Book Reviews

Directing Your Destiny

Jennifer Grace

Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-4187-1

If you were given the chance to write your own future, and direct your own destiny, how would your life change? In this groundbreaking new book, author Jennifer Grace shares her insights—as a classica... More

Nov 24, 2013 CrystalChick
I just finished reading a book called Directing Your Destiny by Jennifer Grace. She's a former actress who has turned Shakespeare's famous saying "all the world's a stage; and all the men and women merely players" into a manifesting manifesto. Grace, who calls herself an Executive Dream Producer, works to help people discover their passions and realize their dreams. She believes that we all sit in the director's chair of our very own movie and most of us aren't directing anything. We're just existing and allowing life to happen to us. She says we need to happen to life. We need to put on our director's hat and start making things happen. In keeping with the movie theme, her book tells us how to write your own screenplay, produce it and direct it.

Because she's an actress, her book teaches the reader how to act as if the dream has already happened. Her affirmations are a tad different from most. Rather than, for example, affirming "The right love enters my life right now," she says to add the feeling you'll have when the dream happens. So she suggests affirming, "I feel so happy that the right love enters my life right now." And "I am so relieved that I have paid off all my bills so easily." Or "I feel thrilled that I am now working my own hours and helping people by doing what I love." She's a proponent of the "feel it real" law of attraction secret. You have to be emotionally connected to what you're trying to manifest.

Grace is an advocate of first getting to know yourself before you can know what you want to manifest in your life. Her book encourages journaling, meditation and something she calls future self-writing where you write letters to your future self.

She encourages people to ask three questions with their manifesting goals -- WHAT, HOW and WHEN. What is your goal? How will you accomplish it? When will you achieve it?

She also writes about how we need to overcome fear, try new things and ask for help in order to achieve our wildest dreams. She shares a lot of her own stories -- about how she went from divorced mom to in-love and from out-of-work actress to metaphysical teacher and speaker.

While there is nothing new in this book that students of manifesting can learn, her approach is different and fun. It's easy to think about our life in terms of a movie and it's fun to spend time script writing the way we want our life to go. She ends her book by reminding us "you are powerful beyond all measure. This is your life; this is your movie. You get to decide how it ends."

That's a great reminder for us all.

Happy Reading!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 10, 2013 kathiethaw
This is a very meaty book chock full of exercises and practices to do in order to “direct your destiny”. Take your time going through this book, and you will find yourself referring back to it. It’s a keeper. I loved the porthole writing; the book explains this wonderful technique.

I journal as a practice and have for a long time. There are new journal practices and exercises in this book I had not heard of before that are really, really good.

The setting of intentions and overcoming of fear exercises are fantastic. I really enjoyed Jennifer’s transparency about her own life; it really made it real. We all have challenges, and when we are transparent about it, it gives others permission to be honest about their own struggles and not be in that box of “perfection”.

Jennifer’s teaching about getting into character to manage that little voice in the head that makes us fearful was so helpful to me. I love the idea of being in the director’s chair and in character. The metaphor of creating a movie is one that I can really take hold of and use. Jennifer walks us through how to do all of these.

Jennifer also walks us through how to reprogram negative beliefs that are holding us back, how to use affirmations, how to use acting techniques to manifest your dreams, writing your script, nonattachment, and gratitude.

There are recorded meditations to go along with the exercises in this book as well. I am so thankful this book came across my path.

FTC Disclosure I received this book free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 08, 2013 bellasoul
Within the first few pages of Directing Your Destiny, I felt it spoke to both the skeptic and believer in me! I really like the author’s willingness to address issues with just sitting on the couch and wishing as she shares her own experience with the law of attraction, both without and with success. She writes from a casual, friendly voice and somewhat humorous as well. I recently read the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and after reading the first section of Directing your Destiny by Jennifer Grace, it reminded me a bit of Cameron’s book, yet with a broader appeal to everyone, not just professional artists.

My first encounter with manifestation books was the Secret (as was the author of this book). However, I’ve found myself resistant to read many of the ones that I’ve come across since. The titles or descriptions often sounded too greedy I suppose. I am not opposed to blessings and beauty and abundance and wish it for myself and everyone, yet, I do feel that not all material desires may be in line with what’s best for people or our planet. The author may disagree with me here, as she stated that one of her own goals/visions for herself was as a wealthy woman. I admit that I wouldn’t mind being a wealthy woman either; though the vision depends on how we define wealthy, how we get wealthy and how we use that wealth. Prior to this, the only other book (after the Secret and before this) about manifestation that I have chosen to read and finish was The Power of Intention by Wayne Dyer, which is mentioned in Jennifer Grace's book as well.

The emphasis on storytelling was right on time as I had just been introduced to storytelling as a method of healing from something I stumbled upon online. In the introduction, the author says, “I hope this book finds exactly at the point in your journey when you need it to arrive. In fact, I’m sure it has.” I think she may be correct as it seems to support and further several recent lessons and explorations.

While I noticed some similarities and ideas that I’ve tried before in the suggested tasks, sometimes things need to be repeated to remind us and for us to finally get it. I think people reading this book without having been exposed to much of this sort of thing before would find this to be a very comprehensive choice as the author has already done much of the work of compiling lots of information from various sources and experiences! The author has managed to include so many ideas that took me several books from all sorts of genres (photography, art, spirituality, health, the list goes on) to discover into her book that is very easy reading (even if the personal work to be done requires time and attention). I’ve kept a gratitude journal for some time (suggested by this author as well) and highly recommend it to others. I’ve tried affirmations before, but lost interest or enthusiasm due to my approach, the author’s ideas to align one’s energy with one’s intentions have inspired me to try this again with more confidence and understanding.

Overall, I’m glad I took the time to read the book and intend to utilize some of the author’s ideas and suggestions to deepen many of the practices I was already doing and add a few or tweak a few others. The way Jennifer uses the movie and director analogy to approach the topic of manifestation is probably the best description I’ve seen and easily understood. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in researching manifestation, the law of attraction, self growth and development, etc.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. This review is unbiased and reflects my honest opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 01, 2013 uma
Lounging in your couch and staring at a vision board all day long isn't going to do anything to accelerate the flow of abundance into your life. This is the premise on which Jennifer Grace's book Directing Your Destiny: How to Become the Writer, Producer and Director of Your Dreams is built. As an actress, screenwriter and filmmaker, Jennifer uses the tools she's most familiar with to fashion a road map to your dream.

The book is divided into four sections. In Part 1, she teaches you How to Become the Writer of Your Dreams; in Parts 2 and 3, she walks you through the steps to Becoming the Producer of Your Dreams; and Part 4 is all about Becoming the Director of Your Dreams.

The author uses a total of nine spiritual practices, divided amongst the four sections. These practices--intentions, meditation, journaling, and affirmations--are found in many books, but Jennifer's book breaks it down into doable action steps. There are journaling prompts, ideas on how to set intentions and release self-defeating limiting beliefs.

Being a Dream Coach myself, I decided to live this four-month program before I wrote about it. At the end of my month-long endeavor, I have a wonderful set of building blocks that used diligently will help me create the dream I want for myself. This is a step-by-step approach to creating a dream for yourself, visualizing it, writing down specific intentions and scripting the movie of your life. It is fun to do and easy to follow.

I enjoyed the process of "dreamstorming" and developing action steps: the What, How and When. For example, the What of your action step could be developing a logo for your business, the How could be deciding if you are going to do it on your own or hire a graphic designer, and the When is your timeline to get it done.

What I loved most about this experience was the concept of surrender. This is a practice we have a hard time with, because we live in the era of instant gratification. Yet, surrender is the most powerful spiritual practice, one that helps us manifest our desires even faster. When we surrender, we get out of our own way.

A powerful book to have on your bookshelf. But the real power is in applying its principles to make your dreams come alive.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purpose.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 02, 2013 Jeff Dodson
Jennifer Grace’s book, Directing Your Destiny, was an intriguing read.

It is the first book I have ever read that combines all of the effective self-change techniques into one integrated approach. Jennifer adds further spice and power to her instructive how-to book by sharing with the reader a number of motion picture industry techniques that are adaptable to guiding and assisting one in a personal growth transformation.

The book is arranged and set up to provide the reader with the equivalent of a month long training program designed to propel you through a substantial personal growth experience. It is written in a step-by-step fashion and easy to follow.

Week One’s instructions and lesson is How to Become the Writer of Your Dreams. This is where you are taught to become more mindful by cultivating an awareness to build your dreams, to begin meditation that will instill clarity in discovering your dreams, and to begin journaling as a means of writing down and capturing your dreams. According to Jennifer, “Journaling is an excellent tool for intellectual, psychological and spiritual growth. It moves you closer to your real feelings.”

Week Two covers Becoming the Producer of Your Dreams. What are the things that stop you from moving forward fearlessly? What is it that takes you out of your personal power? Intentions, written down in a declarative fashion about a future goal that you have already achieved and the positive emotional state that underscores it’s completion are introduced as one of the tools of change. You are beginning the process of reprogramming your belief system including learning how to neutralize those “hecklers that live inside your head.”

Week Three covers more of Becoming the Producer of Your Dreams. Cultivating truthful emotions to feel your dreams and validate them. Applying a tool set known as the Authentic Frequency Method (AFM). You write out a script from your imagination that you’d like to star in. Imagine that it is real. Borrow the strong positive emotions from one of your most positive memorable events and substitute that feeling in place with the script you are striving to bring to life. Then run the script and those borrowed strong emotions as a mind movie before you meditate.

Week Four concludes instruction with Becoming the Director of Your Dreams. Learning to work with the Law of Action. Putting into motion the vision that you have crafted. Time will never be found to accomplish something. You instead must create the time. Use the Dream Storm approach. There may be no’s that arise before a yes occurs with each of your dreams. Trust in and surrender to your source. Let go of expectations about how things will turn out.

In Directing Your Destiny, I liked what I learned about the following topics:

The use of Journaling
Differs from just keeping a diary. Journaling serves to provide you with access to your own personal truth, your dreams and inner wisdom. Journaling is one of the tools advocated by Jennifer in this book. I never kept a diary. I have never written a journal, until now. Clarification of how powerful the latter is helps. Journaling provides one with the opportunity to drill down deeper into your thoughts and feelings.

The Five Senses Check-in
A technique of focusing on each one of our individual senses as part of a meditation practice. Meditative concentration begins first with sight, then smell, sound, touch, then finally taste. Focusing on each one of these senses one at a time works to shut out random wandering thoughts that may arise to break or sabotage your meditation period. It keeps you on track during your periods of meditation.

Beliefs vs. Facts
The author writes, “A fact is a verifiable truth. A belief is what someone has decided is the truth. It may or may not be verifiable. But a fact is a fact and cannot be changed. You can, however, always choose what you believe. It doesn’t matter how long you’ve held on to a belief or where it came from. You can adopt a new one whenever you choose.” Many of us have journeyed through our lives burdened with beliefs about ourselves that began in childhood which, over the years, we came to view as facts. They never were factual truth, which makes them eligible for discarding or dismantling.

Dream Storming
Creating action steps to bring your intention or dream to fruition. Starts with an intention written in the middle of a sheet of blank paper. The rest of the space is to write in the action steps you will need to take to make that particular intention or dream a reality. The next step then will be prioritizing three of the action steps and holding yourself accountable with a time deadline on each. A technique that serves to start the flywheel of change into motion.

Each of the four weekly programs concludes with Director’s Notes which are reinforcing summary notes of the material, and a Soulwork assignment which are to-do action steps to take.

Unhappy with your present circumstance in life? Feel like you are stuck at a plateau and cannot find your next transmission gear? Grab a copy of this book. The tools and techniques within are easy to follow and just may serve to launch you into the life you were meant to be living.

Jeff Dodson
September 2nd 2013

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 28, 2013 Eleven11

I had already fallen in love with Jennifer through her show on HayHouseRadio, so I could not wait to get her book in my hands - and I was not disappointed!

I devoured this book in one evening, and now I will eagerly go back and follow through the four week program.

"Directing Your Destiny: How to Become the Writer, Producer, and Director of Your Dreams" by Jennifer Grace is inspiring and encouraging, and at the same time it is very well written and easy to understand.

Here's the thing I like most about Jennifer's book - I have found in studying and teaching, and trying to apply, the Law of Attraction, there seems to be something missing between the hearing of it and the manifesting part, and that is the doing part. I feel people are often confused as to what exactly to do, how to apply the principles to get the desired outcomes. And this is where Jennifer's four week program comes in. Jennifer has taken the tips and techniques she learned as an actress and filmmaker and created this brilliant plan to get you out of the audience of the movie of your life and put you in charge of how it turns out! This book puts the responsibility for your life and your dreams right square in your lap - right where it belongs! You are the Writer, you are the Producer, and you are the Director! And you've been doing it all along, whether you realized it or not. Only now, you can Deliberately create the life you want.

So there you have it, you've got a dream, you've got the power of the Universe inside of you to make it happen, and now, with the help of Jennifer Grace and her new book, you've got a fun and easy way to put the "lights, camera, action" into the mix!


FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 20, 2013 mommyinpa

We've all done it...daydreamed about what it would be like to have the house of our dreams, the job of our dreams, the life of our dreams. Well what if you could play a major part in making your dreams a reality. Well that is exactly what this book is about.

Jennifer Grace was at one time a SAG actress, a screenwriter, and a filmmaker. She takes her experiences in those fields and makes it into a very unique way of looking at positive thinking. Week 1 is about how to become the writer of your dreams (this is where the daydreaming comes in), week 2 and 3 is about how to become the producer of your dreams (setting intentions- this one I will talk about below because it is my favorite so far), and week 4 is about becoming the director of your dreams (what can I do to help this along).

This isn't just a story of how one person made their dreams come true. This is a literal step by step guide to help you make it happen. Each chapter is devoted to a few different techniques that you slowly integrate into your daily routine. She takes you through baby steps so that it isn't too overwhelming and she even explains the importance of each of your tasks.

I love how at the end of every chapter there is a review of what you are to be doing each day. This makes it super easy to just flip to those pages and make sure you didn't forget anything. I will admit that I have not mastered doing all of the things everyday yet but am working on it. It does take a little bit of time (but who doesn't have an extra 30 minutes or so if it means having what you want in life?).

Now above I mentioned how I would talk more about my favorite part of the book. Well my favorite part is the setting intentions section. Intentions are things that you want to make happen (ex: job of your dreams, home of your dreams, great health, etc.). She later has you make up six note cards with your intentions/affirmations on them. Here is an example I used "I am proud to see my photograph published", notice the wording has emotion involved. She explains all of this in great detail about how you really have to feel the way you will feel when you get what you want. Well about two weeks after I wrote up my cards I received an email from a bank that I had emailed some outdoor photos to. They had chosen one of my photos for their calendar's honorable mentions page. I have entered photos in contests like that before with no response so I like to think that my affirmation helped me out here.

I know I will read this book over and over, adding things to my daily routine to keep the positive energy flowing. I also love how the author refers you to other sources of information. There is a movie mentioned in one of the first sections. Needless to say, my daughter and I found the movie on Netflix and watched it that evening. This book is very inspirational and motivating!

disclaimer: I received the book below for free from Hay House, Inc. in exchange for my honest opinions. All opinions remain my own.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 19, 2013 Starry4ever
I have gone through all the steps in the book. I am seeing some results of my use of the steps and techniques. For example: I wanted the goal of my family communicating better. They started calling a bit more. I also been wanting to write books for a long time and never really started. I feel the motivation to start writing. I am in the process of generating ideas for a cool short fiction novel. I am also working toward helping my autistic brother do better. I like that I'm actually seeing results since I haven't in the past worked on my goals and dreams like I wanted to. I have been motivated.

I like how mindfulness and meditation are incorporated into the process. I haven't really been a big fan of meditation in the past, but now I want to make it a bigger part of my life since I know of all the benefits. I love the mindfulness practice. I know that both of these help with the whole manifestation process. I also like the process of journaling.

If you want to manifest your dreams then get this book. It can also help you learn to reprogram the false beliefs you have into more positive beliefs that will help you along the way to getting what you want in life.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 05, 2013 MissangelCardReader

Directing your destiny Written by Hayhouse Author Jennifer Grace is one of the most uplifting books I have read in a long time. Jen appeals to both men a women. She teaches us, how to take control of our life and not letting other people rule it. She teaches us Amazing techniques on how to mediate and find our own inner guidance.

I recommend this book to everyone who is looking for big amazing changes in your life.
What Directing your Destiny by Jennifer Grace did for me, My Destiny is as follows:
Last Year in October I became a Certified, Angel Card Reader. Angel Communication has been at the forefront of my life since I was a child, as well as Oracle cards. Jennifer's book gave me the courage to make this my Job and lifes Purpose.

I opened a shop on etsy and acted as if I already had many clients. My store is open less than a month and I already have 40+ clients and many, many people that are returning. I would not be living my Life purpose if it wasn't for this book. I also LOVE her radio show it has been so beneficial to me I recommend listening to it on Tuesdays. I am a Working angel Card reader Director of my own life.

GO OUT AND RUN to get this book NOW! Infinite love and gratitude to Jennifer Grace

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 16, 2013 cmwaugh
Be Your Own Writer, Producer & Director – Get Your Dream Team On!

“Look fear in the face and say, I see you. I feel you. But I will not let you win.”
Jennifer Grace

Like many transformation coaches have told me, “I must take responsibility for ending the mantra that everything happening to me is something outside myself being done to me by someone else.” I know better now, they were right.

As for author, Jennifer Grace, she’s right too!

To her I say bravo, outstanding, inspiring, encouraging and thank you for writing one colossal have-to-have golden book for personal responsibility and dream team transformation.

Grace’s book, Directing Your Destiny – How to Become the Writer, Producer, and Director of Your Dreams, is the colossal have-to-have golden book I’m referring to.

I can’t say enough good about the time, effort and personal examples that Grace was able to capture in simple, easy to follow language. She demystified the “out there” sense that we often use as an excuse about why our lives are in ruins.

I devoured this book in just four hours and I keep going back to the personal exercises she provides to make sure I don’t miss a step in her process.

To give you a little flavor for what Grace offers us in a four-week program, here’s a short list I’d like to share:

- How to stop over manifesting.
- How to get to the state of allowing your dreams to come true.
- What a color walk is all about.
- How to do her unique five senses check-in.
- How to get your mind to be “quiet on the set.”
- How to rewrite your script using future self exercises.
- Learn about a new and interesting manifestation process.

This list is definitely not everything this book offers. There’s more, lots more!

Experience Grace’s fabulous stories, soulwork, and her process to become your own writer, producer and director to get your dream team on.

As for me, I’m feverishly working through her program pre-screening my pilot season for production. Until later, it’s a wrap!

I send you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(NOTE: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 14, 2013 timlarison
At age 37 Jennifer Grace’s life had no direction. “I had no idea who I was, where I was going, or what I wanted to be when I grew up,” she writes. “I had wrapped myself up in false identities that I thought had been my life’s purpose: wife, actress, filmmaker, nonprofit director, photography manager, fitness instructor, dance-company owner. But the only thing I had really become was a walking zombie.” Grace came out of this state to become a transformational speaker and author, based on principles of the Law of Attraction. She shares what she learned in her new book “Directing Your Destiny: How to Become the Writer, Producer, and Director of Your Dreams”.

I have read a few books and I have listened to a number of speakers on the Law of Attraction, and I thought Grace’s treatment of the topic was one of the most practical and easy to understand yet. I liked her analogy of making a movie to how you visualize your own life – a metaphor she uses throughout the book to drive home her key points. Meditation, Gratitude, Journaling, Visualization with Emotion are a few of the techniques Grace recommends in her book to manifest the life of your dreams.

“Directing Your Destiny” is not just filled with pie in the sky positive thinking type messages. What if you follow all the “law of attraction” principles and nothing is happening? “No one ever picked up a guitar and became a rock star on the first day,” she writes. “As with playing an instrument, learning how to become the director of your dreams takes practice and a bit of daily discipline.” The author gives examples from her own life of when she hit roadblocks, and how she overcame those. I especially liked her story of how she did not win a Hay House writing contest on her first attempt, yet she pressed on and did eventually win a publishing contract. The key was action on her part. “If I had just visualized being a Hay House author … it would not have happened,” she recalls. “We need the ‘Will’ to get up off the couch,” she counsels, “and the ‘Grace’ to allow Source to codirect our movies with us. Nothing happens without action and surrender.”

“A life that’s produced well is a life where things flow effortlessly and synchronize automatically with your goals,” Grace writes. “When you are in alignment with your true self, you will experience a natural flow that carries you from one breakthrough to another.” I wish my life was more like that – often it isn’t. “Directing Your Destiny” did give me a number of practical tips to get myself back in alignment, and I think it will for you, too.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 13, 2013 ClorisKylie
Doesn’t your life feel like a movie sometimes?

Some characters play major roles in the most important scenes, and then leave. Others just make a cameo appearance. A few play a role for the duration of the whole movie.

Some scenes give you the goose bumps. Some bring you to tears. Some make you laugh hysterically.

Yup. This is your life.

So what if there was a guide to become the writer, director, and producer of your movie?

That’s what Jennifer Grace offers in Directing Your Destiny, a book that was a pleasure to review.

I was able to relate to Ms. Grace’s journey to grow spiritually and to pursue her calling in life. Like many of us, she stumbled along the way until she aligned with the Truth. And once she was aligned, all the pieces started to fit together in the perfection that can only happen when our connection with our divine Self is free of interference.

The book presents a four-week program to apply the eight practices that lead to the manifestation of your desires:

1. Observing Mindfulness—for contact with your True Self.
2. Practicing Meditation—to open space in your mind so the solutions can come to you.
3. Journaling—as a tool to achieve the clarity you need to reach your goals.
4. Setting intentions—to define your purpose.
5. Reprogramming your belief system—to nullify judgment.
6. Authentically acting “as if”—to assume the feeling of your wishes materialized.
7. Cultivating will—to get off the couch and take action.
8. Eliminating attachments—to surrender the outcome of your efforts to the Highest Power.
9. Cultivating gratitude—to align yourself with the essence of who you are.

There were two exercises that I found especially thought-provoking. The first was the creation of lists during your journaling practice. You are prompted to think about what you want to create, places you want to visit, ideas that excite your curiosity, and activities worth staying up all night for.

The second exercise was to determine who is part of your “Itty Bitty Shitty Committee.” Perfect name! This Committee is the group of people whose judgments and criticism have shaped your concept of yourself and have contributed to the negative self-talk in your head. Some of the people in my private Committee probably have no idea they are part of it! I also wonder if I’m in someone else’s Committee!

Overall, this is a great read that will allow you to see the process of manifestation from a different angle. Kudos to this new Hay House author!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 01, 2013 Lu47
Directing Your Destiny: How to Become the Writer, Producer and Director of Your Dreams, is a different take on the Law of Attraction, a book by Jennifer Grace. In this book, she explains the key element of the Law of Attraction is to believe in your dreams on a heart level. Many people believe it is enough to just think positive thoughts and make positive affirmations. However, Jennifer advises that you must also use feelings and action to ensure the successful attainment of your goals.

Jennifer’s program requires perseverance and a daily commitment of at least 30 minutes. If you are unable to devote the time to this program, this book may not be right for you. And, although this book addresses negative thinking, if you are stuck in this mode of thinking, it might be prudent to develop positive thinking habits before attempting this four week program.

The first week involves learning to stay in present moment awareness, week two focuses on establishing goals and setting intentions, week three uses visualizations to assist in feeling your dreams coming true, and week four is all about taking action to manifest your goals into reality.

In short, this book is a teaching of the Law of Attraction using the movie business as a different spin on making your dreams come true. The program is simple to follow, as long as you are willing to create the time to follow the exercises and do a little meditating. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn more about how the Law of Attraction can change your life.

NOTE: This book was provided to me at no cost by Hay House Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 27, 2013 aamowry
Directing Your Destiny – How to Become the Writer, Producer, and Director of Your Dreams is a book that will take you on a four week journey of actionable steps to focus attention and manifest what you desire.
As Jennifer presents the four week process, I highly enjoyed the personal stories and those of her students. Weaving them throughout the process made it easy to see just how powerful the four weeks can be. For someone that is a process driven learner, and seeing set actionable ways to approach the subject, I found the layout and presentation easy to follow and downright fun.

Although the subject of manifesting is not something new and I have read numerous books on manifesting, meditation, and being present, Jennifer’s book is the first to provide a step by step approach that is easy to adopt. I suggest reading through the book all at once, it is so engaging most likely it happen naturally, and then go back to implement the weekly routine.

A breakdown of the nine practices included:

o Practice 1 – Mindfulness
o Practice 2 – Meditation
o Practice 3 – Journaling
o Practice 4 – Setting Intentions
o Practice 5 - Reprogramming Your Belief System
o Practice 6 – Authentically Acting as If
o Practice 7 – Getting off the Couch
o Practice 8 – Nonattachment
o Practice 9 – Unlimited Abundant Flow

In addition to the book Jennifer has a great website and is especially engaging on Hay House Radio. I would suggest perusing both in addition to purchasing this book. I look forward to more great things from Jennifer Grace. I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. This is my unbiased opinion and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 24, 2013 alpha_andy_omega
What I enjoyed most about Jennifer Grace's Directing Your Destiny, is that it's such a well thought out, and vividly presented plan that you don't even need to take notes to refer back to while you're putting her ideas into action. It's a powerful system of 30 transforming days. Four specifically themed weeks can take you from where your life is now, to a whole new show. The movie metaphors work incredibly well for portraying how possible transformation really is. If you've ever done any acting, directing, or writing at any level, you'll really enjoy this book. Even if you haven't, we're all creative spirits on some level. We're all armchair directors when we want to be. There is some mind boggling, life changing material here that is definitely worth checking out. My initial concern when I first saw the title, was that it was going to be a sort of instruction manual on "fake it til you make it" manifestation. It isn't that, it's an empowering way of looking at your life, and it morphs easy so you can personalize the author's thoughts and examples. The book also gives you access to a website where you can download guided meditations. I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 19, 2013 hhreviewer2

Directing Your Destiny by Jennifer Grace is a book that takes the Law of Attraction and details a four-week step-by-step guide that absolutely anyone can use and benefit from. In fact, Jennifer adds the Law of Attention and Law of Action because, as she points out, the Law of Attraction is more than just sitting around thinking positive thoughts. You also have to be aware of your own internal dialogue, believe and feel that positivity, and take action.

There is nothing new in Directing Your Destiny, of course, but this is a great book for somebody who wants to manifest things in their own life but doesn't know where to start. Jennifer's process may be simple but it is not simplistic. She outlines tools for meditation, affirmations, and good old fashioned imagination to help the reader discover their own dreams. I highly recommend doing all of the practices that suggests because it will bring greater clarity to one's own process.

Directing Your Destiny by Jennifer Grace is a fun and very lighthearted approach to the Law of Attraction, manifestation, and achieving one's dreams.

This is my review of Directing Your Destiny by Jennifer Grace. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 08, 2013 BookLover
Directing Your Destiny: How to Become the Writer, Producer, and Director of Your Dreams by Jennifer Grace is a wonderful book on manifestation. She uses her history as an actress to show us how to manifest our dreams. We learn to write the movie, produce it, and direct it.

The book takes us through four weeks to learn how to create our dreams. The book contains practices for us to do to implement into our lives to help us manifest what we want. During the first week we learn to focus and figure out what our dreams are. During the second week we learn to get rid of negative thought patterns and believe in our dreams. During the third week we learn to feel our dreams and finally to surrender them to a higher power.

This book is simply amazing. I could not put it down. I read it through completely once to get an overview and am now going back and taking it week by week.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn to manifest their dreams in a new, enjoyable, and fun way. I loved this book and cannot wait to read more from Jennifer Grace. I will be going back to this book again and again.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews