suggested exercises on paper (not just in my head as is my norm with this type of book). I had intended to donate the book to the library when I was done, but I couldn't resist making notes in the book itself and highlighting particularly relevant information! Having just finished the book, I already want to go back and re-read the areas I highlighted. I think I will make a note sheet to read regularly with some of the most impactful nuggets of wisdom.

I especially found the message and connection the author made between money and self love/value to be very important and awakening. In addition, the author's examination of beliefs and spirituality and physical health as these pertain to our finances really got through to me. The author's approach to attitude and generosity was a very healthy and refreshing one that speaks right to my soul! The idea/comparison of money to fertilizer is so accurate.

Though I found the book very worthwhile, I did have a few slight issues with it as well. In particular, the author's suggestion that kindergarten/school is free. Public school is not free. We all pay for it with taxes, even if we choose not to use it (we homeschool). Also, the frequent plug for USANA, the author's network marketing company of choice, seemed overdone. A single mention is one thing, constant selling is another.

In spite of the few small details mentioned above, I would highly recommend this book. I think it is probably the best book I've read about money and finances and I was a finance major in college! I was familiar with all the formulas, budget ideas, and practical issues related to finances, but the author's way of acknowledging the personal and spiritual aspects makes this book special.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. This review is unbiased and reflects my honest opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 03, 2013 MargaretLathan
What a fantastic experience! I can't even call this book a good read, because it was so much more interactive than reading a book has ever been. Kate encourages the reader to participate in their own healing around money... and of course money isn't just money, the self-healing goes way beyond that into our interpersonal relationships, our childhoods, our sense of self. I found the exercises very honest, straight-forward and incredibly helpful. I must admit that in the past I have been one of those readers who simply reads a self-help book through and skims over the exercises, but with Money: A Love Story, I felt safe and sound to really explore my thoughts, fears and obstacles around finances. From the very beginning of the book Kate walks you through your reality and your possibilities with a realistic but inspired tone. I highly recommend this book for anyone who has any questions at all around money. Though I think it is particularly helpful for those of us who have debt or live right on that line of spending what you make.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 18, 2013 AndyB
I really struggled with this review. At first glance, I was excited to read a book that would give me good advice on how to handle money and be debt free. I had never read a book about financial advice before, so this was something new that I wanted to try, and this book seemed promising. However, I felt that some suggestions given were not very realistic to the average population who is already struggling with debt and money issues, specifically the advice about getting help from a financial adviser. Not that the advice is not a good one, most definitely I believe it is, however it doesn't seem practical for me, for example, to spend money on a financial adviser monthly when I have real bills to pay.

The book is basically a workbook with several exercises, which I also found annoying at times. I would have preferred to read it without the interruptions of the exercises - maybe if they were at the end of the book, they would not be so distracting, in my opinion. The love money quiz at the beginning of the book was very good and an eye opener, though. I also enjoyed reading the suggestions at the end of the book about self help, seminars, sites to join, research, and the pros and cons of exploring the financial freedom freeways of residual income possibilities. Overall not a bad read, as there are really some very good suggestions and advice, but the format didn't quite work that well for me.



FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 16, 2013 livlovlaf143
Don't let the title of this book, Money, a Love Story, fool you. This book actually has nothing to do with loving money, but instead, is about how loving ourselves has a direct effect on our financial situations. It's something I personally never thought about, but it makes total sense. Our self worth is reflected in our jobs, salaries, debts and bank accounts, to name a few. Are you in a job that you love or just that's "good enough"? Are you earning top dollar or just what you think you're worth? We are financially where we are in large part because of how we value (or don't value) ourselves.

Kate Northrup does an excellent job of explaining how to identify what your relationship with money has been and how to change it for the better. She does this with wit and charm and her own real life examples of been there, done that. She has a down-to-earth and upbeat writing style and never makes you feel like she's judging.

She takes you through some fun and, at times, pretty eye-opening exercises which, for some of us, could be a bit painful - ouch! But as they say - no pain, no gain - and you will absolutely gain a clearer understanding as to why your financial picture is where it's at and also get the tools you need to make it better no matter what your situation is. It's an awesome book that's chock full of great financial insight and advice and leaves you feeling encouraged and excited about your financial future!

Disclosure: I received this book from Hay House for review purposes only and was not financially compensated in any way. This post is purely my own opinion of this book.


+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 15, 2013 stacymporter
Money…a love story? Why the hell not?

I don’t know about you, but I am tired of people of treating the subject of money like a trip to the dentist. Money doesn’t have to be a pain in the ass. It doesn’t have to be something you hate…why should it be? It’s what gets you food, clothes, electricity, DVD’s so you don’t have to watch commercials…but it also doesn’t have to run your life. It doesn’t have to be the top dog of the world, of your world, if you change your mind about it. It’s not as scary as we’ve been led to believe.

I had the honor of seeing Kate Northrup at an I Can Do It Conference in D.C. She has such a presence and such an amazing story. I grew up hating credit cards, because I have always been perfectly aware of the debt that came along with them. I never wanted one. Ever. But, what drove that declaration?

We are afraid of what money…that rush you get from swiping that credit card (Confessions of a Shopaholic, anyone? great movie). We want to deprive ourselves, because feeling good must be wrong.

Sigh. Groan. Grumble. Growl.

It does not have to be that way and Kate Northrup is leading a whole new revolution. We can look at our wallets with love from now on, even if we only have 20 bucks in it.

Take a quiz to see how good at finances you are. Figure out a better, more loving financial plan. Have what you want instead of having it all. Ask yourself, “What do I truly want?” Are you buying that…or are you buying more because you want others to like you or see you as someone your not? You see what I mean…Kate Northrup talks all about this, because she went through it all herself. This love story surrounding money comes from Kate’s personal story. She got in debt and had to figure a lot of things out…not just the pile of bills she had tucked away for fear of even looking at them, but the problem at it’s core.

Even if you don’t have problems with money or credit cards, this book is something you need to read. You’ll never think about money the same way again. This book doesn’t just change your wallet, it changes how you look and feel about yourself.

So get ready to love yourself :)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 11, 2013 judyshome
I just finished reading Money, A Love Story by her and I absolutely love the way she writes – she’s fun, she’s quirky, she’s cute and she’s smart.

For those who have been following the ol’ blog, you might’ve known that I went on a Spending Diet this year – I challenged myself to eliminate frivolous spending and to only focus on necessities. The story goes: girl finishes school, ends up with money to spend since a large portion of it wasn’t going to tuition :) . Girl starts to spend :) . Girl has a bunch of fun :D :D :D .

But then I ended up with a bunch of lovely crap (which, despite its pet name, I really, really, really DO love) and wondered if I was going a little too crazy. So, I declared a Spending Diet. Nine-months into this diet (with a few cheats along the way), I think I’ve been doing ok.

My cheats included expensive workout gear, books, dinners out…that’s mostly it. Everything else is pretty much groceries, rent, phone, parents’ bills, business materials (like soap-making ingredients, etc). It may have been the feeling of deprivation that prompted me to go a little crazy on the groceries on a few occasions (lol, nutritionist problems!) but I had successfully kept myself from purchasing an expensive phone, a $500 blender, an iPad mini, amongst other things.

After reading Kate’s book, I realized that instead of cutting myself from all “fun” spending, it might’ve been a better idea to have a Spending Cushion. She talks about putting aside a little bit of money every month, just for Me to do whatever I wanted to so that I would never get to that stage of deprivation.

She asks us to value the things we have, which I’ve been doing :D She also asks us to be mindful of the way we spend – not only with respect to the numbers but also how we feel when we’re spending what we’re spending. And to make finances a pleasurable activity.

I thought it was stretching it a bit when she called it a love story, but after reading the book, I get what she means. Instead of grumbling about how expensive it is to pay the phone bill every month, think about all the fun texts you had or the useful things you were able to look up online in a matter of seconds.

Ok, you may be thinking, this is nice and all, but…does she actually talk about how to make, manage and maintain money? The answer is a resounding “Yes!”

With her book, I started thinking seriously about making passive income – money you make without physically having to be doing something in order to make income. I mentioned it to my boss in a conversation and her reaction was, “Wow, you’re so young and you’re already thinking about passive income.”

I responded with, “I work hard, you know I work hard.” She agreed to that. “I’m just entertaining the idea that it can be easier.”

In this section of the book, I especially appreciated having the pros and cons listed for her suggested methods – it gives you the feeling that yes, it can be done, but it does require some planning (and doing!) on your part.

The final verdict: I’d like to read this book again and again. I have a feeling I might get something new from it each time I go through it. I didn’t know reading about money could be so fun, but it is.


FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 03, 2013 ecardenas

What you resist will persist. And resist I did. To be completely honest, money is something that I still haven't quite figured out, and it took me a while to pick up the book and to read it. Like everything in life, there's a reason why I chose to review new, amazing financial book by Kate Northrup: Money: A Love Story.

I've read some books on money and finance before, but none quite like Money: A Love Story. Aside from sharing with us her own personal finance journey, Kate also makes this book a guide with exercises that makes you explore your own emotions and feelings with money - from dissolving your childhood money beliefs, to getting over your fear of money, to ways to become financially free by creating passive, residual, and recurrent income.

And what does money have to do with love?

According to Kate, it has everything to do with it. Money can be seen as an extension of our self-value and love for ourselves. For example, giving value and receiving value is self-love. Two examples of this concept can be seen when we say yes to everyone. In her book she states, "When you're tired and have put no focus on yourself, the value you give isn't that valuable. Likewise, by "spending beyond our means, we're buying things that aren't in true alignment with our values."

Like emotional healing, money also requires healing. And healing is a return to love.

Aside from sharing her incredibly, inspiring story, she also shares practical exercises to do the "emotional" work with your own money issues. These exercises make you dig deep to the root of your own financial woes. In order to get the most out of this book, the exercises need to be done. Doing these exercises will bring to light your own financial issues and slowly diminish your money problems. After all, it is an inside job.

Finally, and for the first time in my life, I understood her philosophy on living with financial freedom in order to "be fully present to your purpose on the planet."

All of us have the right and deserve abundance in all its forms and this includes financial prosperity. Having this financial freedom allows us to be creative and to serve our purpose in this life.

After reading this book, I'm looking at my relationship with money in a new light. For the first time in my life, I have a sense of peace with my finances, and I've begun my own love story with money.

If you haven't yet figured it all out with money, then this is a book for you.

Reseña del Libro - Money: A Love Story

Lo que resistes persisterá. Y como he resistido. Para ser completamente honesta, el dinero es algo que todavía no entiendo completamente. Tomé bastante tiempo para leer este libro. Como todo en la vida, hay una razón por cual escogí este nuevo y asombroso libro de Kate Northrup: Money: A Love Story (Dinero: Una Historia de Amor).

He leído algunos libros de dinero y finanzas, pero ninguno como Money: A Love Story. Aparte de compartir un poco de sus finanzas personales, Kate también hace este libro como un guía de ejercicios que te hace explorar tus propias emociones y sentimientos con el dinero - de como deshacer tus creencias infantiles del dinero, hasta superación del miedo de dinero y maneras de ser financieramente libre mediante la creación de ingresos pasivos, residuales y recurrentes.

¿Y qué tiene que ver el dinero con el amor?

Según Kate, tiene que ver todo con el amor. El dinero es una extensión de nuestro autovaloración y el amor por nosotros mismos. Por ejemplo, el dar valor y recibirlo es un acto de amor a uno mismo. Dos ejemplos de esto sería en la manera que le decimos sí a todos. En el libro ella dice, "Cuando estás cansado y no te enfocas en ti mismo, el valor que das no es valioso. Igualmente, "al gastar más de lo que ganan, estamos comprando cosas que no están en verdadera alineación con nuestros valores."

Como el sanamiento emocional, el dinero también requiere sanamiento. Y el sanar es un regreso al amor.

Aparte de compartir su  increíble e inspirante historia, también comparte ejercicios para hacer el trabajo "emocional" para trabajar con tus propios problemas de dinero. Estos ejercicios hacen que llegues a la raíz de tus propios problemas financieros. Con el fin de obtener el máximo provecho de este libro, los ejercicios se deben hacer. Al hacerlos, uno puede ver los problemas financieros y poco a poco los podrán resolver. Después de todo, es un trabajo interno.

Finalmente, y por primera vez, entiendo su filosofía de vivir con libertad financiera para "estar totalmente presente a mi propósito en este planeta."

Todos tenemos el derecho y nos merecemos abundancia en todas sus formas y esto incluye la prosperidad financiera. El tener esta libertad financiera nos permite ser creativos para servir nuestro propósito en esta vida.

Después de haber leído este libro, veo mi propia vida financiera desde un punto de vista diferente. Por primera vez, tengo tranquilidad en mis finanzas personales y ya empecé mi propia historia de amor con mi dinero.

Si aún no entienden complementamente el dinero, entonces esto libro es para

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

Recibí este libro gratis de la casa editorial Hay House para esta reseña. La opinión en este reseña es imparcial y refleja mi opinión honesta del producto.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 29, 2013 ginadrellack
Money A Love Story is a phenomenal book by Kate Northrup. This financial guidance is elevated through its unique approach: loving yourself equates to abundance in your financial life. In other words, your money ain't all about the money, honey.

Now, before you start thinking that this is a woo-hoo book telling you that all you have to do is be positive and you'll get rich, think again. This path is definitely about specific personal action, but it does so from a perspective of self-acceptance, dropping shame, valuing oneself, and celebrating that you are inherently a unique contribution to the world.

Kate shares her background and experience, which shows readers that she has lived the full financial spectrum and knows of what she speaks. She's been in a financial black hole, she's pulled herself out, and she's opened into abundance--and we can, too. Her whole point is to share this knowledge and to empower others how to create the same for themselves.
Philosophy marries practicality in this money love story. Through tangible exercises you will understand where you come from with your finances, as well as specifically define where you want to go and how to get there. The downloadable workbook can either be printed out or worked digitally in a savable pdf as you go through the book. There are also many tools and resources provided concisely at the end for easy reference and support.
Necessity is one mother of an inventor--you can quote me on that. We all have our financial stories, and through this book you will learn how to mindfully write yours the way you choose, from this point forward.

Anyone who ever uses money will benefit from this book, whether you consider yourself "bad with money", a "financial genius", or anywhere in between. Additionally, anyone who may be looking to expand their self-awareness (even if not financially-related) will also gain from reading this book.

In my financial learning I have also been helped by Dave Ramsey, for whom I am also very grateful. Learning from Dave is like learning from your father, whereas learning from Kate is like learning from your sister. Get it?

I received this book from Hay House in exchange for my honest opinion of it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 26, 2013 paulonea
Kate Northrup establishes herself and her financial knowledge in her new release, Money: A Love Story: Untangle Your Financial Woes and Create the Life You Really Want. Being the daughter of a well-known OBGYN and author, one might think she’s riding on those coat tails. However, Kate candidly admits the hardship and success of her relationship with her mother, herself, and her finances in order to illustrate how emotions are tied into our own fiscal situations. If you are struggling with your money relationship (i.e. debt, no job, low income, etc.), and you’re ready to work on said relationship, than this book is for you. Get ready to dig in, to read and reflect on not only current feelings and money spending trends, but also messages of the past, and to relearn how to value yourself. In the chapter, It’s Not About the Money, one might question why Kate is writing a book about money if it’s not really about that. She grounds her point as such: “Money is simply a stand-in for what we value, and often it’s a stand-in for how much we value ourselves…Money flows to those who value themselves.” Along with many similar discernments, she references other’s works to solidify these concepts. Positive stories, humor, and honesty are threaded throughout, layering monetary insight that a reader could use in a practical way. This book is a good read; not too challenging in verbiage and yet the reader will need to take time and go through the journal exercises in order to truly benefit from the wisdom within. Happy reading!

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 25, 2013 hhreviewer2

Money A Love Story by Kate Northrup is a book about finances like no other. While the author provides solid advice about slowly digging your way out of debt, the real purpose of the book is to guide the reader in their relationship to and with money. This is done through, first, a short but eye-opening quiz that helps to pinpoint your thoughts and feelings surrounding money. There are then journal exercises that allow for the reader to go deeper into understanding their own money story.

The author also shares her own experiences. She, like all of us at one point in our lives or another, had a less than ideal relationship with money. Debt and overspending was as real to her as it is to those of us picking up this book because we're seeking help. I found that Kate's viewpoint and approach was particularly positive and uplifting. There is absolutely no shaming her. Only the acknowledgment that we need to make changes if we want to change our relationship to money.

I would recommend Money A Love Story by Kate Northrup to anyone not only wishing to change their money problems, but wanting to overhaul their relationship to abundance and money as well.

This is my review of Money A Love Story by Kate Northrup. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 18, 2013 somertonsmith

Does a trip to a financial planner sound less appealing to you than a root canal? Is money the cause of most of your relationship conflicts? Does your stomach clench when bills arrive? If so, this book will help.

What has love got to do with money? Everything, according to Kate Northrup. She wrote a book about money that's not about money—not really. It's about figuring out the emotions money generates in us. It's about managing our money "energy" in positive ways. It's about clearing out negative perceptions we hold so we learn to love money, ourselves, and ourselves with money. In other words, if we manage our money emotions and energy in loving, positive ways, the dollars follow.

Northrup dispels many money myths, like the "I can't afford that" myth. ("If you really wanted it you would figure out a way to get it. If it were VALUABLE to you, you would make it happen. So it's not that you can't afford it. It's just that you don't value it enough to do what it would take to get it."), and the "I have to be indispensable in my workplace" myth. (". . . if you're indispensable, you're stuck.")

To get the most value out of the book, it's best to complete the journal exercises Northrup proposes. They dredge up lots of interesting things you never noticed about yourself or your family, and they shift your perspective toward a healthy financial direction. She assumes, probably correctly, that most of us have debt to reduce. She puts us at ease with our situation. ". . . if you have debt, you've received value and you've not given the equivalent value back to that particular party in exchange yet. That's all it means. it doesn't mean you're a bad person. It doesn't mean you're a screw-up. You're not hopeless. You're not a mess. You've simply have some more value to give." She motivates us, so we actually feel excited to nibble away at that debt.

This book is written for a female audience. Men could benefit from it, too, but Northrup targets women. Maybe it's because we tend to freak out about money, or (still) look to others to take care of us, or sacrifice our own needs for others. Northrup wants women to find their own power in money. The more we learn about it, the more control we have over the direction of our lives and the better equipped we are to take care of those needs of others. She writes: "When we sacrifice our own well-being in the hopes that our sacrifice will help someone else, we just get two people who are living sub-optimal lives." It is putting the money "oxygen mask" on ourselves first, so we can breathe to handle what life throws at us.

I feel like a different person after reading this book. I look at myself and money through a new lens, and it feels good.

"The biggest gift you can give someone is your positive, loving attention. So why not give that gift to your money?

_________________

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 13, 2013 nurtureyourexistence
In the words of Kate Northrup, author of Money A Love Story, “clarity is power” and she’s opened my eyes to a clearer understanding of how valuing yourself and knowing what you value can directly affect you and your relationship with money. Even the financially savvy can learn a thing or two from this insightful and relatable guide. It offers practical tips and exercises that allow one to take ownership of one’s finances in a spiritually mindful, thoughtful, and meaningful way in order to manifest a life you desire.

Kate writes from experience and her story is truly inspiring. She expresses the need to build a solid personal foundation from which one can begin to grow a fruitful connection with money… a foundation that accepts economic adversity and transforms any negative attitudes about yourself, your life, and your personal perception of money for the better. It is on this path one can find the way towards financial freedom and true prosperity. Very powerful stuff!

I believe this book to be a gem and is too good not to share with others. It’s answered many questions I had about financial planning, prompting me to take a more active role and encouraging me to take steps towards my own “financial freedom movement.”

*I received this book from Hay House Publishing for review purposes and was not given financial compensation for my honest opinion.*
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 11, 2013 alpha_andy_omega

I've read fifty times my weight in self-help books, but Kate Northrup's "Money A Love Story" takes the cake as the one I had the most resistance to. I don't think I'm unique in the sense that money is a hot button, uncomfortable, emotional issue for me. It brings up a lot of fear and pain. I'd rather discuss my sex life with my mom, than discuss financial matters. That said, this book was a real eye opener for me. The author has been there, and done that when it comes to debt and overspending. The fact that she has overcome those stumbling blocks, and created a healthy, abundant financial situation for herself is extremely inspiring. Her book really gets to the heart of the issues surrounding money. Stepping into prosperity thinking is not an overnight change. I suppose that could be the case for some, but for many of us it's about baby steps, and not taking any leaps before we're ready. My favorite part of Kate's book, is where she shows how Esther Hick's Abraham material fits into financial planning, and taking an active role in being money minded. This is a fantastic book, a fun read, and inspiring. Certainly one to keep around, and reread over the years. I look forward to reading future books by Kate Northrup.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes. My opinion is mine alone, I encourage you to formulate one for yourself after reading this book.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 09, 2013 Yvonnemg74
I have money problems. I get money, and then it leaves. Many of us live paycheck to paycheck. Some of us have no paycheck. A lot of people have much more money going out each month than they have coming in. Is it something we did? I like to think it's a Universe thing. As a believer in the law of attraction and someone who tries to live with an attitude of gratitude, I believe that our thoughts and actions determine the relationship we have with our money.

In Money A Love Story, you will learn how to love money, create financial harmony and live a happier life. I love this book. It begins with a very telling quiz that helps you learn what kind of relationship you have with money. After that you are walked through a step-by-step guide, which even has assignments for you to do, that will help change the way you feel about money. The author, Kate Northrup, doesn't make you feel bad about having a poor relationship with money, instead she helps you want to strive towards a better relationship with it.

Whether you've only recently begun to have money issues, or you've been suffering them for a long time, this book will help you. Even if you already think you have a great relationship with money and have tons stored away in the bank, this book will teach you how to keep that great relationship. We all have our ups and downs and isn't it better to be prepared now?


*In an effort towards full disclosure, I must let you know that I received this book free from Hay House for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews