Book Reviews

Stress Free in 30 Days

Charles Linden

Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-4340-0

Charles Linden's Stress-Free in 30 Days offers simple, fast and targeted guidance to show readers how to quickly and permanently eliminate stress from their lives, regardless of its cause. As an added... More

Oct 28, 2013 RunToTheFinish

The overall premise of this book is good and the main points are good. So why wouldn't I recommend it?

I am a little put off by the number of times the book references needing to know the Linden Method because that's not something I am familiar with and not something additional I wanted to pay for at the time.

Additionally, it felt that many of the chapters were simply a recap of the previous chapters about healthy eating. Since this is something I fully agree with I understood the message, but felt like I wasn't getting new details.

If you aren't making good food choices or have a habit like smoking to break this book is probably a lot more helpful.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 14, 2013 Gwynne
Stress Free in 30 Days by Charles Linden This one took me a bit to get through. I don’t have the greatest attention span, so books like this that ask you to do one thing a day for X number of days have to be really interesting to keep me going. I had to restart this 30-day challenge about three different times before I finally made it through.

That’s not to say it’s a bad book; every single day was useful, it’s just that it started out with the sort of thing you see everywhere. Drink more water. Start eating right. All that stuff we all know we’re supposed to do.

I think this is why it was so hard for me to keep going the first few times. It didn’t really teach me anything new, so it didn’t really hold my interest.

But I did get something out of the book. I am a bit more aware of my health and how it affects my stress level, as well as how my stress level affects my health. I’ve restarted my meditation practice, sorely neglected over the last couple of years. I’m taking more time for self-care.

Ultimately, while these are all things we know we need to do, we tend to ignore them. How many of you make sure to drink a bunch of water everyday? Me? I’m horrible about that! We tend to skimp on the self-care, and then wonder why our stress level is creeping higher and higher.

Overall, I’m giving this one 4 stars. The suggestions are GREAT, but it’s a bit hard to get on track and keep going with it. Once you do, you’ll definitely benefit from this little book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 13, 2013 BarbBrown

Charles Linden provides practical steps to deal with the stress in your life. Is it possible to live a completely stress free life? Probably not, but the ideas he shares in his book will go a long way to help the reader maintain a balanced life even through difficult and stressful times. What I really liked about the book is the way he presented his information.

Instead of presenting a long list of things to change in your life all at once, Linden breaks it down to manageable ideas one day at a time. No doubt that if you incorporate all or at least most of these ideas you will see the benefit in 30 days or less. Definitely worth the read if you are stressed or prone to anxiety.

I received this book from Hay House to review.

Barb Brown, LPC
www.barbebrown.com

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 23, 2013 connielivingston
Stress free in 30 days? Is that possible? Although I haven't road-tested the ideas in this book in my own life yet, many of them resonate as truth. Many ideas in the book were new to me, and I've studied this area for a number of years. So, whether you are experiencing general stress, anxiety, or depression, I would recommend you pick up this book and give the ideas a try.

The book is really easy to read and I found myself quickly getting through a lot of the content in a very short period of time. The layout is easy so the reader can skim through and pick up highlights and get started on moving forward without having to read the entire book. Each chapter represents one day in the thirty-day plan and is short and to the point. For instance, Day Two is called Hydrate, Don't Stimulate. A few short paragraphs describe the action recommended in this area, lists symptoms the reader would be experiencing if they didn't drink enough of the right kinds of fluids, and ends with a list of quick tips, Foundations For Stress-Free Living. Some chapters list resources to support the individual who is looking for more information on that chapter's topic.

Linden says that many people in today's world experience anxiety on a regular basis. He recommends a four-pronged approach to supporting individuals who have this condition: structure, reassurance, knowledge, and support. Much of the book provides different tools to support this framework. There is a whole chapter about anxiety with many tips, ideas, and recommendations.

The author comes from a place of integrity: He used these tools to pull himself out of anxiety and other emotional issues a number of years ago. The Linden Method, as outlined in this book, was created within this context.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 25, 2013 CrochettoDani
Book Review: Stress Free in 30 Days
Recently I finished reading the book, Stress Free in 30 Days by Charles Linden.

"This is your life: as far as we know, we only get one... make it count, starting RIGHT NOW!" ~Charles Linden (Stress Free in 30 Days; pg. 198)

The Book as a Whole and the Author

This book as a whole is helpful for anxious people. I think that this book would help the kind of people that suffer from anxiety issues from panic attacks to Obsessive Compulsive. The book is 200 pages and includes an audio CD with various visualization tracks. The audio CD visualizations are incorporated throughout the book. The audio tracks walk you through "an imaginative journey" to the end wanted result, whether it be sleep or personal empowerment.

The author varies from very simple writing to developed thinking. Some of the chapters can be mundane and discuss the chemical reactions in the brain when anxiety or stress occur. When you are striving to be stress-free, just this part of the book becomes stressful. Linden's book seems to contain a numerous amount of fillers (i.e. repetitive comments). I do understand that some of Linden's points are worth repeating, to drill it in so to speak, but some are not worthy of repeating.

My Favorite Parts

The book covers 30 days (topics) that can help you lessen your stress. Linden goes from diet to massages and personal time. I feel like the main topic of discussion throughout the book is: UNORGANIZED people live in chaotic stress. Reading the book, I just felt queasy. I have been to the bottom and I have felt as if I were on top of the world. I have suffered from panic attacks and I have been stress-free. I have suffered from eating disorders and still fight with bouts of OCD. Let me tell you from experience, organization is the foundation for my life. I can tell you, I have planned thoughts and I have had every minute of my day planned......this only leads to more stress.

I did find a few parts that I loved within the book. Mind you, I liked these parts NOT for their relevance to the book as a whole, but more as an all round idea. I liked the goal setting chapter, as well as the exercise chapter. I have became intrigued with Tai Chi and want to learn more about it.

What I Got From The Book

I am not discrediting Linden or the Linden Method. From reading the book, I see that Linden has helped MANY people. That makes me very happy that others are able to move past their anxiety and issues. I find myself not being able to use this book. Some forms of stress are healthy. Organizing my every day plan and even thoughts send me in to Obsessive mode.

As a whole, the book is more helpful on how to live an organized well rounded life instead of becoming stress-free.

Hay House has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 22, 2013 hhreviewer2

Stress Free In 30 Days by Charles Linden outlines the differences between stress, anxiety, and depression, and then tackles all the areas in a person's life that could be affected by stress, as well as various ways one could beat stress. At first all of the suggestions may seem overwhelming to someone who is experiencing stress, unless the reader understands that all of these are simply that - guidelines for overcoming stress.

Charles Linden discusses topics as simple as dietary changes that could be made to meditation and taking time out for yourself on a regular basis. Stress Free In 30 Days is a wonderful resource for anyone in with any kind of stress in their lives and who is looking for a way to help them cope, even if it is not a stressor that could be overcome. I believe that someone who might already be familiar with most stress coping strategies may find something new to discover in Charles Linden's book. The bonus CD compliments the book very well, particularly the section on meditation.

I was not familiar with Charles Linden before receiving this book, although I had heard about the Linden Method for anxiety. His style of writing is very down-to-earth. I will continue to turn to Stress Free In 30 Days time and again whenever I need a strategy for coping with any life stressor that comes and goes.

This is my review of Stress Free In 30 Days by Charles Linden. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 21, 2013 lunastarot
I was pretty curious when I saw the title: "Stress Free in 30 Days", by Charles Linden. I had been looking for some direction to addressing my stress and low-grade anxiety that had set in this year. I wanted something I could work my way through at my own pace; something I could pick up and work with a while, then come back to again as needed. This book and the accompanying CD turned out to be exactly what I needed.

The book introduced me to Charles Linden, the creator of "The Linden Method", a Anxiety Recovery Program that is widely considered to be the most successful, curative anxiety-elimination program available. From his own experiences with anxiety, he developed a method of eliminating stress from his life, and adapted it to use as a self help program. The book comes with an audio CD which contains visualizations for deep relaxation, confidence, and sleep. Using this CD in conjunction with the book will help speed up your progress and recovery.

The book is broken into chapters that are based on a 30 day "topic-a-day" approach. You learn what stress is, and how it affects us on all levels. The chapters deal with elements of our lives that affect our stress and anxiety levels: Diet, Alcohol, Exercise, Panic Attacks, Sleep and Insomnia, Money and Stress, Relationships, Avoiding Confrontation, Goal Setting, Confidence, Conscious Choices, for example. Each day's chapter is packed with discussion of the topic, and practical, useable information for making immediate changes for the better. Each chapter ends with "Foundations for Stress Free Living", a "to do" list of specific things to try, actions to take that day that are fast, targeted guidance to get you moving towards healing.

The CD is a great bonus tool; I found it to be a welcome relaxation method which helped me embrace the changes and steps I was working with in the book itself. This combination of book and CD helps the material to become incorporated into your understanding and daily practice. I highly recommend this book as a very worthwhile read, and a good self-help resource.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions are completely my own, based upon my own experience.

--Nancy Matus
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 19, 2013 ChitownBlu
Linden does a great job of breaking up creative techniques to de-stress your life, such as the ppp method and the work time/ you time method. However, some techniques are unrealistic such as getting a weekly massage. Overall Linden has provided readers with an extensive list of ways to de-stress their lives And form the habits for a successful stress-free life.


These are my own opinions and I was not compensated for the review of this title.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 12, 2013 alpha_andy_omega
In Stress Free in 30 Days, Charles Linden does a wonderful job of explaining the difference between stress, anxiety, and depression, which people often lump together. He explains the differences in their causes, and manifestations. The main focus of the book is recovering from stress and/or anxiety. The author shows the chemical reactions caused by stress, and how they damage the body in the short and long term, as well as how if left untreated they can lead to an anxiety disorder. The 30 day program is easy to follow. All the solutions offered are helpful. It's not complicated, but it requires following through with it. Whether you're dealing with the stress of raising kids, or a high pressure sales job, this book could point you in a more productive direction. Within the first few days you should be feeling better, and find yourself more equipped to handle pressure and demands. The CD that comes with the book contains a short summation of how stress can mess you up, as well as several empowering visualizations to help you with relaxation and self-confidence. I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews