Book Reviews

Feng Shui Simply

Cheryl Grace

Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-3978-6

In Feng Shui Simply, Cheryl Grace digs deep into the principles of feng shui to present an exciting new view of this age-old concept and shows that feng shui isn't just about rearranging your furnitur... More

Jun 11, 2014 julieinmichigan

Cheryl Grace did an excellent job of creating an in-depth look at Feng Shui. While she lays out the principals commonly found in most books on the topic, she goes one step further to create a guide for fine-tuning one’s internal environment.

As the author begins to convey the principals of design that work with the location and orientation of the home, placement of furniture and use of color, artwork and accessories to create a harmonious environment, she goes on to provide the additional practices to aid and support this ancient art. As she notes, most of the focus of Feng Shui lies in external changes to the environment. She became more excited by working with the unseen world, the world of energy, using the tools of intuition and intention, according to the text.

Ms. Grace utilized the traditional Bagua as a starting point for inner growth by association the qualities of inner life that she found to associate with each point on the map. For example, for Health & Family she connected with the inner qualities of discernment and forgiveness; for Helpful People and Travel, patience and an open mind.

The author brings attention to her work with the I Ching and its wisdom on the subject of transformation, which happens, as she states, when the truth resonates so strongly on the inside that the outside shifts on its own. Finally she sets out five steps, including listening deeply, seizing the moment and graciously receiving what you ask for, to help you reach your potential. She asks the questions that will enable you to find your personal truth in every area of your life.

This is a very well rounded, informative book on Feng Shui that considers the art in combination with various other helpful arts, practices and questions to consider, enabling the reader to create the life they most want.

I did receive a free copy of this book from Hay House Publishing in order to write this review. I received no monetary compensation and was not obligated to make it a positive review. I was simply asked to give my honest opinion and this is it.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 02, 2014 houseofhealthy

Feng Shui Simply is a Feng Shui guide for your house, to help you declutter not only your home, but your life and the energy around you. Cheryl Grace maps out the principles of Feng Shui in a simple and easy to understand format. She not only talks about the ways to Feng Shui your decor, but also how to Feng Shui your thoughts, beliefs, and life.

In the decor sections, she maps out the specific rooms, areas, and energies in your home and how you can improve them, even if your home might not be in the most efficiently Feng Shui layout. For example, if your wealth center of your home is located in your bathroom instead of your office, she talks about ways you can rearrange in both your office and bathroom to stop “flushing money down the toilet”.

I really enjoyed the specific details and techniques used throughout this book, and even incorporated a few in our move, including placing a plant and vision board on the corner of my desk since my office is in the “Love” corner of the house, not the wealth, reputation, or career center.

The only part that did not "land: with me were some of people and stories in the book. I didn't always resonate with them, but I see how they could be very helpful to others.

If you are at all interested in Feng Shui or energy shifts in your own home or life, this book is easy to follow and makes Feng Shui simply accessible to all.

**FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 18, 2013 aimeeroo
I always enjoy reading about Feng Shui because I really believe that our homes can be a place to support our goals. In Feng Shui Simply: Change Your Life From the Inside Out, the author focuses more on how to use Feng Shui to bring balance to your life, and help support the life you wish to create, more than focusing on the intricate ins and outs of the practice.

You will learn about Bagua map, the concept of Yin Yang, the Five Chinese Elements, and also about core enhancements of color, light, sound, and nature. If you are familiar with feng shui it won’t be new material, however, the author, Cheryl Grace, does put her own unique spin on it. After an introduction to the basic principals, she guides you through creating your own plan for putting it all into practice in your life.

The book is small, but it’s full of great examples of feng shui at work. Cheryl made a big career change, from an ESPN executive to a feng shui consultant! She shares anecdotes from her own experiences, and also shares some of her clients’ success stories.

Beyond feng shui, she also talks about changing your mindset to include more gratitude, and she encourages simplifying your life as well. Overall it is a fun and easy read on the topic, there are illustrations as well to help explain certain principles. I enjoyed reading it.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 05, 2013 ahlmt
THE REVIEW:
Cheryl Grace takes a traditional concept & puts a new and unique spin on it. I am not new to Feng Shui & I didn't expect to learn anything new, but Grace presents a new and very interesting way to look at Feng Shui! She sticks to the age-old concepts, using the classic Bagua map (a chart separating physical spaces into nine areas) she goes one step further, applying her "Inner Wisdom Bagua Map" that matches up to your own personal characteristics, beliefs, & attitudes.

Laying the Bagua map right over the floorplan of your home, you can select an area of focus depending on where you see the greatest need for improvement in your life.

WHY YOU'LL LOVE IT:
This is not a book that will just have you rearranging your furniture... you'll be rearranging much more! Grace walks you through each area of the standard Bagua Map (each represents a different aspect of life, such as wealth, family, and career) to create unique solutions for each area of your life. If you're new to the art of Feng Shui, you'll appreciate that she sticks to the basic, traditional information and gives you all of the tools you need. She just takes it a bit further to show you how to better apply the tradition to your life today.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who is interested in learning more about Feng Shui OR learning how to apply Feng Shui more personally in your life.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 05, 2013 realmomma
Another book review for you! This time it is Feng Shui Simply: Change Your Life From the Inside Out by Cheryl Grace. I was excited to dive into the old world of Feng Shui and share my thoughts with all of you.

Feng Shui Simply: Change Your Life From the Inside Out

Cheryl Grace is a feng shui author, professional consultant, motivational speaker, and teacher, who specializes in helping people design their lives from the inside out. Grace is President and CEO of Redecorating . . . with feng shui, the highly regarded consultancy based in Sarasota, Florida, that she founded after a successful career as a corporate executive at ESPN. As a watercolor artist, she has a line of Living Art® home décor and artwork inspired by feng shui available on her website, www.CherylGrace.com

Feng Shui Simply is just that! Cheryl Grace does an amazing job of breaking down the time honored traditions of Feng Shui into a simple and easy to digest manor by breaking down each space into simple steps helping create the perfect balance of Yin and Yang with the five Chinese elements! Now you’re probably wondering just what is Feng Shui?

Feng shui is the ancient Chinese system…over 3,000 years old…of design that works with the location and orientation of a home, the placement of furniture, and the use of color, artwork, and accessories to create a harmonious environment.
The part that resonates with me the most is how Cheryl took Feng Shui to a level I never even thought of – life and legacy! Becoming the person we WANT to be all starts on the inside and learning to love ourselves first and make changes on the inside to reflect how we want to be on the outside. The book is full of a powerful toolbox to help make those changes in our lives and in the spaces we live.

Want to add INSTANT ENERGY to your life and living space? Cheryl provides the tools to enhance the flow of energy simply and easily including:

Bagua map
Yin Yang
Five Chinese Elements
Core Enhancements of color, light, sound, and nature
She then takes the tools and provides and easy to follow plan on how to integrate these into your life to enhance the flow into your life and then moving forward to create the life you want. And that is only one of the benefits of changing your life from the inside out!

Not sure on how to make the connection between external and internal and the benefits of Feng Shui? Cheryl provides you with real life example of how her redecoration business has changed the lives of families and individuals. She takes the time in the second half of the book to break down the Bagua Map so you can see just how it can change your life!

This book is an excellent addition to anyone’s library and will help you throw out the five year plan and create a road map to the life you really want. Pick up your copy of Feng Shui Simply: Change Your Life From the Inside Out and create the life you’ve always wanted. A change in season is a great time to start a change within!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 16, 2013 Get Your Life On
This book is a game changer!

I have many questions and I see that as a great thing. If I wasn't interested I wouldn't care enough to ask.

This book isn't a bunch of lingo no one understands, it's straight forward, plenty of examples and lots of illustrations to help you visualize what she's talking about.

I fell in love with the book just into the first chapter. I realized what I was onto was the next step in self awareness for me. I had long struggled to figure out why I could read all these self-help and enlightenment books and yet still not be able to get my focus back, get financially stable or feel anything but unrest. Cheryl Grace, the author, was so descriptive and direct that at times it felt as if she was talking about me.

Half way through I began assessing the rooms in my home, looking on shelves, walking around and mapping out ideas. Cheryl's ability to paint a picture so that you can relate to each meaning, concept or lesson is one I have yet to experience and made applying her exercises simple and fun.

I will definitely be reading this again, dissecting it as I go through each room and applying all her suggestions one room at a time. I will be back in a few weeks to update this review...maybe with some before and after pictures for you to see how well her books works for me.

Enjoy and please share this book with loved ones.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 07, 2013 alpha_andy_omega

For years I've wanted to learn about Feng Shui, but not known where to start. The little effort I put into understanding its concepts just left me confused, and I gave up. What's brilliant about Cheryl Grace's book is not just the simplicity implied in the title, but how each lesson is so easily absorbed, and instantly you find yourself ready to put it into practice. Her explanation of how clutter affects the subconscious mind, and blocks the flow of energy in our lives seems spot on. The way she speaks about the power of intention resonates deeply with me. From bedroom to the weightroom, and all points in between, my home is experiencing a daily transformation thanks to this guide.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 29, 2013 Yvonnemg74
Once upon a time I tried to follow the concepts of Feng Shui in order to better my life. I knew it was a balancing way of decorating, putting it simply. Then I got wrapped up in the hustle and bustle of life and moved about twenty times, and then Feng Shui flew right out the window. However, this opportunity to read Feng Shui Simply: Change Your Life From The Inside Out by Cheryl Grace, has opened my eyes back up to the powers of Feng Shui. I now see it as more than just a way to decorate that adds flow to your life.

I have learned, through reading this book, that I can balance my work life, home life, relationships, and even myself in general, using Feng Shui. Grace shares the tools one needs in their Feng Shui toolbox. She delves into what each tool can do for you and why it is important for your success.

There is so much great info in this book, and Grace really does a great job at step-by-step instructions. I will definitely be going back through this book and using it to get my life back on track. I am especially fascinated with the chapter on Accessing Abundance. I could definitely use some assistance in the wealth department these days!

*In an effort towards full disclosure, I must let you know that I received this book free from Hay House for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 10, 2013 judyshome

I find the idea of arranging your surroundings to impede or enhance your success in life a fascinating concept. This wasn’t always the case, though. When growing up: my Traditional Chinese Parents would forbid us to move our furniture in a certain way “Because it wasn’t good Feng Shui”. Having had a heavy scientific background, I considered it “just superstition”. And since Mom has that loud, Cantonese Mother Voice, it seemed like more of a hassle than anything because I would be nagged and nagged until I changed my ways. Or, I would do things my way and when I went out, the parents would rearrange things their way. During one instance of this, a mirror was broken. They didn’t seem too concerned with the 7 years of bad luck to follow, though. I suppose that since they don’t subscribe to the western way of thinking, then this didn’t apply to them. I’m guessing it’s a similar effect with everything else, kind of like a self-fulfilling prophecy.

So, with respect to Feng Shui, it’s just like the author said: it’ll “work” if you’re able to make it into something meaningful for you. For example, Cheryl talked about using some of the ancient Feng Shui wisdom. She followed the guidelines but because the nature of the arrangement just didn’t fit in with her modern-day home, it ended up draining her energy trying to maintain the space – after all, Feng Shui is based on what worked for ancient Chinese people. So, she changed it and the energy shifted from something that was an annoyance to something that lifted her spirits.

Energy is something I don’t fully understand, but find intriguing none-the-less. After all the science I did in my younger years, I ended up formally studying holistic medicine, which has allowed me to explore this unseen world. Admittedly, I still encounter peers from the previous group, who’ll roll their eyes at anything “holistic”, but others are awesomely open to this idea. After all, we’ve all experienced shifts in energy with each other. There are undeniably people who just drag you down and depress your mood and there are other people who you meet in a tired state and leave feeling vibrant and uplifted. This is energy. You can enter a full stadium and take in the excitement in the air. You can enter a school examination room and immediately feel the nervousness of all the students. This is all energy.

And that might be easy to picture because humans are living, breathing things – so energy exists. But with furniture, you may be skeptical. Yet, your environment can absolutely have an impact on the way you feel. If you can envision visiting a spa: it might have relaxing music playing in the background, clean, fluffy towels, a fragrance of fresh lavender in the air, maybe some “nature” in the form of water elements and some beautiful river stones. And yet, if the office where you sign in has a messy desk piled up with stacks of papers, half a cup of coffee with stains on the table, a discarded coaster to the side and pens scattered everywhere, what is the likelihood that this conveys that same relaxation as the rest of the spa?

So, I’m excited by this book. My primary intention will be to cultivate more loving relationship. I’ve started with clearing off my bed to symbolically “make room for someone else”. I’m introducing more “relationship” colours like reds, pinks and whites and (cries) maybe not using so much calming blue. Reds are very Yang and will be more likely to ignite love and romance.

My home office is located in the “Love, marriage and relationships” part of the house, which the author said probably wasn’t the best idea. It’s not hopeless though, it’ll just be a good idea to decorate in pairs and with the same colour scheme as I talked about earlier to enhance its energy. I’m wondering though: I will be seeing clients in that room, so it would make sense to display my diplomas there. However, because it shows the accomplishments of one person (as opposed to coupledom), will it amplify singledom? Perhaps I can anchor them to the “Career and Life Purpose” side of the wall. Hmm, the things we consider in Feng Shui . This will be fun.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 19, 2013 LisaAlaiana
Feng Shui Simply is not all about rearranging furniture and it will change your life from the inside out.

In Feng Shui Simply, Cheryl Grace digs deep into the principles of feng shui to present an exciting new view of this age-old concept and shows that feng shui isn’t just about rearranging your furniture or painting your walls; it goes much deeper. She opens your eyes to how feng shui can be used to balance the energy of every part of your life-both in your external and internal environments. Grace shows that bringing your focus to both of these worlds is a powerful way to design the life you’re meant to live.

If your life is flowing in the direction you want and all is perfect then chances are you may be bored reading this book but if there is any aspect of your life that you would like to change then Feng Shui Simply will provide you a way to understand the problem or the obstacle standing between you and your dreams. Feng Shui Simply will not only provide you an understanding of the obstacles in your life; it will point you to a solution. I thought that I had always understood the energetic principle of Feng Shui but after reading this book it really did open my eyes to see many things differently. I personally realized that I had way too much mental cluster in my life! I will be incorporating the 5 Element Principle into my Aura Imaging work as this gave me a whole new understanding and I now feel that I will better be able to help my clients become more balanced.

I highly recommend Feng Shui Simply to change your life from the inside out.
Links to order on line: Amazon Hay House

I have not been compensated for reviewing this Hay House title, my review is strictly based on my personal opinion. I have received this book from Hay House strictly for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 16, 2013 Daughter of Waters
Feng Shui Simply can be that line of demarcation that we all need to make a change in our lives. Cheryl Grace masterfully has written one of the most down to earth and easy to read books on the subject. Feng Shui, a Chinese system of that improves and elevates the energy around us, can be laid out in a convoluted manner, but in this book Ms. Grace brought clarity and almost Woman Wit to it which made it such an easy read.

Aside from the great break down of the system this book urges all of us to not only grasp the Feng Shui of objects like furniture or color palettes, but even more intriguingly it is suggested we use Feng Shui principles on our inner self as well.

If you pick up this text I can guarantee at least one of her recommendations can have the potential to totally transform your life. For me, it was the section on clutter. Although I know what it is and am not a victim of it, somehow this book made me look at it in such an obtuse way I have totally rearranged my space and am more aware of even the semblances of clutter.

You need to know how to shift energy, read this book. You haven’t felt compelled to act upon all the self help information you’ve gathered, read this book. You feel like you are standing just on the tip of something new and can’t quite step over that line, read this book. For a foundational understanding of Feng Shui mixed in with some trendsetting translation of it for the inner person, read this book!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free from Hay House for review purposes. I was not obliged to write a favourable review. The opinions expressed are strictly my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 15, 2013 timlarison

When I first had the opportunity to review Cheryl Grace’s “Feng Shui Simply: Changing Your Life From The Inside Out” I wasn’t interested. “Why would I want to review a book about interior decorating?” I thought. But with the many books I read and review, I do like to mix it up and read different material now and then. “Why not?” I said to myself. “Besides, Cheryl Grace once worked for ESPN. Maybe she’ll have some sports stories in there.”

I soon discovered Feng Shui Simply is far more than a book about decorating – it’s about a person’s internal emotional state and how that is reflected in the environments we surround ourselves with. It is one of the best books I have read this year.

Grace was a high profile executive at ESPN. “My accomplishments at the network had elevated me to a level of considerable success: high visibility, worldwide travel, a powerful leadership position, and an executive salary with perks,” she writes. “I should have been at the happiest point in my life. Yet I had to admit that I wasn’t.” She first took feng shui classes while keeping her day job, then she left the corporate world to become a full time consultant in this Chinese art of managing energy. “As I absorbed every detail and applied it to my home, every aspect of my life began to change for the better,” she remembers.

The author explains the concepts in easy to understand terms, even for a guy like me more interested in football than home decor. I liked how Grace differentiates her approach from other feng shui strategies. “The focus of conventional feng shui books is the external environment,” she writes. “The purpose of the cures we see is to alter the energy of the space in a way that connects directly with what’s going on inside us. However, the one-size-fits-all manner that’s common today doesn’t delve more deeply into the inner life of the person using it, and this can be unproductive—even counterproductive.” Her emphasis on inner transformation in coordination with outer change is effective – it’s not just a book about rearranging furniture.

Throughout Feng Shui Simply Grace treats us to entertaining stories of clients she has worked with. Grace recommends to a successful career woman that she move a large picture of Janis Joplin out of the bedroom. “Don’t you like Janis Joplin?” the client asks. “It’s a great picture,” Grace replies. “But she was a drug addict and an alcoholic, she was single, and she’s dead. We need to move her to a different space. Instead, let’s find a piece of artwork that better reflects Love and Marriage to hang on this wall that will serve as a greeter when you enter the room.” After this and other home alterations are made, the client soon finds the love of her life. When working on the invitation list for the wedding her fiance remarks,”We have to have the feng shui lady there.” Stories like this make Feng Shui Simply fun to read – it’s not all theory.

“Our own vital energy is either supported or depleted by everything in the environment,” Grace writes. “The goal of feng shui is to improve and elevate the energy around us, which ultimately boosts our own energy to a more awakened state.” After reading Feng Shui Simply I see many changes I want to make to my home office as I write this review. I think it will cause you to reassess your everyday surroundings, too.

I received a complementary copy of this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 20, 2013 blessedelements

Most know that Feng Shui is used for interior design to bring harmony and balance to one’s life. Cheryl Grace inspires us to think about using Fung Shui for fine tuning the internal environment within ourselves in her book called Feng Shui Simply Change Your Life From the Inside Out.

To use Feng Shui for inner growth the author suggests that first it is important to clear old belief systems, skepticism and doubt and fixed opinions and stop being inflexible in our view points.

Aligning thoughts for a better outlook on life are presented in this book. Some of the techniques suggested are:

Those approaches consist of simplifying your life
Take everything that happens in your life as a gift (Both perceived good and bad.)
Practice deep appreciation and let go of the 5 year plan and serve others.

The book is rich with information and resources so the reader can continually learn Feng Shui for inner harmonious balance and growth after the book is finished being read.

I found this book very inspiring with a new approach that makes me so excited to study these techniques further. This is a book I love and know it will be a book I will continually read as a viable resource. I’ve learned so much about using Feng Shui both in the home and using it inwardly to reach goals and balance I want in my life.
The book is written simply with a Bagua Map with the zones that correlate with the energetic qualities needed to bring harmony.

Feng Shui Simply by Cheryl Grace is a great book encouraging the reader by giving them self-confidence in using techniques that can bring great results. Another thing I love about this book are the suggestions of books that can be read to continue learning techniques of Feng Shui that can be used to gain better intuition.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 13, 2013 hhreviewer2

I believe that, like most Americans, I've heard of Feng Shui and maybe even had a general idea of what it was, but never really delved deep enough to learn its principles and what it was really about. Feng Shui Simply by Cheryl Grace is a book that not only details applying Feng Shui to external spaces, but to internal spaces as well - a concept that I had never considered before.

The author succeeds in explaining all the aspects and elements that make up Feng Shui in a way that truly is simple. Each area of a living space is oriented by the position of the front door, and a Bagua map is provided to help the reader to orient their own space. The nine sections, or gua, represent aspects of one's life such as money or relationships. The purpose is to enhance or balance these areas using Ying and Yang and all five Chinese elements - water, fire, etc. which are represented by materials as well as colors. For those who might not be artistically minded, such as myself, it may take reading through the chapter a few times before the possibility of applying it to one's own living space. Especially if your living space is in building with other living spaces and has a highly irregular shape.

At first, the chapters on internal Feng Shui might not be new information for a reader, particularly for those already familiar with other Hay House authors. But repetition about conscious change, meditation, affirmations, gratitude, and considering one's viewpoint always serves as a great reminder when we need one. The author's mention of her personal use of I Ching was of great interest to me. I am familiar with Oracle cards, Tarot, and Runes, but know very little about I Ching. Then Cheryl's Inner Wisdom Bagua transforms the map from an external environment to an internal landscape exceedingly well.

The second half of the book focuses on each of the guas with examples from Chery's own Feng Shui redecorating business. In these chapters the author successfully draws the connection between the external and the internal - how one affects the other. All of the explanations were very helpful considering that I, like I said, am not artistically minded.

It should also be mentioned that Cheryl Grace's website has a few great articles that enhances her book, one of them being her Inner Wisdom Bagua map. While I had not been aware of the author before reading this book, I am now rather interested in following her work. I would highly recommend Feng Shui Simply by Cheryl Grace to anyone new to Feng Shui and who is looking for a simple yet thorough introduction.

This is my review of Feng Shui Simply by Cheryl Grace. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews