Book Reviews

The Inside-Out Revolution

Michael Neill

Inspirational, Spirituality, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-4241-0

Would you like to experience amazing clarity, peace, and freedom, even in the midst of challenging circumstances? In this groundbreaking new book, bestselling author Michael Neill shares an extraordi... More

Jul 24, 2014 KatrinaSimeck
I rec'd this book for review an embarrassingly long time ago. I've struggled with what to write because I really, really wanted to like this book....but it just didn't resonate. I thought that maybe if I put it down for a bit, and then started again, that I'd be able to warm up to it. Nope.

What I loved: sadly, nothing. :(

What I left: I found Michael's writing style to be a little too "sales-pitchy" - my grandfather used to refer to 'snake-oil salesman' - and that's the description that came to mind as I read. I read a lot (no, really - a LOT) of self-improvement titles, and I work to put into practice the techniques and principles that feel right. This book is clear from the beginning that it won't offer tools - "There are no techniques anywhere in this book - there's nothing for you to learn, remember, practice, or do. I'm simply going to point us toward some fundamental truths about life and we'll see what we can see." I guess that's a little too vague for me.

I rec'd a copy of this book from Hay House for the purposes of this review. Opinions expressed are my own, and no other compensation was rec'd.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 25, 2013 manualonzi
Today you will hear many people say that all you need to do is think positively and everything will be ok, you’ll be happier. This does help, up to a certain point. There are many books available that discuss this, and their theory behind it is to live in the present moment. This is true, however I always felt that there was a missing piece, a key per se, which goes a step further in explaining how to do this.

I found this book, The Inside-Out Revolution by Michael Neil to be an easy read and I was able to read this in less than one day while travelling. The author’s writing style in very simple to understand and the concepts are easy. The book was built on the works of Syd Banks and George Pransky and is about mind, thought and consciousness which is believed to be the path to understanding how life works and to being liberated and happy. I must admit that a few times in the beginning, the first 20 pages or so, I was tempted to stop reading as I felt that the author was rambling a bit, talking about how easy it is to implement this new way of thought but was not actually revealing how to reach this state. What kept me going was the fact that he actually kept stating to not give up, and give the book a chance.

What was shocking to me was that while reading this book, I had a huge epiphany when I read on page 31 “we’re living in the feeling of our thinking, not the feeling of the world.” I read it in just the nick of time and was able to side step a huge and impactful mistake which would have caused some serious consequences. I realized right then that I WAS indeed living in my feeling of my thinking. I was assuming that people were miserable and needed saving, when in fact, they were happy and content and didn’t need my help at all. It was ME that was miserable. When I understood this I was able to let go of my preconceived notions and sit back and enjoy life. This lesson alone made reading the book worthwhile.

Although it seems that the concepts of awareness are simple and easy to do, they are impactful. I am pleased that the author includes a section for further reading. I also like the fact that, even though the book is short and simple, at the end of each chapter the author summarizes the points of that chapter.

I found this book to be profound. I highly recommend this book.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgement of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 13, 2013 Lu47
There are many books available which discuss the benefits of living in the present moment and the book, The Inside Out Revolution, by Michael Neill, explains how to achieve that state of mind without using any kind of complicated techniques or elaborate meditations. This book can assist those who are new to the idea of present moment awareness, as well as those already familiar with this concept.

Unlike other books of this kind, this book explains how to easily stop the incessant mind chatter from stealing our peace of mind and restore happiness. At the same time, the book encourages us to surrender the obsessive control many of us cling to in our lives. It also briefly and succinctly discusses the issue of free will. However, the reader will only experience the benefits of present moment awareness if they follow the guidance found in the book, but it takes practice.

The author does not advise suppressing thoughts, but instead discusses the concept of just observing that you are thinking and focusing on your feelings. The author explains how in following this practice, it provides us with the opportunity to create a greater connection to Divine guidance. This book is an easy and fast read, and requires no special skills in order to follow the technique described within. And, although the concept of present moment awareness seems simple, when done correctly, it is life changing. I highly recommend this book.

Note: this book was provided to me at no cost by Hay House Publishing in exchange for my opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 22, 2013 Jeff Dodson
The author of this book is an established well known radio show host, transformational coach, and best-selling author of the books, You Can Have What You Want, Supercoach, Feel Happy Now, and several others.

There are many books and seminars out there that claim to offer the secrets of living a more authentic, a more empowered, a more stress free life. I have read many of them and have attended a few of the seminars over the years. Each have a couple of things in common: focusing on developing a positive mental outlook, and putting into play many new external transformative action habits. What makes Michael Neill’s book unique and distinctive here is his approach. Inside out understanding is what he describes it as. A descriptive quote by his mentor, Syd Banks, about the approach is the following: “The difference between riding on and down a twisting, jarring roller coaster and floating down a river.”

Michael Neill had this to say about our societies outside thinking mindset:
“The prevailing model in our culture is that our experience of life is created from the outside in - that is, what happens to us on the outside determines our experience on the inside. People or circumstances ‘make’ us happy, angry, sad, fearful, or loving, and the game of life is to find, attract, create, or manifest the right people and circumstances in order to have more of the good feelings and fewer of the bad ones.”

Author Neill bases his writing on what he calls The Three Principles. They are:
1. Mind.
There is an energy and intelligence behind life.

2. Consciousness.
The capacity to be aware and experience life is innate in human beings. It is a universal phenomenon. Our level of awareness in any given moment determines the quality of our experience.

3. Thought.
We create our individual experience of reality via the vehicle of thought. Thought is the missing link between the formless world of pure potentiality and the created world of form.

Remember- and this is very important - you’re only one thought away from happiness, you’re only one thought away from sadness. The secret lies in Thought. It’s the missing link that everybody in this world is looking for.

This last point is the secret missing link that bears repeating again. We have a selective choice by way of thought whether to experience happiness, something positive and meaning ful, or, negative and sad, dragging you down emotionally. The element of thought is one of interpretation. What we choose to do with potential by then giving a form to it.

I loved this next quote by Neill’s mentor, Syd Banks that has to do with that transformative moment: “When you are ready, you will find what you’re looking for. I don’t care who you are. I don’t care where you are. If you’re in the middle of the Sahara Desert...and it’s time for you to find the answer, the right person will appear in the middle of the desert and let you know.”

At the end of each chapter, Michael Neil summarizes the points of that chapter. At the end of chapter eight, The Paradox of Results, he synthesizes what he has written about into these five points.

v The moment we see that every feeling is just the shadow of a thought, we stop being scared of
our feelings and just feel them.

v We’re playing with the house’s money. There’s nothing real at stake. The only thing we have
to loose is the illusion that something outside us can make us happy, safe and secure.

v When you’re playing to play, being alive is the best game in town.

v Humility isn’t thinking less of yourself; it’s thinking of yourself less.

v How things ultimately turn out isn’t up to us. It never was. But if we do our bit and play our
part, it’s remarkable how far we can go.

The difference in making a change in one’s mindset in how we view things can indeed unchain us from limitations we bound ourselves up in. The following observation by Ludwig Wittgenstein offered in the book is a sublime one. “A man will be imprisoned in a room with a door that’s unlocked and opens inwards as long as it does not occur to him to pull rather than push.”

I loved the simplified teachings of this book. Much of what Michael Neill writes about in The Inside Out Revolution has resonated for me in my journey as a family caregiver. Our strengths and attributes are to be found within, not externally.

If you are a voracious reader as I am, move this book to the front of the line as the one you read next. Simple is often profound and transformational.


Jeff Dodson
July 22nd 2013

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 18, 2013 kauld
I was intrigued when I read the title of Michael Neill’s new book “The Inside Out Revolution: The Only Thing You Need to Know to Change Your Life Forever.” I like to listen to Michael on his weekly talk show on Hay House Radio, Supercoach. I find Michael to have a straight forward, gentle yet pragmatic coaching style when he is working with the callers on the show. It’s fun to hear the “a-ha” moments the callers have when they are on the phone with Michael. So what is this thing that Michael thought was so important to write a whole book about?

It turns out the thing is a concept and a person too. Let’s start with person. Syd Banks. Syd was a normal guy just trying to make it through his day until he had what he describes on his website, “…a profound spiritual experience that revealed to me three, long lost, divine principles that are the foundation of all human experience.” Teaching the three principles of Divine Mind, Divine Consciousness and Divine Thought was Syd’s mission. Upon his own research, Michael realized how Syd’s work influenced many others and decided to learn more about it.

Michael explains that the Mind, Consciousness and Thought principle can be broken down to “three spiritual facts: we are alive, we are aware and we think.” Throughout the book Michael provides insights and stories to further connect the reader to the power of these three simple principles. Michael does a great job building the teaching he presents by breaking the book into three parts: Part 1: Shifting Foundations, Part 2: Expanding Possibilities and Part 3: Living the Dream.

Most people feel that it is the outside world that creates their experience of life. I used to work with this person who would have a scowl on their face all day if they experienced traffic delays on the way to work. This foul mood would even permeate into our afternoon meetings. If called out on this, the person would say, “Well, I had a bad morning.” I wanted to shake this person and say “OK, but now you’re in this meeting with us and there is no traffic. Be here with us now.” Maybe I should send this person Michael’s book.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 09, 2013 hhreviewer2

The Inside-Out Revolution by Michael Neill begins with a great deal of hype suggesting that it is the only thing anyone would ever need to know to change their lives and themselves for the better. Admittedly, I was very curious as to what it was all about. What message could possibly change my life for the better? The author goes on to say, in the beginning of the book, that there will be no activities to do nor steps to implement either. That the information itself will have a profound effect just by reading the book.

The Inside-Out Revolution addresses in detail three universal principles tied into Sydney Bank's work: Mind, Consciousness, and Thought. The message is that our thoughts determine our reality and inform our emotions. However, the twist on this message is not to use affirmations or positive thinking to necessarily change our thoughts. It is to simply acknowledge that, not only do we create our own thoughts, but that our thoughts do not reflect reality. They are merely a construct. The sooner we can recognize that our thoughts aren't real, the sooner we can be free of the suffering our thoughts cause. And our emotions will follow.

The Inside-Out Revolution is very short, quick read and Michael Neill is incredibly engaging as an author. The stories he tells which support his message and also outline how George Pransky's work changed his life are, in my opinion, the most interesting compared to the message itself. I can honestly say that I finished the book a week ago and don't know if I feel any different as far as absorbing the message without "doing" anything. Perhaps only time will tell.

This is my review of The Inside-Out Revolution by Michael Neill. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 30, 2013 BookLover
The Inside-Out Revolution: The Only Thing You Need to Know to Change Your Life Forever by Michael Neill is a book on simply being. This book introduces us to three principles which are:

1. The God Principle: Mind

2. The Awareness Principle: Consciousness

3. The Creative Principle: Thought

Using these three principles we remember how to simply be. We are shown that meditation is our natural state and that a quiet mind is also a natural state.

I found this book to be a short and conversational read. While there are no practices in this book or exercises to do I found it very easy to implement the three principles. We are shown that we need to live from the inside out instead of the outside in.

I especially liked the principle of thought and how if you simply think something new (by just using your next thought) you can change your was of seeing the world. I thought this book was very insightful.

I would recommend this book to those who are looking for a way to get aback to their natural self and return to their default settings. This book was a very good read and I will definitely read it again.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my unbiased review of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 28, 2013 ddawley
This is a short book. I read it in one sitting. The next day, I read it again. The fact that it is short is good. Most authors try to expand a small amount of content into the standard 200-250 pages, when they probably could have presented their entire idea in less than 50. Why write paragraph after paragraph when a few short sentences are all you need? I also loved the ending of each chapter, which sums up the important content of the chapter in a few bullet points. You can easily flip to the end of the chapter to refresh your memory whenever you need to.

The concepts in this book are not new to me, but as a Life Coach, I know that most people go through their lives without encountering these truths. I first understood that I created my own emotions, thoughts, and experience as a teenager when I read Dr. Wayne Dyer's groundbreaking book, Your Erroneous Zones. One of the reasons that book was so groundbreaking was because it was the first time modern psychological teachings went mainstream in a big way. Since then, many people have written and taught these same concepts in different ways, most notably Byron Katie. Despite all the information available to the mainstream that your thoughts create your world, very few people live this way. It's much easier, we think, to let life happen to us, to be a victim of circumstances and events, and not have to take responsibility for how our lives turn out. We THINK it is easier to live that way because no responsibility means less effort, but the opposite is true. The mental and emotional peace you have when you live your life "Inside Out" is the easiest way to live, ever! If you don't believe that, give it a try for a week or a month.

What I do like about this book, aside from the fact that it is short and concise, is that Michael Neill lays everything out for you in plain English. There are no exercises to do to help you achieve enlightenment. There are a handful of stories, or case studies, but not too many. Neill, for the most part, just states the facts. On page 31 of the book, he puts it bluntly, " We're living in the feeling of our thinking, not the feeling of the world." There you go. Once you realize that, life gets much easier. And it's on page 31 in bold print. Not buried on page 186. This is the kind of book I love to give to my coaching clients. They can easily read it in a week, we can talk about it, massage the ideas in, and they can reread it the next week if they need to. If everyone read this book and took it to heart, I would have to find a new profession. How does it get any better than that?

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 25, 2013 kccam
Michael Neill’s latest book is a summary of what he learned from a deep dive into Sydney Bank’s philosophical discoveries of 35 years ago. In a nutshell, Sydney Banks had a mystical experience that led to an understanding of three principles of Divine Mind, Divine Consciousness and Divine Thought that define the human experience. Mr. Neill’s philosophy is that lasting change comes from instant moments of insight spurred into existence when one hears a new piece of information and keeps an open mind.

The book launches with tremendous hype. It begins with four solid pages of quotes from other authors and industry leaders plugging the author and this book. Then there are pages of stories about people who had amazingly transformed lives from following the principles. After reading through all this, I felt I was listening to a salesperson waxing rhapsodic but neglecting to tell me what they were actually selling. Following this hyperbolic hype, Mr. Neill’s writes that “there are no techniques anywhere in this book – there’s nothing for you to learn, remember, practice or do”, which frankly confused me. This miraculous life conversion is available to us even if we don’t learn or remember the information in this book?

Finally, we are introduced to the three principles that are illustrated with stories and techniques from Mr. Neill’s coaching practice. There are some great nuggets in these stories and illustrations, and this is where Mr. Neill shines. He illustrated the points well, and summarizes at the end of the chapter all the ideas that were covered. For seasoned readers of the philosophical genre, you will have heard variations on these principles before. For those who are new to this arena, these may be new ideas and most certainly could spur you on to your own ‘aha’ moments.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 03, 2013 timlarison

Stated on the cover of Michael Neill’s new book “The Inside Out Revolution” is a bold claim: “The Only Thing You Need to Know to Change Your Life Forever”. At the top of the cover is a testimonial, “If you could only read one book in your lifetime, I’d recommend this one,” from Shama Kabani, CEO of The Marketing Zen Group. Inside Out Revolution did not have as big of an impact on me as these testimonials hinted at, yet I feel it does contain valuable insights for the reader in living everyday life.

“We create our individual experience of reality via the vehicle of thought,” Neill writes. “Thought is the missing link between the formless world of pure potentiality and the created world of form.” I’ve heard this “change your thinking, change your life” type of message before, but in Inside Out Revolution it is presented in an easy to understand format. I liked the author’s use of stories to illustrate his points. At the end of each chapter is a nice review titled “Putting It All Together” where the main points of that chapter are summarized.

Another chapter that resonated with me was “Original Grace”. “The return to this ‘original grace’ of life is always available to us,” Neill says, “and takes no particular effort to attain because it is in fact a return to our natural way of being.” Inside Out gives suggestions on how you can get in touch with the pure essence of your being and live from that place. Neill makes an analogy that our natural state of Grace is our “factory default”, and suggests we do a “reset” of our psych when our lives seem out of balance. “We don’t create abundance,” Neill writes, “Abundance (our natural state) is always present. We create limitation.”

“You won’t find the principles (Neill) teaches here anywhere else in psychology, the media, or the self-help world,” writes PHD George Pransky in the Forward of Inside Out. As an avid reader of spirituality and self help books, I felt I had read similar material elsewhere. Yet Neill does present his thoughts in a unique and compelling way (I read the whole book in four days – once I started it I was hooked). If you are new to the self help world Inside Out is worth a read. If you are not the book is a good refresher of concepts you may already be familiar with from other sources.

I received a complementary copy of this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 30, 2013 tmeehan2005
The Inside-Out Revolution by Michael Neil is not just another self-help book. It’s a road map to happiness that simply involves looking at life from the inside-out rather than the usual, culturally driven, outside-in model.

The idea is simple but eloquent. It involves an understanding that everything we perceive in our world is a false representation of the truth; yet, we place all of our hopes and dreams for finding the deeper meaning of life on the falsehoods of those external sensations. Perceptions vary from person to person because they are shaped by prior experience. As such, no two persons can possibly form the same perception even if they’re standing side-by-side, in the same room, witnessing the same event. Our brains are wired to process a relatively limited amount of sensory information at any moment in time. So, the sensory information your brain selects to receive and process , for instance, will be different from anyone else who happens to be in the same vicinity.

In Michael Neil’s model, this biological fact is critical in developing an understanding of the source of happiness. We tend to operate from an outside-in approach, which means we allow our perceptions from the outside world to influence how we think, which in turn influences how we feel. He sums up this notion in terms of three universal principals:

1. The Principle of Mind- There is energy and intelligence behind all forms of life. The energy doesn’t hold any particular point of view, it simply operates to ensure the perpetuation of more energy.

2. The Principle of Consciousness- The capacity to be aware at any moment in time. Different levels of awareness determine the quality of our human experience. In general, consciousness gives us the ability to realize the existence of life.

3. The Principle of Thought- The means by which we create our individual experience of reality. It is the link between the formless world of pure potentiality and the created world of form we identify as reality.

The inside-out paradigm is really about how thoughts influence feelings. Thoughts are fluid and can be changed depending on our level of consciousness. For example, if we’re ruminating about a negative event from the past, feelings of anger, sadness, hopelessness, etc., will prevail. If our thoughts are focused on the present moment—not reflecting on the past or worrying about the future—the feelings associated with them are likely to be more positive in nature.

Neil describes levels of consciousness using the symbolism of an high-rise building. On the ground floor we find the level of consciousness defined as Objective Reality. At this level, we internalize events from the external world (outside-in) and believe what we are experiencing is the real thing. On the floors just above the ground floor we find Subjective Reality where we recognize our experiences as our personal interpretation as seen through the filter of perception. On the higher floors we find Constructed Reality. At this level, we understand the world is what we think it is (inside-out) rather than what we internalize from the outside-in. And finally, at the top floor we find Illusory Reality. This level of consciousness takes some work to achieve. It basically states, “There is no separation between ‘out there’ and ‘in here.’ But for my thinking, I am a pure expression of the energy of life.”

In the final chapters of Neil’s book, he applies the inside-out paradigm to the transformative process. He takes the reader through the logical steps required to transform behavior to a thinking-feeling model that affords the opportunity for miracles and ultimately happiness to occur. He dismisses the notion that happiness is the result of hard work and concludes that happiness is the automatic outcome when we’re “online”, that is, present in the moment and devoid of extraneous thoughts that distract us from our major purpose.

If you’re looking for clarity, peace, freedom and happiness in your life, than this book will definitely be well worth the short time it will take to read it. It’s the type of book you’ll most likely want to keep on hand for those days when the outside world is closing in and you need a reminder to shift your perspective to the inside-out.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews