Book Reviews

The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone

Michael Chase

Relationships, Inspirational, Spirituality, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-4202-1

Is "loving everyone" really possible, as the title of Michael J. Chase's new book suggests? The answer may surprise you, as he chronicles his journey toward enlightenment, gaining insight from a very... More

Oct 17, 2013 Aussiegirl

As you read this beautiful book. If you are not a dog lover would you please open up your heart to hear how dogs are really a wonderful loving companion and friend, not only to their owners but to others as well. This shows you a lot about the wonderful friend you have by your side day and night. They will guard you and love you at all cost.

Even the horrid stories of the Pit Bulls, Doberman Pinchers and the Police dogs. Some dogs get a bad reputation not because they are born bad, but because the owners treat or raise them bad or train them to dog fight or make them mean. Remember it is the owner NOT the dog!!!  The owners are the responsible one not the dog!! Be responsible.Don't be a bad owner .

Think if you could Love Everyone as one beautiful Mollie did---she showed her owner how she loved even the bully of a dog and if Mollie could do it why not apply it to his life---- Harder said then done right?? People can be so mean, hateful and spiteful can't they? Does that mean that we treat them the same way? I don't think God would like us very well do you after all he loves us not matter what we do.

This book has humor in it that will have you in stitches,you'll cry but the lesson of LOVING EVERYONE is well worth the trip through this unforgettable story of the most wonderful dog. Just maybe you'll see some or even all of what Mollie is made of.

HAPPY PATHWAY TO LOVING EVERYONE!!!!!

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 04, 2013 awakenandbegin
Dogs have a unique way of communicating directly with out hearts and souls. The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone by Michael J. Chase is a personal account of one man's spiritual journey toward enlightenment, guided by his mischievous yet wise poodle, Mollie.

We are surrounded by spiritual teachers, and our furry friends are no exception. As Chase points out, our dogs have a way of getting us out of our old ways and inspiring us to see the world from a whole new perspective. This book provides simple, practical advice on how we can all live better lives simply by approaching life from the "in the moment" perspective of our loving, wordless companions.

Chase writes with a witty voice throughout, while also deeply exploring the spiritual dilemmas we all face today. What do you do when you encounter a homeless person on the side of the road, a mistreated puppy, or an unkind neighbor? Chase provides us a glimpse into his own relatable internal struggles in such situations, delivering food for the soul.

This book provides a call to action, with practical suggestions of things we can do in our lives right now to take steps toward greater personal freedom. Filled with great stories and unexpected ideas for random acts of kindness, this is not only a self-help book for dog lovers, but for anyone looking for a spiritual pick-me-up and a helping hand on the path toward enlightenment.

FTC Disclosure: I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 03, 2013 MommaFrugal
I am a huge animal lover and I especially love dogs! This book honestly brought tears to my eyes when I started reading the book and saw that the name of the main guru of this book is Mollie! When I was younger, my Dad had a dog named Molly. She was like another daughter to him and like a member of our family. When she broke her back, I helped him nurse her back to health. When she died at the age of 14 due to old age, we mourned like she was a member of the family. In addition to our human family members, my Dad's dog taught us how much you could love something besides another human.

This is a book that is family friendly and a must have for all dog lovers!!

I really enjoyed this book and I look forward to reading more of the author's books! This book is a quick read that will have you laughing out loud!

I learned a lot from Mollie and Michael in this book. Sometimes all it takes it looking at things through the eyes of another.

Thank you to Hay House for sending me a complimentary copy for my review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 07, 2013 ClorisKylie
The bully who made your life impossible in school.
The relative whose comments damaged your self-esteem.
The person who abused you.
The partner who betrayed your trust.
The murderer in the evening news.

You can’t love these people. Can you?

With The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone, A four-legged approach to enlightenment, Michael Chase shows you that it’s possible to extend love to everything and everyone on this planet. Chase tapped on the wisdom of a guru who would win the “Cutest Guru” contest: his dog Mollie.

Just holding Chase’s book in my hands made me feel more loving. The picture of Mollie on the cover with her tongue sticking out and her teddy-bear face says it all: Mollie knows how to be aware and conscious of the present moment. She doesn’t judge or hold grudges. She approaches life with excitement and curiosity. She loves everyone.

The book is structured in three parts. In the first part, I learned about Mollie’s story and the role she played in Chase’s wake-up call to a life of meaning. The second part is full of lessons that we can draw from Mollie’s approach to life. She’s a guru that teaches by example! The third part is full of many heart-warming stories that illustrate how Chase has followed through on his calling and how he met some of his spiritual teachers.

There was a chapter that I’ll never forget: “24 Hours of Kindness.” Chase led this “marathon of goodwill” in July of 2012. From 9am Friday until 9am Saturday, Chase and his team were “on the streets of New Jersey and New York City for a non-stop marathon of performing acts of kindness. Their goal was to inspire, uplift, and touch as many lives as possible.” Scientific research shows that by witnessing an act of kindness, our serotonin levels increase. Well, just by reading this chapter I felt warmth spread through my body. I read it right before bed, and went to sleep with a smile on my face.

So yes, it’s possible to love everyone. I know that many times loving every person on the planet proves difficult, especially after we’ve been hurt. But if we learn to see people as children of God who sometimes get lost and don’t know what they do, we’ll be on the right path.

Love to all of you and to Michael Chase for writing an uplifting and heart-warming book.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 01, 2013 margauxjoy
The first time I saw the cover of this book I knew I wanted to read it. Why? Because I enjoyed Michael's first book, am I being kind, and because I wanted to read about how the dog on the cover helped Michael learn about loving everyone.
 
Who do I think would enjoy this book? My first thought was everyone. Why? Because of Michael's sense of humor, his stories about his dog Mollie, and the insights that came from spending time with his adorable furry friend.

Mollie's combination of "hilarious antics" and "maddening behavior" lead us to insights that can bring us closer to loving everyone.
 
In my opinion a lot of people will read this book, enjoy it, and be changed by it. I personally loved this book. I enjoyed the stories Michael tells about Mollie – and what he learns from her. The stories are well-told, inspiring, often funny, and memorable.

This is one of the most inspiring – and funny – books I've ever read.  
 
The idea to write this book came from Michael's grandfather telling him that "loving everyone" was his secret to getting along with so many people. Michael wondered how it would be possible to love everyone. He wondered how you could do it. It was by asking  a new question with the word "who" that he got his answer.

"Who do I know that exudes the qualities of a great spiritual master – a person who lives in the present moment, is detached from the material world, embraces simplicity, has the joyful heart of a child, and loves without condition?"

"I was in complete awe of how she possessed the traits of great spiritual masters. That being said, Mollie is no angel. Unconditionally loving, yes. Well behaved … not always."

While writing about life with Mollie, and the lessons she was teaching him, other "teachers" began to appear in Michael's life. As the book progresses there are stories about them along with stories that include Mollie. The book is about enlightenment. Much of it does come from Mollie but mixed in are Michael's own thoughts, insights, and revelations.

The book is divided into three parts.

Part I:
In the Beginning was the Word … And the Word was Dog

Part II:
When the Student is Ready, The Teacher Will Appear

Part III:
A New Leash on Life

The first part of the book is mostly about Mollie and Michael. The second part of the book brings in some other spiritual teachers along with more stories about Mollie. The third part of the book talks about everyday heroes, kindness, and love. The book has many funny parts and yet it does include some emotional parts.

As Michael says, we all have to deal with unkind people from time to time – family members, friends, and strangers and that is why the chapter titled "Dealing with Difficult Dogs" will be helpful to readers of this book.

Michael has this to say about love:
"The key is to stop thinking of love as only an interpersonal experience. By understanding the essence of love, which is divine and all encompassing, we begin to have options. It can be delivered in a variety of ways. Romantic, spiritual, parental, and act of kindness and even tough love are just a few ways we can offer it to those around us. Self-love is where it all begins though. We cannot authentically give away what we do not feel toward ourselves."  

In the chapter titled Everyday Heroes Michael told us that his Mom is one of his heroes. I could relate to that because my Mom was, and still is, a hero of mine. Michael says, "I'm very fortunate to have another hero in my life who has been with me since the beginning. Even though I've spent 43 years with her, it took me a while to recognize this person as my greatest teacher. She's inspiring, positive, kind, loving, hysterically funny… and everything that's right with the world. And as with my other spiritual super heroes, time and again it's been her unconditional love that rescues me from the darkness whenever I'm lost."

The story of taking his Mom – and Mollie – to visit Boothbay Harbor in Maine, was one of my personal favorites in the book. Why? Because of the humor and the fact that I fell in love with his Mom during the story. How Michael feels about his Mom is how I feel about my Mom and how I'd love my son to feel about me.
 
The book's title states it is The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone but as you read the book it begins to feel possible rather than being just a radical idea.

I believe this book will help readers look at love – and loving everyone – in some new and empowering ways.

The book is entertaining, encouraging, and enlightening. Reading it was enjoyable – in fact so much so I felt like I wanted it to keep going when I got to the end. It is a small book – a great size for talking with you to read on a plane or while on vacation. I love the cover photo and design which were done by Michael. Just seeing Mollie on the cover makes me laugh and reminds me that perhaps it's possible to love everyone.

I found myself laughing out loud and reading various parts to my husband. Michael is a great and inspiring storyteller.

I recommend this book to everyone however the people who will love it most are those who love animals. I also believe this book can help people who have never had a dog – or even loved an animal – to realize how much love, joy, and enlightenment animals can add to your life.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 25, 2013 CreateWithJoy
Have you ever read a book that turned out to be totally different than what you expected?

For me, The Radical Practice Of Loving Everyone – A Four-Legged Approach To Enlightenment by Michael J. Chase is one of those books!

When I started reading The Radical Practice Of Loving Everyone, I expected a book filled with whimsical tales about Mollie – the puppy mill poodle that Michael and his wife Cara fell in love with and whose life they most likely saved. At first, the author delivered exactly what I hoped for. During the first six chapters of the book, Michael delighted me with stories of “The Cookie Thief”, made my heart race when he wrote about “One Sick Puppy”, and made me smile by asking “How Bad Can She Be?”

After all, who can resist the antics of a naughty pooch? Certainly, not me! I had high hopes that this would be another Marley And Me in the making.

Alas – that was not to be!

After writing six charming chapters about Mollie, the “Tasmanian devil” of a poodle I’d grown to love – the author switched gears! Suddenly, Mollie was no longer the primary focus of the book. As Michael focused on chronicling his journey towards personal enlightenment, Mollie no longer shined as the star of his stories – she became relegated to the impetus for them. Instead of writing about the lessons he was learning from Mollie, Michael's focus shifted to the lessons he was learning from his spiritual gurus whose wisdom is based in Tibetan Buddhism, Taoism, and other Eastern religions.

Now, I commend Michael for his desire to evolve spiritually. I appreciate many of the stories he shares. Unfortunately – as a reader who signed up to read a dog-centric book – I wasn’t ready to make the shift to lessons gleaned from Eastern mysticism. As I look at sweet Mollie’s photo on the cover of the book and read the sub-title – “a four-legged approach to enlightenment” – I can’t help but feel like I’ve fallen prey to a bit of bait and switch!

I’m disappointed that the book did not live up to my topical expectations. I also feel the shift in focus weakened the overall cohesiveness of the book. However, the book isn't all bad, or without merit. I appreciate the positive message this book conveys, and enjoyed a few chapters, including 24 Hours Of Kindness and Learning To Love Again.

The Radical Practice Of Loving Everyone is an easy-to-read book that encourages us to love others more. It’s a great message – but one that would have been better had the author ditched the mystics and stuck with the dog!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes. I was not compensated or required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 22, 2013 devadarling
Very recently, I adopted a kitten. A kitten I never knew I wanted until I saw him. I looked into his little kitten face I was smitten. Kitten smitten. And he knew it. Here was this little bit of fluff that I loved instantly with my whole heart...simply for his being. We (my boyfriend & I) named him Pablo and as he, very quickly, began to integrate into our lives, it was becoming increasingly obvious that he was a very wise little being with many lessons to teach. Things like: being in the moment, unconditional love, patience, sheer joy, trust, acceptance...you know...just the secrets to living an authentic and happy life. No bigs. And I started to think, you know something? This would make a great book. But alas, I was too late. Michael J. Chase has already written it. And written it quite well. The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone: A Four Legged Approach to Enlightenment. Bugger. Except it's a really good read.

In his book, Michael chronicles the wisdom gained from spending time with his four legged buddy, Molly. And we get to see how one man's perspective of the world begins to change simply by learning to see it through the eyes of a mischievous, super silly, trusting, real life teddy bear of a poodle. Brilliant. I wish I had thought of it myself....

He begins the book with three very simple but powerful paragraphs that will bring a tear to your eye and make you want to run right out and rescue every animal living in a shelter. So...even if you're just perusing on the amazon or in the bookstore for reals, pick this book up if only to read those paragraphs. And then maybe you'll be inspired to rescue a furball of your own. They do say, when the student is ready...

After all, shouldn't we all be so wise as to go through life with eyes bright, tails wagging, thinking the best of everyone...including ourselves. And wouldn't it just be the coolest if we all could (re)learn how to become so immersed in the moment that time actually disappears as we allow ourselves to experience pure joy in the simplest of things. And wouldn't it be amazing if everyone could and would and did just....LOVE. Every Moment. Every Thing. Every One. Do yourself a favor and pick up this book. And remind yourself of how magical this world really is.

*I received this book free of charge through the Hay House Book Nook program.*
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 27, 2013 timlarison
Can a family dog teach life lessons to her human family? That’s the premise of Michael Chase in his new book “The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone: A four-legged approach to enlightenment”. I found the book full of light and fun stories about Chase’s pet, Mollie, and how her offbeat behavior showed the author how to live a better life.

“Who do I know that exudes the qualities of a great spiritual master—a person who lives in the present moment, is detached from the material world, embraces simplicity, has the joyful heart of a child, and loves without condition?” Chase asks early in his book. “The answer I had been searching for literally walked up to me and … licked my face.” I enjoyed the many stories of the author’s beloved Mollie in the book – from eating cookies under a neighbor’s Christmas tree, to an unexpected lick-to-the-face wake up call for the author at 2 a.m. one morning, to dragging Chase to navigate new streets in a circuitous walk home. These stories reminded me of my pet Sandy when I was growing up, and are sure to put a smile on any dog lover’s face.

Loving Everyone is more than just entertaining canine tales, though. Chase makes a spiritual point about each of the Mollie episodes he writes about, with chapter titles like “Wag More, Bark Less”, “Go with the Flow”, and “Dealing with Difficult Dogs”. Mollie faces each challenge with a cheerful, loving attitude and a sense of curiosity. In writing about questionable characters the two would meet on their walks, Chase observes that Mollie’s reaction “is always the same—joy, enthusiasm, and the desire to know the person better. She adheres to the suggestion often made by great spiritual teachers: See everyone you meet as God in disguise.” The book is not deep metaphysics – rather through humorous Mollie stories Chase skillfully slips in his observations on how us humans could learn a thing or two from our happy canine companions.

Chase makes changes to his own life thanks to Mollie. “I now apply four of her canine habits into my daily routine in my effort to duplicate her feel-good ways: 1) get adequate rest and take power naps, 2) make water my primary drink, 3) have portion control at mealtime, and 4) make exercise and play a daily part of life. It all may sound very basic, but Mollie’s health regimens have resulted in higher energy and lower weight for both of us—a significant reminder that tiny changes can have profound, lasting effects,” he writes.

I recommend Loving Everyone for the many Mollie stories that teach us life lessons in a fun and entertaining way.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 27, 2013 tinietao

Just finished reading Loving Everyone by Michael J. Chase. It's an easy read about a family dog who teaches spiritual enlightenment by example and simply being herself. The dog's name is Mollie, and she's definitely mischievous, rambunctious and at times challenging for her human family. But she's also affectionate, accepting, curious and non-judgmental.

When Michael takes Mollie for walks, they come across so many different people... and while Michael sometimes judges people, Mollie greets everyone the same - with interest, enthusiasm and kindness. Throughout the book, the author really tries to learn from his dog and follow her example. So when he notices how Mollie approached others with such openness and non-judgment, he decides to try it too. One day, they pass by a young guy holding a sign asking for money. Michael's judgmental thoughts start going as he wonders why a strong, healthy young person is asking for money when he's totally capable of working. Michael just thinks the kid is lazy. Meanwhile, Mollie gets super excited just to see this person who, in her eyes, is a potential new friend - someone deserving of love and attention as much as anyone else.

Michael doesn't give that kid money, but the next week, he and Mollie pass by two young adults sitting beneath a tree. They're holding a sign asking for money. This time, Michael wants to change his pattern and try giving. He actually stops to talk to this couple and gets so much out of it. He realizes that they're decent, kind and peaceful people. He learns about them, their travel plans and their philosophies on life, and he's able to see these two fellow human beings with respect and dignity.

There are all kinds of anecdotes featuring Mollie and Michael and their various adventures around town together. The author shares what he learns from watching how Mollie lives life, sees the world, interacts with it and treats others.

This is a quick, easy read about learning to love people and be happy by taking cues from our household pets. I really appreciate that the author isn't afraid to point out his own human flaws and bad habits. It makes him more relatable, since we can see that even with this lofty goal of wanting to be more loving, none of us are perfect. We all encounter challenges that make us think or want to do things that are NOT loving. Luckily, we have fluffy four-legged role models that we can look to for inspiration. Dogs can teach us a lot about tapping into our best sides!

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Hay House for review purposes. The following are my personal and honest opinions.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 17, 2013 rschechter
This book is best for…anyone who wants to understand the significant positive effect dogs can have on our capacity to give and receive unconditional love and acceptance.

The message in this book is…our beloved dogs are models of Buddhist behavior who consistently model on a daily basis higher levels of interacting with the world. Psychologist-turned-writer Michael J. Chase was plagued by writer’s block over his next project about loving unconditional, when at 2 a.m., his poodle Mollie gave him an unexpected French kiss. Upon further observation, Chase noted the numerous ways that dogs live an enlightened life. Whether it’s not dwelling on the past, or not worrying about the future, or simply not judging people, Chase makes the case that humans can learn much from their canine roommates about living well and about breaking down their own walls to giving and receiving love and kindness. My favorite observation is that dogs are expert, and graceful, receivers who rarely turn away gifts, attention or affection. This book also reminded me that our dogs are not “just” pets. They are souls who are entrusted to us and who are dependent upon us to give them a healthy, fun and loving life.

My favorite quote from this book is…“Dogs are the leaders of the planet. If you see two life forms, one of them is making a poop, the other one is carrying it for him, who would you assume is in charge?” (quoting Seinfeld)

I implemented the wisdom in this book by…listing three ways I have changed as a result of becoming a mom to Danni. One, I have gotten over my need for an immaculate living space where everything is neatly placed and organized. Dog toys lying around, once an annoyance, are now a sign that someone has played and enjoyed herself. Two, I am learning to become more calm and patient. When I want Danni to follow my lead, inevitably, the more peaceful and quiet I am in giving direction, the quicker she is to abide by what I want her to do. And three, I am honing my ability to love difficult people from afar. Danni is a master to her own intuition; while she eagerly wants to make friends with just about every human and dog we meet, on rare occasions, we encounter someone who gives off a vibe that does not appeal to her. On those occasions, she will politely come sit at my feet and allow them to pass by, but honors her own experience of them by not betraying her own gut feeling about interacting with them.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 14, 2013 Katherine's Daughter
As soon as I saw the title of this book, I knew I had to read it. "The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone" is a treat, a feast not only for the heart but also for the soul of anyone who is willing to take a few moments a day to learn more about unconditional love.

Honestly it took me a few weeks to get through it because you really shouldn't read this book fast. I loved savoring a chapter or two, then really thinking about the lessons that Mollie, the hero of the stories, had imparted not only on her owner but the rest of us.

Mollie had a terrible start in life at an awful puppy mill, but thankfully Michael J. Chase and his wife latch onto her and nurse her through the first few ill months. After that, Mollie eats her way through heart and home as Michael tells witty stories and heartfelt lessons about the things Mollie teaches him.

Because even though Mollie is a dickens of a big poodle dog, always getting into trouble, wanting her own way and stealing cookies, she is an amazing judge of character (as many dogs are) as she wags her tail and makes friends with anyone.

The author, Michael J. Chase, is an inspirational speaker on KINDNESS, even has his own KINDNESS CENTER so that tells you right there he has his priorities straight. Early on in the book, he chronicles his search for a new spiritual teacher and while pondering his options, Mollie suddenly licks his face. He decides then and there that Mollie is the teacher he has been looking for.

My favorite story is about a walk that Michael and Mollie embark on, one day through their neighborhood. It is a carefully mapped route with a minimum of distractions and opportunities for Mollie to get into trouble. But on this day, Mollie has her own ideas. She plops her butt down and decides she is not going any further. Michael begs, pulls on her leash, offers snacks and pleads for movement but Mollie won't budge. It begins to rain and they are getting soaked. Finally, exasperated, Michael asks her where she wants to go. He lets her lead and Mollie takes them on a beautiful walk, through new neighborhoods with lovely picturesque houses. Michael decides older dogs really can teach new tricks and the lesson is to move out of our comfort zones and try new things.

I hope you decide to give this amazing book a read. It would make a great present as well, especially for someone you know who loves animals and does acts of loving kindness.

And here is my disclosure per Hay House Publishers. I get to choose the book I wish to review, it is given to me free of charge, and I am not compensated for my endorsement of this book. This review is my personal opinion. Thank you for reading!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 06, 2013 hhreviewer2

The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone by Michael Chase is a wonderfully uplifting book by "The Kindness Guy". It, at it's simplest, is about the practice of loving kindness through the eyes of his Standard Poodle Mollie and how us humans have a lot to learn from dogs. Anyone who is either a dog lover or interested in learning more about being kind, or both, would thoroughly benefit from reading this book.

The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone builds upon the principles of Michael Chase's previous book Am I Being Kind. The author truly is just like the rest of us - overcoming the obstacles of a family history that lacked the education and experiences one would need to learn about how to be kind, let alone the very best version of self. Michael's approach to writing is humorous and down-to-earth without negating his message.

As Michael Chase said, none of these ideas are new but he is merely reminding us that which we already know. I believe that he does it in a way that is lighthearted and from a perspective that is unique. The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone is a book that could easily be enjoyed by everyone.

This is my review of The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone by Michael Chase. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 01, 2013 Lu47
If you are looking for a cute little book that's a fast read, "The Radical Practice of Loving Everyone", by Michael J. Chase, will certainly meet your needs. Filled with various tips and insights about how to live a more rewarding spiritual life, this book sets the foundation for basic spiritual living.

The author's friendly and sincere narrative makes the book very likeable. As the author shares his own struggles in trying to live a completely authentic and soulful life, the reader is put at ease knowing that no one is perfect, and all that we can do is try our best.

The stories about his sometimes aggravating, yet loveable pooch, Mollie, made me smile and giggle. Being a dog lover, I would have liked the book to have been a little bit more about Mollie, although she was definitely the theme throughout the book. Although a lot of the book's insights were based on the dog, other spiritual concepts were taken from the author's friend, or from other famous teachings.

And although this may just be a cute little book, it has a powerful and touching ending. Done with loving compassion, the nuggets of wisdom found in the last few chapters will no doubt inspire you to love everyone.

NOTE: This book was provided to me at no cost by Hay House Publishing in exchange for my opinion.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
May 21, 2013 LisaAlaiana
Being the animal lover that I am I knew I would enjoy reading, Loving Everyone but I had no idea I would have tears in my eyes at the Prologue. This title is a unique way of looking into the soul of one very special standard poodle by the name of Mollie. As Josh Billings, an American humorist once said, “A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself” and of course I have always said that “I love animals more than humans”. It has been scientifically proven that if one owns a pet that their life expectancy increases and their blood pressure decreases. The stories of Mollie told by Michael in Loving Everyone are from the heart and one can not help but feel the love.

As an owner of three dogs I can relate to the tales of Mollie; good and bad but even if you are not a dog owner I think you will find that these stories will make your heart smile. This would be a great book to give someone who is a bit cynical to help them to learn to see through the eyes of the heart. Enlightenment is for all and Loving Everyone is just one approach to reach that enlightenment through the eyes of a four-legged friend.

Affectionately known as “The Kindness Guy,” Michael J. Chase is one of today’s most powerful voices for creating a kinder world. In 2007, following a life-changing epiphany, Michael ended an award-winning photography career to found The Kindness Center. After gaining extensive media attention for his 24 hours of kindness event, he quickly became a sought-after speaker and workshop leader throughout the world. Whether presenting in a classroom, boardroom, or on stage in front of thousands, his message of hope impacts countless lives each year.

The following review is solely based on my opinion, I have received this book free from Hay House Publishing for the sole purpose of review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 15, 2013 ddawley

As a dog lover, as soon as I heard Michael J. Chase talk about his upcoming book featuring his dog Mollie, I knew I had to read it. While there are lots of anecdotes about Mollie and her willful, funny and sometimes disasterous behavior, the book is really about Michael's learning through his dog that loving everyone is possible.

Many Will Relate

There is a chapter where Chase discusses how following their dreams led to financial problems that caused them to lose their home, most of their possessions and move into a tiny apartment. Mollie didn't care. She had food and shelter and the people she loved. One of the most profound things Chase says in the book is what he saw when he looked at his dog that day. "Everything you need is right here, right now. To be authentically happy, know when enough is enough, and live from that place."

Zingers of Wisdom

Throughout the stories in the book are zingers of wisdom Chase learned from the people around him as well as from Mollie. From Mollie, he learned that there comes a time when you need to walk a different path, to speak to everyone you meet, and to be fully present in the moment with those around you. From his human teachers, he shares the things they told him on his road to enlightenment. "Perhaps major changes in life have no room for complexity." How true is that? By the time we are ready to make a major change in our lives, we have usually suffered through the path of understanding that we don't want what we have, we want something different. And then it's just a simple matter of doing it. I'm keeping this book on my shelves for all the great quotes and teachings from Chase's Buddhist friend John. Wisdom like "What you see before you only has meaning because of the labels you place on it." Yep, I know that - and it's good to be reminded of it at least once a day!

Doggie Behavior

Those of us who share our lives wtih dogs will relate to most of this book. We have all had the pain of cleaning up after our dog when they have done something "naughty." The wisdom of this book is that every time Mollie does something her humans would prefer she didn't do, her humans learned a lesson. When I think back over the behavior of my dogs and my foster dogs, I challenged myself to look at a few incidents differntly. When a foster puppy someone had dumped on our property literally ate my brand new leather armchair, what did I learn from that? I could have taken her to the shelter. She wasn't my dog. But she came for a reason. Rather than take her to a shelter where she probably would have been killed within two weeks, I chose to keep her. Within a few weeks, I got a call from a young, recently divorced woman who had seen her picture on the internet and couldn't stop thinking about her. I warned her that the dog would literally eat, shred and destroy anything in the house when she was left unattended, but she didn't care. Her response was that she left her marriage with nothing but her clothes so she didn't have anything she minded losing. But she did want a companion and a running buddy and she knew as soon as she saw her that she was perfect. Yes, absolutely, she was a perfect dog. That is the only kind of dog God makes. The problem is, most of us humans aren't smart enough to see it.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from
Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews